The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To arock:  "I believe the percentages clearly show the virus is most prevelant among young people (even if the vast majority display no systems). But, everyone has lost out, is losing out, I was not able to attend my mothers funeral. I have also lost my entire livlihood, my young son and daughter will lose out more though with that loss. There are no winners or losers, each section of society is suffering. But there is a percentage both young and old who just don't give a damn. There should be a deep dark place for these people. I dont agree with a lockdown that dedtroys peoples lives, but thats what the country seems to want. If I follow the law I sure as hell expect others too including the so called polutical class."
Condolence for your loss, some like yourself have felt the effects of this virus in all aspects of their life, must be galling to witness the behaviour of some who dont seem to give a damm how their actions effect the rest of society. Hard to fathom the behaviour of our politicans over last few months (dont think any party is exempt), be it SF taking over a crematorium in the North to last weeks Golf outing that included members from both FF/FG and many more bad examples across the board. Hopefully things pick up for you and your family.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 22/08/2020 15:59:59    2288669

Replying To KillingFields:  "People said that about Fianna Fail after the 08 economic crash and they were back in power less than decade later. Irish people wont vote in big numbers away from right wing/authoritarian parties.
Id love to see a left coalition of labour soc dems and greens but just will never happen"
By international standards we don't have any right-wing parties. FF/FG are fairly middle of the road economically and actually leftish on social policy.
I'd also like to see the Soc Dems and Greens in power together, but they have a lot of work to do to build up grassroot support.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 22/08/2020 16:14:23    2288671

Replying To WanPintWin:  "By international standards we don't have any right-wing parties. FF/FG are fairly middle of the road economically and actually leftish on social policy.
I'd also like to see the Soc Dems and Greens in power together, but they have a lot of work to do to build up grassroot support."
Yes not far from centre but still very much on the right side of the spectrum even with some of their policies socially being left wing

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 22/08/2020 17:03:13    2288676

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "I think a combination of those 3 in government would destroy the country, I wrote the reasons I believe for this already but it wasn't left up on the thread."
This right left nonsense is what has democracy destroyed every where. Especially the U.S. I suspect without actual proof but just on personnel interaction with people that the majority are neither and actually are for what is the right. Politician's stoke this right left sh-t up to keep themselves relevant. See how quick they are all on the same side when it is too their own benefit or drinking in the Dail bar. We the public swallow the hook and sinker.
Sorry for going off subject but seen as it was brought up.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 22/08/2020 18:04:52    2288678

Ireland is crying out for a conservative alternative . Fine Gael should be right wing but they aren't. Basically we've got a hodge podge of middle of the road left wing Republican parties and then a few loony toon left . So the 30% of voters who would be right wing have no one to vote for..and they don't want to vote for some lunatic far right micro parties.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 22/08/2020 18:36:51    2288680

The banks run the country. The government are there to cross the tees on legislation. They will still coin it in on mortgages put on hold for COVID, in many cases profit more from them. I'm not religious. I'm not sorry the church has crumbled, has lost the hold it had on this country, now we have at least become a bit Liberal. But the church had and has some really good people with what I would call socialist beliefs, looking out for and helping your neighbour. The banks have a skeleton staff at lunchtime when a lot of get a few minutes to go in there to some business. We, the customers, who pay their wages, kept waiting and delayed because they are on lunch. Can they not have full staff at lunchtime and take a break on off peak times? I won't bore you with my other whinges about banks but we're too accepting of their connivance, the government doing nothing about it. As a nation we don't give out when giving out is needed. The names of all elected officials in Golfgate should be kept in our thoughts when they seek re-election. Decide then if they deserve a vote. For now charges should be pressed on them and all who attended that function. One law for the rich.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 22/08/2020 19:15:19    2288682

This right left nonsense is what has democracy destroyed every where. Especially the U.S. I suspect without actual proof but just on personnel interaction with people that the majority are neither and actually are for what is the right. Politician's stoke this right left sh-t up to keep themselves relevant. See how quick they are all on the same side when it is too their own benefit or drinking in the Dail bar. We the public swallow the hook and sinker.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 803 - 22/08/2020 18:04:52
Well thats complete nonsense.
Left Right as terms go back to the french revolution but they havent destroyed anything

