Stay Safe.

There would appear to be two schools of thought. Those that are taking things very seriously and those that are convinced it will magically just go away, and that the media are being irresponsible in heightening the panic.

What I would say is this. In normal pre-coronavirus times we were all too fully aware of the challenges the HSE and its staff faced. The current situation will exacerbate this, nothing is surer. You don't need to be a mathematician to understand the principles of exponential growth. That is exactly what is happening now and as days/weeks go by, and cases grow, the ability of the HSE to cope diminishes accordingly.

What we are being asked to do is essentially slow the rate of exponential growth so that our brilliant and dedicated HSE staff can continue to effectively treat patients.

Idiots that are ignoring the advice need harsh deterrents because it's obvious they can't heed advice.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 16/03/2020 11:51:56    2273967

Replying To greysoil:  "How do you Northern lads feel about the lack of action being taken by your government? If ye could stay within your own jurisdiction, that would be great.
Surreal times. Stay at home & safe everyone & this too will pass."
We'll try out best. Can't wait until the Ulster Finals are in Casement Park.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 16/03/2020 13:23:35    2273979

Once this ends, hopefully with the controls made and the minimum deaths the sceptics, deniers, conspirator believers will be out in force. They will be claiming that everything done was unnecessary and over the top. The problem is there is no way of proving a negative. Not that it should bother us but just thank God we are safe.
On our little forum it is easy know who they are because they always turn the subject to a personal attack on an other poster name calling, reference to people's intelligence, "you obvious never played the game" etc. The one thing about them is they are consistent. A small number that I made up my mind some time ago not to engage with.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 16/03/2020 13:28:50    2273980

Replying To Morty:  "Quote your scientific or medical sources or don't bother responding to me."
Try listening to professor Luke O'Neill. He's a professor of biochemistry and immunology and you might be a little less hysterical.
Yes , there will be drastic measures required and people will have to act responsibly but a vaccine is on the way. It will not be here in time for elderly people with underlying conditions and unfortunately, yes , people will die from this but not 100,000 in Ireland.
Get off Facebook and try listening to people who know what they are talking about.
That's where you will find stuff like the idiots who released a fake letter suggesting the army were about to take over the streets.
They may well be required to play a part at some stage in this but there are plenty of balobas who love to create panic and you seem like the sort that will most likely swallow stuff like that.
Restaurants and cinemas are going to be next to shut their doors and that should have been called by now but if people take proper precautions we will be ok.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/03/2020 13:57:41    2273983

Replying To catch22:  "Try listening to professor Luke O'Neill. He's a professor of biochemistry and immunology and you might be a little less hysterical.
Yes , there will be drastic measures required and people will have to act responsibly but a vaccine is on the way. It will not be here in time for elderly people with underlying conditions and unfortunately, yes , people will die from this but not 100,000 in Ireland.
Get off Facebook and try listening to people who know what they are talking about.
That's where you will find stuff like the idiots who released a fake letter suggesting the army were about to take over the streets.
They may well be required to play a part at some stage in this but there are plenty of balobas who love to create panic and you seem like the sort that will most likely swallow stuff like that.
Restaurants and cinemas are going to be next to shut their doors and that should have been called by now but if people take proper precautions we will be ok."
A vaccine is on the way? I admire your optimism. My wife is a pharmacist and she is extremely skeptical that a viable vaccine will be developed and more importantly thoroughly tested any time soon.

The vaccine for the SARS virus had a lot of unwanted side affects for example.

Whilst I agree that people need to rein in the hysterics and not base their opinions on what some eejit has retweeted, there is still a very real need to be alarmed and to keep abreast of the very latest developments.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 16/03/2020 15:03:31    2273990

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A vaccine is on the way? I admire your optimism. My wife is a pharmacist and she is extremely skeptical that a viable vaccine will be developed and more importantly thoroughly tested any time soon.

Whilst I agree that people need to rein in the hysterics and not base their opinions on what some eejit has retweeted, there is still a very real need to be alarmed and to keep abreast of the very latest developments."
https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/coronavirus-vaccine#when-will-it-be-ready

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 16/03/2020 16:24:55    2273999

Replying To sam09:  "I've never seen an over reaction like this one before. It's a bad strain of the flu lads.
There's more people dying each day from the actual flu than from Coronavirus.
Yesterday in China (the country where its most prominent) there were only 8 confirmed new cases of the virus. 8! This is in a county of 1.4 billion people!!
The media have everyone living in fear but the reality is you have more chance of winning the lottery than you do from dying of Coronavirus. The media are a disgrace.
Out of all the people who have caught the virus worldwide less than 4% died. And most of those who did had underlying health problems or were very elderly. I'm not making light of their deaths but there is very little chance of you dying from this.
Media just pumping fear into everyone as per usual!"
I can't help but reply to the (BS) above and if I hear one more person trot out the rhetoric of comparing covid 19 to the flu and more deaths with Flu blah blah blah

So I will use your own comparison to enlighten you....

