Food After Training

My own team have started this up recently with each team member pulling a number and supplying the food on that week. Out of curiosity I wonder is the common with most teams now.

Does your club or team do this? What's your thoughts or experiences from doing it?

Personally I think it can leave lads getting home later at night if the trainings at 8 let's say when you factor in travelling and what not but is a good way for the team to bond after training and have a bit of craic.

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 11/03/2020 13:13:40    2273379

Replying To MonaghanGlory:  "My own team have started this up recently with each team member pulling a number and supplying the food on that week. Out of curiosity I wonder is the common with most teams now.

Does your club or team do this? What's your thoughts or experiences from doing it?

Personally I think it can leave lads getting home later at night if the trainings at 8 let's say when you factor in travelling and what not but is a good way for the team to bond after training and have a bit of craic."
Sounds great idea what do ye have and do ye cook it yourself

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 11/03/2020 15:37:57    2273413

Replying To MonaghanGlory:  "My own team have started this up recently with each team member pulling a number and supplying the food on that week. Out of curiosity I wonder is the common with most teams now.

Personally I think it can leave lads getting home later at night if the trainings at 8 let's say when you factor in travelling and what not but is a good way for the team to bond after training and have a bit of craic."
Covid-19 should put an end to that for you!

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 11/03/2020 16:47:32    2273431

Replying To Borderroyal:  "Sounds great idea what do ye have and do ye cook it yourself"
Considering there is 20 odd lads to feed a lot will pay a caterer or a hotel to curry for example, maybe keep it simple with sandwiches.

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 11/03/2020 18:32:49    2273448

Around 2004 or 05, I was in the Goat pub in Dublin and saw a few of the Armagh senior team a couple tables down. I have to say they lived up to their reputation - chicken and lean stuff and no desserts. They could have cheated as the clientele in the pub didn't know them; but fair play to them, they didn't.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 11/03/2020 19:54:51    2273455

Replying To MonaghanGlory:  "Considering there is 20 odd lads to feed a lot will pay a caterer or a hotel to curry for example, maybe keep it simple with sandwiches."
That's what €200 odd a night for the respective player. Cant really see that going down well with lads or clubs. Terrific idea though.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 11/03/2020 20:28:34    2273459

Replying To MonaghanGlory:  "Considering there is 20 odd lads to feed a lot will pay a caterer or a hotel to curry for example, maybe keep it simple with sandwiches."
You serious? How much does that set you back, paying for food for 20 people? And there was I worried about covering the cost of a round for a few mates.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 11/03/2020 20:36:19    2273461

Replying To David:  "That's what €200 odd a night for the respective player. Cant really see that going down well with lads or clubs. Terrific idea though."
Realistically it is expensive and if you attend enough of the meet ups after training you get it back but still is a lot to be forking out. Best if they had 2 lads per week going halfways and reduce how often it happens could be an option.

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 11/03/2020 21:02:27    2273469

Replying To festinog:  "You serious? How much does that set you back, paying for food for 20 people? And there was I worried about covering the cost of a round for a few mates."
Be over 100 euro anyway I suppose, like my other reply on here you're being fed throughout the year so you get it back if your consistent but it's a lot all the same.

I know a club in Derry are doing this too

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 11/03/2020 21:05:22    2273470

So a player has to cook/supply food NG or the entire team for a week after training/games?

Forgive me I'm confused...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 11/03/2020 23:07:25    2273493

Replying To yew_tree:  "So a player has to cook/supply food NG or the entire team for a week after training/games?

Forgive me I'm confused..."
A player provides food for the team after one of the trainings on the week he is selected for then the next week a different player provides the food after a training.

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 12/03/2020 01:21:48    2273498

In our club at this time of year lads based away from home like Dublin wouldnt be expected down for training mid week. All go home to eat after Fridays session. Come Championship when lads are been brought down during the week the club would always provide food after training. Would be clubs expense and not the players, Think its a bit mad for players having to fork it out themselves. Have they not enough to be worrying about.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1143 - 12/03/2020 09:56:37    2273515

Replying To David:  "That's what €200 odd a night for the respective player. Cant really see that going down well with lads or clubs. Terrific idea though."
They all have to eat anyway.

