The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To updwell:  "Looks like the Meath lads don't want the championship to go ahead"
Very intelligent post. One of tragedies of Covid is we won't see the desperately required regeneration of Limerick. God knows it's needed. When I was in school we didn't even get offered the prospectus for University of Limerick as presumably the guidance counselor knew nobody In right mind would go there.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 17/10/2020 01:45:49    2298265

I see Leitrim have pulled the plug on their game with Down at the very last minute. To be honest I think there's something at play here rather than a rally cry against COVID. Ensuring that no score difference can be used works in favour of Leitrim. Surely they knew before this morning that they wouldn't be in a position to field? It's not as if it's a Junior B club game where you're already at slim pickings.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 356 - 17/10/2020 09:50:40    2298283

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Absolute disaster has been county finals in gaa.

1 A club in Armagh won county final, 31 out of 33 of the panel had covid afterwards and 100 people in surrounding village also.
2 Moycullen in Galway won first ever senior county title. Afterwards massive outbreak in panel which has spilled over into local area
3 Ballivor and Rataoth won county titles in Meath. Afterward many players tested positive and both Ballivor and Rataoth have huge numbers of cases in the town.
4 Outbreaks in Cavan and Wexford and kildare have also being linked to county finals
One of the things that happened was players filled the cup up with drink and all drank from the same cup afterwards and then preceded to visit all the local pubs and many local houses in the parish. GAA response to this, we should have took the cup off the winning team after the ceremony, just after the match.
I also know today of a kildare town, where the local GAA club were in the couty final recently. And 10 players were tested with the virus afterwards. And their teenage sisters and brothers have been also being effected from close contact with these players and so now the virus has spread to local secondary chool. Talking to one teacher today she says 4 students in her class have the virus all got from close contact with 10 gaa players who picked it up after county final. There is many many more examples across country we are not hearing of.
Then you had
4 The scenes in Blackrock Cork after the County final.win when the team and supporters marched through the town with the cup like a st patricks day parade. No social distancing at matchs as crowds all atop of each other and more then 200 people at county finals.
5 An ex county player resigned from management of Offaly club team as he was not happy with issues over a case
6 In Waterford hurling final, player was waiting for test yet he was allowed to play in final. His later test proved he had the virus.
7 A minor player was waiting on a test he was allowed to travel on packed bus with rest of panel to county final he was tested positive
8 Donegal, Fermanagh and Armagh have had to cancel matchs and training as players in all 3 counties have got the virus. Fermamagh are playing Clare at weekend and so many Fermanagh players have the virus they might not
be able to field a team.
9 6 Wexford GAA players have been tested positive for the virus in the last few days.

There are some of the known cases whats happenned in GAA, its pretty certain there is many more cases like the above not being reported in GAA. We have seen with the soccer team how quickly with sportspeople how they can get afftected. Yet in the next 2 weeks 32 counties in the island will engage in a national competition, (basically amateur players many of them frontline workers )will be on packed buses and criss cross the country and criss crossing the border, which happens to be one of the areas with the worst effected cases in Europe. Yet starting at the weekend, this is only starting. It reminds me of what a once great gaa president from Mayo who was also a doctor said when he talked about the scourge of drink on Irish society. He wrote a book called "No one shouted stop". I think that title of that book is apt now, No one shouted stop.

What the hell are the GAA at, an amateur organistion having a national competition in two jurisdictions, one of which has highest number of cases in Europe, what are they at, having an All Ireland championship as a world wide pandemic is its second wave as cases explode across the island. You couldnt think of a worst 2 months then November and December to have the championship as the second waves peaks. Will anyone in the GAA hierachy shout stop? It really looks like an amateur association acting like amateurs. In March the GAA did excellent work now they will have PR disaster on there hands at the very least, just because in the words of great late Eugene McGee who once said every decision the GAA makes goes back to money. You take the Sky deal, the super 8s and now the championship going ahead. Its all to do with money, games played means the GAA will get money from broadcasters. Its totally against what GAA should stand for. Just when the GAA should be showing example and leadership to young people, to everyone they are doing the opposite and if anything are super spreaders in terms of cases currently. I can see the championship starting but there is not a hope in hell , zero chance of it finishing. Other organisation like hockey and basketball have stopped all adult competitons on the island. But the issues, the growing rate of numbers will increase and the GAA will have played an helping hand in that. It really is crazy when you sit down and think of it. Call of the All Ireland championship and play them when it is safe to do so. Its very simple. But where is the leadership in the GAA. No where to be seen."
First decent post here. There is an inherent greed within the Association, some will walk all over everything just to get what they want, it varies from power, media, money to glory hunters, in the last few decades it has become a monster at all levels within the Association, which has lost its main purpose. No longer is it an Association of we are all in it together, it's now all about what can I get out of it.