Firstly The flu kills less than 1% of infected people who are over age 65. By comparison COVID-19 killed 8% of those infected who were 70-79 and almost 15% of those infected who were age 80 or older. That's a staggering difference.

Even for younger people, the difference was striking. Flu killed .02% of infected patients age 18-49. It's 10 times that for COVID-19

But if 1 in 12 people age 70-79 who get the virus and 1 in 7 people age 80 or older who get the virus die, and the virus spreads to 20%, 40% or 70% of the population, we're talking massive death tolls, the likes of which we have never seen before in our lives.

Cop on and give this the respect it deserves instead of dismissing it. Because we all know if this comes to your door step and takes away a loved one we would regret a stupid cavalier approach to this forever.

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 16/03/2020 16:27:51    2274000

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A vaccine is on the way? I admire your optimism. My wife is a pharmacist and she is extremely skeptical that a viable vaccine will be developed and more importantly thoroughly tested any time soon.

Whilst I agree that people need to rein in the hysterics and not base their opinions on what some eejit has retweeted, there is still a very real need to be alarmed and to keep abreast of the very latest developments."
Of course , take precautions, that's the message. Billions are being plowed into this in order to develop a vaccine. It will not appear tomorrow or next week and will possibly take 6 months but it will come and human trials are currently being run. If people do what they should then everyone has a far better chance of avoiding it. If proper precautions are taken the number of fatalities will be reduced and the most vulnerable have some hope.
What's not helpful in these situations is the gombeens who read something and start posting rubbish with no clue whether it is accurate or not.
It's the elderly with underlying health problems, heart conditions ,who will succumb to this with the vast majority of healthy individuals surviving. When you get someone suggesting that 100,000 Irish people will die from this then you are dealing with hysteria. That's what we don't need.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/03/2020 16:45:52    2274002

Replying To catch22:  "Try listening to professor Luke O'Neill. He's a professor of biochemistry and immunology and you might be a little less hysterical.
Restaurants and cinemas are going to be next to shut their doors and that should have been called by now but if people take proper precautions we will be ok."
You're incoherent. You keep calling people here 'idiots' that are 'panicked' and 'hysterical' and you keep blathering on about social media but never, ever hard facts. Most people I know are calm and collected. I think the cabin fever may be setting in for you as you're making up arguments that never existed!

I'm well familiar with Luke O'Neill. Where has he contradicted the HSE worst case scenario where 100k could die from it? It's simple, If we did nothing this is what the rate would have been - that's not controversial, it's just a statistical forecast based on hard facts. I'm sorry the concept of exponential growth offends you so much! It's a worst case scenario for a reason and the social distancing measures now should stop it getting anywhere close to those figures. it's a bit of a sacrifice for a few months but it'll be grand in the end for most.

You came on to this site to say 'take precautions like a normal flu' - but it's not like that and you need to be called out on that. For the the vulnerable groups, there's vaccines to stop them getting normal flus and effective treatment if they end up with the flu. For the vulnerable group with Covid19, it's completely open season and there's no solution for them any time soon.

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 16/03/2020 16:54:32    2274005

Replying To catch22:  "Of course , take precautions, that's the message. Billions are being plowed into this in order to develop a vaccine. It will not appear tomorrow or next week and will possibly take 6 months but it will come and human trials are currently being run. If people do what they should then everyone has a far better chance of avoiding it. If proper precautions are taken the number of fatalities will be reduced and the most vulnerable have some hope.
What's not helpful in these situations is the gombeens who read something and start posting rubbish with no clue whether it is accurate or not.
It's the elderly with underlying health problems, heart conditions ,who will succumb to this with the vast majority of healthy individuals surviving. When you get someone suggesting that 100,000 Irish people will die from this then you are dealing with hysteria. That's what we don't need."
https://www.theolivepress.es/spain-news/2020/03/18/breaking-guardia-civil-officer-37-dies-from-coronavirus-in-spain-and-did-not-have-previous-illnesses-as-number-of-cases-nears-14000/

This man in his 30's had no underlying illness.

