The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

I see Offaly give Cork a bye due to Corona and exit camaogie c'ship? They are being punished for doing the right thing, this is unfair.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 16/10/2020 09:16:18    2297939

Replying To essmac:  "General point - since no fans and therefore no real home advantage, why in the name of sanity are teams being asked to travel miles - pick the nearest pitch, any pitch - even lots of clubs have very good pitches these days; they may not have the stands and the capacity to cater for crowds and parking etc, but sure that's irrelevant now. Just play the game anywhere mutually convenient that has a decent pitch"
I'd imagine it has to do with TV coverage/streaming capabilities.
But in general, I agree with you. The Kerry lads are driving by themselves up to Monaghan this weekend. Next weekend our lads face the even more arduous journey travelling down to Kerry, although I'm not sure what the plans are there.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 16/10/2020 09:20:08    2297941

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "i see there is not a great understanding of science in roscommon, theres a surprise!!!!"
Wexford has a capital letter at start, give Roscommon one .

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 16/10/2020 09:51:33    2297945

Some of the posts in here are really horrible. I hadn't logged in for a long time but I am surprised and disappointed at some of the stuff Admins are allowing be posted.

Everyone is trying to get through a once-in-a-generation event as best we can. None of us are absolute experts, but I will listen to public health experts over and above anyone else when it comes to trying to contain a virus.

People then bringing up cancer patients as if they've been "forgotten" - the whole point of trying to suppress the virus is to make sure hospitals have capacity for all the other patients. We have a horribly under resourced health system in Ireland and it will come home to roost if we are not careful. These same people will be posting about how terrible it is that there are sick people on trolleys come the winter - with ICU beds taken up by COVID patients.

A bit of a reality check for some of you. We all want championship to go ahead but I think there is a head in the sand nature - as much as we love our sport, IT IS NOT PROFESSIONAL. We cannot get every panel in the country into bubbles, they have to work, train, play, and back to work. Look at the outbreaks occurring due to the international break in soccer. Imagine an outbreak in the Donegal squad and then lads going back to their jobs before they are caught as close contacts or whatever else, and then they've spread it amongst their workplaces.

I said previously I want the season to go ahead from a selfish POV more than anything else but I am also realistic and to be honest, some of the attitudes in here is full of mé féin-ism. As Gaels I would have thought the sense of community and pulling for eachother would be stronger on these pages in all honesty, but the conspiracy nuts weedle their way in to all aspects of society clearly.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/10/2020 10:05:05    2297948

Replying To essmac:  "General point - since no fans and therefore no real home advantage, why in the name of sanity are teams being asked to travel miles - pick the nearest pitch, any pitch - even lots of clubs have very good pitches these days; they may not have the stands and the capacity to cater for crowds and parking etc, but sure that's irrelevant now. Just play the game anywhere mutually convenient that has a decent pitch"
If it is to go ahead I agree, they really need to be coming up with a better contingency plan to minimise the risk. They have had ample opportunity to put a better plan together than "go ahead but without fans" for god sake.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/10/2020 10:07:32    2297949

Replying To Saynothing:  "Agree, they put people with heart problems, cancer patients, dialysis, ect to bottom of list. Is one disease more important than the other. Try telling that to patients where the cancer has spread during this time. Criminal."
Crikey no wonder Northern Ireland is a basket case for Corona. It's an absolute tragedy that we have to share a border with ye otherwise we could have just did what NZ and Australia have done and shut our borders and got rid of the thing. Of course we could do not that because of ye sensitive souls up there. But of course ye lads up there are true Irish patriots and "Gaels" so would always do what's best for the country, right? Like following simple instructions? Ye could even write a ditty about it - "the men behind the masks"?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 16/10/2020 10:13:21    2297953

Interview with Sean Cavanagh:-

It probably creates a culture now where players almost and will be encouraged to hide potential sickness and illness, which is kind of a scary thing.

"Because if I was a county player going up to the game and I started to have symptoms that were Covid-related I know in my head, because I was one of these guys who just always wanted to get on with it and never wanted to diminish my chances or the team's chances, I know I would be feeling, 'right, I have to conceal this'.