Having witnessed people tripping over each other to post images of themselves carrying in shopping to people & then putting it all over social media platforms, to then witnessing some of the very same people bushing with large groups of young people & others drinking at bars where guidelines were flaunted, it's all double standards.
Just like the GAA hierarchy insisting that the Deputy CMO come & explain himself as to why they couldn't have bigger crowds at club matches, yet the GAA couldn't control their members on their pitches, their supporters in their stands & their club units from having massive post match celebrations, which are now resulting in massive spikes.

I wonder will certain management teams be exposed for exerting pressure on very young men to hide the fact they are close contacts & should not be playing due to the protocols. Some lads being told to remove themselves from social media, huge pressures being exerted, absolutely disgusting. We will see the contact tracing teams expose these facts over the next two weeks.

The post by Furlong1949 who is a really knowledgable GAA man encapsulates exactly everything going on at the moment within the Association & fair play for going against the grain here where group think prevails & having the courage of his convictions to call it as it is, no doubt he will be slated by people on here who haven't a tenth of the experience of the Association he has. The GAA hierarchy would also do well to take on board his points.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 17/10/2020 09:55:41    2298284

Replying To moc.dna:  "First decent post here. There is an inherent greed within the Association, some will walk all over everything just to get what they want, it varies from power, media, money to glory hunters, in the last few decades it has become a monster at all levels within the Association, which has lost its main purpose. No longer is it an Association of we are all in it together, it's now all about what can I get out of it.

Having witnessed people tripping over each other to post images of themselves carrying in shopping to people & then putting it all over social media platforms, to then witnessing some of the very same people bushing with large groups of young people & others drinking at bars where guidelines were flaunted, it's all double standards.
Just like the GAA hierarchy insisting that the Deputy CMO come & explain himself as to why they couldn't have bigger crowds at club matches, yet the GAA couldn't control their members on their pitches, their supporters in their stands & their club units from having massive post match celebrations, which are now resulting in massive spikes.

I wonder will certain management teams be exposed for exerting pressure on very young men to hide the fact they are close contacts & should not be playing due to the protocols. Some lads being told to remove themselves from social media, huge pressures being exerted, absolutely disgusting. We will see the contact tracing teams expose these facts over the next two weeks.

The post by Furlong1949 who is a really knowledgable GAA man encapsulates exactly everything going on at the moment within the Association & fair play for going against the grain here where group think prevails & having the courage of his convictions to call it as it is, no doubt he will be slated by people on here who haven't a tenth of the experience of the Association he has. The GAA hierarchy would also do well to take on board his points."
Where is the proof in what you post. Where are the links. It is all just hearsay and fake news until I see the links. Sometimes I think you have a deep grudge against the GAA.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 17/10/2020 13:39:18    2298362

"6. In Waterford hurling final, player was waiting for test yet he was allowed to play in final. His later test proved he had the virus."
In correct. It was in the intermediate football final between Dungarvan and Kill. A Dungarvan player got a positive result the day after the game. The test was done the day before. Should not have played anyway.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 17/10/2020 13:43:56    2298363

Replying To galwayford:  "Where is the proof in what you post. Where are the links. It is all just hearsay and fake news until I see the links. Sometimes I think you have a deep grudge against the GAA."
Seen link earlier but no word of 31 out of 33 testing positive. Going on like a unionist slagging GAA. No proof what so ever against the Armagh club. There's enough up here against everything Irish without him and his like sticking the boot in.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 17/10/2020 14:36:34    2298373

Replying To galwayford:  "Where is the proof in what you post. Where are the links. It is all just hearsay and fake news until I see the links. Sometimes I think you have a deep grudge against the GAA."
Have a nice day Walter.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 17/10/2020 15:17:15    2298379

What proof are you looking for?
Did you not see people celebrating after games in clear breach of regulations like Blackrock GAA club
No the people posting here dont have any grudge against the GAA.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 17/10/2020 15:54:32    2298391

I am from the club I think he is referring to in Kildare. And he is correct. After losing intermediate final there were large crowds in Kilcock club bar. Now local businesses closing as many staff were in close contact to people who have been diagnosed with covid. One class in a school closed over this. Large Spike in cases in locality connected to this. Total lack of regard for our community.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 17/10/2020 16:38:32    2298406

Replying To Saynothing:  "Seen link earlier but no word of 31 out of 33 testing positive. Going on like a unionist slagging GAA. No proof what so ever against the Armagh club. There's enough up here against everything Irish without him and his like sticking the boot in."
He's there is. Stop trying to to be in denial because its Gaa.