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 20/03/2020 17:54:50    2274180

Glad to have the forum open again, since I started this thread I just thought I'd give a update.
I didn't honestly think it would get as bad as this and I am only one who is leaving the house ,with gloves on always and only for essentials, I hope you all keeping well and doing what we asked to do.
As the politicians say , keep together by staying apart.
Again stay safe

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/03/2020 20:18:47    2274187

Replying To royaldunne:  "Glad to have the forum open again, since I started this thread I just thought I'd give a update.
I didn't honestly think it would get as bad as this and I am only one who is leaving the house ,with gloves on always and only for essentials, I hope you all keeping well and doing what we asked to do.
As the politicians say , keep together by staying apart.
Again stay safe"
Good thread. Stay safe yourself. Sounds like you're taking smart precautions. Better safe than sorry.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 27/03/2020 18:04:51    2274845

Replying To sam09:  "I've never seen an over reaction like this one before. It's a bad strain of the flu lads.
There's more people dying each day from the actual flu than from Coronavirus.
Yesterday in China (the country where its most prominent) there were only 8 confirmed new cases of the virus. 8! This is in a county of 1.4 billion people!!
The media have everyone living in fear but the reality is you have more chance of winning the lottery than you do from dying of Coronavirus. The media are a disgrace.
Out of all the people who have caught the virus worldwide less than 4% died. And most of those who did had underlying health problems or were very elderly. I'm not making light of their deaths but there is very little chance of you dying from this.
Media just pumping fear into everyone as per usual!"
Well Sam two weeks on do you still think this is an overreaction and the media are pumping fear into everyone or have you taken your head outa you know what and eventually woken up?

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 27/03/2020 22:54:16    2274856

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Well Sam two weeks on do you still think this is an overreaction and the media are pumping fear into everyone or have you taken your head outa you know what and eventually woken up?"
Aw don't be worrying about my opinion on it mate. Hope you and you fam are keeping well in the lockdown.

sam09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 339 - 29/03/2020 18:24:25    2274979

Replying To Trump2020:  "Good thread. Stay safe yourself. Sounds like you're taking smart precautions. Better safe than sorry."
Yeah, I'm doing all I can. But I think it's fair to say the vast majority of people are doing the right things , we are a great little country when we come together, we might argue and give out about each other (particularly when it comes to gaa sport) but this puts things in perspective. Keep safe yourself
And to all the Galway fans I annoyed after the league match. How I wish the only worries we had now were about a ref and football.
To everyone continue to stay safe.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/03/2020 19:34:02    2274989

Replying To sam09:  "Aw don't be worrying about my opinion on it mate. Hope you and you fam are keeping well in the lockdown."
All well so far bud thank god and hope all is well with you and yours up north.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 29/03/2020 22:48:49    2275001

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah, I'm doing all I can. But I think it's fair to say the vast majority of people are doing the right things , we are a great little country when we come together, we might argue and give out about each other (particularly when it comes to gaa sport) but this puts things in perspective. Keep safe yourself
And to all the Galway fans I annoyed after the league match. How I wish the only worries we had now were about a ref and football.
To everyone continue to stay safe."
Hope all is well royaler. Getting great enjoyment of you spending your time on Twitter giving it to the SF crowd. I agree with you too. Stay safe pal

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 29/03/2020 22:52:13    2275002

Replying To The_Fonz:  "https://www.theolivepress.es/spain-news/2020/03/18/breaking-guardia-civil-officer-37-dies-from-coronavirus-in-spain-and-did-not-have-previous-illnesses-as-number-of-cases-nears-14000/

This man in his 30's had no underlying illness."
Yes , I have heard of several cases where theee were no underlying health problems before contracting this but it's obviously a lot lower figures than those with underlying health issues.
It's possible these people had something that was undiagnosed but I don't know enough about them to be able to say that one way or the other.
Look after yourself.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 30/03/2020 11:59:30    2275019

This thread is for people to look after each other and wish users well. If you want to get in get in to a heavy medical conversation, slag off other users, start scaremongering or generally act the tool - then there are other places on the web that are more suited to that.
Be kind, look after each other and let us reflect on what is really important.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 30/03/2020 12:06:12    2275020

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Hope all is well royaler. Getting great enjoyment of you spending your time on Twitter giving it to the SF crowd. I agree with you too. Stay safe pal"
Ahh sure someone has to lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/03/2020 15:02:37    2275033