NFL Division 1

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Reading this I decided to check out MONAGHAN - after all it must be a hotbed of success considering you are having a great laugh at Meath at the moment.

Meath - All Irelands

All-Ireland Senior Football Championships: Winners: (7): 1949, 1954, 1967, 1987, 1988, 1996, 1999 Runners-Up: (9): 1895, 1939, 1951, 1952, 1966, 1970, 1990, 1991, 2001
Centenary Cup (One off competition)
All-Ireland Junior Football Championships: 5
1947, 1952, 1962, 1988, 2003
All-Ireland Under-21 Football Championships: 1
All-Ireland Minor Football Championships: 3
1957, 1990, 1992

Monaghan - All Irelands
All-Ireland Vocational Schools Championships: 2
2001, 2009
All-Ireland Junior Football Championships: 1

Has someone not been keeping the MONAGHAN wikipedia page up to date?? Surely ye have won SOMETHING?

Or have you just given up and are waiting till Meaths successful cycle comes around again?"
Just what I was waiting for.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 05/03/2020 13:48:01    2272349

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Just what I was waiting for."
Well done on the diversionary response - I am sure that you think through and plan your tactics here!!

I'll ask a slightly different question.

What do you think Monaghan's best achievement on the football field is?

Winning an Ulster Championship?

Or perhaps getting to the final of the Centenary Cup in 1984?

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 05/03/2020 18:29:31    2272393

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Well done on the diversionary response - I am sure that you think through and plan your tactics here!!

Or perhaps getting to the final of the Centenary Cup in 1984?"
We have a number of achaivemenets and memorable ones for our proud county. But i for one don't look back on the past, usually leave that to our noisy neighbour's. The last 15 years for us has been largely successful. We have the state of the art centre of excellence where we give all the youngsters the chance to train in the best facilities and in turn inspire them to represent their county. Keep blowing about the past, we'll see you in a few weeks and sure yous may aswell take your own referee. Yous won't be long yoyoing back up the road.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 05/03/2020 19:05:08    2272399

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Well done on the diversionary response - I am sure that you think through and plan your tactics here!!

Or perhaps getting to the final of the Centenary Cup in 1984?"
We have a number of achaivemenets and memorable ones for our proud county. But i for one don't look back on the past, usually leave that to our noisy neighbour's. The last 15 years for us has been largely successful. We have the state of the art centre of excellence where we give all the youngsters the chance to train in the best facilities and in turn inspire them to represent their county. Keep blowing about the past, we'll see you in a few weeks and sure yous may aswell take your own referee. Yous won't be long yoyoing back up the road.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 05/03/2020 19:05:41    2272400

Replying To Richieq:  "You see there's the thing, despite all the accolades you mention that your county has gathered the last few years your mind is still occupied with Meath and having a sneer, your probably not even old enough to remember the rivalry at its peak and yet your intent on getting your digs in, I know one thing for sure if we had that level of success the past few years I wouldn't give two shiny s****s about the Dubs unlike your good self"
Richie there was a large cohort of Meath fans in the 90s and early 00s who were well able to sneer. They were well able to rub others noses in it. Meath people here are going on about bitterness? Only bitterness here is the over reactionary responses from certain sensitive Meath supports on this forum.

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 05/03/2020 23:31:01    2272422

Replying To The_Fonz:  "Richie there was a large cohort of Meath fans in the 90s and early 00s who were well able to sneer. They were well able to rub others noses in it. Meath people here are going on about bitterness? Only bitterness here is the over reactionary responses from certain sensitive Meath supports on this forum."
I remember been at the 2001 final between Galway and Meath as a young lad...I turned to two much older meath mean behind me after the game and said hard luck and the reply was a sneer with "sure your a mayo man" - I was wearing my Mayo
Jersey....nice lads

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/03/2020 09:36:04    2272440

Replying To yew_tree:  "I remember been at the 2001 final between Galway and Meath as a young lad...I turned to two much older meath mean behind me after the game and said hard luck and the reply was a sneer with "sure your a mayo man" - I was wearing my Mayo
Jersey....nice lads"
I lived in Meath for five years, can confirm that a lot of people have this attitude.

I'm not saying it runs one way, to be fair.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 06/03/2020 10:07:54    2272447

http://www.mayonews.ie/news/27860-row-outside-westport-chipper-started-over-1996-all-ireland

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 06/03/2020 10:12:10    2272449

Replying To The_Fonz:  "Richie there was a large cohort of Meath fans in the 90s and early 00s who were well able to sneer. They were well able to rub others noses in it. Meath people here are going on about bitterness? Only bitterness here is the over reactionary responses from certain sensitive Meath supports on this forum."
I think you'll find that all counties have a cohort of sneers, we don't have the monopoly on that and Westmeath certainly aren't immune to it either, we all remember the video of the mad Westmeath man going mental after ye beat us in 2015 roaring "we beat the b******s" at the tv. Certainly I have no bitterness in me but I won't listen to nonsensical tripe either. I remember a lot of pretty vicious bile being put out way in the 80's into the 90's and not all of it from opposing supporters, the media got in on it and even the GAA president of the time had a pop at us so a lot of Meath people were conditioned to give as good as they got and better.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/03/2020 11:16:22    2272462

Replying To yew_tree:  "I remember been at the 2001 final between Galway and Meath as a young lad...I turned to two much older meath mean behind me after the game and said hard luck and the reply was a sneer with "sure your a mayo man" - I was wearing my Mayo
Jersey....nice lads"
Why would you wear a Mayo jersey to a match between Galway and Meath?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 06/03/2020 12:23:14    2272478

