Timekeeping

Replying To GDL:  "Well Mr Lane confirmed in Tuam yesterday he can't keep time. He played only 5 minutes. Now Cathal McShanes injury was nearly that alone. He gave nothing for other injuries or substitutions."
Now seriously come on, if he had of put up 8/9 minutes people would be giving out the same amount.

I think one thing that people are missing here is that the time to be added on is solely based on injuries or stoppages which occur in the additional time. The likes of a free being taken is not considered to be a stoppage it is part of the game, yellow cards if they are just on a free will not be added, but if it is in relation to an off the ball offence then it is a stoppage. With regards to an injury, if the player is just down for a few seconds, the clock will not be stopped for this and rightly so in my opinion.

When you look at this things, you will generally see that the majority of time the refs are not too far wrong with their time keeping. The likes if cynical play will not be removed by a count down clock, in fact it will become worse as you can see in the womens games when there is a tight finish. As per above yellow cards are not seen as a reason to stop the game, so the clock will still count down while this is being dished out by the ref.

I think if the clock was introduced we would see alot of people giving out about the cynical play that would increase and the game being slowed down even more in the last couple of minutes.

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 25/02/2020 08:26:04    2269955

Stop clocks are already in county grounds just use them

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 25/02/2020 15:04:16    2270085

Replying To juicy:  "Now seriously come on, if he had of put up 8/9 minutes people would be giving out the same amount.

I think one thing that people are missing here is that the time to be added on is solely based on injuries or stoppages which occur in the additional time. The likes of a free being taken is not considered to be a stoppage it is part of the game, yellow cards if they are just on a free will not be added, but if it is in relation to an off the ball offence then it is a stoppage. With regards to an injury, if the player is just down for a few seconds, the clock will not be stopped for this and rightly so in my opinion.

When you look at this things, you will generally see that the majority of time the refs are not too far wrong with their time keeping. The likes if cynical play will not be removed by a count down clock, in fact it will become worse as you can see in the womens games when there is a tight finish. As per above yellow cards are not seen as a reason to stop the game, so the clock will still count down while this is being dished out by the ref.

I think if the clock was introduced we would see alot of people giving out about the cynical play that would increase and the game being slowed down even more in the last couple of minutes."
Where you in Tuam on Sunday?

Cathal McShane was down for four and a half minutes, Comer two minutes following the tackle that lead to the penalty, Walsh for a minute following the Burns tackle on him, I saw a Tyrone player getting attention a minute. Galway had four subs, Conroy, Connelly, Sean Andy and Campbell, that is 80 seconds and Tyrone had at least one as Tiernan McCann got replaced that is another 20 seconds. That is over 9 minutes. Now it is not boxing, theRef can't stop it as he feels sorry for one team. A start/stop clock would eliminate all the confusion.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 716 - 25/02/2020 18:32:42    2270156

Both national football and hurling match officials have been directed to allow roughly 20 seconds per substitution, the same for players who have to travel up the field to take frees, 45s and 65s and half a minute for the use of Hawk-Eye in Croke Park. This was from 2015. Since then these have been extended. I think average added time will be 8 mins. The way to avoid it is to introduce count down clock.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 25/02/2020 20:10:32    2270170

I dont think you should have to add time for subs coming on. Especially not a set time for every sub who comes on.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 25/02/2020 21:06:36    2270187

See the issue of time keeping has raised its ugly head again in the Offaly match today. One minute extra time in the first half, six in the second AND two after the extra time.
Given that extra time is added for injuries and substitutions only, and not for timewasting and giving out cards, was these 8 minutes justified, was there two minutes worth of injuries and substitutions during the 6 minutes added time, if not then Offaly were robbed of a place in the league final.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 08/03/2020 17:01:17    2272847

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "See the issue of time keeping has raised its ugly head again in the Offaly match today. One minute extra time in the first half, six in the second AND two after the extra time.
Given that extra time is added for injuries and substitutions only, and not for timewasting and giving out cards, was these 8 minutes justified, was there two minutes worth of injuries and substitutions during the 6 minutes added time, if not then Offaly were robbed of a place in the league final."
There were 2 minutes of added time in the first half of today's game, but the clock showed 1 minute 16 seconds, apparent the clock stopped and was not restarted. The fourth official confirmed to a team official that 2 minutes were played.
The real talking point was the 8 minutes added time at the end of normal time, while 6 minutes additional time were announced.

