GAA on TV

For years people yapped and cried about brolly and called for him to be got rid of, now every1 giving out about not being able to speak your mind..i imagine it'd be the same if RTE folded, people would miss it then! A lot of people just like to complain:)

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 20/08/2020 17:35:40    2288439

Replying To achara:  "For years people yapped and cried about brolly and called for him to be got rid of, now every1 giving out about not being able to speak your mind..i imagine it'd be the same if RTE folded, people would miss it then! A lot of people just like to complain:)"
I, for one, think it is a mistake to get rid of Joe Brolly. I certainly wouldn't have made such a decision. I don't agree with him on a number of topics he has voiced an opinion on but he was different which is much better than everyone agreeing and coming out with the same soundbites and the same analysis programme after programme. It was RTE's decision to make the change which to me is a signal that they want all this game management, turnover speak to unfold as it has been unfolding and becoming more prevalent over the last few years. After a while, we will either be asleep or will need a guide book to understand what they are talking about. Some of the podcasts available at the moment are much better quality than what RTE has been serving up.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 20/08/2020 19:11:33    2288450

Replying To achara:  "For years people yapped and cried about brolly and called for him to be got rid of, now every1 giving out about not being able to speak your mind..i imagine it'd be the same if RTE folded, people would miss it then! A lot of people just like to complain:)"
Ya, you're dead right. A heap of bloody hypocrites just looking to complain about. Never happy either way.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 20/08/2020 21:34:15    2288471

now every1 giving out about not being able to speak your mind .- - - as you put it, is not the issue.

What's stopping them from speaking their mind is PC, ask Joe Brolly.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 20/08/2020 22:08:03    2288476

Replying To supersub15:  "now every1 giving out about not being able to speak your mind .- - - as you put it, is not the issue.

What's stopping them from speaking their mind is PC, ask Joe Brolly."
Rte are imposing these script based rules on the commentators so what do you expect them all to do ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/08/2020 11:13:09    2288509

Ah listen, I wouldn't be singing the praises of Joe Brolly or any other attention seeking, self promoting sports analyst. Nothing against the man personally now, but I couldn't care less about the 'analysis'.

However publicly speaking your mind is growing increasingly dangerous these days (unless you're toeing 'progressive lefty' the line of course), which is very strange and contradictory in this supposed time of 'tolerance'.

I think George Carlin put it best when speaking about political correctness, he referenced America but I think it applies across the board:

Political correctness is America's newest form of intolerance, and it is especially pernicious because it comes disguised as tolerance. It presents itself as fairness, yet attempts to restrict and control people's language with strict codes and rigid rules. I'm not sure that's the way to fight discrimination. I'm not sure silencing people or forcing them to alter their speech is the best method for solving problems that go much deeper than speech.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/08/2020 11:30:58    2288512

Just listening to Sarah McInenery this morning I think RTE have made a big mistake in not giving her the job permanently, she is excellent,no waffle gets right to the heart of the question,
I see Sean O'Rourke is enjoying his retirement attending big slap up dinners with the likes of Calleary and Hogan, all pigs are equal but some pigs are more equal than others.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 21/08/2020 11:35:43    2288514

Replying To supersub15:  "now every1 giving out about not being able to speak your mind .- - - as you put it, is not the issue.

What's stopping them from speaking their mind is PC, ask Joe Brolly."
I don't understand this admiration for "speaking your mind". Most mature people with common sense and respect for other people, would never speak their mind. That's for bigots. It's one thing giving open and and frank opinions within the bounds of decency; but "speaking your mind", that's what 3 year old children do.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 21/08/2020 11:41:33    2288517

Brollys politics and his rudeness are what turns me off him. I do recognise he offered something different. He didn't work well with Joanne Cantwell whom I regard highly. However maybe they should have kept him. I still read his articles in the paper even though some are condescending and republican. He offers something

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 21/08/2020 11:56:37    2288519

There is a difference between speaking your mind and blatant self promotion like Joe Brolly lads. Let's not make him out to be some sensible chap who was silenced.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 21/08/2020 11:58:15    2288520

Replying To bloodyban:  "Brollys politics and his rudeness are what turns me off him. I do recognise he offered something different. He didn't work well with Joanne Cantwell whom I regard highly. However maybe they should have kept him. I still read his articles in the paper even though some are condescending and republican. He offers something"
A GAA man and a republican, shame on him, I miss Joe at times cause he would throw a spanner in the works, but he was a bit too mouthy, himself Spillane and O'Rourke had become like the muppet show, what follows isn't any better and probably worse.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 21/08/2020 12:09:59    2288525

