Diarmuid Connolly

A naturally talented footballer, brilliant with both feet. Huge player for Dublin, he will be missed. Good luck in his retirement.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 01/10/2020 18:22:11    2295119

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Class player, superb athlete. Just a little sidenote. It is quite amusing people raving today about the pass from the final that was not meant for the player who cut across and caught it mid stride!"
The pass was heading straight to O'Callaghan, who was inside, so it was an excellent pass in any case, if Kilkenny wasn't the intended target.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 01/10/2020 18:30:03    2295122

He has the skills to play in any era. Both feet ,long range points if a goal was on he went for it and great reader of the game. Not too mention backed down from no one. Shame to see the greats go but it just opens up an opportunity for the next great group of players to come on. Feels the same as when DJ retired.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 01/10/2020 19:13:10    2295133

Superb natural ability and one of the few players that you would say was worth the ticket price alone.
Funnily enough I think all the retirements will
mean that Farrell will be given an easier ride in his first year. Plenty of talent still in the squad but it's definitely a period of transition now for this team.
I think the 5 in a row achieved and the Covid have probably made the decision easier .
It'll be in time that this squads greatnesses will truly be appreciated and Connolly played his part in that in no small way.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 01/10/2020 19:36:51    2295137

Replying To sam1884:  "Great player and one of the best. As for the best of his generation I don't think he was the best Ulster player over the past 15 years never mind the best in the country. Connolly head and shoulders the best there was."
Connolly not even in the top 3 of his own county over the last 15 years.

Kepak10 (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 01/10/2020 21:16:32    2295153

A lovely tribute from Kieran Donaghy.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 01/10/2020 22:23:31    2295167

Ya, I was a big admirer of Connolly, I'm trying to remember i think it was the 2017 final against Mayo, it was one of the Mayo finals and he was outstanding, no one could get near him that day.

Still kicking serious ball with the club and could still kick in for twenty minutes or so at intercounty level in my opinion, but it looked though as if Gavin and now Farrell think differently as playing little inter county ball the last 18 months.

Still though, Connolly gone, Jack Mac gone, Paul Clarke gone... doesn't matter the current panel can absorb it...

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 01/10/2020 22:36:42    2295171

Fantastic player sad to see him retiring but time waits for no man, he gave us some fantastic displays, hope he enjoys the retirement.
class too from Diarmuid and Colm Cavanagh of Tyrone to announce their retirements from inter county football at an appropriate time, not in the week before an All Ireland final as some others done in recent years to get a headline for themselves, doubt that would soften the sting of never having won an All Ireland.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 02/10/2020 00:07:50    2295185

Class player, let himself down at times throughout his playing career as we all know but he was great to watch in full flow.

Best of luck to him in retirement and whatever he turns his hand to in life.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/10/2020 10:05:18    2295209

Replying To Kepak10:  "Connolly not even in the top 3 of his own county over the last 15 years."
Your speaking reality but posters on here will not like the fact that you aren't buying into the myth.
A player who had great athletic/ natural ability. He hit some lovely scores in some games.
In truth he was not as effective as other Dublin players on his team or as you felt he should be due to his natural ability (Did Lee Keegan, who was his marker, outscore him in at least 1 All Ireland final?).
He was wound up too easy and opposing teams knew this and this often led him to lose focus or get sent off.
The Dublin management obviously felt this and that's why he has been a bit part player for a while.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1346 - 02/10/2020 10:16:34    2295216

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Your speaking reality but posters on here will not like the fact that you aren't buying into the myth.
A player who had great athletic/ natural ability. He hit some lovely scores in some games.
In truth he was not as effective as other Dublin players on his team or as you felt he should be due to his natural ability (Did Lee Keegan, who was his marker, outscore him in at least 1 All Ireland final?).
He was wound up too easy and opposing teams knew this and this often led him to lose focus or get sent off.
The Dublin management obviously felt this and that's why he has been a bit part player for a while."
Ya I think chrissy mckaigue scored 1:02 off him in a club semifinal 1 time as well while keeping him scoreless.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/10/2020 11:18:57    2295233