Offaly were ahead by 0-20 to 0-14, at the end of the allotted additional time, an Antrim goal left the margin at three points. Then in the eighth minute an Antrim free was finished to the net. Full time whistle sounded. Draw match, and Offaly out of the final. Frustrating for Offaly players, officials and supporters.
Offaly were the better team for most of the game, but they lost out controversially at the end.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1730 - 08/03/2020 17:40:07    2272855

Replying To thelongridge:  "There were 2 minutes of added time in the first half of today's game, but the clock showed 1 minute 16 seconds, apparent the clock stopped and was not restarted. The fourth official confirmed to a team official that 2 minutes were played.
The real talking point was the 8 minutes added time at the end of normal time, while 6 minutes additional time were announced.

Offaly were ahead by 0-20 to 0-14, at the end of the allotted additional time, an Antrim goal left the margin at three points. Then in the eighth minute an Antrim free was finished to the net. Full time whistle sounded. Draw match, and Offaly out of the final. Frustrating for Offaly players, officials and supporters.
Offaly were the better team for most of the game, but they lost out controversially at the end."
To be fair Antrim were already in the final and kerry had an outbeak of mumps in the team losing their best player and they did beat offaly already so they would gave been hard done by too.. I just feel they deserved to be in a final more than offaly

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 08/03/2020 18:29:25    2272861

Was expecting more uproar on this thread after the shambles that occurred in our game today.

I still cant believe that the match was let go on until the ref finally managed to get antrim their equalizing goal.

A few points,
1. Offaly were utterly dominant throughout.
2. 1 minute of injury time in first half and I'm not even sure he played that.
3. 8 (EIGHT!) minutes injury time played in second half when three would have been generous.
4. Dont let the timekeeping disgrace take away from the fact that there were so many decisions given against us throughout the game ('throw balls' etc).

I hope to god Duignan let's rip about this, something needs to be done.

Fair dues to antrim / referee.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 08/03/2020 21:43:31    2272914

Replying To tulachmhór:  "Was expecting more uproar on this thread after the shambles that occurred in our game today.

I still cant believe that the match was let go on until the ref finally managed to get antrim their equalizing goal.

A few points,
3. 8 (EIGHT!) minutes injury time played in second half when three would have been generous.
4. Dont let the timekeeping disgrace take away from the fact that there were so many decisions given against us throughout the game ('throw balls' etc).

Fair dues to antrim / referee."
Its impossible for anyone to comment on this who wasn't at the game. 8 minutes seems like allot but its possible!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1413 - 08/03/2020 22:21:09    2272923

Offaly fans whinging doesn't take away from the actual facts in O' Connor Park today. Antrim had nothing to play for, Antrim played to the final whistle plus in other matches Offaly got one point from their two crucial matches in this division, they were extremely lucky to beat Meath in Birr after Meath missed a sitter in last minute. They still have an inflated sense of their standing nationally. Supporters expected to cruise through division two. Duignan's verbal attack on David Hughes afterwards is not befitting a county chairman. He's not a pundit when it comes to Offaly matches.

Bellewest (Westmeath) - Posts: 150 - 08/03/2020 22:47:33    2272928

Replying To Ban:  "Its impossible for anyone to comment on this who wasn't at the game. 8 minutes seems like allot but its possible!"
Suppose you're right, to hell with Offaly, what does it matter if they are deprived of promotion because a referee added more time than was legitimately appropriate.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 08/03/2020 23:47:54    2272937

Replying To tulachmhór:  "Was expecting more uproar on this thread after the shambles that occurred in our game today.

A few points,

Fair dues to antrim / referee."
Read point one and by all accounts this was through....