Ireland is crying out for a conservative alternative . Fine Gael should be right wing but they aren't. Basically we've got a hodge podge of middle of the road left wing Republican parties and then a few loony toon left . So the 30% of voters who would be right wing have no one to vote for..and they don't want to vote for some lunatic far right micro parties.
bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1250 - 22/08/2020 18:36:51
We dont need any more conservative groups. We need to look to more socially aware and left orientated parties.. Social Democrats and Greens with Labour moving back more left would be great

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 22/08/2020 19:20:52    2288684

The most overused and devalued word we now hear on a daily basis is "Apology". People from every walk of life, professional and otherwise that is particularly in the public eye use it as needed; it has become their escape clause or safety net, it has become so devalued and insincere that it's almost useless. There are everyday catchphrases like, "Did he / she apologise, or "Was his / hers apology read out in court." Or, "I'm still waiting for an apology." So when the apology is made life returns to normal and the cycle starts all over again, and again, and again, etc. etc. etc. Like everything else we have to learn to live with it.

There is no political party left, right, or center, that can / will put the value back in the word "Apology" if they did sure that would remove their safety net.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 22/08/2020 19:47:04    2288688

Replying To supersub15:  "The most overused and devalued word we now hear on a daily basis is "Apology". People from every walk of life, professional and otherwise that is particularly in the public eye use it as needed; it has become their escape clause or safety net, it has become so devalued and insincere that it's almost useless. There are everyday catchphrases like, "Did he / she apologise, or "Was his / hers apology read out in court." Or, "I'm still waiting for an apology." So when the apology is made life returns to normal and the cycle starts all over again, and again, and again, etc. etc. etc. Like everything else we have to learn to live with it.

There is no political party left, right, or center, that can / will put the value back in the word "Apology" if they did sure that would remove their safety net."
All very relevant to the gaa.......

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1679 - 22/08/2020 22:36:19    2288702

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "All very relevant to the gaa......."
You make a valid point, - - I simply got caught up in the run of things.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 22/08/2020 23:04:01    2288707

Replying To KillingFields:  "This right left nonsense is what has democracy destroyed every where. Especially the U.S. I suspect without actual proof but just on personnel interaction with people that the majority are neither and actually are for what is the right. Politician's stoke this right left sh-t up to keep themselves relevant. See how quick they are all on the same side when it is too their own benefit or drinking in the Dail bar. We the public swallow the hook and sinker.
Left Right as terms go back to the french revolution but they havent destroyed anything

We dont need any more conservative groups. We need to look to more socially aware and left orientated parties.. Social Democrats and Greens with Labour moving back more left would be great"
" Left Right as terms go back to the french revolution "
YA! they also chopped the heads off people. I would not be using them as an example to how our democracies would be best served today.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 23/08/2020 00:16:12    2288715

Replying To arock:  "I believe the percentages clearly show the virus is most prevelant among young people (even if the vast majority display no systems). But, everyone has lost out, is losing out, I was not able to attend my mothers funeral. I have also lost my entire livlihood, my young son and daughter will lose out more though with that loss. There are no winners or losers, each section of society is suffering. But there is a percentage both young and old who just don't give a damn. There should be a deep dark place for these people. I dont agree with a lockdown that dedtroys peoples lives, but thats what the country seems to want. If I follow the law I sure as hell expect others too including the so called polutical class."
Sorry on ur loss man rip.
Also I know how tough it is my own business that I have built up for years is on its knees. Keep the chin up man. The kids will be grand once dad is ok.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/08/2020 00:24:47    2288716

Replying To bloodyban:  "Ireland is crying out for a conservative alternative . Fine Gael should be right wing but they aren't. Basically we've got a hodge podge of middle of the road left wing Republican parties and then a few loony toon left . So the 30% of voters who would be right wing have no one to vote for..and they don't want to vote for some lunatic far right micro parties."
Agreed totally

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/08/2020 00:28:37    2288717

