Return Of The Championship - Excited ? Not Overly Bothered ?

Replying To realdub:  "Not saying we should have beat them in 2011 but by jaysus we deserved a second bite. That free was a joke."
That should read "they deserved "

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 29/10/2020 00:14:32    2302705

Replying To TheUsername:  "Even if it suits Dublin down to the ground. I think the provincial structure is hugely inequitable Mick. It's much more difficult for an Ulster and Connacht team to currently win an All Ireland. The lad from Donegal was projecting the Donegal draw in the post before essentially they have to play provisionally 5 Division 1 teams to win an All Ireland. Dublin and Kerry if they win their provinces it's two.

I like the traditition of the provinces, but it's getting to inequitable and is based really on a geographical lottery, skewing the sporting integrity of the championship. Every year and especially this as the Donegal example illustrates.

An open draw would be fun. Another idea I like is amalgamating Leinster and Munster and have an A/B championship.

Say Meath, Cork, Clare, Kildare Kerry, Dublin and 1 or two others in A and the rest in B. Maybe demarcate based on Div 1 & 2 in A and B Div 3 & 4. Home and away open draw.

For me you want to compete against the best, whether you win or loose."
Don't know if it would work, but I'd like after league is wrapped up to have 8 groups , 1 from each division. Top 2 qualify for last 16 open draw all neutral grounds up to semis. Plus give 3rd place teams in league a chance to go up by playing 3rd from bottom of other league, think it would leave less dead rubber matches.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 29/10/2020 00:31:52    2302706

Replying To Saynothing:  "Don't know if it would work, but I'd like after league is wrapped up to have 8 groups , 1 from each division. Top 2 qualify for last 16 open draw all neutral grounds up to semis. Plus give 3rd place teams in league a chance to go up by playing 3rd from bottom of other league, think it would leave less dead rubber matches."
I think to do anything a chara, you have to start administratively with the provincial councils. A root and branch need to be done on their role and i think governance and clarity on their remit. If there were a new format - any suggestion would have to complement a new roles for provincial councils and good governance structures in my opinion. Broad question really, do we really need layers of administration in the GAA - especially if there weren't provincial championships - County Boards, Provincial councils, Congress, Special Committees, Central Council, Croke Park. Much middle management as they say, i wonder would a root and branchy review of structure and governance streamline things.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/10/2020 10:32:31    2302741

Replying To Fionn:  "Like I said earlier - very tetchy these days and true colours coming out. ;-)"
Not a bit Fionn. I'm just asking you a question? But you did nt answer. If Kildare had beaten Dublin in Leinster in 2011 would you not have celebrated Sam that September? If Dub hurlers win through back door will you recognise the win? I'm not techy Fionn and like you I show my true colours. I will take a win anyway the rules allow. Will you? Dublin are on such a roller-coaster with the football maybe you think that backdoor is meaningless but believe me when you on other side you realise its not. In 06 when we lost v Cork I thought backdoor was rubbish but two months later I thought different. Now Fionn it's a simple question but can you answer it?

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/10/2020 10:59:59    2302753

Replying To realdub:  "That should read "they deserved ""
Very humble of you realdub. Yes not saying Dublin should ve lost to Kildare but def a replay
The last free was a terrible decision against Kildare.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/10/2020 11:03:06    2302754

Replying To Saynothing:  "Don't know if it would work, but I'd like after league is wrapped up to have 8 groups , 1 from each division. Top 2 qualify for last 16 open draw all neutral grounds up to semis. Plus give 3rd place teams in league a chance to go up by playing 3rd from bottom of other league, think it would leave less dead rubber matches."
Actually Say nothing that is a real good idea you have there. Its fair and rewarding and could be very exciting.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/10/2020 11:06:55    2302757

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Not a bit Fionn. I'm just asking you a question? But you did nt answer. If Kildare had beaten Dublin in Leinster in 2011 would you not have celebrated Sam that September? If Dub hurlers win through back door will you recognise the win? I'm not techy Fionn and like you I show my true colours. I will take a win anyway the rules allow. Will you? Dublin are on such a roller-coaster with the football maybe you think that backdoor is meaningless but believe me when you on other side you realise its not. In 06 when we lost v Cork I thought backdoor was rubbish but two months later I thought different. Now Fionn it's a simple question but can you answer it?"
Ah here.... look to be called All Ireland Champions you should win your Province also. End of...!
Is that clear enough for you.. and also how can you be called All Ireland Champions after only winning 3 games...

Thou dot protest too much my friend...