There was a break outbreak in Cavan after the local club finals. Players drinking out of the cup among other things.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 17/10/2020 17:00:48    2298410

Replying To FoolsGold:  "He's there is. Stop trying to to be in denial because its Gaa.

There was a break outbreak in Cavan after the local club finals. Players drinking out of the cup among other things."
I have been critical of the GAA over many things to do with COVID however we are now stretching things. Saying that the GAA are to blame because of the celebrations or drowning ones sorrows after games is like saying Guinness is to blame for lads going out on the piss. People who never wanted the games played because it would cause a rapid spread of the virus are now jumping on the last chance they have to justify their earlier opposition to the games being played. Lads getting pissed up in the pub has noting to do with the GAA, the GAA has as an organization done more than any other sports organization to try and distance itself from alcohol and other forms of addictive behavior. All the naysayers now want the GAA to police what happens in pubs - seriously can people get a grip on reality. This has nothing to do with the GAA. Not so long ago it was the church and being told to cancel communions and confirmations because people were having parties in their houses after. Some people in the country have lost the run of themselves all together. When will people stop blaming the organizations and put the blame where it should be on individuals. I saw today the post of the team for the Wexford minor football team who were do to play Louth in the Championship on Facebook and you had people coming on and saying it was a disgrace that they were playing and that the kids should be ashamed of themselves. There are a lot of idiots in the world and Ireland has its fair share of them too. Begrudges all of them, playing the club Championship brought a huge boost to the country and the people but you cannot see beyond your narrow view of the world.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 17/10/2020 17:44:12    2298424

Replying To moc.dna:  "Have a nice day Walter."
Galway u20 beat Kerry today. LOL

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 17/10/2020 17:46:30    2298426

Replying To FoolsGold:  "He's there is. Stop trying to to be in denial because its Gaa.

There was a break outbreak in Cavan after the local club finals. Players drinking out of the cup among other things."
That is not to be condoned. And it must be stopped.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 17/10/2020 17:48:37    2298427

Here are the links you asked for

1 Armagh Junior County Final
"A coronavirus outbreak has come just days after Forkhill claimed an historic Junior Championship title - their first in 39 years."

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/health/coronavirus/police-to-investigate-after-fans-pack-the-stands-at-derry-gaa-game-39592102.html
https://armaghi.com/news/south-armagh/concerns-raised-as-covid-cases-soar-in-forkhill-with-first-communion-cancelled/117944

2 Galway County Final
"Galway village where super-spreader party took place has 'at least 50 coronavirus cases"

https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/galway-village-super-spreader-party-22859870

"THE GALWAY village where a local GAA team was filmed celebrating a recent victory with fans in a packed-out local pub has recorded at least 50 cases of coronavirus in the past week."

https://www.irishpost.com/news/galway-village-where-gaa-team-partied-with-fans-in-busy-pub-now-has-at-least-50-coronavirus-cases-195554

3 Meath County Finals
"Ratoath highest infection rate in Meath Kells has the second highest" ( Both played in Meath county senior final)

https://www.meathchronicle.ie/2020/10/09/ratoath-highest-infection-rate-in-meath/

"Dundalk ace Gary Rogers points out lack of social distancing at GAA match with side-by-side comparison with LOI game"

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/gaa-football/5984533/dundalk-gary-rogers-lack-social-distancing-gaa-comparison-loi/

"Outrageous scenes at Meath GAA county final celebrations near Offaly town"

https://newsday.ie/outrageous-scenes-at-meath-gaa-county-final-celebrations-near-offaly-town-p1877-187.htm

4 Cork County Final
Cork GAA Issue Plea After Blackrock Celebration Scenes Widely Criticised

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/cork-gaa-issue-statement-after-blackrock-celebration-scenes-widely-criticised-449956

5 Cavan County Final
"GAA final celebrations blamed for Covid-19 outbreaks in Cavan"

https://www.northernsound.ie/gaa-final-celebrations-blamed-covid-19-outbreaks/

"GAA activity seen as a major reason for Cavan Covid surge"

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/gaa-activity-seen-as-a-major-reason-for-cavan-covid-surge-1.4381130

6 Offaly County Final
"Durrow win Offaly B football final following Covid-19 controversy"

https://www.the42.ie/durrow-win-offaly-b-title-shane-curran-covid-controversy-5223230-Oct2020/

'"That game should not have gone ahead... Who's going to be responsible if there's an outbreak?"

https://www.the42.ie/shane-curran-durrow-5224054-Oct2020/

7 Waterford County Final
"Dungarvan GAA apologise for 'mishandling' Covid-19 case after player features in final while waiting for test result"

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/dungarvan-gaa-apologise-for-mishandling-covid-19-case-after-player-features-in-final-while-waiting-for-test-result-39589272.html

