The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To KillingFields:  "
Replying To winatallcost:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "That statement is wrong. Soccer and rugby players and thousands of people rely on professional sports soccer and rugby for income to support their lives. GAA does not fall into this category. Ultimately if there is no soccer or rugby, the players are unlikely to get paid in the long run and the higher the stakes, the more the losses and the bigger the risks they will take. The GAA players can take it or leave depending on risks and given any risk I feel it would be more the later and rightly so. In short professional sports will be back first and GAA would be extremely foolish to compete with this.
winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 163 - 15/04/2020
again GAA still requires extensive income level to finance all levels and everything within the organisation.

it's coming but it'll be different. Masks, ordering through apps, drive through only in some places, etc. I see designer masks now being sold as if they believe it'll be around a while. Must look good while masked. And yes it should be talked about but mostly it's educated guesses but still guesses.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 609 - 16/04/2020 16:38:39
of course its guesses but it's natural and you cant not fo it. Nobody has said it wont be different.

The likes of pubs won't be happening anytime soon. A person stumbling after a few drinks, wouldn't be good practice for social distancing.
I don't know they could be opened before a vaccine is got.
Maybe some retail outlets could be open in a few months, with a limited amount per shop.
FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 1971 - 16/04/2020 17:09:42
you cant restrict many businesses that long or many businesses simply wont open again and you have thousands out of work long term and the state can not afford that.

people dont seem to realize, there will be no leagues next year either id say
Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 1789 - 16/04/2020 18:52:50
that's extreme and doesnt match much of what's been said by experts that there will be no leisure events in 8/9 months time."
Am I on my own here or can anyone else see that the GAA is also in lockdown like almost every non-essential sporting organisation or business. For what its worth I understand it cannot run on its own and needs financial help etc. However, the GAA never was and certainly shouldn't be now a business. There should be no full-time employees and I know there are a few but it should be minimal. Any that are affected can get support like all those currently on the live register. As the games and any works associated with the GAA are at a standstill, there should be very few expenses. Unless there has been significant borrowing no club or GAA organisation should be struggling otherwise the tail had been wagging the dog. In summary, if no activity in a voluntary organisation there should be no outgoings."
There is a huge amount of full time staff needed to run an organisation the size of the GAA.
The GAA very much is a business whether you want it to be or not. Marketing, TV deals and their size alone show it as a major business.
There is still substantial costs between fixed costs that cant not be spent to many others."]Sure can we not just send the parish priest up with the lad who does the raffle to negotiate the multi million euro advertising contracts like in the old days

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 17/04/2020 12:57:14    2276160

From my experience very little money comes to clubs from Croke Park. Clubs have to fend for themselves and get relatively little financial support even from county boards. In fact, it is the opposite that normally apples as the county taps the clubs. A bit of austerity up in Croke Park this year won't do any harm and might remind them that there is a grassroots out there. Don't be surprised if the local club championships will be thrown under the bus later this year in order to facilitate inter county activity. This could mean clubs play their local championships including senior without County players. The reality is that something has to give and I have no doubt Croke Park will focus on the county scene.

downtheroad (Laois) - Posts: 21 - 17/04/2020 12:57:41    2276161

Replying To KillingFields:  "
Replying To winatallcost:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "That statement is wrong. Soccer and rugby players and thousands of people rely on professional sports soccer and rugby for income to support their lives. GAA does not fall into this category. Ultimately if there is no soccer or rugby, the players are unlikely to get paid in the long run and the higher the stakes, the more the losses and the bigger the risks they will take. The GAA players can take it or leave depending on risks and given any risk I feel it would be more the later and rightly so. In short professional sports will be back first and GAA would be extremely foolish to compete with this.
again GAA still requires extensive income level to finance all levels and everything within the organisation.

it's coming but it'll be different. Masks, ordering through apps, drive through only in some places, etc. I see designer masks now being sold as if they believe it'll be around a while. Must look good while masked. And yes it should be talked about but mostly it's educated guesses but still guesses.
of course its guesses but it's natural and you cant not fo it. Nobody has said it wont be different.

