Next Dublin Manager

Replying To Fionn:  "Met Éireann breaking news...,

That dark cloud is tonight fast approaching a place called Kerry...!
Folk down there are been advised to stay indoors and out of the public eye for at least another 2 years, until it passes. ;o)

Elsewhere, in the Dublin area the outlook remains very bright with prolonged periods of sunshine and the feel good factor.

#BlueSkiesToContinue."
Think we have to be realistic myself, i would be ecstatic and surprised if we made a final next year never mind win it outright.

Im actually expecting a regression and have very tame expectations, its a very rare thing for a new manager to come in and win an All Ireland straight away and personally im going into the season not expecting to much and hope to be pleasantly surprised. Any new manager needs time and patience.

Thats ok we've been in bonus territory for many years and if a different process of building needs to take place, ill enjoy that, i dont think anyone could blame of us for a year or two out of the spotlight after dominating the game for decade.

In all truth, i feel a bit sorry for the next winners, how do you follow this Dublin team and lets be honest, its an abdication rather then anyone getting close to Jim Gavins Dublin. What Dessies Dublin will be still remains to be seen and we need to be realistic.

Where im at is the minimum of a Leinster, Par the Super 8's, good season a semi final and exceptional first year would be a final and win outright.

Despite his experience its Dessies first year at senior intercounty and all associated slack should be given.

I think his appointment and events at Dublin put under counties under pressure though, the like of Peter Keane and James Horan will start feeling heat if they are trumped by a novice intercounty manager in his first year.

Im looking at this year as a bit of gap year if im honest, with a bit of slack and very open minded relatively low expectations on a take home. certainly less so if Jim was still about.

All that said that would have been my approach when Jim took over in 13 as well.

Either way the Dubs will pack the place and out, bring the color and atmosphere and we'l be there as always. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/12/2019 10:00:53    2254608

Replying To midlands:  "Still waiting for details of the "multiple" All-Ireland wins managed by Dessie Farrell."
Sorry man

I was genuinely trying to save your embarrassment

But seeing as you got snotty ;)

Yes he has indeed won 3 All Ireland's at underage as manager aka "multiple titles"

He got to 4 finals winning 3 and narrowly losing the other. His 2017 U21 for me being his greatest achievement with an unfancied Dubs team. Gavin had superior U21 sides compared to Dessie's 2017 panel. It was a great win.

Quite impressive return for him

So yes that's multiple titles with a large portion of the current squad who hold him in high esteem and will burst a gut for him. Great continuity.. Excellent appointment.

Dessie will have learned a thing or two regarding the 95-96 transition and the problems experienced from within that.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/12/2019 10:11:43    2254618

Replying To Fionn:  "We're back Jimbo.....!!!!

Bring it on.... ;o)

He knows the majority of our lads inside out. Excellent stuff....

I think that temporary dark cloud is now drifting back down kerry way tonight.... lol"
Will you ever stop talking to yourself ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/12/2019 10:18:40    2254624

Replying To jimbodub:  "Will you ever stop talking to yourself ;)"
lol

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 13/12/2019 10:49:43    2254632

Replying To TheUsername:  "Think we have to be realistic myself, i would be ecstatic and surprised if we made a final next year never mind win it outright.

Im actually expecting a regression and have very tame expectations, its a very rare thing for a new manager to come in and win an All Ireland straight away and personally im going into the season not expecting to much and hope to be pleasantly surprised. Any new manager needs time and patience.

Thats ok we've been in bonus territory for many years and if a different process of building needs to take place, ill enjoy that, i dont think anyone could blame of us for a year or two out of the spotlight after dominating the game for decade.

In all truth, i feel a bit sorry for the next winners, how do you follow this Dublin team and lets be honest, its an abdication rather then anyone getting close to Jim Gavins Dublin. What Dessies Dublin will be still remains to be seen and we need to be realistic.

Where im at is the minimum of a Leinster, Par the Super 8's, good season a semi final and exceptional first year would be a final and win outright.

Despite his experience its Dessies first year at senior intercounty and all associated slack should be given.

