AFL Combines Now An Annual Thing

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Have dublin got the kind of players that the Aussies are after Mes?

McCarthy mccaffery o'callaghan Fenton mannion how did these guys escape their clutches , how did yer county board fend off the men from Oz ?"
Kerry chairman Tim Murphy admits that it would be remiss of them not to acknowledge the issue of the county losing some of their best talent to the Australian Football League.

"We are doing everything in our power to create and maintain as attractive an environment as possible here at home and convey to our players the benefits of remaining in Ireland, while also assisting them with educational opportunities, career advice and enhanced employment prospects."

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 12/12/2019 12:11:30    2254413

Replying To Fionn:  "Kerry chairman Tim Murphy admits that it would be remiss of them not to acknowledge the issue of the county losing some of their best talent to the Australian Football League.

"We are doing everything in our power to create and maintain as attractive an environment as possible here at home and convey to our players the benefits of remaining in Ireland, while also assisting them with educational opportunities, career advice and enhanced employment prospects.""
Followed by "yerra yerra yerra Dublin yerra yerra Dublin"

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/12/2019 12:40:37    2254419

Replying To jimbodub:  "Followed by "yerra yerra yerra Dublin yerra yerra Dublin""
Jays jim your very bitter, cheer up sure it's Christmas bud and your team are after winning a dodgy 5 in a row,

Be happy for gods sake man.

Your county will have all its money and advantages for 2020 so yer well fixed for the dodgy 6.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/12/2019 12:53:16    2254421

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "The promise of making history playing for an historic team was probably a good carrot to stay I would imagine."
So your lads were promised they'd make history if they stayed around, how did ye know that would happen?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/12/2019 12:57:59    2254422

Replying To Fionn:  "Kerry chairman Tim Murphy admits that it would be remiss of them not to acknowledge the issue of the county losing some of their best talent to the Australian Football League.

"We are doing everything in our power to create and maintain as attractive an environment as possible here at home and convey to our players the benefits of remaining in Ireland, while also assisting them with educational opportunities, career advice and enhanced employment prospects.""
Doh!! What say you Kingdom boy?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/12/2019 13:04:52    2254425

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jays jim your very bitter, cheer up sure it's Christmas bud and your team are after winning a dodgy 5 in a row,

Be happy for gods sake man.

Your county will have all its money and advantages for 2020 so yer well fixed for the dodgy 6."
As the saying goes " living rent free in your head". Take a day off for feck sake, its Christmas!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/12/2019 13:08:26    2254427

You cant help but think what might have been in terms of Dublins GAA success if Jim Stynes, hadn't of gone to Oz after being part of the Dublin minor winning team in 84, just might have gotten us over the top in the 80's & early 90's. what a career he had in the AFL and a huge loss to Dublin GAA duroing those years. That and the loss of Kevin Moran also, really was a huge depleting factor in the 80/90's. Ongoing today, we had a top, top prospect in young James Madden, poached last year and hes dding well at Brisbane, he broke all time speed records in the combine i believe.

Seems to be affecting other counties now in the last few years and its becoming a thing, but its been happening to Dublin for years.

Still the most successful export to the AFL is a Dub and remains sadly missed by all Dubs.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/12/2019 13:34:26    2254432

EVERY.SINGLE.THREAD.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 12/12/2019 14:37:32    2254438

Replying To TheUsername:  "You cant help but think what might have been in terms of Dublins GAA success if Jim Stynes, hadn't of gone to Oz after being part of the Dublin minor winning team in 84, just might have gotten us over the top in the 80's & early 90's. what a career he had in the AFL and a huge loss to Dublin GAA duroing those years. That and the loss of Kevin Moran also, really was a huge depleting factor in the 80/90's. Ongoing today, we had a top, top prospect in young James Madden, poached last year and hes dding well at Brisbane, he broke all time speed records in the combine i believe.

Seems to be affecting other counties now in the last few years and its becoming a thing, but its been happening to Dublin for years.