Looks like I hit a nerve ... also, my reply was to a Tyrone post, so not sure why you are spending soooo much time jumping in on it...!

I for one would have no back door... True champions are just that true All Ireland and Provincial Champions...
Hope this answers your questions...

Your bitterness has finally shone through... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 29/10/2020 11:37:23    2302777

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Very humble of you realdub. Yes not saying Dublin should ve lost to Kildare but def a replay
The last free was a terrible decision against Kildare."
It is worse you are getting my friend..... time for a kit kat I think.... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 29/10/2020 11:38:27    2302778

Replying To Fionn:  "Ah here.... look to be called All Ireland Champions you should win your Province also. End of...!
Is that clear enough for you.. and also how can you be called All Ireland Champions after only winning 3 games...

Thou dot protest too much my friend...

Looks like I hit a nerve ... also, my reply was to a Tyrone post, so not sure why you are spending soooo much time jumping in on it...!

I for one would have no back door... True champions are just that true All Ireland and Provincial Champions...
Hope this answers your questions...

Your bitterness has finally shone through... ;o)"
To my knowledge Kerry only one an all ireland once playing 3 games. Also I think that it is you that's bitter Fionn but you are of course entitled to your opinion.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/10/2020 11:53:50    2302782

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "To my knowledge Kerry only one an all ireland once playing 3 games. Also I think that it is you that's bitter Fionn but you are of course entitled to your opinion."
You're correct mick, it only happened once in 1980 after we beat Clare 9:21 to 1:09 in the 1979 munster semifinal, the munster council thought it would be for the good of the smaller teams in the province but they quickly changed it back for the following year 1981.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/10/2020 12:07:26    2302786

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "To my knowledge Kerry only one an all ireland once playing 3 games. Also I think that it is you that's bitter Fionn but you are of course entitled to your opinion."
Sure didn't Dublin win 3 of the 5-in-a-row playing only 3 knock-out rounds, and the other 2 playing just 2.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 29/10/2020 12:22:21    2302793

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Not a bit Fionn. I'm just asking you a question? But you did nt answer. If Kildare had beaten Dublin in Leinster in 2011 would you not have celebrated Sam that September? If Dub hurlers win through back door will you recognise the win? I'm not techy Fionn and like you I show my true colours. I will take a win anyway the rules allow. Will you? Dublin are on such a roller-coaster with the football maybe you think that backdoor is meaningless but believe me when you on other side you realise its not. In 06 when we lost v Cork I thought backdoor was rubbish but two months later I thought different. Now Fionn it's a simple question but can you answer it?"
From 95 - 11, id have taken any All Ireland going front or back and thought it was the greatest thing since Diarmuid Connolly.

2010, is the great example for us, hammered by Meath in Leinster but arguably found the mojo we have had ever since through the back door that year - we had a real shot that year only for Cork to get the better of us in the Semi, but thought we were the better team that day. Probably that lacked that bit of experience and naïve in game management.

I would have bitten your hand of to win the All Ireland that year though after so many years without one. Less we forget.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/10/2020 13:04:27    2302817

Replying To TheUsername:  "From 95 - 11, id have taken any All Ireland going front or back and thought it was the greatest thing since Diarmuid Connolly.

2010, is the great example for us, hammered by Meath in Leinster but arguably found the mojo we have had ever since through the back door that year - we had a real shot that year only for Cork to get the better of us in the Semi, but thought we were the better team that day. Probably that lacked that bit of experience and naïve in game management.

I would have bitten your hand of to win the All Ireland that year though after so many years without one. Less we forget."
I remember that semi v Cork Username. Dublin were very unlucky to lose that game. Cork just had that bit of luck with them that day.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/10/2020 13:45:47    2302825

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You're correct mick, it only happened once in 1980 after we beat Clare 9:21 to 1:09 in the 1979 munster semifinal, the munster council thought it would be for the good of the smaller teams in the province but they quickly changed it back for the following year 1981."
Actually in the 70 s and early 80s in hurling the winners of munster and leinster would go straight to an all ireland final every 2nd year. Galway would be in a semi final one year v winners of leinster(munster winners go straight to final) and following year Galway in semi v winners of Munster (Leinster winners go straight to final). Different times.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/10/2020 13:53:38    2302829

Replying To TheUsername:  "Personally for me Joe winning it this year would definitely be less of achievement then 2015. That's looking at it individually and not looking at say chaining a six cumulatively.

I also think the championships we won in 18/19 going through the S8s are greater achievements in 15/16/17.

