Anti GAA Agenda

Any true sports fan enjoys all sports. 3 of Mickey Harte's long-time friends are former Ireland rugby captain Willie Anderson (who penned a nice tribute to Harte in a local Tyrone paper this week), Alex Ferguson, and Brian Cody. Genuine sports people have no time for this sporting sectarianism b/s.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 21/11/2020 00:46:39    2311910

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
Replying To Rolo2010:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "Where to start.

"Of course the Welsh are more patient. Sure what else do these sheep lovers have?"

Real class.

"The Six Nations is a boring contest."

Yeah, maybe to you. But not to the 8.3 million TV viewers (on average) who watch each game."
Oh look. A man from the UK here to lecture us on why the Six Nations is a great contest. We already knew rugby lads were boring folk. That's why they spend their time watching a safe contest like the Six Nations."
"A man from the UK here to lecture us on why the Six Nations is a great contest"

I'm not from the UK, I'm Irish, and like hundreds of thousands of others, I live abroad. What's your problem? Are you suggesting no one living outside the 26 counties has a right to express their opinions on here?

I never said "the Six Nations is a great contest" they are your words. I stated a fact regarding the TV viewing numbers."]"No one outside 26 counties" and you call yourself a GAA fan.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 21/11/2020 07:21:03    2311917

Replying To KillingFields:  "Irish soccer is a mess and the Rugby(united nations) 1/3 of the squad to play england are not even Irish
brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 483 - 20/11/2020 23:09:09
its not a 1/3 and what makes you irish anyway?
Several you are considering not irish have irish family."
Is it not 7 or 8 of the 23 ?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 21/11/2020 08:19:17    2311920

Wouldn't be necessary if Irish rugby was as strong as our resident promoter says it is.
Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 172 - 21/11/2020 00:05:31
Why do so many here get so triggered by rugby. thats rather pathetic. no?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 21/11/2020 10:44:43    2311942

Replying To KillingFields:  "Wouldn't be necessary if Irish rugby was as strong as our resident promoter says it is.
Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 172 - 21/11/2020 00:05:31
Why do so many here get so triggered by rugby. thats rather pathetic. no?"
Awaiting your response to the previous post about the percentage of qualified players in the squad today?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 21/11/2020 11:35:32    2311959

Replying To essmac:  "Did they "prevent" it? What are you talking about?"
They did prevent it, came up with reasons why they couldn't hold it until the bad PR made them reconsider.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 21/11/2020 11:37:24    2311961

Replying To KillingFields:  "Irish soccer is a mess and the Rugby(united nations) 1/3 of the squad to play england are not even Irish
Being born in Ireland makes you Irish or at least spending a good chunk of your childhood in the country. What doesnt make you Irish is the IRFU asking guys to move here and to play a game of rugby. Ireland could have 8 out of 15 players today playing who were poached by the IRFU from other countries.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 21/11/2020 11:52:03    2311964

Awaiting your response to the previous post about the percentage of qualified players in the squad today?
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 6870 - 21/11/2020 11:35:32
It isnt 7 or 8.
Players qualified on residency is 5 today

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 21/11/2020 12:53:01    2311979

Replying To KillingFields:  "I think its important to remember its not just the Rugby guys who are jealous of the GAA. The Ireland soccer manger Stephen Kenny also thrown digs at the GAA when they opened up Páirc Uí Chaoimh for a charity event in aid of a soccer player. Kenny said when writing in his pre-match programme notes ahead of Dundalk's Europa League clash against AEK Larnanca

"When Damien Duff called the GAA committee dinosaurs he was doing dinosaurs a disservice"

Likening the current situation in which Miller's family are "being treated without dignity by the GAA authorities in Cork," Kenny likened the situation to that which Arsenal's Mesut Ozil revealed earlier in the week.