All other points are excuses and it is a happy out to blame the ref.

A team is not good enough if they cannot defend a 6 point lead for only 2 minutes.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 09/03/2020 09:55:13    2272957

Replying To preddan:  "To be fair Antrim were already in the final and kerry had an outbeak of mumps in the team losing their best player and they did beat offaly already so they would gave been hard done by too.. I just feel they deserved to be in a final more than offaly"
That 's your opinion. I was at yesterday's game, so I don't agree with you at all. Offaly were by far the better team yesterday, but were caught at the very end.
As for the Kerry game , Offaly were a man down, and playing into a gale that day.
We can all speculate behind a keyboard, but nothing beats seeing things first hand.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1730 - 09/03/2020 10:18:34    2272963

Replying To Bellewest:  "Offaly fans whinging doesn't take away from the actual facts in O' Connor Park today. Antrim had nothing to play for, Antrim played to the final whistle plus in other matches Offaly got one point from their two crucial matches in this division, they were extremely lucky to beat Meath in Birr after Meath missed a sitter in last minute. They still have an inflated sense of their standing nationally. Supporters expected to cruise through division two. Duignan's verbal attack on David Hughes afterwards is not befitting a county chairman. He's not a pundit when it comes to Offaly matches."
whats this oul lark about "not befitting a county chairman"...is the county chairman God or the President of Ireland or what, I think its a breath of fresh air to hear a or any county chairman come out and give his views, which by sounds of it are echoed throughout the county and even beyond the county, whats this "respect" about, too many "anorak" chairmen get their jobs part of reason is they will keep their mouths shut and not criticize the upper etchelons...sorry but tough sh*t...maybe if every county had a chairman willing to dive in and defend his county the GAA might not be so authoratarian, which it claims its not which is ironic. I remember Waterford got screwed with some decision too a few years back, and their manager Derek McGrath, whether acting on instruction or not, was interviewed and would not condemn what was a terrible decision...we wont get change in such matters if people involved, and in particular people of county board chairmen etc. arent willing to stand up defend their teams...but I wont hear this ould nodding and bobbing lark of "not befitting a county chairman"...its a poor day if a chairman still is afraid to speak his mind in public given he is representing the county...I can say Michael Duignan did what his predecessor wouldt have done...

Regarding the game itself, I couldnt genuinely make the game but did listen to it on Radio3 and jumped between Radio 1 also for updates when R3 switched to Westmeath/Carlow game. Firstly, Offaly hurled very well going by what amost everyone on here that was at the game said and by sounds of game I listened to on R3/RTE radio. Secndly, Antrim didnt need to win is correct, however, its about momentum, and dont be fooling yourselves thinking Antrim came the whole way down to Tullamore to fulfill the fixture, not get hockeyed and still end up in the league final, no team should adopt thant mentality and infairness to the game I listened to yesterday Antrim were playing very much to be competitive and win, which they ultimately did.

Offaly were 6 points up, a safe lead one would think, one goal to concede at death, fair enough, two is criminal. Rightly or wrongly in all cases you HAVE to play to the whistle, do your protesting AFTER the match which was done, I wonder did the "come on ref, blow it up" seep into the team for the last 2 added minutes on top of the injury time, I say that because on R3 the comentator was saying this Offaly player and that Offaly player were interacting the referee when the full time whistle blew eventually. I personally think that is what happened, concentration dropped, the sport is almost professional, once concentration dropped, and it wasnt by all players now I would say, critical mistakes were made, I will go inso far as to say lads could have been watching the whistle in the refs mouth instead of their man and the ball.

It was surely a sickener to take, but I honestly can say I doubt if Antrim came down to loose today, if your winning, you want to keep that going, why else would Antrim have went for two goals if that wasnt the case. As I say I wasnt at the game so cannot comment on the cards etc. but from listening, Offaly got their share of frees which Cahill pointed the majority (missed first of second half) but he got injured then and was taken off, should he have been left on the field to take the frees, I think not personally, David Nally is an excellent free taker and should be well able to take up that role, the team played very well yesterday, the lads brought in for injured/unavailable players were excellent I thought from what I heard.

