Now lads, I just wanna say something. While some Kerry people may be begrudgers (to be honest, I myself haven't come across one, but it stands to reason with the Law of Averages that there are at least a few) not all of us are. There are countless posts on here from Kerry people congratulating the Tyrone lads on their win. How many times does it have to be said? However, it also stand to reason that there are going to be a few bad winners in Tyrone (to be fair to both sets of supporters I have not come across one of them either, well maybe one now that I think of it...) but they are in the vast minority. The people who seem to have the main problems are people from counties that were not involved. The amount of abuse and slagging I have been subject to over the last few days is enough to make me sick. Not one of those slaggings however were from Tyrone supporters. I honestly believe that the Kerry team are hurting and will be back with a bang next year. I hope so. I know that the supporters are also hurting. Personally, I have never felt so depressed about a loss. That empty, sick feeling that entered my stomach on Sunday afternoon hasn't left yet and until we win our next title I don't think it will go away. Obviously, Kerry very much wanted to win against Tyrone. This is the case with any great rivalry. I don't see why a desire to win is being so often confused on here as arrogance. It is possible to want to beat a team without having a loss of respect or a feeling of non-chalance against them. This championship, in my eyes, has been blighted by a severe amount of unnecessary Kerry bashing. We know that we are not angels but neither are any of your teams. The two most publicised incidents of the year, the Aidan O' Mahony debacle and the Paul Galvin incident were both non-violent acts. Those two men had their names dragged through the dirt in a most unsavory fashion. Many much worse incidents have happened in other years and indeed in this. People just seem to blow things out of all proportion when it comes to Kerry this year. I know this is a very long post but I have been listening to this anti-Kerry tripe for months. I'm not saying we should all agree with each other. Friendly banter is part and parcel of what makes our national sports so great, that pride of place and delight in your own place's win. I hope that next year we can have less of the cruel jibes and excessive personal comments about players and their supporters. This is a time to celebrate Tyrone's win, to commiserate with Kerry, to commend the likes of Wexford who made the championship memorable and to cross our fingers that 2009 won't disappoint any of us. Skye (Kerry) - Posts: 68 - 25/09/2008 01:35:34 107204 Link 0 |
brendtheredhand - Why does it pain you so much to admit that Kerry have been the most consistent & best team of the decade (P.S Tyrone deserved there victory on Sunday, before you tell me this is sour grapes lol). I know i am biased but i think that is plain for all to see, they have contesed 9 consecutive All Ireland Semi Finals and 5 consecutive Finals. They have won 4 All Irelands and have collected more All Stars than any other counties. Now i dont know about you but i think that pretty much speaks for itself ;) Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 25/09/2008 09:12:25 107241 Link 0 |
Real Louth Man, your one sad begrudging individual. woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/09/2008 10:10:29 107311 Link 0 |
Since 2003 Kerry have lost to only Tyrone in the Championship. In those years Tyrone were knocked out by such teams as Mayo,Laois and Meath. Now they made a great return this year and fair play to them. But we await 2009 and if Tyrone win back to back titles then although it would be four titles each, Tyrone would shade the decade. If it's another Tyrone Vs Kerry Final in 2009 and Tyrone win, I think given our head to head results, that would mean we would more than "shade the decade" However it's plain to be seen that both Tyrone & Kerry BOTH have great teams, with their different styles in play mainly due to the actual physical size of the players on each side. Kerry bar the Gooch have mostly players 6ft and over, with a strong physical presence to compliment their undying quality of skills that are passed down from generation to generation of Kerry footballer. Thus they excel in skills of the game such as High Fielding, Long Range Passing & Shooting. Tyrone's player's bar Sean Cavanagh & the Two NcMahon's are allot smaller, but also very fast & skilful. To compensate for the generally smaller size of Tyrone player compared to Kerry's, we play a game with core ethos built on support play & extremely hard work for the "Team", thus this allows our smaller yet very skilled players (i.e Colm McCullagh, Tommy McGuigan etc) time to express themselves. Being comfortable in possession of the ball is another "Skill" that goes sometimes unnoticed, our half back line of Harte, Gormley & Jordan have this in abundance and throughout this year have been no strangers to scoring some spectacular points & goals at crucial times in games. Finally Sean Cavanagh is the Gem of our team; this man will be remembered in time as an All-Time GAA Legend. The Almost complete GAA player (if there ever can be such a thing, given the many different "Skills" associated with Gaelic football), Sean has it all the Physical Presence, High Fielding, Powerful Solo Runs & great Long Rang & Short Range Scoring. So Team Of The Decade, well it will be decided if Tyrone or Kerry win next years All Ireland Can't wait Tir Eoghain Abu RiceysBrother (Tyrone) - Posts: 125 - 25/09/2008 11:58:07 107491 Link 0 |