The likes of pubs won't be happening anytime soon. A person stumbling after a few drinks, wouldn't be good practice for social distancing.
Maybe some retail outlets could be open in a few months, with a limited amount per shop.
you cant restrict many businesses that long or many businesses simply wont open again and you have thousands out of work long term and the state can not afford that.

that's extreme and doesnt match much of what's been said by experts that there will be no leisure events in 8/9 months time."
Am I on my own here or can anyone else see that the GAA is also in lockdown like almost every non-essential sporting organisation or business. For what its worth I understand it cannot run on its own and needs financial help etc. However, the GAA never was and certainly shouldn't be now a business. There should be no full-time employees and I know there are a few but it should be minimal. Any that are affected can get support like all those currently on the live register. As the games and any works associated with the GAA are at a standstill, there should be very few expenses. Unless there has been significant borrowing no club or GAA organisation should be struggling otherwise the tail had been wagging the dog. In summary, if no activity in a voluntary organisation there should be no outgoings."
There is a huge amount of full time staff needed to run an organisation the size of the GAA.
The GAA very much is a business whether you want it to be or not. Marketing, TV deals and their size alone show it as a major business.
There is still substantial costs between fixed costs that cant not be spent to many others."]Would you enlighten me as to what all these full time staff are doing at the moment?

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 735 - 17/04/2020 13:01:09    2276162

Replying To KillingFields:  "Talking about events next hear being at risk is bit far as shutdown cant last too long or country and countries globally will go into recession far worse than the economic crash at end of 2000s."
Recession will be happening anyway worldwide . That's inevitable, but that's the reality if the virus can be slowed or preventing the a second wave.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2894 - 17/04/2020 13:05:48    2276163

Replying To winatallcost:  "
Replying To KillingFields:  "[quote=winatallcost:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "That statement is wrong. Soccer and rugby players and thousands of people rely on professional sports soccer and rugby for income to support their lives. GAA does not fall into this category. Ultimately if there is no soccer or rugby, the players are unlikely to get paid in the long run and the higher the stakes, the more the losses and the bigger the risks they will take. The GAA players can take it or leave depending on risks and given any risk I feel it would be more the later and rightly so. In short professional sports will be back first and GAA would be extremely foolish to compete with this.

There is still substantial costs between fixed costs that cant not be spent to many others."]Would you enlighten me as to what all these full time staff are doing at the moment?"]I obviously dont know specifics but admin, future planning. Logistical work etc or work that might get priority in normal run of things but is needed.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3786 - 17/04/2020 14:28:46    2276167

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Fair play to Cork County board for getting the gaa brass to takeover repayments of PUC, what is the repayments on that I wonder.

And I hope the gaa will be as willing to open their purse to the County teams outside of the redcow when this is all over, they might have to cut some of the funding to their favourite child the old blue behemoth but that would only be right seen as they can self sustain."
Jesus do you ever stop whinging about Dublin ? People are dying out there , cop on to yourself

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2848 - 17/04/2020 14:58:29    2276170

Replying To superbluedub:  "Jesus do you ever stop whinging about Dublin ? People are dying out there , cop on to yourself"
I'm well aware of people dying as I have a television kiddo so why are you bringing that up? By the way this is a gaa forum where we discuss all things gaa.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/04/2020 16:12:57    2276172

Jesus do you ever stop whinging about Dublin ? People are dying out there , cop on to yourself

superbluedub (Dublin)

I'm well aware of people dying as I have a television kiddo so why are you bringing that up? By the way this is a gaa forum where we discuss all things gaa.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry)

***One thing no virus can kill is the great Dublin-Kerry rivalry!!! Ha ha ha.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2589 - 17/04/2020 16:35:34    2276174