"That's the scarier thing for me that there is going to be players, I've no doubt, that either individually or from a team perspective, if they start to have symptoms they will be told to keep away from people, don't disclose close contacts.

"That's where it could get [out of hand]."

Cavanagh throws out a hypothetical to illustrate his point.

"If Kerry are going into a big game with Dublin and David Clifford starts to have a bit of a cough and is panicking, I've no doubt David Clifford will think to himself, I better just not tell anyone; I'll not go and get tested."

It's where human nature trumps common sense every time.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 16/10/2020 10:20:16    2297960

Replying To Crinigan:  "Crikey no wonder Northern Ireland is a basket case for Corona. It's an absolute tragedy that we have to share a border with ye otherwise we could have just did what NZ and Australia have done and shut our borders and got rid of the thing. Of course we could do not that because of ye sensitive souls up there. But of course ye lads up there are true Irish patriots and "Gaels" so would always do what's best for the country, right? Like following simple instructions? Ye could even write a ditty about it - "the men behind the masks"?"
Be realistic. The Irish government were never going to go down the NZ route because it is a bold decision and bold decisions have never ever been made in the Dáil, let's be honest. They are always for the softly softly don't rock the boat approach, no matter who is in power.

They would have cited free movement with the EU and business and all the other nonsense reasons and they'd have never closed our borders. They still haven't applied any sort of mandatory quarantine rules for landing at Dublin airport so what makes you think they'd do anything radical to try and get this sorted.

And the "true Irish patriots" are unfortunately a festering sore all over this island with their protests in Dublin and towns across the country as well.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/10/2020 10:27:29    2297963

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I'm no expert or conspiracy theorist but after a while even ordinary folk start to smell the bull****, suppose we'll know more in month or so if these big daily numbers are going to lead to this doomsday scenario that's being trotted out, I don't think it will but we'll see.
as long as the football goes ahead I'm happy enough for now anyway, and if we beat Tyrone twice in 2 weeks as well of course!!"
You could have stopped this post with "I'm no expert".

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/10/2020 10:29:18    2297964

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "So, let me get this straight. The health experts are ordering the general public even in counties with very low levels of virus cases like Carlow not to visit their parents or family if they live in a separate house, in order to help stop the spread of the virus in the community but the same experts are allowing 25 players travel from Cavan to Kildare and Fermanagh to Clare to play a football league match - do the players live in a part of Cavan and Fermanagh where there is no virus?

I don't care if you are left, right or center - it makes absolutely no sense that the country is effectively locked down and the GAA is exempt and allowed to play matches that sees players travel the length and breath of Ireland to play. In fact, Fermanagh are being ordered by the GAA to travel and play!!!!! Madness, absolute madness."
It actually does make sense.

They are looking at the numbers and rather than shutting down everything are trying to be more targeted in their response. Which is what we were all asking them to do initially.

Certain activities are prioritized as they are deemed (rightly or wrongly) to be for the greater good. Education and sport being examples. They are also risk assessed and the actual playing of sport is low risk. Primary schools are low risk, although secondary schools are higher risk but are deemed to be hugely important to society.

Because a virus spreads through social interaction locking down some interactions actually allows other activities to go ahead because it reduces transmission and therefore risk.

You seem to think that you have better information than the NPHET statisticians/virologists. How many transmissions happened to people driving alone in their cars? How many happened on a football field during games or training? I would suggest that Under 8 training with Mammys and Daddys not staying in their cars is a lot more risky than inter county training.

This may all prove to be a pointless discussion in any case because it looks like we will move up the levels and games will stop then anyway.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 16/10/2020 10:48:41    2297969

Replying To Crinigan:  "Crikey no wonder Northern Ireland is a basket case for Corona. It's an absolute tragedy that we have to share a border with ye otherwise we could have just did what NZ and Australia have done and shut our borders and got rid of the thing. Of course we could do not that because of ye sensitive souls up there. But of course ye lads up there are true Irish patriots and "Gaels" so would always do what's best for the country, right? Like following simple instructions? Ye could even write a ditty about it - "the men behind the masks"?"
N.I is run by Unionists in London and Stormont, Belfast. Boris Johnson is PM in London, Arlene Foster is the N.I/6c first minister. Robin Swann is Minister for Health. So you think 700,000 Ulster Unionists are true "Gaels".