A World Cup winner with Germany in 2014, Ozil believed he had to remove himself from the national team set amid claims that he had been racial discriminated as a result of his Turkish background.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 482 - 20/11/2020 17:00:29
The way people go on here about rugby especially and soccer to a lesser extent the GAA guys are extremely jealous/paranoid/bitter about rugby/soccer."
Yes Killingfields, I have gone on a lot about other sports especially Rugby. But is there a level playing field in the Irish media. As stated, Irish Independent- sponsor rugby, Irish Times, lots and lots of coverage. RTE also give saturation coverage. So GAA have to "shout" fairly loud and sometimes slag other sports.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 21/11/2020 13:00:38    2311982

Replying To brisbane:  "
Being born in Ireland makes you Irish or at least spending a good chunk of your childhood in the country. What doesnt make you Irish is the IRFU asking guys to move here and to play a game of rugby. Ireland could have 8 out of 15 players today playing who were poached by the IRFU from other countries."
And saying that 'lots of countries are doing it' won't them any more Irish either. If they want to come here and play for the provinces it's grand, but Irish born players, no matter what country they are playing in, regardless of selection policy should be selected over imports. They bent their policy easy enough for Johnny Sexton, rightly so because he's Irish. If the imports settles in Ireland his children can play for Ireland if they're born here.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 21/11/2020 13:25:09    2311989

Replying To KillingFields:  "Awaiting your response to the previous post about the percentage of qualified players in the squad today?
It isnt 7 or 8.
Players qualified on residency is 5 today"
I believe there are 7 players not born in Ireland involved in the squad. That's almost a third and that is what the poster is referring to. But you knew that already. I am not getting into a slinging match as I love rugby but your holier than thou approach to all things rugby invites people to slag it off.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 21/11/2020 14:42:49    2312006

Replying To brisbane:  "I think its important to remember its not just the Rugby guys who are jealous of the GAA. The Ireland soccer manger Stephen Kenny also thrown digs at the GAA when they opened up Páirc Uí Chaoimh for a charity event in aid of a soccer player. Kenny said when writing in his pre-match programme notes ahead of Dundalk's Europa League clash against AEK Larnanca

"When Damien Duff called the GAA committee dinosaurs he was doing dinosaurs a disservice"

Likening the current situation in which Miller's family are "being treated without dignity by the GAA authorities in Cork," Kenny likened the situation to that which Arsenal's Mesut Ozil revealed earlier in the week.

A World Cup winner with Germany in 2014, Ozil believed he had to remove himself from the national team set amid claims that he had been racial discriminated as a result of his Turkish background."
I didn't know Kenny had written that. Gone way down in my estimation.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 21/11/2020 15:31:24    2312028

We in the GAA have got to be careful too with our own prejudices, the nationality rules and laws of Athletics and Rugby for example are different to say soccer. We had a situation where Turkey got gold by an athlete who never lived in Turkey. Jones (a welsh name) the English coach calling Ireland with tongue firmly in his cheek The United Nations is hardly on strong ground when his team could be called the British Commonwealth. That is the nature of Rugby's rules so leave them too it. Are they Irish? They are a team representing Ireland. In rowing, basketball, soccer and athletics are people representing Ireland if they qualify they deserve our support. Even in soccer this week we have a member of Irish Soccer management having "issues" with some 1916 references used by Kenny in team talk, well they shouldn't be involved with the national team simple. And for me the GAA in Cork were vindicated in the Miller episode. People look for the GAA facilities when it suits otherwise they despise us. As for an Anti-GAA agenda I think that is lessening. GAA has its own internal snobbery and prejudices to address mostly directed from the armchair but that is something else altogether.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 21/11/2020 16:05:20    2312041

Two bad defeats by the Irish teams to England in both Rugby and Soccer. Not a lot of the famous old Irish fighting spirit on show. But who is in charge of the country.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 21/11/2020 16:47:16    2312061

Replying To TheFlaker:  "
Replying To KillingFields:  "Awaiting your response to the previous post about the percentage of qualified players in the squad today?
It isnt 7 or 8.
I believe there are 7 players not born in Ireland involved in the squad. That's almost a third and that is what the poster is referring to. But you knew that already. I am not getting into a slinging match as I love rugby but your holier than thou approach to all things rugby invites people to slag it off."
And of those 7 players 2 have irish parents so putting them in the same category as players who have no irish parents and qualify solely by residency is nonsensical.
Theyre not near the same and you know that. Give over talking about holier than thou approach considering how you post.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 21/11/2020 17:04:00    2312070