I think his appointment and events at Dublin put under counties under pressure though, the like of Peter Keane and James Horan will start feeling heat if they are trumped by a novice intercounty manager in his first year.

Im looking at this year as a bit of gap year if im honest, with a bit of slack and very open minded relatively low expectations on a take home. certainly less so if Jim was still about.

All that said that would have been my approach when Jim took over in 13 as well.

Either way the Dubs will pack the place and out, bring the color and atmosphere and we'l be there as always. ;)"
I'd agree with the majority of that. It's a really tricky and difficult situation Dessie is in. It's impossible for him not to put his stamp on the methods, but he needs to do it while maintaining a definite sense of continuity to a greater or lesser degree. He does indeed know the majority of the players, but they'll have had several years of Gavin's modus operandi and the success it brought, so they'll have to mentally adapt too. It'll be a balancing act for the next year at least. The measure of how successful it can be will be when they find themselves in a pressure cooker with a handful of minutes on the clock.

I wish him all the best, but I do have a nagging fear that for many GAA heads throughout the country, the realisation of just how essential the Gavin factor has been to Dublin's recent success will become as evident as it has been for Dubs fans all along.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 13/12/2019 12:08:25    2254648

Im happy for Dessie. Good luck to him.

For me, 2019 was the end of something very special. and 2020 will see a period of transition begin.

We have been at the very top for a very long time, and when you're at the top, the only way you can go, is down and listen, there is absolutely no shame in it either by the way. Dessie Farrell will be given time and we as fans have been spoilt with success in the past decade or so, but ultimately, law of averages and sport dictates that these periods of domination are cyclical and nothing lasts forever. We were never (and will never be) unbeatable, infact a lot of teams in recent years ran us very close and we've had to go to the well to achieve what we've achieved by digging deep and it just feels like that defeat is coming. Whether JG remained in the hotseat or not, with every passing win, we where a step closer to the run-ending defeat.

Jim Gavin was absolutely massive in Dublin's success. As was Declan Darcy, Jason Sherlock, Paul Clarke etc. They've all gone and a whole new backroom team will be put in place to supplement Dessie and the players.

In Ciaran Archer, Kieran Kennedy, Brian O'Leary, Peader O'Cofaigh Byrne, Darren Gavin, among others, we have some real young talent that will likely be involved at some point in the next few years and we will see the end of players like Cluxton, McMahon, Fitzsimons, MDMcA step away as legends and rightly so.

I expect Dublin to still compete, be there or thereabouts. But as it stands, I think 5 in a row is our lot, which is a remarkable feat + Dublin fans are very grateful and lucky to have witnessed it. Until a team matches it or beats it, which I cant see in my life time personally, This Dublin team will be out infront as the greatest ever and they've given me some of the best days/nights of my life, So im completely at peace with the fact we wont win Sam (in my eyes) next year.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/12/2019 13:00:51    2254663

Replying To waynoI:  "Im happy for Dessie. Good luck to him.

For me, 2019 was the end of something very special. and 2020 will see a period of transition begin.

We have been at the very top for a very long time, and when you're at the top, the only way you can go, is down and listen, there is absolutely no shame in it either by the way. Dessie Farrell will be given time and we as fans have been spoilt with success in the past decade or so, but ultimately, law of averages and sport dictates that these periods of domination are cyclical and nothing lasts forever. We were never (and will never be) unbeatable, infact a lot of teams in recent years ran us very close and we've had to go to the well to achieve what we've achieved by digging deep and it just feels like that defeat is coming. Whether JG remained in the hotseat or not, with every passing win, we where a step closer to the run-ending defeat.

Jim Gavin was absolutely massive in Dublin's success. As was Declan Darcy, Jason Sherlock, Paul Clarke etc. They've all gone and a whole new backroom team will be put in place to supplement Dessie and the players.

In Ciaran Archer, Kieran Kennedy, Brian O'Leary, Peader O'Cofaigh Byrne, Darren Gavin, among others, we have some real young talent that will likely be involved at some point in the next few years and we will see the end of players like Cluxton, McMahon, Fitzsimons, MDMcA step away as legends and rightly so.

