The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To arock:  "Agree they usually go away, might need to get a loo flush to block the drain but they go."
This yoke would fill the aul septic tank.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 30/03/2021 19:32:33    2335395

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Lockjaw I would agree, I think the championship will be run as a knock-out championship, same format as last year. It is just a case of getting some collective training done, some league games played and then straight into a knock out competition. It is the club championship that I would be worried about as our government haven't show no signs that they are going to be able to vaccinate the required number of people before Autumn, in my opinion but we live in hope."
Aye tá sin fíor. I'd love to see an aggressive acceleration of the vaccine roll out. The J&J vaccine should hopefully reach these shores in April. So by that stage we should have supplies of that, Pfizer, AZ and Moderna. Enough to get all of our elderly and most at risk done.

But I swear to Jesus, if/when we do have sufficient supply, but then some other obstacle emerges caused by government being unprepared, they can shove their lockdowns & restrictions up their holes.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9113 - 30/03/2021 20:08:13    2335398

Great news today I'm going mad with no football, at least the intercounty will keep us going, I think we should forget the leagues and go straight into Championship with a backdoor in place, I don't really care who wins the league, never have.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 30/03/2021 23:02:13    2335411

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Aye tá sin fíor. I'd love to see an aggressive acceleration of the vaccine roll out. The J&J vaccine should hopefully reach these shores in April. So by that stage we should have supplies of that, Pfizer, AZ and Moderna. Enough to get all of our elderly and most at risk done.

But I swear to Jesus, if/when we do have sufficient supply, but then some other obstacle emerges caused by government being unprepared, they can shove their lockdowns & restrictions up their holes."
They have told to shove so many things up there there is probably no room. The places must be log jammed.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 31/03/2021 00:20:29    2335415

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Aye tá sin fíor. I'd love to see an aggressive acceleration of the vaccine roll out. The J&J vaccine should hopefully reach these shores in April. So by that stage we should have supplies of that, Pfizer, AZ and Moderna. Enough to get all of our elderly and most at risk done.

But I swear to Jesus, if/when we do have sufficient supply, but then some other obstacle emerges caused by government being unprepared, they can shove their lockdowns & restrictions up their holes."
So far I believe the delay has been with the availability not how its done. However the new criteria, age based, should also speed things up although is causing uproar. What people don't realise is that by doing it by category introduces latency and inefficiency. Criteria should be now get as many people done as quickly as possible. I would even widen the age bands.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 31/03/2021 00:31:02    2335417

Kids football/underage sport only returned in the UK yesterday and they have 57% of adults vaccinated. So we are probably allowing kids back even earlier than the UK as per a % vaccinated.

Also it's supply that's the issue. There will be no issue on r we have a steady increased supply. Even your local pharmacist can administer the vaccine.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 31/03/2021 07:31:50    2335418

Replying To yew_tree:  "Kids football/underage sport only returned in the UK yesterday and they have 57% of adults vaccinated. So we are probably allowing kids back even earlier than the UK as per a % vaccinated.

Also it's supply that's the issue. There will be no issue on r we have a steady increased supply. Even your local pharmacist can administer the vaccine."
Ah I know yeah the main obstacle has been with the supply in fairness where the EU was to blame. In all likelihood the supply will become better and we will start vaccinating at a much quicker rate than we have done to date. My wife is a pharmacist and has already done the prerequisites meaning she is ready to rock as soon as she gets the call.

The thing is though, could you 100% put your faith in the vaccine roll out going smoothly from here? I genuinely hope it does but our present government doesn't exactly inspire confidence.

There will be uproar about the Guards and the teachers not being prioritized but I think in the long run it will work better just to vaccinate based on age. The quicker we get it to our older and most vulnerable the better. Mortality rates and hospital admissions will soon become the imperative metrics to be looking at, not daily cases. The more they diminish the quicker the government can start looking at more restriction lifting.

Just an aside from yesterday's speech: I'm sure no pub or restaurant owner expected to be opening any day soon. But for Martin not to even acknowledge them was very poor in my opinion.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9113 - 31/03/2021 10:59:00    2335425

The aim at the moment is that the leagues will commence in May and run for 4 to 5 weeks maximum which means the introduction of midweek games, pending agreement. Fixtures could be announced as early as April 5th.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 31/03/2021 12:34:49    2335434

Replying To AfricanGael:  "The aim at the moment is that the leagues will commence in May and run for 4 to 5 weeks maximum which means the introduction of midweek games, pending agreement. Fixtures could be announced as early as April 5th."
Think we'll wait on a GAA statement on that issue.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2005 - 31/03/2021 13:07:10    2335436

Replying To Saynothing:  "Think we'll wait on a GAA statement on that issue."
It's only those in the know who know about the plans at the moment, but i'm sure you'll hear it on the radio from Gerry Armstrong in due course.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 31/03/2021 13:47:31    2335437

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Ah I know yeah the main obstacle has been with the supply in fairness where the EU was to blame. In all likelihood the supply will become better and we will start vaccinating at a much quicker rate than we have done to date. My wife is a pharmacist and has already done the prerequisites meaning she is ready to rock as soon as she gets the call.

The thing is though, could you 100% put your faith in the vaccine roll out going smoothly from here? I genuinely hope it does but our present government doesn't exactly inspire confidence.

There will be uproar about the Guards and the teachers not being prioritized but I think in the long run it will work better just to vaccinate based on age. The quicker we get it to our older and most vulnerable the better. Mortality rates and hospital admissions will soon become the imperative metrics to be looking at, not daily cases. The more they diminish the quicker the government can start looking at more restriction lifting.