If I was organising it, and it was to be at the players cost, I'd get them to chip into a kitty, buy some chicken or something and the players could take it in turns to cook something up.

The cost needn't be excessive. Picking the right fella to play chef might be a bigger problem.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 12/03/2020 17:33:46    2273592

Replying To sourmilk93:  "In our club at this time of year lads based away from home like Dublin wouldnt be expected down for training mid week. All go home to eat after Fridays session. Come Championship when lads are been brought down during the week the club would always provide food after training. Would be clubs expense and not the players, Think its a bit mad for players having to fork it out themselves. Have they not enough to be worrying about."
Not all clubs would do this.but ive heard of players giving couple euro to get food on the night of training. Would any managers cook food for players.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 12/03/2020 18:23:00    2273598

Sorry, sounds daft, and quite the financial burden to be putting on young lads many of whom are in school or college. How many young lads can cook/prepare food for that many people and then get it to the clubhouse?

Nope. Not into it.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 12/03/2020 18:47:22    2273602

Replying To festinog:  "Sorry, sounds daft, and quite the financial burden to be putting on young lads many of whom are in school or college. How many young lads can cook/prepare food for that many people and then get it to the clubhouse?

Nope. Not into it."
Ach - you're not thinking it through.

Depends how it's carried out. The cooking could be done at the clubhouse. It could be done by the support staff or volunteers. If it's a burden, it won't be done but plenty teams like to do a bonding session. A bit of chicken and rice or pasta would be a lot cheaper than a round at the pub.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 13/03/2020 18:33:23    2273728

Replying To festinog:  "Sorry, sounds daft, and quite the financial burden to be putting on young lads many of whom are in school or college. How many young lads can cook/prepare food for that many people and then get it to the clubhouse?

Nope. Not into it."
At last, a bit of sense. Young lads have enough to do without cooking meals for training. So they give their free time up to train, play matches, cook and maybe clean and sweep up after them. Don't think so.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 15/03/2020 15:57:34    2273880

Replying To Saynothing:  "At last, a bit of sense. Young lads have enough to do without cooking meals for training. So they give their free time up to train, play matches, cook and maybe clean and sweep up after them. Don't think so."
You'd ban it, then ?

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 15/03/2020 17:28:14    2273894

Nope. Not into it."
Is it really that much of a burden? Just say chicken, pasta some salad for 25 people compare it to a night or two out drinking between drinks, taxis and whatever else. It's very much doable.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 15/03/2020 18:39:03    2273902

Replying To Saynothing:  "At last, a bit of sense. Young lads have enough to do without cooking meals for training. So they give their free time up to train, play matches, cook and maybe clean and sweep up after them. Don't think so."
I understand where you are coming from, it can be a lot of money for a young lad to fork out but if done right it can work well. Nobody is asking them to cook. From what I have heard nobody really cooks and if they do it's making sandwiches during the day, nobody is gonna start cooking for a team at half 9 at night. A few have gone with the option of paying a deli or caterer to make curry or lasagna, even sandwiches. I agree it is expensive but don't knock it until it's tried. They all agreed to do it again after last year so it must have some perks.

They then go up after training to the clubhouse and put it out or whatever with the kitchen facilities on hand and let the rest of the team take their bit from it. Have a team meeting or even just put on music and chat about non football stuff. Clean up and out the gap before 10.

Each lad does it once a year so if you go back on the other nights you're getting fed too. For some lads it might save them cooking when they do get home. I know it's time consuming and an effort to arrange food etc but it can be done wisely and not totally a bad idea.

It happens just once a week too. Not every training, If I had my way I would have 2 lads a week would probably be more efficient but it is what it is and it's a bit of team bonding too.

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 16/03/2020 01:36:42    2273949