The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

...the terrible immunisation disasters that were done even when it was known the damage they caused.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 5772 - 09/09/2020 17:01:42 2291329

What terrible immunisation disasters?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 09/09/2020 21:57:33    2291352

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "...the terrible immunisation disasters that were done even when it was known the damage they caused.

What terrible immunisation disasters?"
Fair play at that attempt to construct a reply to a post that doesn't exist.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 09/09/2020 23:56:46    2291363

Replying To GreenandRed:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "...the terrible immunisation disasters that were done even when it was known the damage they caused.

Fair play at that attempt to construct a reply to a post that doesn't exist."
Apologies. I replied to your reply in error.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 10/09/2020 10:53:32    2291390

...the terrible immunisation disasters that were done even when it was known the damage they caused.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4359 - 09/09/2020 15:19:39 2291319

What terrible immunisation disasters?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 10/09/2020 10:57:01    2291391

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "...the terrible immunisation disasters that were done even when it was known the damage they caused.

Fair play at that attempt to construct a reply to a post that doesn't exist."
Apologies. I replied to your reply in error."]No bother.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 10/09/2020 11:28:13    2291398

Replying To arock:  "The problem for most academics be they scientists or humanities, i=s for centuries they had the data and information all to themsleves under their lock and key, information was king. To the point that we hardly know our own histories and yes there are alternative viewpoints and histories and medicines. I will always err on the side of science, but I do know that it wasn't ignorance that built the atomic bomb, nor the terrible immunisation disasters that were done even when it was known the damage they caused. Trust is a big word, you earn it, but out in the great blue world of the internet, there are many viewpoints. The problem for Catholics is, priests interpret the word of god for you, protestants inform themselves, in relation to science I will inform myself."
@admin @hoganstand should follow guidelines around vaccine misinformation. Irresponsible publishing here.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 10/09/2020 22:36:08    2291483

Replying To yew_tree:  "It was an absolute disgrace. The cops weren't so quick to fire out the untouchables in the Station house hotel in Cliften."
More populist nonsense.

I'm sure if the owners of the hotel told the gardai that they had a non compliant group who are refusing to move in spite of being asked numerous times they would have been.

It was the GAA stewards that asked the Gardai to remove them.

Events following the meal would also disprove your point about being untouchable. Don't think the 3 lads escorted out of the ground lost their jobs or got mountains of abuse in the media.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 11/09/2020 09:21:53    2291505

Replying To greysoil:  "@admin @hoganstand should follow guidelines around vaccine misinformation. Irresponsible publishing here."
Where is the vaccine misinformation in what I said? shocking that you would attempt to shut down my argument. Are you even suggesting that thalidomide, Polio disasters in 40's and 50's didn't happen? even when the creators knew? That is not for a second stating that Covid19 is a hoax etc etc. What you have done is take a dislike to what I am saying and asking me to be censured? If that is the case then the entire thread should be shut down, because a reasonably discourse is impossible. Outragious.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 11/09/2020 12:32:38    2291537

Replying To Mayonman:  "More populist nonsense.

I'm sure if the owners of the hotel told the gardai that they had a non compliant group who are refusing to move in spite of being asked numerous times they would have been.

It was the GAA stewards that asked the Gardai to remove them.

Events following the meal would also disprove your point about being untouchable. Don't think the 3 lads escorted out of the ground lost their jobs or got mountains of abuse in the media."
Almost as bad as the ridiculous populist move from RTÉ to confirm the Late Late Toy Show is happening this year and even worse than the populist nonsense from the FAI to appoint Stephen Kenny as Ireland head coach.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 373 - 11/09/2020 13:37:31    2291548

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "Almost as bad as the ridiculous populist move from RTÉ to confirm the Late Late Toy Show is happening this year and even worse than the populist nonsense from the FAI to appoint Stephen Kenny as Ireland head coach."
Appointing Stephen Kenny is populist nonsense?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 11/09/2020 23:14:54    2291638

Replying To arock:  "Where is the vaccine misinformation in what I said? shocking that you would attempt to shut down my argument. Are you even suggesting that thalidomide, Polio disasters in 40's and 50's didn't happen? even when the creators knew? That is not for a second stating that Covid19 is a hoax etc etc. What you have done is take a dislike to what I am saying and asking me to be censured? If that is the case then the entire thread should be shut down, because a reasonably discourse is impossible. Outragious."
Everyone is entitled to their views however you threw out a general statement on vacancies with no background or specifics. Even now I am not sure what point you are trying to make, thalidomide was not a vaccine, it was in a way the equivalent of todays paracetamol anyone wanting to read the history of it can see it here.

https://www.sciencemuseum.org.uk/objects-and-stories/medicine/thalidomide

Polio has had a bit of a past and the vaccine was given despite the risks that it could inadvertently trigger the virus in the receiver. This I believe was corrected in the 70's.

