The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Lockjaw,I'm in agreement..time to stop all the blaming..I couldn't believe when I heard they wanted people to ring a number and report their neighbors..how many would do that?get vaccines into people and let life and games get back to some sort of normal please.."
So, reporting someone breaking the law for spreading a disease that kills people (especially the old) is unbelievable. Do you feel they same about someone that burgles and attacks old people living alone?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 06/05/2021 18:33:31    2340317

Replying To KillingFields:  "You're telling a Donegal person that they are incorrect about their own area lol! Have you been to Letterkenny at all? Then you might see it is in fact a big college town.
the_creeler (Leitrim) - Posts: 21 - 06/05/2021 11:05:55
20000 people max in letterkenny and 3000 or 4000 students maybe if even that. no its not a big college town

Well it's the biggest college town in Donegal anyway, I didn't say anything about splitting the county for restrictions,
what I meant was peoples behaviour in those areas isn't fair on the rest of the county or the majority of people in the Letterkenny and Milford areas that have done their best all along I'm sure, only to be let down by a section of the community who don't seem to give a damn.
The pubs and shops will be open soon in Derry and Strabane and that's going to make things worse. The sooner we get the majority vaccinated the better.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 1246 - 06/05/2021 11:06:09
only college town in donegal...
it mightnt be fair if its primarily people from a certain area of a county but it realistically is the only way to restrict people like in tipp if big outbreak in nenagh and there is restrictions on clonmel/carrick on suir or down around ballyporeen etc but you have to use an area people will know etc.
vaccinations will take some time. hard to know when most younger people will get vacced

I disagree. If you're living in Glencolmcille and sticking by the rules but someone in Carndonagh isn't, then that absolutely isn't fair that the whole county gets penalised. They are about 150km apart.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 7229 - 06/05/2021 11:06:53
how do you put in restrictions then? Its clear and obvious if you use clear vorders such as county lines while may be tough but its fair"
It wouldn't be easy to police granted, but is policing county borders any easier?

If you know the geography of Donegal, and this is just an example, you could perhaps have restrictions on those North of the Gap. But not for those South of the Gap.

In the west, restrictions on those North of the Gweebarra, but less restrictions South etc.

I don't see any of the above remotely ever happening by the way. NPHET has said as much today, that we won't be subject to different rules surrounding easing of lockdown restrictions.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 06/05/2021 20:04:57    2340321

I wonder will NPHET be singling County Longfird out for a scolding?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 06/05/2021 20:05:46    2340322

Replying To Lockjaw:  "
Replying To KillingFields:  "You're telling a Donegal person that they are incorrect about their own area lol! Have you been to Letterkenny at all? Then you might see it is in fact a big college town.
20000 people max in letterkenny and 3000 or 4000 students maybe if even that. no its not a big college town

Well it's the biggest college town in Donegal anyway, I didn't say anything about splitting the county for restrictions,
what I meant was peoples behaviour in those areas isn't fair on the rest of the county or the majority of people in the Letterkenny and Milford areas that have done their best all along I'm sure, only to be let down by a section of the community who don't seem to give a damn.
The pubs and shops will be open soon in Derry and Strabane and that's going to make things worse. The sooner we get the majority vaccinated the better.

it mightnt be fair if its primarily people from a certain area of a county but it realistically is the only way to restrict people like in tipp if big outbreak in nenagh and there is restrictions on clonmel/carrick on suir or down around ballyporeen etc but you have to use an area people will know etc.
vaccinations will take some time. hard to know when most younger people will get vacced

I disagree. If you're living in Glencolmcille and sticking by the rules but someone in Carndonagh isn't, then that absolutely isn't fair that the whole county gets penalised. They are about 150km apart.
how do you put in restrictions then? Its clear and obvious if you use clear vorders such as county lines while may be tough but its fair"
It wouldn't be easy to police granted, but is policing county borders any easier?

