U20 Football Championship 2020

Replying To witnof:  "Oh give it a rest, they know damn well they will not get a massive or big crowd. And 20k would be a big crowd.

Everything the GAA do you have people moaning and groaning.....................that's why they are right to ignore every forum and social media outlet"
I wont give it a rest, its crazy carrying Kerry Galway and Tyrone to dublin for a semifinal.

There are plenty of other perfectly good options available.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2020 18:28:31    2273111

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I wont give it a rest, its crazy carrying Kerry Galway and Tyrone to dublin for a semifinal.

There are plenty of other perfectly good options available."
Have the relevant County Boards or managements an issue with this, I would have thought they would welcome the chance for future seniors to play in Croker.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 09/03/2020 22:47:48    2273165

Replying To sligo joe:  "Have the relevant County Boards or managements an issue with this, I would have thought they would welcome the chance for future seniors to play in Croker."
I'm sure they have a problem with it but who's going to stand up and rock the gaa boat?

It's gas Tom Ryan was in the paper a few weeks ago. Given out about counties spending nearly 2 million a year running their teams but does he realise how much it costs to carry a team to dublin and put them up in a hotel there for a night? That's something the Kerry Galway and Tyrone squads wouldn't have to pay for if the games were held in the gaelic grounds and Breffni Park as teams could stroll up in the morning of the games.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/03/2020 11:25:31    2273201

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'm sure they have a problem with it but who's going to stand up and rock the gaa boat?

It's gas Tom Ryan was in the paper a few weeks ago. Given out about counties spending nearly 2 million a year running their teams but does he realise how much it costs to carry a team to dublin and put them up in a hotel there for a night? That's something the Kerry Galway and Tyrone squads wouldn't have to pay for if the games were held in the gaelic grounds and Breffni Park as teams could stroll up in the morning of the games."
Of course they are all unhappy and the players hate it but they are all quaking in fear so will say nothing......hhhhhmmmm

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 10/03/2020 19:45:22    2273291

Replying To witnof:  "Of course they are all unhappy and the players hate it but they are all quaking in fear so will say nothing......hhhhhmmmm"
Don't agree, this grade is seen by management as a stepping stone to senior. All four teams would take the opportunity of their future seniors playing competitive football in Croke park, players too I believe would opt for HQ, fans a different matter.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 10/03/2020 20:24:20    2273296

Replying To witnof:  "Of course they are all unhappy and the players hate it but they are all quaking in fear so will say nothing......hhhhhmmmm"
Sorry, very early in the morning where I am, didn't notice your sarcasm!

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 10/03/2020 20:27:58    2273298

That's easy for a dub to say, ye won't be put out anyway.

How do ye spend more money than the rest of the top 8 teams yet ye do a lot less traveling?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/03/2020 20:37:16    2273300

Kerry were given 540k in team expenses by the GAA last year. That's on top of their GDF and other GAA financial distribution last year. * Before Munster Council coaching allocation last year is added.

I'd say the county board are happy enough with a spin to the home of the five in a row. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/03/2020 22:01:28    2273313

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's easy for a dub to say, ye won't be put out anyway.

How do ye spend more money than the rest of the top 8 teams yet ye do a lot less traveling?"
Good man, never let facts get in way of a good rant........................

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 11/03/2020 08:47:23    2273335

Replying To TheUsername:  "Kerry were given 540k in team expenses by the GAA last year. That's on top of their GDF and other GAA financial distribution last year. * Before Munster Council coaching allocation last year is added.

I'd say the county board are happy enough with a spin to the home of the five in a row. ;)"
So the team from the home of the fives having to travel to the home of the 5 makes sense to you when we could easily just play Galway in limerick instead.

That's a bit wasteful don't you think.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/03/2020 10:17:12    2273345

Sorry, youth football is a bit over-rated; and any county is lucky if its even a couple of decent seniors out of a good youth team. I used to share the common view that youth football was a "better" class of football than senior football - more open, etc. One day I was at an U21 match followed by the same 2 counties' seniors. Night and day. The U21 match seemed fast in isolation; and, yes, there are a lot of pacey U20 / U21 players. However, the big difference is the amount of time you (don't) get on the ball in the senior game. I'm awestruck by the composure and mental speed of senior inter-county players nowadays. A senior inter-county footballer gets the ball, the opposition are on him like wasps, within seconds. You can become complacent watching games on TV or from back in the stands and kidding yourself that it's no more difficult than in my day etc. But get down on the sideline and the game sharpness and reaction speeds of modern senior players are exceptional. In the U20 games, players have more time on the ball and the tackling is less intense. Good games to watch, but need to keep them in perspective.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 11/03/2020 10:33:05    2273350

Id actually agree and have sympathy with those who have to have a derision to make on traveling, they should be played in Limerick or Clones or Breffni. But St Patricks day in Croker is always a great day out and a sense of occasion, i think this occasion could be a thing as the years progress, its a nice reward for the lads who have achieved. Its good to see underage football get some acknowledgment. But i think its a pain for anyone traveling, imagine trying to get through Adare or Dublin with parade on. But i suppose it was the same for the club final.

I can see the good and the bad, personally id be on record as wanting to see more football outside of Dublin, that includes Dublin games.