Not rehashing previous debates but we probably needed the experience and drive of Cillian Kiely in particular over the last 10 minutes of reuglar time along with the added on 7/8 minutes, that may have been the difference, but he was inured, players came in and done well, we can blame the ref if we wish, but you must play to the final whistle and not get sidelined wondering "when" the ref is going to blow his whistle...and I think that is what happened yesterday...it wont happen with this group again....surely.

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 09/03/2020 10:36:53    2272967

Does everyone realise that when additional time is announced it says a minimum of 6 mins. It is a the discretion of the ref after that. Teams will both benefit and lose out to this over the season. Far to much being made of it.

thegen (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 09/03/2020 10:41:05    2272968

It is a no brainer to introduce a countdown clock. This does not take away from the referees ability to control the time in games. It does not remove the referees responsibility for the time keeping of a game. What it does is make it very transparent as to why he is stopping game time. In other sports the referee has a signal and call to control the time that is being used up due to stoppages of what ever nature. So, give the referee the opportunity to signal and clarify to his officials, the teams on the park, the management teams, the media and the supporters when time is stopped and what time is therefore officially left. There is no need to announce extra time as it is only an approximation at that point in time. It does not include any subsequent stoppages and therefore the lengthening of the extra time period. This then stops the frenzy after a game where you are on the wrong end of a result. Only one person knows what they have stopped time and why, the referee. The watch is on their wrist and not available universally. Therefore the subsequent measurement of time by individuals etc is nonsensical. Give the referee a vehicle to let everyone know what the time remaining is and then there is no such thing as extra time. The time available is the time available for the game and is displayed for all to see.

3feetoftimber (Meath) - Posts: 113 - 09/03/2020 10:49:44    2272973

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Suppose you're right, to hell with Offaly, what does it matter if they are deprived of promotion because a referee added more time than was legitimately appropriate."
If I'm going to come on here and give out about a referee I'd like to have the facts. I don't in this case. I doubt if many do!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1413 - 09/03/2020 11:41:04    2272983

Replying To 3feetoftimber:  "It is a no brainer to introduce a countdown clock. This does not take away from the referees ability to control the time in games. It does not remove the referees responsibility for the time keeping of a game. What it does is make it very transparent as to why he is stopping game time. In other sports the referee has a signal and call to control the time that is being used up due to stoppages of what ever nature. So, give the referee the opportunity to signal and clarify to his officials, the teams on the park, the management teams, the media and the supporters when time is stopped and what time is therefore officially left. There is no need to announce extra time as it is only an approximation at that point in time. It does not include any subsequent stoppages and therefore the lengthening of the extra time period. This then stops the frenzy after a game where you are on the wrong end of a result. Only one person knows what they have stopped time and why, the referee. The watch is on their wrist and not available universally. Therefore the subsequent measurement of time by individuals etc is nonsensical. Give the referee a vehicle to let everyone know what the time remaining is and then there is no such thing as extra time. The time available is the time available for the game and is displayed for all to see."
Makes perfect sense to all apart from those who want the Refs to be able to play for a draw etc. Works 100% in LGFA and Rugby. When the play is stopped, the clock is stopped. A draw in semi finals and finals is worth millions of Euro. In my own area a Connacht final draw would be a gift for the cash strapped county boards of Galway, Mayo and Ross.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 09/03/2020 12:32:23    2272996

I listened to this yesterday evening and this morning, if this was any other county would there be comment.
Offaly didn't gain promotion yesterday because of the referee, Kerry beat them
I'm sickened by this bull that Offaly need to be in div 1, all counties could say that
What was the attendance in Tullamore yesterday.
I was in Carrickmore yesterday and I would say the referee should have added more time on, but he didn't , Donegal won and fair play, no mention on national TV or radio , I would expect that there may have been twice the crowd at Armagh v Donegal but let's talk about Offaly

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 09/03/2020 13:02:20    2273005