CHAMPIONS OF THE DECADE!

We didnt invent it, the media did, but we will take the title!

Oh what day, what a game, what a team, what a win!

Got the tickets pomised the night before and picked them up on the Drumcodra road bfore the game, but I think ther was plenty around.

Cant believe it, unbeliveable stuff altogether, I was on tenderhooks until the end by the 60th minute I couldnt speak or shout I was so nervous but the lads soon helped out with that with the barrage of points at the end, can't believe Kevin Hughes scored at last! The McMahons were immense brilliant stuff to snuff out the twin towers, as well as McMenimem not to mention Cavanagh and Dooher outstanding!!! Brilliant stuff lads, absolute heroics. Ah getting out onto the pitch at the end was fantastic and Dooher lifting the cup just capped it all.

Although I have to say to Kerry that yous were very good, the defence was very good until the end, although the forwards were average apart from Cooper and Declan O'Sullivan. Midfield was really a game of two halves wasnt it!

Is this the best win ever? Probably! But then the best win is always the last win isnt it

Thanks to all the well wishers by the way especially the Kerry ones. On that point I have to say I felt for the Kerry supporters at the end, they looked gutted but there was plenty of well wishers. Great bunch altogether the Kerry folk

Just of into the town now for the team coming home

TIR EOGHAIN ABU

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 22/09/2008 19:19:20    104985

Tsssh... Team of the Century more like!

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 22/09/2008 19:42:32    104999

Dont kerry have 4 sams in this decade??

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/09/2008 20:09:08    105015

Exactly!

RTE invented it, in the hope that it would spur Kerry on and intimidated Tyrone. Yet as all of these kind of plans it back-fired and showed their ignorance of Tyrone.

Not a mention of it on RTE afterwards or the Sunday game. Licking their wounds were the anti-Tyrone RTE crew!!

Great to see it and well done again Tyrone!!!

TEAM OF THE DECADE!!!

Kerry's reputation now in tatters and shows up practically all of their 35 titles as token wins against make-shift opposition!!

UP TYRONE!!!!!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 22/09/2008 20:49:11    105035

Tyrone have got past the last 8 three times this decade. So have Armagh, Cork, Meath, possibly Donegal, Derry, Mayo, Galway, Laois, I can't be bothered looking it up.

All three times Tyrone made the last 4 they won the trophy. So no losing finals, or semis.

Kerry have won 4 titles, and runners up in 3, making 7 finals. The other two years they were beaten in the semis. That looks a bit superior over the nines years.

Tyrone, as I said three weeks ago have the best team in Ireland, other teams have better individual players. So Tyrone are like a well oiled machine at their best. Like all well oiled machines however, it only needs a few parts to go wrong for the whole thing to stop. This would explain defeats to Sligo, Mayo and Donegal in 2004, Derry and Laois in 2006, and Meath last year.

They have not made back-to=-back appearances, let alone win two in a row.

Kerry have played in 5 in a row finals, even Cody's Kilkenny haven't managed that.

I will let you decide for yourself given that data.

So the media are trying toi sell papers, as usual.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 22/09/2008 21:14:45    105048

Congrats to all in Tyrone & as I've already said to Mugsy the best team on the day won the match but did the best team win??

Hold on to yerself with this team of the decade lark! Remember Kerry already have 4 titles this decade to 3 for your lads and there's still a year left. Yes Tyrone are probably now the Ulster team of the decade (and I'm sure quite a few Armagh lads would challenge this) but they still have a bit of catching up to do on our lads.

Looking forward to 2009 already (even if the sprit is naturally low at this given moment).

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 22/09/2008 21:34:26    105064

Well looky here, more drivel from Omaghjoe, will it ever end?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/09/2008 22:10:01    105091

I cant see the logic in this team of the decade stuff at all...kerry 4 tyrone 3 armagh 1 galway 1.and 1 to play
do we count the premiership victors or do we choose head to heads results..

pytelium1 (Carlow) - Posts: 20 - 22/09/2008 22:32:27    105098

"Kerry's reputation now in tatters and shows up practically all of their 35 titles as token wins against make-shift opposition!!"

Would you get a grip. By that logic, all we had until 2003 were "make-shift" championships and they only worthy winners ever of the A.I. were Tyrone in 2003, 2005 and 2008? Do you rate Kilkenny in the hurling at all, given that they didn't beat Tyrone?
That comment of yours is the kind of nonsense that prompts people to take a swipe at Tyrone in an effort to bring their LOUTH supporters down to earth, something that the Tyrone team doesn't deserve. Can you not just praise Tyrone for a great win and a fantastic decade, at all levels, within the county without denigrating legends of the past?