Replying To seadog54:  "Condolence for your loss, some like yourself have felt the effects of this virus in all aspects of their life, must be galling to witness the behaviour of some who dont seem to give a damm how their actions effect the rest of society. Hard to fathom the behaviour of our politicans over last few months (dont think any party is exempt), be it SF taking over a crematorium in the North to last weeks Golf outing that included members from both FF/FG and many more bad examples across the board. Hopefully things pick up for you and your family."
Thank you, I appreciate your kind thoughts and words. While my mother was elderly, yet mentally and physically active, alert, but she went downhill rapidely in the lockdown. I look at young people it must be a nightmare for them too. Now more than ever we need the likes of the GAA, Music, the Arts, the destructive nature of mental health should not be underestimated. These politicians and public servants are incapable of finding a way through this. Young people and old folk need our support. For many a lock down is prison a death sentence, I wish politicians would lead and not hide.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 23/08/2020 01:04:33    2288719

Q question for those lucky enough to get to a game when the 200 limit was in place. You got your ticket and were delighted as your son was playing. You get to the game early so you can sit right in the middle, more people start to come in and sit around you - behind, infront and beside you - you know them all as they are from your club. Before the game starts you begin to wonder what does 200 mean, you count the teams subs and lads on the sideline then count the people in the stadium, you reckon it comes to about 300. What do you do - get up and leave? the local newspaper who had a reported there did the same and had it as the headlines in the local paper and took a picture of you there in the middle surrounded by all your other club friends and had it on the front page. You have a job where part of it is to ensure that the people who work for you follow internal rules on their behavior. What do you now do? Whats you defense - that you trusted the GAA to ensure the rules were followed? Do you feel there is any personal responsibility to ensure that you are not party to something that is breaking the rules?
I am not defending anyone but neither will I be casting the first stone.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 23/08/2020 07:11:33    2288723

Replying To Canuck:  "
Replying To KillingFields:  "This right left nonsense is what has democracy destroyed every where. Especially the U.S. I suspect without actual proof but just on personnel interaction with people that the majority are neither and actually are for what is the right. Politician's stoke this right left sh-t up to keep themselves relevant. See how quick they are all on the same side when it is too their own benefit or drinking in the Dail bar. We the public swallow the hook and sinker.

We dont need any more conservative groups. We need to look to more socially aware and left orientated parties.. Social Democrats and Greens with Labour moving back more left would be great"
" Left Right as terms go back to the french revolution "
YA! they also chopped the heads off people. I would not be using them as an example to how our democracies would be best served today."
well done on missing the point

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 23/08/2020 11:08:31    2288728

Replying To arock:  "Thank you, I appreciate your kind thoughts and words. While my mother was elderly, yet mentally and physically active, alert, but she went downhill rapidely in the lockdown. I look at young people it must be a nightmare for them too. Now more than ever we need the likes of the GAA, Music, the Arts, the destructive nature of mental health should not be underestimated. These politicians and public servants are incapable of finding a way through this. Young people and old folk need our support. For many a lock down is prison a death sentence, I wish politicians would lead and not hide."
arock, Belated commiserations to you and family on the passing of your Ma, whether she was old or ancient is not the important, she was still your Mother and your children's gran, be strong young man, your Ma will see to it that you do.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 23/08/2020 11:37:22    2288733

Replying To royaldunne:  "Agreed totally"
Yes absolutely, the left is bleeding us dry, a horrific shower of idiots.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 23/08/2020 15:22:43    2288750

Replying To royaldunne:  "Agreed totally"
As a S.F voter I would disagree. I think they should be given a chance to govern. They would be good for the GAA and Irish language. And probably the economy too. They would bring an all island view, which to me, we are just a small island on the edge of Europe. And need to pull together.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 23/08/2020 15:31:20    2288753

Replying To galwayford:  "As a S.F voter I would disagree. I think they should be given a chance to govern. They would be good for the GAA and Irish language. And probably the economy too. They would bring an all island view, which to me, we are just a small island on the edge of Europe. And need to pull together."
What exactly makes them good for the GAA or economy?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 23/08/2020 15:43:39    2288758