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "A GAA man and a republican, shame on him, I miss Joe at times cause he would throw a spanner in the works, but he was a bit too mouthy, himself Spillane and O'Rourke had become like the muppet show, what follows isn't any better and probably worse."
"A GAA man and a republican, shame on him"

So what? No one is beyond reproach and criticism.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 21/08/2020 12:25:59    2288530

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""A GAA man and a republican, shame on him"

So what? No one is beyond reproach and criticism."
I think you replied signed in under your other username/account. you'd want to be careful of that.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 21/08/2020 13:00:58    2288539

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""A GAA man and a republican, shame on him"

So what? No one is beyond reproach and criticism."
I think you replied signed in under your other username/account. you'd want to be careful of that."
I have only one account on HS.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 21/08/2020 13:18:42    2288542

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I don't understand this admiration for "speaking your mind". Most mature people with common sense and respect for other people, would never speak their mind. That's for bigots. It's one thing giving open and and frank opinions within the bounds of decency; but "speaking your mind", that's what 3 year old children do."
I can understand why people grew tired of Joe Brolly but at the same time, I would have kept him. Rain him in by all means and stop him going off on a tangent when he is suppose to be commenting on the game people have just watched. I don't know if I would refer to it as speaking your mind, it is showing a level of intelligence in relation to the subject you are there to discuss and being able to articulate an independent objective view as oppose to trotting out the same old phrases repeatedly. I swear to God, I could write down what certain pundits and commentators are going to say during the match and in their post-match analysis before either have even begun. It is tired and it is stale. I didn't agree with the GAA giving coverage of games to Sky but the presentation and punditry is better on Sky than on RTE.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 21/08/2020 13:19:21    2288543

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I can understand why people grew tired of Joe Brolly but at the same time, I would have kept him. Rain him in by all means and stop him going off on a tangent when he is suppose to be commenting on the game people have just watched. I don't know if I would refer to it as speaking your mind, it is showing a level of intelligence in relation to the subject you are there to discuss and being able to articulate an independent objective view as oppose to trotting out the same old phrases repeatedly. I swear to God, I could write down what certain pundits and commentators are going to say during the match and in their post-match analysis before either have even begun. It is tired and it is stale. I didn't agree with the GAA giving coverage of games to Sky but the presentation and punditry is better on Sky than on RTE."
By all accounts they made several attempts to reign Brolly in but he just couldn't help himself, the halftime debacle during last years drawn All Ireland was the straw that broke the camels back and the end for him thankfully.

Agree with you about SKY, their pundits and overall coverage is much better in my opinion.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 21/08/2020 14:58:39    2288561

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I can understand why people grew tired of Joe Brolly but at the same time, I would have kept him. Rain him in by all means and stop him going off on a tangent when he is suppose to be commenting on the game people have just watched. I don't know if I would refer to it as speaking your mind, it is showing a level of intelligence in relation to the subject you are there to discuss and being able to articulate an independent objective view as oppose to trotting out the same old phrases repeatedly. I swear to God, I could write down what certain pundits and commentators are going to say during the match and in their post-match analysis before either have even begun. It is tired and it is stale. I didn't agree with the GAA giving coverage of games to Sky but the presentation and punditry is better on Sky than on RTE."
Brolly is better on Eir, doesn't ramble as much, good analyst. I like O'Rourke. I know he's old school. When he says players should be more 'manly' nowadays I think he really means he thinks some players now are nancy boys feigning injuries, unlike his time when they could play ball, bate the shite out of each other and shake hands after the game. Straight talking.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 21/08/2020 15:18:09    2288563

I remember the night well when Fionnan Sheahan took exception to Vincent Brown and brought him to task in no small way about his constant bias towards Independent Newspapers, this had been brewing for some time. It was to say the least "heated" and to the point, political correctness not included. It was said Fionnan was banned from the Vincent Brown show, but TV3 denied that and said no he wasn't banned, and why should he be banned. ?

I have tuned into the Tonight show with Ivan Yeats and Matt Cooper from time to time, Michael Healy Ray was sometimes a guest on the show along with others, Ivan Yeats and Michael didn't always see eye to eye because of the constant interruptions of Yeats so it festered, until one night Ivan aske Michael his view on something or other, Michael made an honest effort to answer but was interrupted time and time again, later he was asked to comment on something else and the same thing happened, more interruptions, Michael went silent, Yeats said to him,- well are you not going to answer my question, Michael Healy Ray said, (political correctness not included.) - IVAN, I've been sitting here all night looking across at your smug face, grinning over at me like a Cheshire cat, looking across at Cooper as if it was scene from High Noon, you haven't given me the time or the space to draw my breath, say my bit or shoot from the hip, can I remind you Mr Yeats, I was invited on to your show, to contribute, if you no longer need me please say so and I'll up sticks and move on.

