Yellow Sliotar

Replying To Bon:  "I don't agree with that. I think a yellow sliotar for winter could be a smart move. Hurling doesn't need any other changes, the game is perfect the way it is."
I don't think any game is "perfect". Defenders hauling down forwards as they race towards goal is certainly something that needs addressing in hurling. Changing the colour of the ball is insignificant, in comparison.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 16/10/2020 12:12:39    2298000

Replying To oneoff:  "There's a difference between the two.

I would be a hurling fan. However "Hurling people" are the type who refuse to listen to anything other than people who think hurling is the greatests game in the world with no issues at all. Despite the fact that there clearly is."
No question but hurling is the greatest sport in the world. Jury verdict in on that long time ago. There are other good sports also. All sports have issues to address as they and the athlete evolves. Both codes have allowed trends to damage the spectacle. Hurling is more handball, rucking and throwing that stick work. Football a combination of soccer and basketball, also throwing the ball. In most instances there is no need to make new rules just enforce the ones that exist but sometimes some tweaking is required. However still our own games.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2659 - 16/10/2020 16:03:32    2298117

I can imagine this same debate went on mazny decades ago when the new-fangled white balls replaced the old brown ones.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 17/10/2020 10:26:09    2298292

Hurling is a great game but I hate the hyperbole connected with it. After 1 good game (especially if the game happens in Munster) the outright nonsense which is spouted about it is ridiculous. If it really is such a great game, why hasn't the gospel spread to 20+ counties?
I have been to great sporting events in rugby (which I don't like as a game in general), soccer, I spent a summer in England and went to an Ashes test which was decided on the last ball. The tension was unbelievable.
I love playing hurling (although but for Covid I probably wouldn't have bothered this year) but the game needs to be looked at, the throw-in badly needs to change, there is nothing sporting about a full back pulling down a player through on goal and the only punishment being a penalty. Refereeing (and abuse they get) needs to be looked at, after the semi finals last year there was rightly war over refereeing - what did the GAA do? Nothing.
These sort of things need to be looked at and something done about, much more than the colour of the ball.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 17/10/2020 10:43:57    2298303

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Hurling is a great game but I hate the hyperbole connected with it. After 1 good game (especially if the game happens in Munster) the outright nonsense which is spouted about it is ridiculous. If it really is such a great game, why hasn't the gospel spread to 20+ counties?
I have been to great sporting events in rugby (which I don't like as a game in general), soccer, I spent a summer in England and went to an Ashes test which was decided on the last ball. The tension was unbelievable.
I love playing hurling (although but for Covid I probably wouldn't have bothered this year) but the game needs to be looked at, the throw-in badly needs to change, there is nothing sporting about a full back pulling down a player through on goal and the only punishment being a penalty. Refereeing (and abuse they get) needs to be looked at, after the semi finals last year there was rightly war over refereeing - what did the GAA do? Nothing.
These sort of things need to be looked at and something done about, much more than the colour of the ball."
This debate about the greatness of hurling has been had before and people will differ. I have had people to my house on several occasions to watch our games who never seen either. They sat enthralled entertained with the hurling game asking questions and marvelling at the skills. With the football game they left, went outside and played with the kids. Asking is it soccer or a type of rugby or what. I am not anti-football coming from a parish where all we played was football. My dad played for Munster when it was big deal, especially coming from Waterford. In my opinion the skills both games have lost some of their appeal but maybe gained some also.
Please lose the chip on the shoulder about Munster hurling as seen by you needing to get that dig in there. I have watched great games in Leinster and epic finals when living there but it never had or will have the prestige of the Munster championship. That is reality because five of the six counties in a smaller group are generally close despite the fact Tipp and Cork have dominated. It is not anyones design or fault as long as the provincial system is kept.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2659 - 17/10/2020 14:15:57    2298370

Replying To Canuck:  "This debate about the greatness of hurling has been had before and people will differ. I have had people to my house on several occasions to watch our games who never seen either. They sat enthralled entertained with the hurling game asking questions and marvelling at the skills. With the football game they left, went outside and played with the kids. Asking is it soccer or a type of rugby or what. I am not anti-football coming from a parish where all we played was football. My dad played for Munster when it was big deal, especially coming from Waterford. In my opinion the skills both games have lost some of their appeal but maybe gained some also.
Please lose the chip on the shoulder about Munster hurling as seen by you needing to get that dig in there. I have watched great games in Leinster and epic finals when living there but it never had or will have the prestige of the Munster championship. That is reality because five of the six counties in a smaller group are generally close despite the fact Tipp and Cork have dominated. It is not anyones design or fault as long as the provincial system is kept."
I have had people to my house on several occasions to watch our games who never seen either. They sat enthralled entertained with the hurling game asking questions and marvelling at the skills.