Certainly Kerry still have to prove themselves against Tyrone but you can't deny that Sunday's game could have gone either way up until the 67th minute. Patrique (as always) makes some valuable points. In my view, despite Kerry having appeared in 7 finals this decade, if Tyrone defend their title next year and win two-in-a-row, I'll accept Tyrone were the superior of the two teams, even though it will mean they each have four. But let us not underestimate the effort it takes to make it to the Final year after year. And let's keep a bit of perspective and have some respect for other teams.

Green_N_Gold1 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 23/09/2008 00:26:35    105158

Well looky here, more drivel from Omaghjoe, will it ever end?

What did he say wrong? He's said nothing that hasn't been plastered all over newspapers today, including the Irish Independent and Irish Times.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 23/09/2008 00:37:21    105165

You do not necessarily have to win all Irelands to be deemed "team of the decade". Everyone accepts Limerick were the hurling team of the decade, they won 2 all Irelands. Kilkenny won 4, beating Limerick in two of those finals. They also lost three finals, one in a 2nd replay. But Limerick are acknowledged as "team of the decade" probably because they were not one of the big three.

They did bring great excitement and glamour, and won 5 leagues on the trot when it meant something.

Now both Kerry and Tyrone could take solace from that. Tyrone the newcomers, and Kerry in that it didn't come down to head to heads.

Or even look at the 60s. Galway won a three in a row, but the accolade is usually given to Down.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 23/09/2008 00:46:28    105168

well hokey pokey u never let up . there are some great gaa people up your way . sadly for you it seems you forget the gaa was formed in 1884 and not sept03 . by the way since your so smart where were ye while all the other119 yrs

kerryblue (Kerry) - Posts: 239 - 23/09/2008 03:28:59    105177

Hi Patrique,

what you say would be correct all things being equal which of course they are not with Kerry getting a bye into the all-ireland quarter finals every year. They may have won a few soft all-irelands but they did beat whatever was put in front of them. When the acid test arrived however they were found lacking.

The decade is of course not complete and if Kerry win next year then they will have to be regarded as champions of the decade. Kerry are a great team (maybe Kerrys greatest ever) - its just that in this decade so far Tyrone is better. I suspect Kerry will change their gameplan next year from the rather one-dimensional approach this year. I would expect KD to take over at midfield with Walsh remaining on the square. There are probably 3-4 hangers on who need to be replaced but there are a lot of quality footballers in Kerry and will imagine they will make a reasonable attempt at doing so.

John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 23/09/2008 08:16:16    105180

22/09/2008 21:34:26
dingle1
County: Clare

Congrats to all in Tyrone & as I've already said to Mugsy the best team on the day won the match but did the best team win??

Would it kill people to be a bit more gracious FFS. The answer to your question is YES by the way. The best team won. Tyrone are a better team than Kerry. Are you saying that it was a once-off result and if you played again that Kerry would win? This Tyrone team would beat this Kerry team 8 times out of 10 IMO.
Far too much begrudgery on the board yesterday.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 23/09/2008 08:49:35    105186

Kerry's reputation now in tatters and shows up practically all of their 35 titles as token wins against make-shift opposition!!

What a statement Real Louth Fan, how can you say that? That has to go down as one of the stupidest comments ever on these boards!! Sounds like you are a real Louth fan alright, as soon as Louth are out you jump on the nearest northern band wagon.