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'm well aware of people dying as I have a television kiddo so why are you bringing that up? By the way this is a gaa forum where we discuss all things gaa."
Yes we discuss all things gaa here ,However no matter what the topic , you manage to whinge and bitch about all and anything to do with Dublin
Do yo have a tv license for that television kiddo ?-:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2848 - 17/04/2020 19:48:41    2276185

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'm well aware of people dying as I have a television kiddo so why are you bringing that up? By the way this is a gaa forum where we discuss all things gaa."
but have s lisence?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3001 - 17/04/2020 20:32:55    2276187

Replying To superbluedub:  "Yes we discuss all things gaa here ,However no matter what the topic , you manage to whinge and bitch about all and anything to do with Dublin
Do yo have a tv license for that television kiddo ?-:)"
Are dublin not part of the gaa anymore mush?

If you were around back in 1916 you'd probably have said that Pearce Plunkett McDonagh and McDermot were whinging and bitching.

Anyway things must be getting a bit itchy in your flat, so il let you at it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/04/2020 22:53:48    2276192

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Are dublin not part of the gaa anymore mush?

If you were around back in 1916 you'd probably have said that Pearce Plunkett McDonagh and McDermot were whinging and bitching.

Anyway things must be getting a bit itchy in your flat, so il let you at it."
Your like a broken down record mush , Dublin is eating you up , even in these terrible times , your anti Dublin hatred still consumes you , so ill let you at it .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2848 - 18/04/2020 00:06:44    2276194

Can the dubs Kerry whingefest get its own thread and atop taking so many other threads off topic please!

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3786 - 18/04/2020 10:27:07    2276197

Replying To superbluedub:  "Your like a broken down record mush , Dublin is eating you up , even in these terrible times , your anti Dublin hatred still consumes you , so ill let you at it ."
I'm sick of Dublin and Kerry and it being all about themselves. You'd swear the GAA is just Dublin v Kerry when it goes way beyond both. Some interesting topics but when its goes back to the Dubs and Kerry people biting at each other, its a complete turn off. Go ahead a gripe at each other if ye want but find an independent forum for it so everyone else doesn't have to scan through it to read your tripe.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 735 - 18/04/2020 10:27:42    2276198

The absolute state of Kerry posters on here.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 331 - 18/04/2020 10:32:56    2276200

Replying To summerof09:  "The absolute state of Kerry posters on here."
Come on now you cannot just single out Kerry posters because Iv had to call out some Dublin posters at the same crack also Meath have a few posters who like to give it plenty and we all know who they are.

Johnnyprophet (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 18/04/2020 10:56:55    2276201

Replying To Johnnyprophet:  "Come on now you cannot just single out Kerry posters because Iv had to call out some Dublin posters at the same crack also Meath have a few posters who like to give it plenty and we all know who they are."
Thank God we have no posters like that in the Limerick Forum. It is almost boring to come from a county like mine -we are so good.

Oldertourman (Limerick) - Posts: 162 - 18/04/2020 12:33:21    2276209

Well the GAA seem to be doing as much as they can administratively to get championship games of this year, whether that will be congruent with Public health advice remains to be seen. I notice they have spoken boldly about finishing the remaining league games as well.

Dont think there will be any meaningful planning done until late May early June, and if its not planned by then i think its curtains.

Real life for those of us out there isnt about absolutely eliminating risk, its about mitigating risk, being careful and having personal responsibility around the virus. We are going to have to live alongside this virus for a while and this is the world people will be returning to, its very different.

So what would mitigation measures look like at getting a championship off speaking hypothetically if it did happen? Is a Maybe masks being a criteria for admission to a game (they dont protect you from contracting the virus, but stop others spreading), staggered admission and departure into games, limited capacity, terraces shut, stand tickets allocated 2 meters apart, season ticket holders get admission priority, then a limited number of general release. Maybe live streaming for those who miss out, with a creative funding model to mitigate gate revenue drop. Would it be better then nothing?

Player safety likely more difficult to manage, in an ammeter ethos its impossible to cocoon players like they will in other sports. You can imagine the scenes the week before a semi or a final and one of the players goes down with symptoms. Perhaps testing before a game at inter county level - but seems an extreme.