Is this even true? It seems anyone from outside of Ireland who seems hurling for the first time straight away thinks it's the greatest thing to ever happen them.

Contrary to popular belief a lot of hurling games aren't the sptecal people try to make out. I've heard plenty of Americans etc who find it boering to watch and would say football is the better of the two.

I'm a fan of both but when it comes down to it both are totally different games and can't be compared to eachother.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/10/2020 14:46:48    2298375

Ach - there's a lot of thick people about who can't appreciate what's in front of them.

As you get older, you realise folk can't change as they don't have the mental capacity.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 17/10/2020 15:12:24    2298377

There'll be yellow skitter if this covid keeps going.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 17/10/2020 20:14:17    2298498

so a thread started about a yellow sliotar,ends up in a hurling v football v other sports debate!
funny thing,while hurling players are getting better,faster,fitter,i think the game is changed from the game 10 years ago.people think 1-30 to 1-29 is a great game,in spite of 20+ of the scores being from frees where a minute was spent waiting for the free taker to get ready,the free to be taken and the goalkeeper to hit the ball out.

there is no denying the overreaction/snobbery of hurling people,particularly in munster (where they wont even let 1 of their own counties play!).

its like hurling supporters feel anybody who has an interest in any other sport is some way an inferior person,like i often hear people in the bar "imagine watching the premier league / golf / whatever when a hurling match is on".the best sporting event i was ever at was an AFL grand final where sydney won it with the last kick of the match.it was pulsating from the off.

hurling is a great game,but i dont know how people dont see how stupid they look with the nonsense that is talked after a great game.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 18/10/2020 11:03:30    2298660

Replying To perfect10:  "so a thread started about a yellow sliotar,ends up in a hurling v football v other sports debate!
funny thing,while hurling players are getting better,faster,fitter,i think the game is changed from the game 10 years ago.people think 1-30 to 1-29 is a great game,in spite of 20+ of the scores being from frees where a minute was spent waiting for the free taker to get ready,the free to be taken and the goalkeeper to hit the ball out.

there is no denying the overreaction/snobbery of hurling people,particularly in munster (where they wont even let 1 of their own counties play!).

its like hurling supporters feel anybody who has an interest in any other sport is some way an inferior person,like i often hear people in the bar "imagine watching the premier league / golf / whatever when a hurling match is on".the best sporting event i was ever at was an AFL grand final where sydney won it with the last kick of the match.it was pulsating from the off.

hurling is a great game,but i dont know how people dont see how stupid they look with the nonsense that is talked after a great game."
What a load of crap. First off we've been over the Kerry thing before and no one is barring then from hurling and if you want to look at unfair hurling maniacs theres only 1 county cant be bothered to muster a football team and they are in Leinster.

And in Limerick it is well known that most sports people are just that sports fans who watch multiple sports and sure Cork must have more variety of sport than any other county in the country.

Bitterness and jealousy as usual

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 18/10/2020 12:06:29    2298681

Who cares about the sliotar colour, lucky to see any at this rate. I would be for mixing up the colours, like pink for Brest cancer awareness month etc.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 18/10/2020 12:37:39    2298688

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I never said they didn't, I asked a question whether a ball in -5 in Boston is really a valid reference.
And, instead of moaning about it, why didn't they ask if they have improved/changed/etc?
And anyway - why do we need GAA players/managers/pundits opinion on everything? We in the GAA love to ask everybody about rules, refereeing, championship structures, etc. You will never please everybody."
Well the players are the most important part. They are the ones putting in the work for years and months. They are playing with a certain types sliotar for years then with 2 weeks notice change to a yellow one that according to some of them behaves differently. So now all the sliotars that the have already bought for training are no good and they need to get the new yellow ones now. This decision should have been made months ago to give them an adjustment period. So I think they have a valid argument.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 18/10/2020 14:28:30    2298716

Replying To oneoff:  "I have had people to my house on several occasions to watch our games who never seen either. They sat enthralled entertained with the hurling game asking questions and marvelling at the skills.

Is this even true? It seems anyone from outside of Ireland who seems hurling for the first time straight away thinks it's the greatest thing to ever happen them.

Contrary to popular belief a lot of hurling games aren't the sptecal people try to make out. I've heard plenty of Americans etc who find it boering to watch and would say football is the better of the two.