"Dungarvan club apologise for fielding player in Waterford final who was awaiting Covid test results"

https://www.the42.ie/dungarvan-waterford-covid-football-5224908-Oct2020/

8 Clare
"No adult supervisor was on minor bus that went against COVID recommendations"

https://www.clareecho.ie/no-adult-supervisor-was-on-minor-bus-that-went-against-covid-recommendations/

9 Armagh Wexford Donegal Fermanagh panels have cases
"Positive Covid-19 cases among Armagh senior and Clare minor football panels"
https://www.the42.ie/armagh-gaa-squad-covid-19-cases-5221517-Oct2020/
"Donegal footballer tests positive for Covid-19 forcing squad into isolation"
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/donegal-footballer-tests-positive-for-covid-19-forcing-squad-into-isolation-1.4359568
"Wexford GAA confirm positive Covid-19 cases among football and hurling panels"
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/wexford-gaa-confirm-positive-covid-22852371
Fermanagh GAA suspend all activity following Covid-19 spike as a number of inter-county players test positive
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/gaelic-football/gaelic-football-news/fermanagh-gaa-suspend-activity-following-22806147

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 17/10/2020 18:08:05    2298437

Replying To zinny:  "I have been critical of the GAA over many things to do with COVID however we are now stretching things. Saying that the GAA are to blame because of the celebrations or drowning ones sorrows after games is like saying Guinness is to blame for lads going out on the piss. People who never wanted the games played because it would cause a rapid spread of the virus are now jumping on the last chance they have to justify their earlier opposition to the games being played. Lads getting pissed up in the pub has noting to do with the GAA, the GAA has as an organization done more than any other sports organization to try and distance itself from alcohol and other forms of addictive behavior. All the naysayers now want the GAA to police what happens in pubs - seriously can people get a grip on reality. This has nothing to do with the GAA. Not so long ago it was the church and being told to cancel communions and confirmations because people were having parties in their houses after. Some people in the country have lost the run of themselves all together. When will people stop blaming the organizations and put the blame where it should be on individuals. I saw today the post of the team for the Wexford minor football team who were do to play Louth in the Championship on Facebook and you had people coming on and saying it was a disgrace that they were playing and that the kids should be ashamed of themselves. There are a lot of idiots in the world and Ireland has its fair share of them too. Begrudges all of them, playing the club Championship brought a huge boost to the country and the people but you cannot see beyond your narrow view of the world."
Well said zinny, the problem at the moment is the age old problem in Ireland of drink. People just can't handle it and a combination of drink and a pandemic leads to clusters. At the moment it's GAA clubs celebrating but come next April or May it will be soccer and rugby clubs celebrating various leagues and cups. Watching the cyclist Bennett on the news after his great win in Paris his teammates in Carrick were all around a small table with no social distancing drinking and celebrating-was that not reckless even in a small group. Christening, communion and confirmation in August and September also helped drive up the numbers. Student house parties again fuelled by drink. The pubs also ignoring the guidelines and the new trend of opening shebeens in private house all over the country shows were the real problem here is-an unhealthy relationship with drink and everyone now is affected.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 17/10/2020 18:13:47    2298442

I don't condone the drinking from the Cup. It must be stopped. Asking the GAA to police the community is asking a lot. That is the job of the Garda and the business owners imho.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 17/10/2020 18:27:23    2298454

I'm not in denial because it's GAA. I want to see the figures where there were 31 out of 33 from a club panel testing positive. I've went through links but no mention of these figures. Furlong bad mouthing a GAA club and no questions asked.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 17/10/2020 18:47:19    2298465

I read about the 31 players myself too. Then it got into the Armagh County set up. They had 13 or 14 players isolating a few weeks ago

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 17/10/2020 19:43:55    2298486

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "I see Leitrim have pulled the plug on their game with Down at the very last minute. To be honest I think there's something at play here rather than a rally cry against COVID. Ensuring that no score difference can be used works in favour of Leitrim. Surely they knew before this morning that they wouldn't be in a position to field? It's not as if it's a Junior B club game where you're already at slim pickings."
Yeah a tactical cynical move, on RTE news then with the gollywog making out it was done on health grounds and aren't we so great and all that, hope Tipp beat them now.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 17/10/2020 20:12:59    2298495

Replying To Saynothing:  "I'm not in denial because it's GAA. I want to see the figures where there were 31 out of 33 from a club panel testing positive. I've went through links but no mention of these figures. Furlong bad mouthing a GAA club and no questions asked."
Sure if you 'went through 'links'' and found nothing it mustn't have happened. You seem to post a lot when Galwayford is on here. Maybe ye know each other? Neither of ye have anything constructive to say, just trying to pass off your opinions as facts. Poor trolling.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 17/10/2020 20:13:58    2298496