If you know the geography of Donegal, and this is just an example, you could perhaps have restrictions on those North of the Gap. But not for those South of the Gap.

In the west, restrictions on those North of the Gweebarra, but less restrictions South etc.

I don't see any of the above remotely ever happening by the way. NPHET has said as much today, that we won't be subject to different rules surrounding easing of lockdown restrictions."
True, just to comment on Holohan's commentary on Donegal, if as he implied everyone knew about wakes/parties whatever around Letterkenny and Milford areas then why didn't the guards know? Garda intelligence a bit lacking? with the amount of curtain twitchers about the place now I find it hard to believe that Gardai wouldn't know what's happening.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 06/05/2021 21:04:10    2340331

Its a bit much to expect that people will only act properly regarding Covid restrictions if the gardai push and prod them,a bit more responsibility needed.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 06/05/2021 21:30:40    2340335

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "
Replying To Lockjaw:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "You're telling a Donegal person that they are incorrect about their own area lol! Have you been to Letterkenny at all? Then you might see it is in fact a big college town.

I don't see any of the above remotely ever happening by the way. NPHET has said as much today, that we won't be subject to different rules surrounding easing of lockdown restrictions."
True, just to comment on Holohan's commentary on Donegal, if as he implied everyone knew about wakes/parties whatever around Letterkenny and Milford areas then why didn't the guards know? Garda intelligence a bit lacking? with the amount of curtain twitchers about the place now I find it hard to believe that Gardai wouldn't know what's happening."]Yeah and you also have to take into account as to whether or not the Guards are fully invested in enforcing the rules fully? It's public knowledge that they were far from pleased at being demoted in the vaccination priority list. These men and women are expected to get up close and personal with those who are flouting public health rules but most of them aren't vaccinated. I'm not casting aspersions at the Garden either, they have a tough job in normal times never mind in the midst of a pandemic.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 06/05/2021 21:34:29    2340336

Yeah I thought it was a ridiculous decision to not vaccinate the Gardai, they are mixing with all sections of society, they could be going from confronting people at some house party to then dealing with an incident at the home of some elderly vulnerable person, not easy for a guard to social distance. They are on the frontline and have not been treated properly at all in my opinion.
It's all down to personal responsibility at the end of the day, the kind of people causing the problems are not bothered by anything other than what suits themselves and f*** everyone else. Stupidity and ignorance abound.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 06/05/2021 22:31:37    2340346

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "That was rather curious advice the GP gave your parents. I'm not here to defend the HSE but the lack of a national database is the major problem as its absence has made a uniform coordinated approach so much more difficult. It has led to gp's working off one list and the central online system off another with a further complication added by GDPR."
Yeah I can only imagine what kind of shape the HSE's I.T. system is in. I work in I.T. myself so out of morbid curiosity I wouldn't mind getting a look behind the scenes at what kind of hell exists there.

You're correct in that if we had a properly centralized and operational national database the vaccine logistics would have been a whole lot easier. Funny how they have no bother with a centralized revenue database. But that's another story.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 07/05/2021 15:35:47    2340436

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah I can only imagine what kind of shape the HSE's I.T. system is in. I work in I.T. myself so out of morbid curiosity I wouldn't mind getting a look behind the scenes at what kind of hell exists there.

You're correct in that if we had a properly centralized and operational national database the vaccine logistics would have been a whole lot easier. Funny how they have no bother with a centralized revenue database. But that's another story."
One of the reasons why Pfizer chose Israel as the first country to give the vaccine to was exactly that - centralized health records where everyone has to be registered. It makes it so easy to track what and who has got it and also the follow-up impact. The problem for Ireland and the UK is although they have in theory centralized health systems, its not for everyone and it is not connected.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 08/05/2021 06:57:49    2340497

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah I can only imagine what kind of shape the HSE's I.T. system is in. I work in I.T. myself so out of morbid curiosity I wouldn't mind getting a look behind the scenes at what kind of hell exists there.

