NFL Division 1

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Get over yourself.. 2001 the day joyce destroyed and finished Darren Fay and Meath seems to have stayed with you..
Galway deserved the win despite missing a few of their big players and coming from 1 6 to 0 1 down to win..
Stop blaming the ref"
Yeah, that's the day one of the Galway players "mistakenly" stood on Ollie Murphys hand. That had a bigger impact on the game than Joyce vs Fay.

Joyce did get the better of Fay that day i admit but if I was to list the amount of times that Fay got the better of his opposite man I would be here all evening.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 01/03/2020 21:11:24    2271367

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Get over yourself.. 2001 the day joyce destroyed and finished Darren Fay and Meath seems to have stayed with you..
Galway deserved the win despite missing a few of their big players and coming from 1 6 to 0 1 down to win..
Stop blaming the ref"
Ahh would you go away out of that. Meath were by far the better team, Jesus wept at least admit that. Galway were cynical and the ref lost control of game in last 10 mins of first half. As the youngest team in div 1 we will learn from that. But please don't start with Galway were the better team bs , they were not pure and simple

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/03/2020 21:12:24    2271369

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Cormac Murphy or Coyler were the men for that.

However, the ref would have had sufficient respect for that Meath team to not let it get that far."
True. Coyler would have been the man for the job. Although full credit to sideline today. Joyce went very quite all of a sudden. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/03/2020 21:16:38    2271372

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh would you go away out of that. Meath were by far the better team, Jesus wept at least admit that. Galway were cynical and the ref lost control of game in last 10 mins of first half. As the youngest team in div 1 we will learn from that. But please don't start with Galway were the better team bs , they were not pure and simple"
Did Galway not win the game?

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 01/03/2020 21:24:05    2271375

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Did Galway not win the game?"
We did indeed and the bitterness from the meath fans is making it all the sweeter. Keep it coming lads

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 01/03/2020 21:31:11    2271380

Replying To royaldunne:  "True. Coyler would have been the man for the job. Although full credit to sideline today. Joyce went very quite all of a sudden. :)"
Oh ya you definitely got one over on joyce today. He definitely learned his lesson

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 01/03/2020 21:44:41    2271393

Meath fully deserved the win today.

Meath were 1-6 to 0-01 and then it started. Galway at 6s and 7s and then decided to resort to pull downs all over the pitch. Shameful carry on. Got their frees for it too.

Meath were building a score with the wind and Galway all of a sudden dragged the game into the gutter and referee bought it.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 01/03/2020 21:56:04    2271402

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Very good second half from us but I feel the goal from Ward in the first half was the key, it was an atrocious first half and to go in so far ahead after being very slow and wasteful was a big boost. Have to say I thought Monaghan were very poor after being impressed so far this year, it seemed like the sort of day where the pitch sapped all energy outta the legs and that seemed to hurt Monaghan more than us. On top of that Beggan really struggled with a tough breeze in that first half, missed 2 kickable frees that would have kept them in touch.

From our own POV, Ward was the loose man a lot and he did great with the ball I thought. But Michael Langan had a real towering performance, dominated the middle third. Also impressed with Mogan and it was great to see McBrearty swing over some trademark scores."
I like the look of donegal good young players
They have great potential

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 01/03/2020 21:56:45    2271404

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh would you go away out of that. Meath were by far the better team, Jesus wept at least admit that. Galway were cynical and the ref lost control of game in last 10 mins of first half. As the youngest team in div 1 we will learn from that. But please don't start with Galway were the better team bs , they were not pure and simple"
I would agree Meath were the better team. Galway struggled for long periods to contain them. Experience of Paul Conroy made a huge difference along with the class of Shane Walsh. But again the moaning about the off the ball pulling and dragging all being from the lads in maroon is s***e. Why Johnny Heaney steaming towards goal would suddenly decide to go wrestling with a Meath lad would be hard one to explain to most level headed people.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 01/03/2020 21:57:21    2271405

Replying To galwayfball:  "Oh ya you definitely got one over on joyce today. He definitely learned his lesson"
Yeah, Joyce has enough sense to realise that they got out of jail today.

The result didn't upset me as much as others. Annoyed but we'll move on.