Still the most successful export to the AFL is a Dub and remains sadly missed by all Dubs."
It affects some more that others and what did jim stynes win in the afl?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/12/2019 14:46:36    2254439

Replying To Jackeen:  "As the saying goes " living rent free in your head". Take a day off for feck sake, its Christmas!"
More like yer living rent free in crokepark jackeen.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/12/2019 14:48:25    2254441

Replying To Breffni39:  "EVERY.SINGLE.THREAD."
Yep.

With all the strict modding on this site I wish more posts would be stopped for being off topic or redundant. Many other sites do it

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 12/12/2019 15:25:05    2254445

Congrats to all involved in underage coaching at club and county levels to allow for this opportunity for our youngsters to arise is all that really should be said for this topic.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 12/12/2019 19:11:30    2254495

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "More like yer living rent free in crokepark jackeen."
Wrong again.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/12/2019 19:42:49    2254505

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It affects some more that others and what did jim stynes win in the afl?"
He won the Brownlow Medal, which is the highest honour an individual player can win. It's basically the footballer of the year. Can't do any better than that as a player.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 12/12/2019 19:54:08    2254509

Replying To Jackeen:  "Wrong again."
Hasnt got a clue Jackeen....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 12/12/2019 19:54:48    2254510

Replying To Jackeen:  "Wrong again."
At least you can admit it jackeen fair play to you .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/12/2019 20:00:15    2254512

Replying To WanPintWin:  "He won the Brownlow Medal, which is the highest honour an individual player can win. It's basically the footballer of the year. Can't do any better than that as a player."
He wouldn't understand.... lol

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 12/12/2019 20:31:35    2254527

Let the aussies come and let them take the handful of lads they take. They are going over to be a professional sportsperson paid a good wage nice climate. I do not understand how anyone could begrudge a young lad from going. Majority go between 19 - 22 thats some experience to have for a young lad or girl.

Gaa is amateur its a hobby a very serious one but a hobby all the same if a young lad is wanted by the aussies and they would like to travel they should go instead of looking out the window working in a bank at the p*ssing rain here.

You only regret the opportunities you dont take.

All the kerry people here saying they would have won all irelands if they had so and so thats hindsight and that is BS.

The gaa offer zero incentive for lads to stick around

Ye cant be talking about players winning minor all irelands never kicking a ball at senior winning all ireland

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 13/12/2019 08:06:26    2254586

Replying To WanPintWin:  "He won the Brownlow Medal, which is the highest honour an individual player can win. It's basically the footballer of the year. Can't do any better than that as a player."
Any attempt by to p*ss on Jim Stynes achievements in AFL should be laughed out of the house. The guy didn't win a premiership but is literally a god in Australia. Let's not get into a contest of who lost who and how it would have hypothetically effected the future legacy of their county team.

Let's talk about actually having a system in place for returning players to assimilate to life back in Ireland as so many come back and struggle to adjust after not making it in Australia.

macruiskeen (UK) - Posts: 37 - 13/12/2019 08:56:16    2254595

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Let the aussies come and let them take the handful of lads they take. They are going over to be a professional sportsperson paid a good wage nice climate. I do not understand how anyone could begrudge a young lad from going. Majority go between 19 - 22 thats some experience to have for a young lad or girl.

Gaa is amateur its a hobby a very serious one but a hobby all the same if a young lad is wanted by the aussies and they would like to travel they should go instead of looking out the window working in a bank at the p*ssing rain here.

You only regret the opportunities you dont take.

All the kerry people here saying they would have won all irelands if they had so and so thats hindsight and that is BS.

The gaa offer zero incentive for lads to stick around

Ye cant be talking about players winning minor all irelands never kicking a ball at senior winning all ireland"
Dont disagree to a point...absolutely if a young lad is offered the chance to play professionally he should go for it.

But to say the GAA offers nothing is ridiculous. Intercounty players are well looked after on and off the field. Club players are shafted but play for love of the game and the social conection.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 13/12/2019 10:52:18    2254633