Just an aside from yesterday's speech: I'm sure no pub or restaurant owner expected to be opening any day soon. But for Martin not to even acknowledge them was very poor in my opinion."
I agree once all vulnearable people are sorted it makes sense to go down through the ages. Its the quickest anyway. An estimated 1.2 million doses a month means 600k are fully vaccinated. I think even more vaccines will be available than indicated even if EU loses AstraZeneca. So many coming on stream now. A bit of patience is required, I have a business closed litterally for 13 months now a few more weeks are not going to make a huge difference. My only worry is the 20 to 30 age group it has been very hard on everyone but that group is really what shapes the future. I feel for that age group, no fun, no sport, no college, no creativity, no adventure, no vision. Very tough the damage this pandemic is doing. Hopefully end is in sight.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 31/03/2021 14:14:08    2335441

Replying To arock:  "I agree once all vulnearable people are sorted it makes sense to go down through the ages. Its the quickest anyway. An estimated 1.2 million doses a month means 600k are fully vaccinated. I think even more vaccines will be available than indicated even if EU loses AstraZeneca. So many coming on stream now. A bit of patience is required, I have a business closed litterally for 13 months now a few more weeks are not going to make a huge difference. My only worry is the 20 to 30 age group it has been very hard on everyone but that group is really what shapes the future. I feel for that age group, no fun, no sport, no college, no creativity, no adventure, no vision. Very tough the damage this pandemic is doing. Hopefully end is in sight."
True. It's conceivable that a lot of our youth may choose to emigrate once things have settled down. Who knows what kind of tax hikes are in store for us post-Covid. The PUP will have to be paid back somehow.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9113 - 31/03/2021 15:52:53    2335448

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Ah I know yeah the main obstacle has been with the supply in fairness where the EU was to blame. In all likelihood the supply will become better and we will start vaccinating at a much quicker rate than we have done to date. My wife is a pharmacist and has already done the prerequisites meaning she is ready to rock as soon as she gets the call.

Just an aside from yesterday's speech: I'm sure no pub or restaurant owner expected to be opening any day soon. But for Martin not to even acknowledge them was very poor in my opinion."
Well said.
The GoV learned their lesson from the easing of restrictions in Dec where mortality went really high and where hospitals were under enormous pressure. Let's be honest, thebhospitality sector put the gov under a lot of pressure too.
Their opening will take a while but the numbers vaccinated needs to increase before they are opened.
The key is the vaccines and if figures are correct then I agree with you some patience is required and we will get it in our own time.
The Gardai SNas and teachers giving out, well it's their reps who have been doing it but they need to be seen to be doing it.
In the end if it all it's the science that counts and we need to keep following it.
Looks like we will be in the field in a few weeks thankfully and we have that little more within our counties to walk travel etc. Progress.being made !

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1820 - 31/03/2021 17:02:39    2335452

Replying To AfricanGael:  "It's only those in the know who know about the plans at the moment, but i'm sure you'll hear it on the radio from Gerry Armstrong in due course."
Your full of what the cat licks its arse with. Armstrong would know as much as you given his links with GAA round Belfast. He played in headquarters, did you? Good luck tonight against Poland in that Micky mouse sport.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2005 - 31/03/2021 18:15:39    2335457

We will just have to wait and see. I wouldn't have any confidence in the online registration portal due to go live in 3 weeks for vaccines. I can see it crashing.

Agree on Marin not even acknowledging the hospitality industry. It's poor form. The Irish pub is part of our culture and tradition and supports thousands of jobs in this country.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 31/03/2021 20:05:15    2335462

Replying To yew_tree:  "We will just have to wait and see. I wouldn't have any confidence in the online registration portal due to go live in 3 weeks for vaccines. I can see it crashing.

Agree on Marin not even acknowledging the hospitality industry. It's poor form. The Irish pub is part of our culture and tradition and supports thousands of jobs in this country."
All depends on how it is hosted and if it's done correctly. I.T. systems crashing due to demand should not happen these days if they're properly architected & leveraging the pretty much infinite capacity the big cloud platforms can offer. But we'll see, it's a welcome development and if it works as intended will be another weapon in our armoury against this prick of a virus!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9113 - 31/03/2021 20:43:22    2335468

Replying To Lockjaw:  "True. It's conceivable that a lot of our youth may choose to emigrate once things have settled down. Who knows what kind of tax hikes are in store for us post-Covid. The PUP will have to be paid back somehow."
I do not see paying back being a problem. Germany and France who make the rules and are caught up in this covid as well as us, so money at zero percent should be easy to pay back once everything opens up (they should have thought of the zero percent to resolve the crash but stupidity/greed crept in). I do feel for business which have been closed for the past 12+ months and the publicans in the rural Ireland who have been social distancing for the past 20+years!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 31/03/2021 20:56:51    2335470

I'm worried going forward for the possibility of the club games going ahead later in the year..I see parts of Europe are going into 3 and 4 week lockdowns..if this happens here it will cause chaos here..on the vaccine roll out I just have no faith in our government or health minister to get it done properly..let's face it they are changing the rules and vaccination numbers on a weekly basis..I hope I'm wrong and if I am I will apologize to them.,

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2205 - 31/03/2021 23:58:16    2335481

Replying To AfricanGael:  "The aim at the moment is that the leagues will commence in May and run for 4 to 5 weeks maximum which means the introduction of midweek games, pending agreement. Fixtures could be announced as early as April 5th."
Is there a link to this info? Personally I don't think there will be a League but I hope to be wrong.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 01/04/2021 03:06:05    2335483

This will go down well

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dublin-gaa-stars-broke-rules-on-covid-gatherings-with-early-morning-training-40263682.html

GAA does not deserve to go ahead.

fjones (Dublin) - Posts: 12 - 01/04/2021 09:09:32    2335487