Skys Free Gaa Coverage.

Iv often given sky a bit of stick on here over the years but it's great to see they're giving us free Gaa coverage this year, every little is welcome at this stage..

Whether or not we'll actually have a championship is another matter I suppose.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/10/2020 14:26:36    2296263

Free if you are paying basic subscription of €30 per month.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 07/10/2020 15:09:56    2296266

Good job.

Hopefully there will be some games to watch now!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 07/10/2020 15:31:59    2296267

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Iv often given sky a bit of stick on here over the years but it's great to see they're giving us free Gaa coverage this year, every little is welcome at this stage..

Whether or not we'll actually have a championship is another matter I suppose."
In fairness to our friends in RTE, they too announced a while back that they are showing all of their quota of gaa games, football and hurling, free, as in no extra charges.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 07/10/2020 16:04:51    2296273

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Good job.

Hopefully there will be some games to watch now!"
Exactly, although they seem to be showing a lot of hurling where I'd be more interested in football but beggers can't be choosers and il be happy once we have something.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/10/2020 17:26:02    2296284

Replying To supersub15:  "In fairness to our friends in RTE, they too announced a while back that they are showing all of their quota of gaa games, football and hurling, free, as in no extra charges."
I'd say RTÉ must be showing more of the football seen as sky seem to be going more with hurling.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/10/2020 18:32:03    2296298

Ah yes fair play to them for their amazing generosity! True heroes!

Except, as pointed out already, they're not "free" unless you pay Sky's subscription fee to watch whatever shite channels come under their basic package. Oh and RTÉ and TG4 have been showing dozens of free games every year for years now.

DL_Man (Donegal) - Posts: 145 - 07/10/2020 19:28:15    2296306

Replying To DL_Man:  "Ah yes fair play to them for their amazing generosity! True heroes!

Except, as pointed out already, they're not "free" unless you pay Sky's subscription fee to watch whatever shite channels come under their basic package. Oh and RTÉ and TG4 have been showing dozens of free games every year for years now."
If €160 per annum is free.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7355 - 07/10/2020 19:34:34    2296307

GAAGO dropping charges too I wonder? Doubt it!!

FeargalSR (USA) - Posts: 8 - 07/10/2020 20:03:31    2296308

its funny the folks giving out blue murder about sky getting game and they having to "pay to view" them, have to problem paying to stream games!

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 07/10/2020 20:13:13    2296311

Well I hope this is a sign of some cracks appearing in there deal with the GAA and we can get our games back on terrestrial tv.

Johnnyprophet (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 07/10/2020 20:25:37    2296313

Awesome. Every bit helps. Plus it might enlarge the fan base a bit.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2127 - 07/10/2020 20:32:02    2296316

Replying To GreenandRed:  "If €160 per annum is free."
Sky is 360 a year.

Johnnyprophet (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 07/10/2020 20:49:36    2296318

Replying To Johnnyprophet:  "Sky is 360 a year."
That's if you pay the full year, you can easily get it for 90, paying for the months it's on

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 268 - 07/10/2020 21:43:36    2296327

Replying To Johnnyprophet:  "Well I hope this is a sign of some cracks appearing in there deal with the GAA and we can get our games back on terrestrial tv."
Please these are extra games. Not one more game would be shown on RTÉ. Do you not understand that?? And no it's a good will gesture. The deal will be extended.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/10/2020 22:10:16    2296331

Replying To GreenandRed:  "If €160 per annum is free."
You have to pay that €160 to get Sky too in the first place.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 07/10/2020 22:56:34    2296337

Replying To MesAmis:  "You have to pay that €160 to get Sky too in the first place."
Very true Mes but at least with Sky, BT, Eir, Netflix, Prime, Disney etc you have a choice. It's not illegal not to sign up to them and you'll be given some options. You won't be forced to pay €160 and have no say inmost if it propping up RTE television even if you rarely watch it. I'd rather see Radio One, documentaries on One, TG4 or some podcast maker get a share of my licence fee. And RTE television continues to get money from taxes, some of which is paid by same Sky, BT, Eir. Sky Sports broadcast GAA matches to try and improve market share and increase profits. They might consider having a reduced rate GAA championship NowTV pass during COVID to get themselves some goodwill as they can see how stream g services are doing well for club games. If not hopefully county boards will provide people with streaming services, that way at least the county teams can benefit.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7355 - 08/10/2020 00:42:41    2296343

Anyone else prefer Sky's analysis? I find there's a lot more substance to it compared to RTE's in the past when it often descended into the Brolly/Spillane show.

Anyway, it looks like we'll get to see most games we want to see one way or another if it goes ahead.

So who will be the contenders to topple Dublin? Might this be the year that their crown slips?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 08/10/2020 09:19:51    2296350

Replying To DuhallowRed:  "That's if you pay the full year, you can easily get it for 90, paying for the months it's on"
Minimum 12 months contract when you sign up with sky.

Over 70s don't pay tv license.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 08/10/2020 09:39:33    2296357

Replying To royaldunne:  "Please these are extra games. Not one more game would be shown on RTÉ. Do you not understand that?? And no it's a good will gesture. The deal will be extended."
Sorry royaldunne but these are not extra games just 14 of their signed off deal, known as " the sky deal "

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 08/10/2020 09:42:16    2296358