Con (Louth) - Posts: 511 - 23/09/2008 09:11:03    105195

Real Louth Fan, This is what you said:- Kerry's reputation now in tatters and shows up practically all of their 35 titles as token wins against make-shift opposition!! Can I ask you what kind of a real fan are you. You're about as smart as a plantpot if that's what you think. This is what you think:- Kerry reach 7 finals this decade and Tyrone reach 3. You and others say Kerry should be disregarded because all their all irelands have been soft. BUT, when Tyrone beat Kerry all of a sudden it counts for a lot more, in fact it is the only way to win. You can only have it one way or the other. Either Kerry's 4 all irelands count and Tyrones 3 count or Kerry's 4 dont count and therefore neither do Tyrone's 3. By your standards, the only way Kerry can be considerred a great team is if they get to 10 finals in a Decade and win 6 or 7 of them (Will probably reach 8 finals and 2 semis this decade). Even if this happened if the same team beats us twice or 3 times, well then by your estimation, Kerry are useless. Yet Tyrone can lose to Sligo, Down, Laois, Meath, Mayo, Armagh 3 times, Derry, Donegal, Draw with Louth all in the first 9 years of this decade, come back after recharging their batteries for a couple of years between finals and still be considered to be the greatest team of the decade. Yes we lost to Armagh, Tyrone, Meath and Cork, only, in the last 9 years. Well, I'm not going to comment on which team or record I think is better. Like Patrique, I will let you decide for yourselves. I'm sure ye have anyway and I expect plenty of replies. As for the media, supporting kerry. Never, we will take guff all year again next year as sure as the sun will set. And they will exaggerate a result like they did at our Galway game where we olny won in the last few minutes and like they did in the papers on Monday down here when at 66 minutes it could easily have gone either way, only for a fantastic save. They would have been talking about Kerry's grit and determination coming back from a 3 point deficit atgainst one of the greatest sides ever. By the way, as depressed and down as I am and as much well wishing and congratulations that I can give to Tyrone, I would not be on here talking like this if it wasnt for the amount of rediculous Kerry bashing we get on here. I apologise to the Tyrone people and I have said that ye were deserved winners and congratulated ye on other treads but I have to defend Kerry's record. You can only take so much. Tyrone supporters were very very proud and well behaved after the game. A pleasure to lose to. We have lost 19 All Ireland's now, and 17 all Ireland semi's. If there's any county that knows as much about losing big games as winning big games then it is us. But there's one thing for sure, "we get better when we get beaten". Motto. See you next year. I booked the flight up for the final this morning.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 23/09/2008 09:31:36    105212

I look at a lot of posts on this site regarding team of the year. They seem to either look at overall performance and numbers and facts. Kerry- x amount of finals, semi's quarters etc and the same for Tyrone and they look at each list and then who ever has the longest list wins.

The question I would like to ask is What do Kerry posters think? Do they feel they are the team of the decade. Does the fact that they have not beat an ulster team have any impact on their decision?

0305 (Tyrone) - Posts: 41 - 23/09/2008 09:32:34    105213

Dingle1, agreed best team on the day won

Colm O'Rourke invented this team of the decade thing to give the game an added bit of spice as if it needed any!

I am no great mathematician or even speller for that matter but there are two years left in this decade and enough time for Kerry the kingdom to put one over on the new Empire. The score so far being Kerry 4 Tyrone 3. The difference being that on the way to Tyrone's three they beat Kerry everytime with a result that the previous two all Irelands won by Kerry have kind of lost their gloss. The question is can Tyrone now put back to back titles together and then possibly we can talk up teams of the decade. There is no question though that Kerry and Tyrone have been the best of the decade so far though.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 23/09/2008 10:31:09    105265

trying to be fairly unbiased about this.. the media painted this as the big one the be all and end all champions of the decade was bandied about like water in a swimming pool . i know all the facts 5 yrs in the final going 3 in a row already won 4 ai to tyrone's 3 yada yada yada the long and short of it in my view is that if the media painted this up as the match between the 2 best teams in the decade and the winner would decide who was the best of the last 10 years then they have to stand over their comments and say that yes tyrone is the best team of the noughties,( even though the naughiest players were the kerry boys on sunday!) i personally think its all a load of bull , we were poor until august scraping through but after a few tight qualifer matches to get the team spirirt up we cut loose and used all our experience of big game wins. kerry had a good year by anybody else's standards league final provincial final and allireland final but the kingdom being the kingdom they will say it was a terrible year.yes they lost all finals but it takes some achievement to get there in the first place. all that mattered on sunday was who would win sam08 not sam 2000-2010. history will be kinder to tyrone as we had our maiden victory in this decade and kicked on in some style. kerry will be the poor relation due to losing the really big games eg meath 2001 armagh 2002 tyrone 2003,05 & 08. its not me being smart its just the facts just to prove the point everyone remembers the dutch teams total football in 70's but they never won the world cup. i hope no one takes offence this is just how i see it.

redhandman (Tyrone) - Posts: 431 - 23/09/2008 10:33:15    105270

Far too much begrudgery on the board yesterday.
RMDrive , 23/09/2008 at 08:49

I'm surprised you're surprised RMD - we're all Irish after all! But a little more acknowledgement from some on one side and a little more graciousness from some on the other side would be in order alright!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 23/09/2008 10:35:06    105272