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 16/10/2020 10:50:38    2297970

It is no wonder in my opinion that Meath are relegated already. Their supporters are more interested in debating online then playing Gaelic football. Meath is a large county, in population and size. Yet they are not too good at Gaelic football. I wonder is there some kind of political quiz the players have to do before they are selected for the team?

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 16/10/2020 10:54:07    2297973

"Crikey" is that a new rural Ireland slang? or is it the same expression taken by British convicts to Australia and some parts of County Meath?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 16/10/2020 11:11:23    2297980

Replying To galwayford:  "It is no wonder in my opinion that Meath are relegated already. Their supporters are more interested in debating online then playing Gaelic football. Meath is a large county, in population and size. Yet they are not too good at Gaelic football. I wonder is there some kind of political quiz the players have to do before they are selected for the team?"
Less of it. In purely historic terms; Meath and Galway both have 7 all-Ireland titles. I guess that makes both counties "not too good". I agree with the headers on this forum, but they do not reflect the general fanbase, which are very normal people like the fans of any other county.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 16/10/2020 11:14:03    2297982

Replying To galwayford:  "N.I is run by Unionists in London and Stormont, Belfast. Boris Johnson is PM in London, Arlene Foster is the N.I/6c first minister. Robin Swann is Minister for Health. So you think 700,000 Ulster Unionists are true "Gaels"."
Fighting covid has fk all to with governments and everything to do with personal responsibility. Our two northern chaps think covid is a flu and we should get in with things. Personal responsibility and patriotism in protecting their country's vulnerable seems beyond them. More important they get to see their heroes diving, spitting, grabbing crotches and bringing up the bereavements of opposition players families ... or whatever counts for sport up in Tyrone apparently.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 16/10/2020 12:01:57    2297995

Replying To JoeSoap:  "You could have stopped this post with "I'm no expert"."
Well sure I'm not a 'know it all like you' I'm entitled to my opinion same as you, just because it doesn't align with your world view doesn't make it any less valid, you're a typical leftie,
we'll see if all the dooms day predictions come true, I know for a fact those hospital figures are padded out, people are testing positive in hospital but they are not all being admitted because of covid.
I suppose the whingers will win out and get the Championship abandoned, I see the great Pat Spillane is making the same point as me today regarding the football, the people need it to get through these dark months, going to be some great games of old style knockout football.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 16/10/2020 12:51:14    2298022

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/1016/1171882-coronavirus-ireland/

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 16/10/2020 13:07:29    2298029

Well I think championship and conclusion of league are not going to happen
. Nepht has asked gov. again for level 5 restrictions for 6 weeks.
Government said no a fortnight ago which I thought was risky.
I would very surprised if they were to say no again.

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 16/10/2020 13:13:18    2298030

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Well sure I'm not a 'know it all like you' I'm entitled to my opinion same as you, just because it doesn't align with your world view doesn't make it any less valid, you're a typical leftie,
we'll see if all the dooms day predictions come true, I know for a fact those hospital figures are padded out, people are testing positive in hospital but they are not all being admitted because of covid.
I suppose the whingers will win out and get the Championship abandoned, I see the great Pat Spillane is making the same point as me today regarding the football, the people need it to get through these dark months, going to be some great games of old style knockout football."
You ok Gemma? So Pat said we should have no restrictions and let it be survival of the fittest? Because that was what you actually said first.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 16/10/2020 13:20:34    2298034

Replying To Shannonview:  "Well I think championship and conclusion of league are not going to happen
. Nepht has asked gov. again for level 5 restrictions for 6 weeks.
Government said no a fortnight ago which I thought was risky.
I would very surprised if they were to say no again."
Leagues will finish, but after that.... I dunno, unfortunately.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 16/10/2020 13:24:52    2298038