Michael Healy Ray did not move on, in fact he appeared on the Tonight show a few time after that, Michael made a few nice few friendly comments in Ivan Yeats favour during his last "Tonight show" going into retirement.

I can understand why / how some people are pissed off with RTE, in fact the reasons are growing by the week, there are posters here bursting at the seam to express themselves but can't find the words, I'm one of those, I'm not a man of words. Journalism appears to be a contentious issue within RTE, so too is sport, too often in fact and for the wrong reasons, such as the Sunday Game, there is nothing wrong with the Sunday game that cannot be fixed, diplomatically and with a bit of respect. I sometimes like to speak my mind in a respectful way like now when I say Joe Brolly added spice to the debate at any time it was going flat, he was honest and to the point, it was not his way or no way, it was simply his way, more importantly he is a man of honour, that can never be taken away from him. By removing Joe they somehow immortalised him
In my mind I feel Joanne is not suitable for the job, and I say that with respect, a short term solution perhaps might be to have dual presenters as in male and female.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 21/08/2020 19:07:06    2288591

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Brolly is better on Eir, doesn't ramble as much, good analyst. I like O'Rourke. I know he's old school. When he says players should be more 'manly' nowadays I think he really means he thinks some players now are nancy boys feigning injuries, unlike his time when they could play ball, bate the shite out of each other and shake hands after the game. Straight talking."
True for you, lot of nancy boys about these days feigning injury, some big brutes of fellas of 6'4 with beards, they must train them at the swimming pool diving board.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 21/08/2020 19:37:40    2288596

Replying To supersub15:  "I remember the night well when Fionnan Sheahan took exception to Vincent Brown and brought him to task in no small way about his constant bias towards Independent Newspapers, this had been brewing for some time. It was to say the least "heated" and to the point, political correctness not included. It was said Fionnan was banned from the Vincent Brown show, but TV3 denied that and said no he wasn't banned, and why should he be banned. ?

I have tuned into the Tonight show with Ivan Yeats and Matt Cooper from time to time, Michael Healy Ray was sometimes a guest on the show along with others, Ivan Yeats and Michael didn't always see eye to eye because of the constant interruptions of Yeats so it festered, until one night Ivan aske Michael his view on something or other, Michael made an honest effort to answer but was interrupted time and time again, later he was asked to comment on something else and the same thing happened, more interruptions, Michael went silent, Yeats said to him,- well are you not going to answer my question, Michael Healy Ray said, (political correctness not included.) - IVAN, I've been sitting here all night looking across at your smug face, grinning over at me like a Cheshire cat, looking across at Cooper as if it was scene from High Noon, you haven't given me the time or the space to draw my breath, say my bit or shoot from the hip, can I remind you Mr Yeats, I was invited on to your show, to contribute, if you no longer need me please say so and I'll up sticks and move on.

Michael Healy Ray did not move on, in fact he appeared on the Tonight show a few time after that, Michael made a few nice few friendly comments in Ivan Yeats favour during his last "Tonight show" going into retirement.

I can understand why / how some people are pissed off with RTE, in fact the reasons are growing by the week, there are posters here bursting at the seam to express themselves but can't find the words, I'm one of those, I'm not a man of words. Journalism appears to be a contentious issue within RTE, so too is sport, too often in fact and for the wrong reasons, such as the Sunday Game, there is nothing wrong with the Sunday game that cannot be fixed, diplomatically and with a bit of respect. I sometimes like to speak my mind in a respectful way like now when I say Joe Brolly added spice to the debate at any time it was going flat, he was honest and to the point, it was not his way or no way, it was simply his way, more importantly he is a man of honour, that can never be taken away from him. By removing Joe they somehow immortalised him
In my mind I feel Joanne is not suitable for the job, and I say that with respect, a short term solution perhaps might be to have dual presenters as in male and female."
I had no issue with Joe except that he could not shut his mouth when someone else was speaking and talked over them. Usually this is a sign of a poor debater when they need to drown out others. However other than that his content did add spice but now good judgement when picking his battles and executing them.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 21/08/2020 21:47:21    2288605