I think these div 1 games give us a tad more optimism for the championship. Probably won't be enough to beat the very top teams of Dublin or Kerry but I think we have a shock in us if we were to play a next level team like Tyrone, Monaghan, Donegal or Galway.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 01/03/2020 22:01:42    2271407

Replying To GDL:  "Eight up and you choked. Make sure you don't do consecutive relegations you might just win the Tailteann Cup."
Ah stop that. It was the ref's fault. Let the man hang onto his delusions of grandeur.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 01/03/2020 22:02:57    2271409

Replying To Soma:  "The level of hate and spite? Are you not the poster who has said he will never give another cent to the GAA and now only goes to watch rugby games due to some slight in the past? And its not just in the GAA sadly where there are issues with supporters, I'm fairly certain the gardai have recently announced they are at the point where action will have to be taken at schools rugby games due to the behaviour of those attending."
Another apologist, failure to acknowledge the problems. You must be tired having your head buried in the sand all the time. Rightly so that the Gardai would take action no matter what sport it is, your always the one to come out protecting the hierarchy, I wonder why.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 01/03/2020 22:03:48    2271410

Replying To royaldunne:  "True. Coyler would have been the man for the job. Although full credit to sideline today. Joyce went very quite all of a sudden. :)"
Ye didn't do a good job in keeping Joyce quiet in 2001 :)

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 01/03/2020 22:06:32    2271417

Ye got plenty of analysis on league Sunday so that should keep ye happy

Fewpucks24 (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 01/03/2020 22:10:34    2271419

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah well I'm that case it certainly doesn't suit galway. Joyce lived up to his name today, Galway purists of football my ass.
The better team LOST today and you can thank the ref for that."
Galway's first year up in Div 1 after a spell in Div 2 in 2018 and we get to the League Final.
Meath's first year up in Div 1 after a spell in Div 2 in 2020 and ye get relegated . Who does it suit?
It took Meath years to get upto Div 1 but it took a few weeks to go down to Div 2.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 01/03/2020 22:16:41    2271423

Replying To galwayfball:  "We did indeed and the bitterness from the meath fans is making it all the sweeter. Keep it coming lads"
He's some Craic. We have played them 4 times in 2 years and won 4 times, but he reckons they should have won at least 3 out those 4 times. Thank God for a thing called a scoreboard!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 01/03/2020 22:27:29    2271432

Replying To galwayfball:  "We did indeed and the bitterness from the meath fans is making it all the sweeter. Keep it coming lads"
No bitterness at all. Even see my posts beforehand we all expected relegation, that was decided prior to today.
What annoys a lot of Meath supporters is that Galway along with down Meath and Kerry would always been the defenders of real football, how the game should be played, hard hitting tenacity in defending and scoring with passion. What we witnessed today was not what we all admire about football , it would have made Ulster counties cringe it was that cynical.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/03/2020 22:30:52    2271436

Replying To katser:  "Galway's first year up in Div 1 after a spell in Div 2 in 2018 and we get to the League Final.
Meath's first year up in Div 1 after a spell in Div 2 in 2020 and ye get relegated . Who does it suit?
It took Meath years to get upto Div 1 but it took a few weeks to go down to Div 2."
Good man.. That says it all.

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 393 - 01/03/2020 23:27:36    2271454

Welcome to the big dogs league. Ifs and buts count for nothing here. It's all about the points at the end of the day. You don't have to be the better team to win games up here. We in monaghan know that more than anyone, but we are used to it. It's cruel and cynical but you have to give it as good as you take it and galway can give it and you can't give it. I feel Meath are using this excuse of learning and injuries as some excuse. Maybe the county should learn at how to avoid injuries and toughen up. A yoyo team in the making, joining the cavan, roscommon and kildare.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 01/03/2020 23:29:36    2271455

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Yeah, Joyce has enough sense to realise that they got out of jail today.

The result didn't upset me as much as others. Annoyed but we'll move on.

I think these div 1 games give us a tad more optimism for the championship. Probably won't be enough to beat the very top teams of Dublin or Kerry but I think we have a shock in us if we were to play a next level team like Tyrone, Monaghan, Donegal or Galway."
I think we'll have learned a lot from this game more so than the others we have played. I was worried about this game because this galway team over the years tended to undo the good work of a great win by following it up with a no show performance. Were it not for Conroy coming on it would have happened again today.

Joyce will now be aware it's still a problem and can sort it out

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 01/03/2020 23:39:30    2271459