Replying To KillingFields:  "
Replying To TheFlaker:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "Awaiting your response to the previous post about the percentage of qualified players in the squad today?
It isnt 7 or 8.
I believe there are 7 players not born in Ireland involved in the squad. That's almost a third and that is what the poster is referring to. But you knew that already. I am not getting into a slinging match as I love rugby but your holier than thou approach to all things rugby invites people to slag it off."
And of those 7 players 2 have irish parents so putting them in the same category as players who have no irish parents and qualify solely by residency is nonsensical.
Theyre not near the same and you know that. Give over talking about holier than thou approach considering how you post."]I know they are not the same. I am explaining what the poster meant earlier. You clearly knew what he meant as well.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 21/11/2020 17:08:21    2312072

Replying To galwayford:  "Two bad defeats by the Irish teams to England in both Rugby and Soccer. Not a lot of the famous old Irish fighting spirit on show. But who is in charge of the country."
Don't mind Rugby, can take it or leave it but soccer, the quicker it goes down the pan the better. Wages out of control so hopefully liquidation all round.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 21/11/2020 17:48:00    2312094

Being born in Ireland makes you Irish or at least spending a good chunk of your childhood in the country. What doesnt make you Irish is the IRFU asking guys to move here and to play a game of rugby. Ireland could have 8 out of 15 players today playing who were poached by the IRFU from other countries.
brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 484 - 21/11/2020 11:52:03
You dont have to spend much of your childhood in Ireland to be irish. No players were poached. They opted to move to ireland and chose to play for ireland. They were not enticed to play for anyone.
Nationality is not simply determined by place of birth its how you interact with society.

Yes Killingfields, I have gone on a lot about other sports especially Rugby. But is there a level playing field in the Irish media. As stated, Irish Independent- sponsor rugby, Irish Times, lots and lots of coverage. RTE also give saturation coverage. So GAA have to "shout" fairly loud and sometimes slag other sports.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 1923 - 21/11/2020 13:00:38
Irish independent give lots of coverage to GAA as does times and considering rugby is a professional sport. its main teams play far more than GAA teams then of course they will get more coverage. their coaches will also do more press conferences. their players do more interviews.
GAA is amateur and of course cant get near the same level of coverage when players, coaches have to work full time jobs and not train in same fashion as a professional outfit

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 21/11/2020 17:50:07    2312096

Replying To KillingFields:  "Being born in Ireland makes you Irish or at least spending a good chunk of your childhood in the country. What doesnt make you Irish is the IRFU asking guys to move here and to play a game of rugby. Ireland could have 8 out of 15 players today playing who were poached by the IRFU from other countries.
brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 484 - 21/11/2020 11:52:03
You dont have to spend much of your childhood in Ireland to be irish. No players were poached. They opted to move to ireland and chose to play for ireland. They were not enticed to play for anyone.
Nationality is not simply determined by place of birth its how you interact with society.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 1923 - 21/11/2020 13:00:38
Irish independent give lots of coverage to GAA as does times and considering rugby is a professional sport. its main teams play far more than GAA teams then of course they will get more coverage. their coaches will also do more press conferences. their players do more interviews.
GAA is amateur and of course cant get near the same level of coverage when players, coaches have to work full time jobs and not train in same fashion as a professional outfit"
You can't just turn up and become Irish by living in the country for a year or two. Rugby is a tiny sport compared to GAA so the amount of coverage it receives is disproportionate.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 21/11/2020 18:16:40    2312107

This whole thread is a cluster f**k.

The GAA is the most popular sport and gets the most attention, and the most support.

Rugby and Soccer will always get some attention as there is a national team.

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 247 - 21/11/2020 18:47:49    2312128