You're correct in that if we had a properly centralized and operational national database the vaccine logistics would have been a whole lot easier. Funny how they have no bother with a centralized revenue database. But that's another story."
I can confirm your morbid curiosity.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 08/05/2021 13:57:42    2340537

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I wonder will NPHET be singling County Longfird out for a scolding?"
They'll stay well clear of that, just like the two recent funerals in Leitrim, wasn't a peep about that from them You can't do the big teacher act pointing the finger at certain sectors of society it seems.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 09/05/2021 10:19:29    2340656

Replying To zinny:  "One of the reasons why Pfizer chose Israel as the first country to give the vaccine to was exactly that - centralized health records where everyone has to be registered. It makes it so easy to track what and who has got it and also the follow-up impact. The problem for Ireland and the UK is although they have in theory centralized health systems, its not for everyone and it is not connected."
Maybe they should put the taxman in charge…..that crew are fairly centralized. lol.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 10/05/2021 12:40:50    2340903

So these semi pro soccer teams are no risk to get or spread covid ? That is what the know all on here says. Look what is going on with Waterford F.C. I don't wish that on them and it is regretful they can not fill a fixture but it is also regretful that the local kids across the road could not kick or hit a ball on their turf. They spread nothing.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 12/05/2021 14:05:52    2341269

Replying To Canuck:  "So these semi pro soccer teams are no risk to get or spread covid ? That is what the know all on here says. Look what is going on with Waterford F.C. I don't wish that on them and it is regretful they can not fill a fixture but it is also regretful that the local kids across the road could not kick or hit a ball on their turf. They spread nothing."
And who said they were "no risk to get or spread covid " , can you point that quote out, I'd say everyone is a risk, but some more than others. If someone said they were of no risk in picking up Covid, they'd have a bloody hard job spreading it if they didn't have it !

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 12/05/2021 15:16:48    2341289

I think you in one of your disguises said the professional set up with testing etc. made them safe compared to GAA players.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 12/05/2021 17:16:28    2341312

Replying To Canuck:  "I think you in one of your disguises said the professional set up with testing etc. made them safe compared to GAA players."
Excuse me, but I don't need to use any disguises and never said such a thing but I'll tell you what lets have a five grand wager for the Children's Hospital, how about that, put your money where you mouth is, I'm sure the moderators have no issue with helping a good cause. So let's go, do something good instead of spreading your lies on here. I'll take anyone on for a good cause, anyone.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 12/05/2021 18:15:41    2341323

Replying To Canuck:  "I think you in one of your disguises said the professional set up with testing etc. made them safe compared to GAA players."
"I think". That's your problem, you "think" many things. :-).

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 12/05/2021 18:19:08    2341324

Replying To AfricanGael:  ""I think". That's your problem, you "think" many things. :-)."
Yeah, honestly,, who the hell "thinks" things anymore.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 12/05/2021 19:43:24    2341335

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Excuse me, but I don't need to use any disguises and never said such a thing but I'll tell you what lets have a five grand wager for the Children's Hospital, how about that, put your money where you mouth is, I'm sure the moderators have no issue with helping a good cause. So let's go, do something good instead of spreading your lies on here. I'll take anyone on for a good cause, anyone. "
Take a deep breath don't give yourself a heart attack. There are many who now see the inequities and stupidity of some regulations handed down to control the virus. You have your opinions and others have their's. Incidentally I have my way of supporting charity and it won't be through an internet forum. Anyway you probably only ever seen five grand on a car window sticker.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 12/05/2021 20:36:21    2341348

Replying To Galway9801:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  ""I think". That's your problem, you "think" many things. :-)."
Yeah, honestly,, who the hell "thinks" things anymore."
I know 2 + 2 is 4. Now if I said to you, I think 2 + 2 is 4, I wouldn't sound too convincing would I. That's what wrong with the "I think" and "I thought" merchants.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 12/05/2021 21:21:53    2341356