I expect Dublin to still compete, be there or thereabouts. But as it stands, I think 5 in a row is our lot, which is a remarkable feat + Dublin fans are very grateful and lucky to have witnessed it. Until a team matches it or beats it, which I cant see in my life time personally, This Dublin team will be out infront as the greatest ever and they've given me some of the best days/nights of my life, So im completely at peace with the fact we wont win Sam (in my eyes) next year."
Good post as always wayno. Dublin going into the unknown a bit in my view for 2020. I do think Dublin will pick up a few All Ireland in the next decade but ye won't be as prolific as the previous decade.

Out of interest who do you see winning Sam in 2020? Kerry i suppose would be everyone's choice but who knows....

Mayo in a period of re building too...so sadly I think we have missed th boat but I still think we can be at the business end. Tyrone, Galway, Donegal all on with a shout....potential for cork too in next few years.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 13/12/2019 14:36:19    2254687

Replying To yew_tree:  "Good post as always wayno. Dublin going into the unknown a bit in my view for 2020. I do think Dublin will pick up a few All Ireland in the next decade but ye won't be as prolific as the previous decade.

Out of interest who do you see winning Sam in 2020? Kerry i suppose would be everyone's choice but who knows....

Mayo in a period of re building too...so sadly I think we have missed th boat but I still think we can be at the business end. Tyrone, Galway, Donegal all on with a shout....potential for cork too in next few years."
Hopefully Mayo can win it if we dont.
Will be tough for ye though - but I wouldnt write ye off completely just yet.

Interesting to note that 10 of the players that started the All-Ireland final replay for Dublin have played under Dessie Farrell. So that will definitely help him a lot.

The majority of our squad is quite young so hopefully we can win another couple of All Ireland's over the next few years anyway. We definitely dont want them all going down to the yerra yerra's.....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 13/12/2019 14:48:47    2254694

Replying To waynoI:  "Im happy for Dessie. Good luck to him.

I expect Dublin to still compete, be there or thereabouts. But as it stands, I think 5 in a row is our lot, which is a remarkable feat + Dublin fans are very grateful and lucky to have witnessed it. Until a team matches it or beats it, which I cant see in my life time personally, This Dublin team will be out infront as the greatest ever and they've given me some of the best days/nights of my life, So im completely at peace with the fact we wont win Sam (in my eyes) next year."
I agree with everything you said. I find myself in unknown territory!:)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/12/2019 16:00:44    2254700

Replying To TheUsername:  "Think we have to be realistic myself, i would be ecstatic and surprised if we made a final next year never mind win it outright.

Either way the Dubs will pack the place and out, bring the color and atmosphere and we'l be there as always. ;)"
The minimum is a Leinster and par is the super 8s?

Firstly, a Leinster title means super 8s qualification.

Secondly, par for Dublin is to win the All Ireland. Anything less is sub-par.

Celtic replaced Brendan Rodgers with Neil Lennon and continued on their winning ways. Dublin's advantages over the rest are akin to Celtic's over the rest of the SPL.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 13/12/2019 17:49:34    2254721

Donegals year

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 13/12/2019 18:54:00    2254733

Replying To jimbodub:  "Sorry man

I was genuinely trying to save your embarrassment

But seeing as you got snotty ;)

Yes he has indeed won 3 All Ireland's at underage as manager aka "multiple titles"

He got to 4 finals winning 3 and narrowly losing the other. His 2017 U21 for me being his greatest achievement with an unfancied Dubs team. Gavin had superior U21 sides compared to Dessie's 2017 panel. It was a great win.

Quite impressive return for him

So yes that's multiple titles with a large portion of the current squad who hold him in high esteem and will burst a gut for him. Great continuity.. Excellent appointment.

Dessie will have learned a thing or two regarding the 95-96 transition and the problems experienced from within that."
My mistake - I thought he had just one minor and one Under 21 as manager, and that he had lost more finals and semi-finals than he won. The fact that so many Dublin supporters seem to be happy with Farrell's appointment must count for something, since they would know him better than I would. He has a tough act to follow, however. I don't suppose he'll emulate Gavin and do five in a row, but even to win next year's title would be some achievement in his first year.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 541 - 13/12/2019 19:32:07    2254739

Replying To cavanman47:  "The minimum is a Leinster and par is the super 8s?