Replying To greatpoint:  "Why would you wear a Mayo jersey to a match between Galway and Meath?"
Mayo were in the minor final that year.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 06/03/2020 12:35:57    2272482

Replying To greatpoint:  "Why would you wear a Mayo jersey to a match between Galway and Meath?"
The clue is in where he's from Sherlock. Why not wear one.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 06/03/2020 12:36:02    2272483

I was young...wouldn't do it now but why not? I've seen jerseys at finals from non competing counties.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/03/2020 13:04:22    2272490

First time posting in this thread and a lot of my fellow county men are pretty much embarrassing themselves and the good name of Meath supporters. We've nothing to crow about and trying to "sneer" at anyone is pretty much something we've no right to do. We can talk about history all we like but at present we've nothing to be shouting anything about.

Yes our team is on the up and people are looking at us but until we beat one of these division one teams in league and championship something i'm pretty sure we've not done since about 2009 and then start doing so consistently we've no nose to be looking down anyone at.

Now that's not to excuse a lot of others from what there saying but there's tit for tat everywhere and if you can't take it don't give it.

As i say only the Dubs can really have anything to crow about with 7 out of 10 all irelands will do that for you. Until every other county gets to that level or the Dubs regress back to the pack then i suggest everyone just shut it. You're no better than anyone.

Lets actually stick to the point and discuss the division one football and leave your petty BS behind. As my late father always said to me, say what you want during the match but at the end of it, shake your opponents hand, congratulate or commiserate with humility and don't let yourself down.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 06/03/2020 13:04:25    2272491

Replying To Gleebo:  "Mayo were in the minor final that year."
No we weren't...Tyrone beat Dublin in the minor final that year.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/03/2020 13:04:50    2272492

Jersey....nice lads"
The Meath fan was right, what were you thinking?

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 182 - 06/03/2020 13:22:53    2272495

Replying To yew_tree:  "No we weren't...Tyrone beat Dublin in the minor final that year."
Right you are, was thinking of the previous year, we lost to Cork.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 06/03/2020 13:52:11    2272499

Replying To brian:  "First time posting in this thread and a lot of my fellow county men are pretty much embarrassing themselves and the good name of Meath supporters. We've nothing to crow about and trying to "sneer" at anyone is pretty much something we've no right to do. We can talk about history all we like but at present we've nothing to be shouting anything about.

Yes our team is on the up and people are looking at us but until we beat one of these division one teams in league and championship something i'm pretty sure we've not done since about 2009 and then start doing so consistently we've no nose to be looking down anyone at.

Now that's not to excuse a lot of others from what there saying but there's tit for tat everywhere and if you can't take it don't give it.

As i say only the Dubs can really have anything to crow about with 7 out of 10 all irelands will do that for you. Until every other county gets to that level or the Dubs regress back to the pack then i suggest everyone just shut it. You're no better than anyone.

Lets actually stick to the point and discuss the division one football and leave your petty BS behind. As my late father always said to me, say what you want during the match but at the end of it, shake your opponents hand, congratulate or commiserate with humility and don't let yourself down."
Well said mate I drop in here occasionally but not for the my daddy is bigger than your daddy nonsense. For the record think meath are making progress as seen in making super 8s last year. They have been unlucky in a few matches in the league this year but that comes with experience at this level which will come.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 06/03/2020 14:37:12    2272508

Replying To brian:  "First time posting in this thread and a lot of my fellow county men are pretty much embarrassing themselves and the good name of Meath supporters. We've nothing to crow about and trying to "sneer" at anyone is pretty much something we've no right to do. We can talk about history all we like but at present we've nothing to be shouting anything about.

Lets actually stick to the point and discuss the division one football and leave your petty BS behind. As my late father always said to me, say what you want during the match but at the end of it, shake your opponents hand, congratulate or commiserate with humility and don't let yourself down."
Fair play my sentiments exactly it's very hard to post anything on some threads with some of the ravings posted at times
Last week we lost because of the poor concession of a goal and lack of a free taker for the first 40 minutes no point in blaming the ref until we sort out own shortcomings out what Galway did in not letting us win our kick outs is part of the game and always was
I enjoyed the game despite the loss as I can see big improvements in performances since the league began
I spoke with a number of Galway supporters during the game who were quite complimentary to our lads and as always their support were sound and it was a treat to Shane Walsh(Galway) in the flesh

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 06/03/2020 18:11:45    2272521

Replying To monaghanmad:  "We have a number of achaivemenets and memorable ones for our proud county. But i for one don't look back on the past, usually leave that to our noisy neighbour's. The last 15 years for us has been largely successful. We have the state of the art centre of excellence where we give all the youngsters the chance to train in the best facilities and in turn inspire them to represent their county. Keep blowing about the past, we'll see you in a few weeks and sure yous may aswell take your own referee. Yous won't be long yoyoing back up the road."
Well maybe we can agree that you wont have a good laugh at Meath's current woes and I wont point out the difference in levels of success over the years.

And just to be clear, I do not make any sort of a habit of gloating on here . However, I wont take people laughing at us and the slagging of our manager that has gone on here. Andy has complained after some of the games - maybe he shouldn't have but he was damn well entitled to after the last couple of home games.

I look forward to the game in Monaghan - I will certainly be there irrespective of the result against the Dubs.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 06/03/2020 20:18:12    2272530