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya I think chrissy mckaigue scored 1:02 off him in a club semifinal 1 time as well while keeping him scoreless."
Didn't one of the Dublin players out score Colm Cooper in an All Ireland final keeping him scoreless too? Philly McMahon I believe. Doesn't take away from his talents

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 02/10/2020 11:35:40    2295237

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Your speaking reality but posters on here will not like the fact that you aren't buying into the myth.
The Dublin management obviously felt this and that's why he has been a bit part player for a while."
"The Dublin management obviously felt this and that's why he has been a bit part player for a while."

That's not really true though. He started every game from 2011 to 2016.

He was suspended for the majority of the 2017 championship but was still first in to the All-Ireland Final when he was available.

He opted out in 2018.

He opted back in halfway through the summer of 2019 and was brought right back in to squad and given game time.

That doesn't really tally with your claim above to be honest.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 02/10/2020 11:50:30    2295240

Up there with the best!!

I'm trying to coach a group of young lads atm.. I want them to kick ball like................................... Diarmuid Connolly.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 02/10/2020 11:56:21    2295243

Got wound up too easy. Its amazing that a back who gets sent off its never for being wound up but when a forward gets set off he is. Connolly never took a step back which is different to being wound up, forwards are supposed to lay down and get kicked - god forbid they stand up for themselves.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 02/10/2020 12:12:27    2295249

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya I think chrissy mckaigue scored 1:02 off him in a club semifinal 1 time as well while keeping him scoreless."
Was also one of the 2 Dublin players ruthlessly exposed by Jim Mc and Donegal in 2014. Some would claim he was destroying Donegal early in that game. In truth, his flashes of skill, ehile eye-catching, were overshadowed by his failure to track back.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 02/10/2020 12:37:28    2295255

He's a maverick. He probably tuned out when he was continuously told about 'the process'. Well able to handle himself too and you're right he sometimes got wound up too easy and his markers knew it. And maybe he liked to showboat at times and managers didn't like it. But he was great to watch for neutrals and Dubs alike.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 02/10/2020 12:43:56    2295260

Replying To cavanman47:  "Was also one of the 2 Dublin players ruthlessly exposed by Jim Mc and Donegal in 2014. Some would claim he was destroying Donegal early in that game. In truth, his flashes of skill, ehile eye-catching, were overshadowed by his failure to track back."
That's certainly one way of looking at it.

Who was the other player who 'failed to track back'?

Here's me thinking it was the fact that the Dubs midfield and half backline continually attacked leaving the gaps that caused the problems.

Over egging the pudding there methinks.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 02/10/2020 12:54:20    2295262

Replying To cavanman47:  "Was also one of the 2 Dublin players ruthlessly exposed by Jim Mc and Donegal in 2014. Some would claim he was destroying Donegal early in that game. In truth, his flashes of skill, ehile eye-catching, were overshadowed by his failure to track back."
He scored 5 magnificent points from play in that match ffs, what more do you want!!! He was one of the only dub players to perform that day.

The fact is DUBLIN and our tactics were ruthlessly exposed that day, NOT Connolly.

Best thing that ever happened to us by the way. Gavin realized that day that you can't win every game with ALL OUT ATTACK tactics. You have to be able to mix it up. And sure look, we haven't lost since.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 02/10/2020 13:12:52    2295264

Replying To zinny:  "Got wound up too easy. Its amazing that a back who gets sent off its never for being wound up but when a forward gets set off he is. Connolly never took a step back which is different to being wound up, forwards are supposed to lay down and get kicked - god forbid they stand up for themselves."
Conolly's job going out was primarily to score/ contribute to Dublin scores. Sometimes in Conolly's case once he became involved in niggly stuff in games his influence on the game lessened. In other words he played right into his markers hands.
I like seeing forwards dishing it out when needed but if this leads to them losing focus and not contributing it's not much use.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1346 - 02/10/2020 13:26:45    2295269