Casement Park

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Great news. Belfast needs this new stadium as much as a political/cultural statement as well as sport. It is recognition that Gaelic Games in the North is held in the same esteem and granted the same respect as other sports. Of course you are going to get the serial moaners, mostly from within Ulster, but they resent Belfast getting anything even though a lot of them travel to Belfast for their well paid Civil Service, Health Service, teaching jobs etc. They want to take, take, take from Belfast all the time but give nothing back in return."
Great for Antrim GAA, couldn't care less about Belfast as they get all that's going. You mention jobs, what do ye want the people to do if all money goes into Belfast to create jobs. Rest of the North lives on scraps Belfast don't want.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 28/07/2021 15:34:12    2365144

Replying To Viking66:  "After the credit crunch there were tens of thousands of construction workers on the dole. The cost of labour fell through the floor. Are you involved in the building game? Materials have gone through the roof due to Brexit and other international factors. There is an acute labour shortage since the covid restrictions have eased as many building projects that were suspended are now proceeding. Cost of labour is therefore rising too. If you re-tender the project you will find prices will be higher not lower. I'd be hoping the GAA as a whole would help fund any cost over runs as they did in Cork."
Can Ulster GAA explain who is going to pay extra cost ?

IssacBall (Derry) - Posts: 51 - 29/07/2021 22:36:38    2365639

Replying To IssacBall:  "Can Ulster GAA explain who is going to pay extra cost ?"
Hopefully the existing stakeholders, national and local government, GAA Croke Park and Antrim GAA, will cover it. Maybe there is already a plan in place.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11867 - 30/07/2021 11:55:17    2365737

Replying To OGarmaile:  "Let's be honest. Clones can be a great day out but it's not fit for purpose. It's out of the way geographically for majority of the province's population. If the GAA is to be a forward-looking and forward-thinking organisation, a solid base in the most populated area in Ulster (Belfast) is essential. Decent public transport links to Belfast from many towns across Ulster. Clones has almost none. The plans for Casement would make it arguably the finest gaelic games stadium on the island. This is very exciting."
Think you need a wee lesson in geography buddy.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 31/07/2021 01:25:26    2365991

Replying To IssacBall:  "Can Ulster GAA explain who is going to pay extra cost ?"
Fon a cab id say...

Fon a cab Park has a certain ring to it dont you think..

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 03/08/2021 09:59:53    2367149

Looks like good news today for Casement. The objection has been rejected, so might be that they'll finally be able to get going with this.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 31/05/2022 12:17:49    2421341

It will be a great concert venue, but leave the Ulster Final in Clones.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 31/05/2022 12:39:39    2421350

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "It will be a great concert venue, but leave the Ulster Final in Clones."
Clones is now a dump, as they haven't spent a penny on it in years. They're waiting on Casement. It was always the plan to go there when it is ready. Like I'd agree with atmosphere, but the ground needs a huge amount of work now, and who's paying for that?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 31/05/2022 13:07:54    2421357

Clones has been run into the ground because they wanted Casement. It's a pity for Clones but once Casement is built it would be hard to justify such a big stadium in Monaghan. If they invested in it and had it state of the art but a more reduced capacity, it could be a wee gem of a stadium.

It's sad for the town and for traditionalists like myself, I love the magic of Clones on Ulster final day but there's no doubt once Casement is built it will be the new Ulster final venue. Which I must admit I think will be a great thing for West Belfast in fairness.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 31/05/2022 15:15:33    2421403

Great news today, long overdue. Of course the concerns of the residents must be taken on board but they cannot and should not have a permanent veto. 20/30 people shouldn't be allowed to say no, no, no all the time because they want perfect lives. There will also be the usual anti Belfast brigade within Ulster GAA circles who hate the city getting anything. The big issue now will of course be funding, Unionist elements are making noises about denying funding.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 31/05/2022 18:13:26    2421453

Finally things might get started. The capacity is pretty low really. I thought 45,000 would be a minimum. It could be good for Northern Ireland as a whole if its used for other sports . The price seems exorbitant and it won't be as good as Cork when it's finished by the looks of it. It ll be hard on Clones.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 31/05/2022 21:30:10    2421488

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Clones has been run into the ground because they wanted Casement. It's a pity for Clones but once Casement is built it would be hard to justify such a big stadium in Monaghan. If they invested in it and had it state of the art but a more reduced capacity, it could be a wee gem of a stadium.

It's sad for the town and for traditionalists like myself, I love the magic of Clones on Ulster final day but there's no doubt once Casement is built it will be the new Ulster final venue. Which I must admit I think will be a great thing for West Belfast in fairness."
Clones has been run into the ground because they wanted Casement. It's a pity for Clones but once Casement is built it would be hard to justify such a big stadium in Monaghan. If they invested in it and had it state of the art but a more reduced capacity, it could be a wee gem of a stadium.

It's sad for the town and for traditionalists like myself, I love the magic of Clones on Ulster final day but there's no doubt once Casement is built it will be the new Ulster final venue. Which I must admit I think will be a great thing for West Belfast in fairness.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1351 - 31/05/2022 15:15:33 24

You would worry about the future of the ground now as others have said it is getting very run down. It's a big stadium to maintain and needed money spent on it years ago. If the ulster council are not going to spend on it will Monaghan County boards try and keep it in shape or just let it go and just use certain sections of it.

