Food After Training

Replying To KillingFields:  "Is it really that much of a burden? Just say chicken, pasta some salad for 25 people compare it to a night or two out drinking between drinks, taxis and whatever else. It's very much doable."
Exactly my point.

If it's a burden, no-one will do it.

The reality is it'll be a lot better for general health and fitness than a session at the pub.

I doubt if anyone is suggesting some 16 year old lad would take on the cost.

Some of the objections on here are just ridiculous. There isn't one objection on here that can't be worked around.

A lad can't cook ? Get someone else. Who'd want to eat stuff cooked by a bad cook anyway ?

Too expensive ? Chip in to a kitty and share the cost ?

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 16/03/2020 14:29:48    2273985

Some lads have a family and kids. be hard enough justifying going out for training but staying for food as well. Other lads could be driving 90 mins and then they have to bring food with them for the team as well.
Personally i cant see that catching on at all. You want to be in, trained and showered asap and gone home.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/03/2020 15:33:00    2273994

Replying To lionofludesch:  "Exactly my point.

If it's a burden, no-one will do it.

The reality is it'll be a lot better for general health and fitness than a session at the pub.

I doubt if anyone is suggesting some 16 year old lad would take on the cost.

Some of the objections on here are just ridiculous. There isn't one objection on here that can't be worked around.

A lad can't cook ? Get someone else. Who'd want to eat stuff cooked by a bad cook anyway ?

Too expensive ? Chip in to a kitty and share the cost ?"
Baked spud beans.chicken curry mince mix with spud.lots of cheap ways to do it id say for 40 euro ok ya have to cook it.ye would feed 25 lads not a full course but enuf to keep them happy.and generate a family atmosphere.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 16/03/2020 15:41:47    2273995

Replying To Borderroyal:  "Baked spud beans.chicken curry mince mix with spud.lots of cheap ways to do it id say for 40 euro ok ya have to cook it.ye would feed 25 lads not a full course but enuf to keep them happy.and generate a family atmosphere."
Sure - I'm with you Border, so I am.

If the lads don't want to do it, that's grand, but don't tell me it's too hard.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 16/03/2020 18:18:10    2274013

Replying To lionofludesch:  "Sure - I'm with you Border, so I am.

If the lads don't want to do it, that's grand, but don't tell me it's too hard."
Spot on.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 16/03/2020 18:39:06    2274017

We just go with a cuppa after training - brown bread, plain biscuits etc. We are lucky to have a non-playing volunteer to do this. With training generally finishing up at 10pm midweek we think this is adequate. I'm sure most clubsnot doing anything at all.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 18/03/2020 13:19:13    2274022

Replying To lionofludesch:  "Sure - I'm with you Border, so I am.

If the lads don't want to do it, that's grand, but don't tell me it's too hard."
Jesus , your besotted with this.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2005 - 18/03/2020 19:58:11    2274057

Replying To Saynothing:  "Jesus , your besotted with this."
It's good team bonding.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 19/03/2020 18:04:49    2274107