Either way we will all be lucky to have a choice, id say its on the ropes on whether it will go ahead or not. Be a great day out if goes ahead.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/03/2020 12:29:26    2273367

Replying To essmac:  "Sorry, youth football is a bit over-rated; and any county is lucky if its even a couple of decent seniors out of a good youth team. I used to share the common view that youth football was a "better" class of football than senior football - more open, etc. One day I was at an U21 match followed by the same 2 counties' seniors. Night and day. The U21 match seemed fast in isolation; and, yes, there are a lot of pacey U20 / U21 players. However, the big difference is the amount of time you (don't) get on the ball in the senior game. I'm awestruck by the composure and mental speed of senior inter-county players nowadays. A senior inter-county footballer gets the ball, the opposition are on him like wasps, within seconds. You can become complacent watching games on TV or from back in the stands and kidding yourself that it's no more difficult than in my day etc. But get down on the sideline and the game sharpness and reaction speeds of modern senior players are exceptional. In the U20 games, players have more time on the ball and the tackling is less intense. Good games to watch, but need to keep them in perspective."
We have one poster that has convinced himself that U20 is senior football. The two levels are miles apart and more so than ever before since the foolish decision to scrap the U21 grade.

Take Kildare for example. They won the U20 All Ireland in 2018 and as of yet none of that team has become established senior footballers.

When it comes to this grade a few can make the step up straight away but the majority find the bridge from U20 to senior too big. As you say perspective certainly needed.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3745 - 11/03/2020 13:07:07    2273376

Replying To TheUsername:  "Id actually agree and have sympathy with those who have to have a derision to make on traveling, they should be played in Limerick or Clones or Breffni. But St Patricks day in Croker is always a great day out and a sense of occasion, i think this occasion could be a thing as the years progress, its a nice reward for the lads who have achieved. Its good to see underage football get some acknowledgment. But i think its a pain for anyone traveling, imagine trying to get through Adare or Dublin with parade on. But i suppose it was the same for the club final.

I can see the good and the bad, personally id be on record as wanting to see more football outside of Dublin, that includes Dublin games.

Either way we will all be lucky to have a choice, id say its on the ropes on whether it will go ahead or not. Be a great day out if goes ahead."
Isn't the U20s going back to summer next year so it won't become a thing as years progress if that's the case.

Also it's not very environmentally friendly, what would Greta say if she found out.

It's my belief that every team should have a home and away agreement and if they don't have that agreement then games should be held in neutral venues halfway or as close to halfway between both teams, it makes sense environmentally financially and it would be great for the economies of these towns.

There should be no games in Crokepark bar league finals leinster finals allireland semifinals and allireland finals.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/03/2020 13:32:03    2273382

Crazy opening up Croker for these Semi Finals.. Not surprised, GAA see another good Dublin team coming through and want to get them nice and settled in Croker while making money off them.. Then try an justify " its great for all these players to play in Croke Park ! ... That should be the extra intensive to win the Semi for the big day in Croke Park. Would they be in Croke Park if Laois had won last week?

county-minor (Kildare) - Posts: 8 - 11/03/2020 13:43:03    2273383

Replying To county-minor:  "Crazy opening up Croker for these Semi Finals.. Not surprised, GAA see another good Dublin team coming through and want to get them nice and settled in Croker while making money off them.. Then try an justify " its great for all these players to play in Croke Park ! ... That should be the extra intensive to win the Semi for the big day in Croke Park. Would they be in Croke Park if Laois had won last week?"
These U20 fixtures in Croke Park on St Patricks day were decided in November.

10 out of 10 on the going full tin foil hat though, keep it on the Dublin County Board wont be able to monitor your brain waves, oh and wash your hands.

https://www.todayfm.com/sport/u-20-games-replace-ireland-club-finals-st-patricks-day-924949

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/03/2020 14:25:26    2273392

Replying To county-minor:  "Crazy opening up Croker for these Semi Finals.. Not surprised, GAA see another good Dublin team coming through and want to get them nice and settled in Croker while making money off them.. Then try an justify " its great for all these players to play in Croke Park ! ... That should be the extra intensive to win the Semi for the big day in Croke Park. Would they be in Croke Park if Laois had won last week?"
Eh ye as the fixtures were set for Croke Park last November. Must try harder! Also, welcome "new" poster!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/03/2020 14:34:16    2273395

Dublin regardless of the quality of their team don't have a big following for their underage teams. It's most family and friends of the players from Dublin that attend

Yes if Laois won as Croke Park All Ireland semi finals on St Patrick's day was decided last year.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3745 - 11/03/2020 14:41:09    2273400

Replying To The_analyser:  "We have one poster that has convinced himself that U20 is senior football. The two levels are miles apart and more so than ever before since the foolish decision to scrap the U21 grade.

Take Kildare for example. They won the U20 All Ireland in 2018 and as of yet none of that team has become established senior footballers.

When it comes to this grade a few can make the step up straight away but the majority find the bridge from U20 to senior too big. As you say perspective certainly needed."
Underage is underage, senior is senior everyone knows that, so throwing in silly opening comments lends nothing to your views. However the incontravertible truth is that the vast majority of senior intercounty players have represented their county at underage level and many have referenced their experiences at underage as being of value later on. If some of the current u20 semifinal players were to return to Croker maybe 3yrs down the road for a big snr game the experience of playing there b4 certainly not a disadvantage. Numerous u20 managers have vented dismay at the timing of their c'ship, haven't heard any quibble re venue for semis.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 12/03/2020 07:30:39    2273504

2 great games to look forward to this weekend. Kerry Galway especially should be a fantastic game. If I'd to predict the finalists I think I would say Kerry and Dublin but Galway and Tyrone could easily win too, its very tight.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 13/10/2020 22:40:50    2297410