Jim Mcguinness To Galway

Replying To moc.dna:  "Two counties where numbers are spiking massively & with people dying again & many who are suffering from other illness's, unable to get their treatment because of cancelled appointments due to the pressures on hospitals. This has to be seen in light of the situation currently nationwide & the need to protect people.
But as long as some people get what they want & their agenda, it's all ok.
Totally unacceptable really, regardless of what spin is put on it."
100% agree.

People are being asked to stay within their county boundaries except in exceptional circumstances.

This guy travels between counties to do what appears to be a favour for a college pal. He has no official role in the Galway set-up.

After what has been a bad couple of weeks for the GAA (the cases in a few areas in Meath are gone off the scale following last weekend's football finals), this just reinforces the idea that inter-county set-ups think they are above any rules or responsibilities.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 13/10/2020 11:27:42    2297200

Replying To Greenfield:  "100% agree.

People are being asked to stay within their county boundaries except in exceptional circumstances.

This guy travels between counties to do what appears to be a favour for a college pal. He has no official role in the Galway set-up.

After what has been a bad couple of weeks for the GAA (the cases in a few areas in Meath are gone off the scale following last weekend's football finals), this just reinforces the idea that inter-county set-ups think they are above any rules or responsibilities."
Oh my God would ye ever give it a break ye would drive anyone cracked.
He drove down on his own, carried out a training session outdoors, and was clearly from the video socially distancing from everyone.
There is nothing in the guidelines that states that coaches can't travel between counties to train elite sport teams.
Whingers the whole lot of ye.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 377 - 13/10/2020 17:02:46    2297320

Replying To hopballref:  "Oh my God would ye ever give it a break ye would drive anyone cracked.
He drove down on his own, carried out a training session outdoors, and was clearly from the video socially distancing from everyone.
There is nothing in the guidelines that states that coaches can't travel between counties to train elite sport teams.
Whingers the whole lot of ye."
Grown adult travels solo to socially distanced training session within the rule of Covid restrictions for elite sports.

The biggest non-story since people actually said he was going to make Galway defensive (same people should look at the league table where Galway have 2nd best defensive record in 2020 while Jim as been in China, or Canada or wherever he was!)

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 16/10/2020 10:16:37    2297956

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I know that Páraic Joyce JimMcGuinness and Séamus Moynihan supposed to be good friends from their time in college together rtc Tralee. If Joyce brings in McGuinness it would be a great coup and very interesting as Joyce is very attack minded and Jim defensive minded. Two great football brains."
Would it not be more important to have the players with the football brains!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 16/10/2020 12:37:40    2298012

I doubt conceding 2-17 to mayo was part of the masterplan

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 18/10/2020 14:41:22    2298724

Galway very poor without Comer and Walsh but Mayo really wanted that win and were up for it from the get go. Seemed to have found a player or two during the break.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/10/2020 15:16:43    2298739

Replying To wexico15:  "I doubt conceding 2-17 to mayo was part of the masterplan"
By half time I meant to say

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 18/10/2020 15:24:23    2298744

Replying To wexico15:  "I doubt conceding 2-17 to mayo was part of the masterplan"
And counting

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 18/10/2020 15:37:15    2298751

Congrats to Mayo

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 18/10/2020 15:58:57    2298761

What a performance from our lads. Delighted. The young lads really stepped up. Hopefully now we can beat Tyrone next weekend and secure our division 1 status for a 24th year in a row.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 18/10/2020 16:14:32    2298769

Nor conceding 3-23.Even Kevin Walsh couldn't have saved Galway today.Hype doesn't help any team and Galway under Joyce have been getting plenty of that.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 18/10/2020 16:38:36    2298784

I don't think Jim can implement a defensive system after a couple of training sessions!

Good stuff from Mayo, we have known about the likes of Mullin and Conroy and if Moran can keep that up he will be a good addition as well. One swallow doesn't make a summer but Mayo won't be going away long term as some predicted. There is enough there to keep them in the top 3 or 4 for a while over the next number of years.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 18/10/2020 17:22:32    2298814

Looked at different levels of fitness to be honest.

The game I suppose was a few months in the making.

Wouldn't be surprised if they meet in the Championship in Nov it's more even.

Congrats to Mayo, can only give themselves a chance and have.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/10/2020 18:12:55    2298837

Impressive performance and a real marker for the championship meeting. I doubt Joyce would've being too bothered about getting beat today as there was no doubt coming in which team had more motivation. However he will be disappointed at how easily it was and it really is advantage Mayo going into the championship. Of course Galway were far from full strength today and will be hoping those injuries clear up. But Joyce and his management team have a job on their hands dealing with potential mental scar tissue after two very comprehensive Mayo victories in the last two meetings between the sides.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 18/10/2020 19:58:00    2298887

Replying To panamasam:  "Impressive performance and a real marker for the championship meeting. I doubt Joyce would've being too bothered about getting beat today as there was no doubt coming in which team had more motivation. However he will be disappointed at how easily it was and it really is advantage Mayo going into the championship. Of course Galway were far from full strength today and will be hoping those injuries clear up. But Joyce and his management team have a job on their hands dealing with potential mental scar tissue after two very comprehensive Mayo victories in the last two meetings between the sides."
Be a big mistake, looking beyond Roscommon, both counties have fallen foul there in the past. I'm sure both won't make that mistake again particularly Mayo given the draw.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/10/2020 20:28:45    2298913

I watched both games today and both Donegal and Mayo looked very sharp, I'd say they both have a lot of work done in the last 4 weeks.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/10/2020 20:35:34    2298919

Both Donegal and Mayo very impressive today and have Mayo found a gem in no. 11 Mark Moran? He looks the biz but I guess we can't judge on one fame. Did nt see Dubs v Meath but heard Meath were good. I must say that earlier in the league Meath were very unlucky in a few games. Could ve beaten Mayo and could ve got something out of the Kerry game too. It would be good to see Meath back competing at the highest level again.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 18/10/2020 21:23:39    2298955

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I watched both games today and both Donegal and Mayo looked very sharp, I'd say they both have a lot of work done in the last 4 weeks."
I really don't get this "oh they have done a lot of training" bull. Teams shouldn't be in heavy training this time of year and with champ only around the corner. Every team would
have a similar amount of training done.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 18/10/2020 21:26:53    2298957

Replying To TheUsername:  "Be a big mistake, looking beyond Roscommon, both counties have fallen foul there in the past. I'm sure both won't make that mistake again particularly Mayo given the draw."
Indeed you're right username. I was actually mistaken in thinking they were on the same side of the draw with Roscommon on the opposite side. So no dismissal of Roscommon was intended.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 18/10/2020 22:03:12    2298970

i Wouldnt say Galway have much done fitness wise
It looked like Mayo have a lot done and that helped
Galway didnt turn up for one reason or another
Its not the first time its happened either
Mayo played great football fair play to them
Mayo have allways produced good footballers
And will will always be therabouts

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 18/10/2020 22:13:53    2298971