I'm a fan of both but when it comes down to it both are totally different games and can't be compared to eachother."
" Is this even true? "
Is that your best retort to imply that I am lying. What do you want? An affidavit from my work colleagues, neighbours, friends and extended family. I have no bias against football as should be derived from the rest of the post and mine and my family's involvement in gaelic football is a great sense of pride to us. My dad's 100 year old county football medal is the most prize thing I own. Either sport can have games that are not of a high standard in someone's opinion. They are different games but with many similarities i.e. scoring etc. etc. The most common connection most would draw is that they are Gaelic games and National games of Ireland.
The poster who said this is off subject is correct but sometimes that occurs in a round about way. I apologize for my contribution to that.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2659 - 18/10/2020 15:16:08    2298737

Canuck,if you think the munster counties are streets ahead of their leinster equivalent you are deluded.
also,you talk about a chip on your shoulder,it is you who had a theory here a while ago that every wexford person hated waterford when in reality,if you ever set foot in a pub in wexford when waterford are playing,you would know that they are the 2nd most popular team after our own no matter who they are playing.the only team that comes close is limerick up to a couple of years ago when they won an all ireland.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 18/10/2020 16:23:37    2298775

Replying To perfect10:  "Canuck,if you think the munster counties are streets ahead of their leinster equivalent you are deluded.
also,you talk about a chip on your shoulder,it is you who had a theory here a while ago that every wexford person hated waterford when in reality,if you ever set foot in a pub in wexford when waterford are playing,you would know that they are the 2nd most popular team after our own no matter who they are playing.the only team that comes close is limerick up to a couple of years ago when they won an all ireland."
Perfect 10 I never said that Munster counties were superior to Leinster. In fact in my opinion the best hurling county is in Leinster. I said the Munster championship is a more prestige championship. The Leinster championship for long periods has been a two horse race and in fact for long periods a one horse race. Unfortunately when Offaly were up Wexford were down a bit.The addition of Galway and thankfully the competitiveness of Wexford has made it more even. Take a look at the track record of Galway when they were in Munster who in my opinion always have and had good teams. They are contenders and have won the Leinster championship.
Is this any thing to gloat about ? No. I referred to it in the first place when one of your county poster's took a swipe at at Munster supporters and obvious ye seem to have a chip on yere shoulder, envy, losing sleep over it, denial of stats etc . I am also a supporter love to see them win and have great respect of Wexford having played in college with many of them.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2659 - 18/10/2020 19:20:01    2298863

What a load of crap. First off we've been over the Kerry thing before and no one is barring then from hurling and if you want to look at unfair hurling maniacs theres only 1 county cant be bothered to muster a football team and they are in Leinster.
Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 999 - 18/10/2020 12:06:29 2298681

I take it you are referring to Kilkenny. Kilkenny have, and do 'muster', a county football team. You have the gall to accuse someone of talking 'a load of crap'; whilst at the same time spouting ignorant crap yourself.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 18/10/2020 21:54:58    2298968

Decades ago, teachers started using yellow chalk. Easier to see than white. Tennis changed decades ago too. The only refuseniks in tennis were the top brass traditionalists at Wimbledon, who whinged illogically about it for years before eventually seeing sense in the 80s. The science is straightforward - that fluorescent yellow is more visible, both for players and for tv audiences.

The story about them being rock hard derives from a game in the States when they were inadvertently stored at sub zero temperatures the night before the game.

Anyone petty-minded enough to cry about the colour of a ball needs therapy. Imagine living next door to a clown like that. They'd be reporting you the council for having the wrong colour on your front door. Unbelievable.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 18/10/2020 22:59:49    2298980

"Decades ago, teachers started using yellow chalk."

Jaysus - I don't remember that. When did that start ?

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 19/10/2020 08:36:56    2299013

Replying To arock:  "The sole reason for a yellow sliotar is it disappears even on a 50" HD TV. Especially say a televised match in an empty Pairc Ui Chaomh with banks of light grey terracing ball may as well be hit into fog. Now I wouldnt expect players to love em, nor coaches etc. But for once maybe the GAA can do something without silly objections cluttering social media and embarresing the spirt. And point taken about standardised size, weights etc perfect time to sort it."
I don't think this is the sole reason or even the main reason. My understanding is these balls are micro chipped

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 19/10/2020 09:49:53    2299033

Replying To perfect10:  "so a thread started about a yellow sliotar,ends up in a hurling v football v other sports debate!

hurling is a great game,but i dont know how people dont see how stupid they look with the nonsense that is talked after a great game."
While the topic has become a football v hurling thing it's also part of it. Anytime a suggestion is made about hurling straight away it becomes a them v us thing, and it's more often than not started by the hurling side.

its like hurling supporters feel anybody who has an interest in any other sport is some way an inferior person,

The old line of "football is for failed hurlers" comes to mind with this one. There's a similar mindset with some rugby fans.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 19/10/2020 10:28:51    2299056