Firstly, a Leinster title means super 8s qualification.

Secondly, par for Dublin is to win the All Ireland. Anything less is sub-par.

Celtic replaced Brendan Rodgers with Neil Lennon and continued on their winning ways. Dublin's advantages over the rest are akin to Celtic's over the rest of the SPL."
Weak comparison

2011 by 1pt
2012 Beaten
2013 by 1pt after epic semi-final win
2014 Beaten
2015 Draw
2015 by 3pt after epic semi-final win
2016 Draw
2016 by 1pt win after epic semi-final win
2017 by 1pt
2018 by 6pt
2019 Draw
2019 by 6pt

Celtic won championships far easier and without the same level of required guts and endeavour across that time with little in the way of a challenge

Dublin had genuine challengers, spending big, focusing their effort, that pushed them all the way on numerous occassions and lets be honest could/should have beaten Dublin.

Ultimately competitive decade in football versus cake walk SPL titles.

Chalk and cheese.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/12/2019 20:17:52    2254744

Replying To Fionn:  "Met Éireann breaking news...,

That dark cloud is tonight fast approaching a place called Kerry...!
Folk down there are been advised to stay indoors and out of the public eye for at least another 2 years, until it passes. ;o)

Elsewhere, in the Dublin area the outlook remains very bright with prolonged periods of sunshine and the feel good factor.

#BlueSkiesToContinue."
37 All Irelands. I don't think they'll be too pushed.

LimerickKid84 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 14/12/2019 09:54:08    2254795

Replying To jimbodub:  "Weak comparison

2011 by 1pt
2012 Beaten
2013 by 1pt after epic semi-final win
2014 Beaten
2015 Draw
2015 by 3pt after epic semi-final win
2016 Draw
2016 by 1pt win after epic semi-final win
2017 by 1pt
2018 by 6pt
2019 Draw
2019 by 6pt

Celtic won championships far easier and without the same level of required guts and endeavour across that time with little in the way of a challenge

Dublin had genuine challengers, spending big, focusing their effort, that pushed them all the way on numerous occassions and lets be honest could/should have beaten Dublin.

Ultimately competitive decade in football versus cake walk SPL titles.

Chalk and cheese."
Where was the serious challenge?
1. Leinster, a cake walk.
2. Connacht, Mayo the best team there, close games with Dublin but end result the same - no history of winning All Irelands - a mental cake walk
3. Ulster - tough championship but not up to standard of the noughties.
4. Munster, one team - in transition.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 15/12/2019 15:12:59    2254978

Did you miss the score lines above?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/12/2019 16:24:59    2254988

Replying To baire:  "Where was the serious challenge?
1. Leinster, a cake walk.
2. Connacht, Mayo the best team there, close games with Dublin but end result the same - no history of winning All Irelands - a mental cake walk
3. Ulster - tough championship but not up to standard of the noughties.
4. Munster, one team - in transition."
Jim likes to try and write his own history, thank god everyone can see through his lies.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/12/2019 17:01:37    2255002

Replying To LimerickKid84:  "37 All Irelands. I don't think they'll be too pushed."
You'd think so right? You'd want to tell that to some of your fellow Kerry supporters!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/12/2019 17:19:38    2255004

Replying To jimbodub:  "Did you miss the score lines above?"
Which of those 4 points of mine is off the mark?
The first two are irrefutable.
Leinster, look at the results, don't mind the scores.
Mayo, 68 years since they won an AI
Ulster, one All-Ireland this decade.
Kerry have been in transition - will be back.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 15/12/2019 17:41:54    2255010

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jim likes to try and write his own history, thank god everyone can see through his lies."
LOL

Jim wrote down facts

I know you wouldn't know the meaning of that with your made up outlandish and highly disingenuous rubbish

Exact score lines of highly competitive games is what I wrote. Black and white stats of classic games across this decade.

There are no lies to see through

I'm glad to expose the revisionism of lesser sorts.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/12/2019 18:24:33    2255014