However because of these issues the production and regulations around medicines and vaccines makes them safer now than ever before than in the past however despite this there is a continued risk in skepticism and falsehoods around their use. One could argue that your use of historical facts to cast doubt on events of today, is a type of falsehood. This however does not excuse corporate greed that we have seen in hiding facts from the public about the impact of things we take but thats is not just medicines - cigarettes are a great example.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 12/09/2020 09:19:47    2291654

Replying To arock:  "Where is the vaccine misinformation in what I said? shocking that you would attempt to shut down my argument. Are you even suggesting that thalidomide, Polio disasters in 40's and 50's didn't happen? even when the creators knew? That is not for a second stating that Covid19 is a hoax etc etc. What you have done is take a dislike to what I am saying and asking me to be censured? If that is the case then the entire thread should be shut down, because a reasonably discourse is impossible. Outragious."
Thalidomide was not a vaccine. It was a medication taken orally.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 12/09/2020 12:51:05    2291682

So to quote your post ' the terrible immunisation disasters that were done even when it was known the damage they caused.'A broad sweeping statement with absolutely zero references to what exactly you were writing about.
And now in your response includes 'Are you even suggesting that thalidomide, Polio disasters in 40's and 50's didn't happen? even when the creators knew? '.
So can you elaborate on What you mean by the polio disaster of the 40's & 50's. Certainly there was a polio outbreak in Ireland back then, but polio is a virus that thankfully has been irradiated here by vaccination. In early variations of the vaccines. 3 people in 1 million people developed a side effect that caused paralysis - this was in contrast to the 5000 per million who were being paralysed by the virus.
Thalidomide was a drug used for morning sickness in pregnant women so not sure how you are associating it with vaccines. Please Educate yourself prior to submitting to a public forum. It is individuals such as you blurring lines, mixing science & pseudo science that has led Vaccination in this country dropping. We saw a resurgence of measles & mumps & a huge reduction in the uptake for the HPV vaccine.
So in summary, I stand by my assertion that your post contained misinformation & should not have been published.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 13/09/2020 09:23:22    2291795

Replying To greysoil:  "So to quote your post ' the terrible immunisation disasters that were done even when it was known the damage they caused.'A broad sweeping statement with absolutely zero references to what exactly you were writing about.
And now in your response includes 'Are you even suggesting that thalidomide, Polio disasters in 40's and 50's didn't happen? even when the creators knew? '.
So can you elaborate on What you mean by the polio disaster of the 40's & 50's. Certainly there was a polio outbreak in Ireland back then, but polio is a virus that thankfully has been irradiated here by vaccination. In early variations of the vaccines. 3 people in 1 million people developed a side effect that caused paralysis - this was in contrast to the 5000 per million who were being paralysed by the virus.
Thalidomide was a drug used for morning sickness in pregnant women so not sure how you are associating it with vaccines. Please Educate yourself prior to submitting to a public forum. It is individuals such as you blurring lines, mixing science & pseudo science that has led Vaccination in this country dropping. We saw a resurgence of measles & mumps & a huge reduction in the uptake for the HPV vaccine.
So in summary, I stand by my assertion that your post contained misinformation & should not have been published."
That's what the Green Thumbs are for. People can decide for themselves. And yes some people are probably wrong in their posts and even have bad spelling or punctuation, or stray off topic. All part of a forum.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 14/09/2020 09:50:36    2291950

I see they are proposing to reduce players mileage rates. In theory I have no issue with this as long as the same mileage rate applies across the board, referees, county chairmen, president etc

Also I note in today's paper that the GAA are investigating ways to stream/televise as many intercounty games as possible this year. This is very positive. Much and all as i miss going to games at least if we can watch the games it will be great. Particularly the counties the do not get much tv coverage normally.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 15/09/2020 11:41:22    2292198

They're allowing crowds of 200 in grounds of 5000 and upwards capacity and up to 100 in grounds of less than 5000. Good news but why isn't it scaled based on ground capacity at 4% of capacity and also dependant on access to and from spectator areas?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 15/09/2020 14:53:19    2292267

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They're allowing crowds of 200 in grounds of 5000 and upwards capacity and up to 100 in grounds of less than 5000. Good news but why isn't it scaled based on ground capacity at 4% of capacity and also dependant on access to and from spectator areas?"
For grounds above 5000, it will be based on capacity.

Each venue to be assessed on a case by case basis.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 15/09/2020 15:41:51    2292277

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They're allowing crowds of 200 in grounds of 5000 and upwards capacity and up to 100 in grounds of less than 5000. Good news but why isn't it scaled based on ground capacity at 4% of capacity and also dependant on access to and from spectator areas?"
Whats the reasoning to allow 4% of capacity?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 15/09/2020 20:15:20    2292335

The crowd size(as much as you can call 200 people in a stadium or a ground a crowd) has gone back to what it was in July and August. The spread of Covid has increased in the meantime which I think shows sporting fixtures was not the reason for the rising numbers at the time and that cancelling them was wrong and should not have happened. At last the big 3 sporting organisations are working together to better represent themselves, for a while there it looked like the GAA was the only organisation workout to get crowds back and taking all the flak for looking for a reason for banning fans.Together they should be stronger and have scientific backup and evidence for their arguments.
My own personal opinion is that family celebrations like communion and confirmation which have all been going on since July has increased the transmission level within homes.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 816 - 16/09/2020 11:04:00    2292429

Replying To updwell:  "The crowd size(as much as you can call 200 people in a stadium or a ground a crowd) has gone back to what it was in July and August. The spread of Covid has increased in the meantime which I think shows sporting fixtures was not the reason for the rising numbers at the time and that cancelling them was wrong and should not have happened. At last the big 3 sporting organisations are working together to better represent themselves, for a while there it looked like the GAA was the only organisation workout to get crowds back and taking all the flak for looking for a reason for banning fans.Together they should be stronger and have scientific backup and evidence for their arguments.
My own personal opinion is that family celebrations like communion and confirmation which have all been going on since July has increased the transmission level within homes."
I'd agree with that in my totally non-medical knowledge and viewpoint.

You seen to have a much better chance of catching something indoors that outdoors.

Seems quite logical too.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 16/09/2020 15:27:38    2292508