I know you picked 15 to throw Fermanagh in there to illustrate (as there are far tougher years) but I thought they were brilliant that year, they even rattled us in Croker and their fans were great. I loved 15, WM were great craic as well in Leinster, the games against Mayo were so much fun, the final was a grind but they often are.

Definitely 7 games to win an All Ireland, playing a county from every province, Vs 5 games with about 60% vs Leinster teams, 15 every day.

I'd have 11, 13, 15, 16,17, 18, 19 as greater achievements then if we won it this year personally.

I think it's by far a bigger achievement if Donegal or Tyrone win it this year then say Dublin."
I just picked 2015 at random to be honest, you could look at 2016 and say us in the quarters is a tougher match I suppose but those were the Rory Gallagher years.

I've looked at Dublin's run to an All-Ireland every year before the Super 8s and being honest I don't see much difference from the potential route this year other than having an extra game in the quarter final. You have three matches in Leinster and generally stroll through, the early years of your dominance this wasn't so much the case but definitely so recently. Then you play whoever comes through the qualifiers, a semi and a final. You keep mentioning playing a county from every province but sure in 2011 you didn't play anyone from Connacht. In 2017 you didn't play anyone from Munster. All you're missing is one game, so I don't get your logic personally.

Obviously the Super 8s is a different wrinkle and winning Sam by winning all your games in 2018 and 2019 is some going, no doubt about that.

Whatever about whether ourselves or Tyrone win it this year, I just don't understand playing down the achievement for Dublin winning it this year if yous do, in fact with the change in management and the turnover in players I'd say it'd be a great achievement to keep the consistency and level of excellence required to go again and win a 6th in a row in these circumstances, personally. But sure agree to disagree I suppose

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 29/10/2020 14:57:21    2302846

Replying To TheUsername:  "From 95 - 11, id have taken any All Ireland going front or back and thought it was the greatest thing since Diarmuid Connolly.

I would have bitten your hand of to win the All Ireland that year though after so many years without one. Less we forget."
Bernard Brogan was the best player in Ireland that year, he had an incredible summer

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 29/10/2020 15:00:57    2302848

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Actually in the 70 s and early 80s in hurling the winners of munster and leinster would go straight to an all ireland final every 2nd year. Galway would be in a semi final one year v winners of leinster(munster winners go straight to final) and following year Galway in semi v winners of Munster (Leinster winners go straight to final). Different times."
So we had 1 year where we won a 3 game allireland but in hurling the likes of Cork Tipp limerick Kilkenny wexford and offaly could have won semilar 3 game allirelands and Galway won maybe 2 game allirelands?

If that's the case then we're in great company.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/10/2020 15:53:50    2302866

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So we had 1 year where we won a 3 game allireland but in hurling the likes of Cork Tipp limerick Kilkenny wexford and offaly could have won semilar 3 game allirelands and Galway won maybe 2 game allirelands?

If that's the case then we're in great company."
Well funny enough when Galway finallly won the Liam Mccarthy in1980 after a long hiatus they had a 3 game all ireland beating Offaly in semi and Limerick in final. They had a quarter final that year overcoming a tough encounter with believe it or not Kerry. And yes Cork Kilkenny etc would ve had 3 fame all Irelands i would imagine on the years they went straight to final after provincial wins.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/10/2020 16:21:25    2302875

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So we had 1 year where we won a 3 game allireland but in hurling the likes of Cork Tipp limerick Kilkenny wexford and offaly could have won semilar 3 game allirelands and Galway won maybe 2 game allirelands?

If that's the case then we're in great company."
Sorry I got my years mixed up. It was 1976 I think that Kerry played Galway in quarter final but yes Cork Kilkenny and Galway all won all ireland playing 3 games and in Galway case their quarter final was usually against junior champs. However you can only beat what's put in front of you and those counties I mention had some of the best players playing like JB Murphy Eddie Keher and of course Galway great John Connolly

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/10/2020 16:31:16    2302880

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Sorry I got my years mixed up. It was 1976 I think that Kerry played Galway in quarter final but yes Cork Kilkenny and Galway all won all ireland playing 3 games and in Galway case their quarter final was usually against junior champs. However you can only beat what's put in front of you and those counties I mention had some of the best players playing like JB Murphy Eddie Keher and of course Galway great John Connolly"
It was the way things were back then mick the best teams won there provinces and battled it out for Sam,

People would belittle the munster football championship but my father used all ways tell us that Cork were the second best team in Ireland when we were winning allirelands in the 70s and 80s.

In those years would there have been anything gained by us playing the runner up in any of those provinces? I wouldn't have thought so but it might have suited Cork.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/10/2020 17:16:34    2302894