Public health concerns i think will be the big numbers traveling, between counties, congested transport and socialising before and after. But real life is going to have to be undertaken with a level of personal responsibility, choice and risk assessment anyway. Obviously if the risk is to great it shouldn't happen.

With an R-nought number of .9 and there is a good (optimistic) chance it will be lower come the start of May, its not going to get very much better then that before a potential second wave. Late May early June as i said i think when a decision i think will be made on the Championship anyway, in conjunction with Public health.

Personally im open minded about it, whatever for the great good, its a nasty virus, but i haven't been on lock down and been living around the virus out there for a bit now. The traffic is gift, but you'd be jealous driving home from work seeing everyone out on their walks and bikes, enjoying the spring sun shine. Looks like Summer holidays for adults. ;)

From a Dublin point of view. I would have had doubts about Dublin winning the football championship this year, but if one comes off, i wouldn't put it past this is exceptional group of men doing it this year for the community in Dublin, given Dublin has been hit hard by this virus and been the epicenter of the country.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 18/04/2020 13:45:54    2276214

Replying To TheUsername:  "Well the GAA seem to be doing as much as they can administratively to get championship games of this year, whether that will be congruent with Public health advice remains to be seen. I notice they have spoken boldly about finishing the remaining league games as well.

Dont think there will be any meaningful planning done until late May early June, and if its not planned by then i think its curtains.

Real life for those of us out there isnt about absolutely eliminating risk, its about mitigating risk, being careful and having personal responsibility around the virus. We are going to have to live alongside this virus for a while and this is the world people will be returning to, its very different.

So what would mitigation measures look like at getting a championship off speaking hypothetically if it did happen? Is a Maybe masks being a criteria for admission to a game (they dont protect you from contracting the virus, but stop others spreading), staggered admission and departure into games, limited capacity, terraces shut, stand tickets allocated 2 meters apart, season ticket holders get admission priority, then a limited number of general release. Maybe live streaming for those who miss out, with a creative funding model to mitigate gate revenue drop. Would it be better then nothing?

Player safety likely more difficult to manage, in an ammeter ethos its impossible to cocoon players like they will in other sports. You can imagine the scenes the week before a semi or a final and one of the players goes down with symptoms. Perhaps testing before a game at inter county level - but seems an extreme.

Public health concerns i think will be the big numbers traveling, between counties, congested transport and socialising before and after. But real life is going to have to be undertaken with a level of personal responsibility, choice and risk assessment anyway. Obviously if the risk is to great it shouldn't happen.

With an R-nought number of .9 and there is a good (optimistic) chance it will be lower come the start of May, its not going to get very much better then that before a potential second wave. Late May early June as i said i think when a decision i think will be made on the Championship anyway, in conjunction with Public health.

Personally im open minded about it, whatever for the great good, its a nasty virus, but i haven't been on lock down and been living around the virus out there for a bit now. The traffic is gift, but you'd be jealous driving home from work seeing everyone out on their walks and bikes, enjoying the spring sun shine. Looks like Summer holidays for adults. ;)

From a Dublin point of view. I would have had doubts about Dublin winning the football championship this year, but if one comes off, i wouldn't put it past this is exceptional group of men doing it this year for the community in Dublin, given Dublin has been hit hard by this virus and been the epicenter of the country."
With regards to the championship this year if it does happen I think it is all but guaranteed to be Kerry's. The Dubs having made history and the change of management would surely mean that Kerry would lift Sam in 2020.
They came within a whisker of doing an Offaly and stopping the 5 in a row so they'd surely be favourites if the championship got the go ahead.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/04/2020 15:09:21    2276218

Replying To Oldertourman:  "Thank God we have no posters like that in the Limerick Forum. It is almost boring to come from a county like mine -we are so good."
Haha or Galway either. Its one of them two of them maybe they need cold showers.

Johnnyprophet (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 18/04/2020 15:17:46    2276220