I was in Breffni park at the weekend and was in the uncovered seating area and a lot of them wooden seats were in bad condition and probably need taken out and replaced. I don't think wooden seating should be put back in, the elements in this country is not kind to that type of material.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 01/06/2022 09:14:01    2421497

Replying To RHF:  "Clones has been run into the ground because they wanted Casement. It's a pity for Clones but once Casement is built it would be hard to justify such a big stadium in Monaghan. If they invested in it and had it state of the art but a more reduced capacity, it could be a wee gem of a stadium.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1351 - 31/05/2022 15:15:33 24

You would worry about the future of the ground now as others have said it is getting very run down. It's a big stadium to maintain and needed money spent on it years ago. If the ulster council are not going to spend on it will Monaghan County boards try and keep it in shape or just let it go and just use certain sections of it.

I was in Breffni park at the weekend and was in the uncovered seating area and a lot of them wooden seats were in bad condition and probably need taken out and replaced. I don't think wooden seating should be put back in, the elements in this country is not kind to that type of material."
Jeez I would hate to see Breffni go the way of Clones, it's a lovely ground. You're right on Clones as well it's a very tough situation for the Monaghan Co Board, especially in a county that is already punching well above its weight in terms of playing numbers etc. I would imagine if it is left to them they may decide to reduce the capacity to be able to maintain it a little easier.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 01/06/2022 10:20:48    2421510

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Jeez I would hate to see Breffni go the way of Clones, it's a lovely ground. You're right on Clones as well it's a very tough situation for the Monaghan Co Board, especially in a county that is already punching well above its weight in terms of playing numbers etc. I would imagine if it is left to them they may decide to reduce the capacity to be able to maintain it a little easier."
Jeez I would hate to see Breffni go the way of Clones, it's a lovely ground. You're right on Clones as well it's a very tough situation for the Monaghan Co Board, especially in a county that is already punching well above its weight in terms of playing numbers etc. I would imagine if it is left to them they may decide to reduce the capacity to be able to maintain it a little easier.
JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1353 - 01/06/2022 10:20:48

Breffni is not to bad and Cavan County Board keep it well maintained and won't let it decay like Clones but the wooden seating needs attention.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 01/06/2022 10:45:27    2421519

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Great news today, long overdue. Of course the concerns of the residents must be taken on board but they cannot and should not have a permanent veto. 20/30 people shouldn't be allowed to say no, no, no all the time because they want perfect lives. There will also be the usual anti Belfast brigade within Ulster GAA circles who hate the city getting anything. The big issue now will of course be funding, Unionist elements are making noises about denying funding."
I don't think the GAA can realistically expect to keep their bill at £15million, they'll have to increase it slightly. You're right some will argue about the expense and try to delay it further. However if the North want to host any Euro 2028 soccer games in Belfast, Casement Park is the only realistic option. The soccer tournament will open up funding from elsewhere, possibly from Dublin and London governments to go with the increase from the North and whatever the GAA's increase will be. It's a GAA stadium but opening it up will attract the extra funding required.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 01/06/2022 11:13:08    2421533

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Jeez I would hate to see Breffni go the way of Clones, it's a lovely ground. You're right on Clones as well it's a very tough situation for the Monaghan Co Board, especially in a county that is already punching well above its weight in terms of playing numbers etc. I would imagine if it is left to them they may decide to reduce the capacity to be able to maintain it a little easier."
I can't see Breffni going that way. RHF is correct about the wooden seats. These need replaced as any length of time in the weather seems them worn down. The grain of the wood is now very hard to sit on. But overall the stadium is still good. Good access, more parking becoming available to the rear as other ground is bought up and available on match day. There's good shops, and toilets are grand. One of the wee lads with me Saturday went down to the hot food bar at half time and came back with a curry chip. There's a good scoreboard and match timer too. Strong floodlights as well for night games. Those facilities are good, and far better than Clones right now. And they are due to put money in, with other upgrades going on around the place. I do hope they upgrade sections here and there as a going concern, and not let it fall apart. Which as owners of it they will do. Ulster Council has taken a lot of gate receipts out of Clones without putting much back in.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 01/06/2022 11:26:41    2421537

This is a massive development for all the Gaels of Antrim GAA.

Our young people will have a place to aspire to play our great games, and this will drive the aspirations of every club and consequently the county teams forward.

We will have our identity back and whilst Corrigan has and continues to serve the county well, we can now look forward to the day we pack out Casement Park again.

AntrimJim (Antrim) - Posts: 39 - 01/06/2022 17:57:54    2421668

So work started on Casement yesterday supposedly. Clearance and enabling work at least so the site is ready for building work once the finance and contractor is sorted. Irish government also just announced 50 million of additional funding which fills some of the finance gap. likely will put pressure on UK to match this or more you'd imagine

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 20/02/2024 12:51:24    2527180

Replying To AntrimJim:  "This is a massive development for all the Gaels of Antrim GAA.

Our young people will have a place to aspire to play our great games, and this will drive the aspirations of every club and consequently the county teams forward.

We will have our identity back and whilst Corrigan has and continues to serve the county well, we can now look forward to the day we pack out Casement Park again."
Looking forward to visiting our Friends in Antrim at Casement.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1457 - 20/02/2024 18:26:09    2527255

Great to see Casement finally starting. All the best to everyone in Antrim and Ulster. The begrudgers and naysayers up there can go do one and thankfully are now in a small minority that are irrelevant.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 20/02/2024 21:12:31    2527282