New trend of bringing kids onto the pitch after finals

Is it just me or is this new phenomenon of bringing kids onto pitches for photo shots by players after games gone totally out of hand.It was ridiculous after Saturday nights replay as practically every Dublin player had at least one child with them on pitch after winning. It was never like this..yes players or managers rushed out to stands to celebrate with family but the pitch was sacred to those involved.

flyinghigh (Kerry) - Posts: 213 - 16/09/2019 20:29:28    2236334

Replying To flyinghigh:  "Is it just me or is this new phenomenon of bringing kids onto pitches for photo shots by players after games gone totally out of hand.It was ridiculous after Saturday nights replay as practically every Dublin player had at least one child with them on pitch after winning. It was never like this..yes players or managers rushed out to stands to celebrate with family but the pitch was sacred to those involved."
Yes, it's horrible seeing children happy isn't it!

It's gone too far!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 16/09/2019 20:43:38    2236336

Replying To flyinghigh:  "Is it just me or is this new phenomenon of bringing kids onto pitches for photo shots by players after games gone totally out of hand.It was ridiculous after Saturday nights replay as practically every Dublin player had at least one child with them on pitch after winning. It was never like this..yes players or managers rushed out to stands to celebrate with family but the pitch was sacred to those involved."
Ah come on it's just to make the kids part of the whole thing ,it's great.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 16/09/2019 21:23:48    2236359

What the hell are you on about it was never like this? It's not that long ago every fan in the place could go onto the field after the game if they wanted too

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 16/09/2019 21:37:08    2236365

This is exactly what should happen
Players get to celebrate in their own time with those closest to them.
Scenes with all the kids were great to see

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 16/09/2019 21:41:34    2236370

My God... is this the new whinge?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/09/2019 21:42:58    2236371

Stamps aren't as sticky as they used to be either.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/09/2019 22:02:58    2236384

Theres no need for it...hauling on your brood for the public to fawn over..

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 16/09/2019 22:04:10    2236386

Replying To bloodyban:  "Theres no need for it...hauling on your brood for the public to fawn over.."
Disgusting.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/09/2019 22:13:50    2236390

Ah come on now. Of course they should be celebrating with their families. Certainly doesn't bother me & I enjoy seeing them celebrate together. (Only thing that makes me a bit uneasy is that not all the wee ones have ear defenders, but am sure no harm done).

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 16/09/2019 22:30:45    2236395

Spot on. New trend, new fad, new fashion. Dunno how bad or otherwise it is but this thing that a child is a necessary accessory to your celebration is cringey.
As a new behaviour that we haven't seen before, either the parent values it or the child does or both. Now most of the kids are too young to truly value being brought on and understand what the occasion means. Therefore the way I look at it that only leaves the behaviour as something the parent values, which is a selfish reason to do something. So, yeah cringey af. No one cares you're a family man as well as being an incredibly successful sportster. It's "Look at me", it's Instagram culture, these are all the things I'm proud of. Pause, smile, say cheese and snap!

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 16/09/2019 22:36:11    2236399

Bloody Dubs up to no good again. Between passing the ball around and refusing to charge headlong into the Kerry blanket when 3 points up to letting their kids joining in their celebrations. Jackeens spoiling it for everyone. Snow isn't as cold as it used to be either.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/09/2019 22:37:56    2236401

A new low.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/09/2019 22:45:15    2236407

Next thing you know there'll be a new trend of men being proud of their families, and wanting to share with them the biggest day of their sporting career. Madness I tell you! And where will it end??? Women being given the vote?? Animals given rights?? Gays allowed to marry?? If we don't stamp it out now, next thing you know you won't be able to go to your local, drain a half dozen pints, and then drive home.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 16/09/2019 23:16:07    2236415

Give joe Duffy a ring tomorrow and have an aul whinge....Jesus this country is full of begruders going around looking for something to moan about...I seriously think some of ye need to step away from the keyboard/phone and try go outside and enjoy life.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 16/09/2019 23:31:32    2236419

Replying To wicklu:  "Spot on. New trend, new fad, new fashion. Dunno how bad or otherwise it is but this thing that a child is a necessary accessory to your celebration is cringey.
As a new behaviour that we haven't seen before, either the parent values it or the child does or both. Now most of the kids are too young to truly value being brought on and understand what the occasion means. Therefore the way I look at it that only leaves the behaviour as something the parent values, which is a selfish reason to do something. So, yeah cringey af. No one cares you're a family man as well as being an incredibly successful sportster. It's "Look at me", it's Instagram culture, these are all the things I'm proud of. Pause, smile, say cheese and snap!"
Looks like you've put a fair bit of thought into this, which is strange enough in itself. Players celebrating an achievement with their loved ones. "Cringey af". God be with the days when they'd have some fat supporter jumping on their back, to celebrate it with. That's the memory they'd really cherish.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 17/09/2019 00:09:15    2236426

If this is a problem then we are all addicted to giving out about everything.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/09/2019 00:37:59    2236437

Nothing wrong with it, nice to see, although one particular individual was very adept at getting every bit of exposure, keeping the high profile going to keep the sponsor happy. At least with all the others it was genuine.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 17/09/2019 00:48:57    2236438

Well they couldn't do it up to recently because fans used to invade the pitch, players couldn't celebrate properly without being surrounded

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 267 - 17/09/2019 02:14:43    2236443

Saw a cute photo of a baby in Sam Maguire cup...looks like Bernard Brogan's ...does he have twins? Must say the Dublin players come across as gentlemen, and despite their winning monopoly, they have transformed the game into an attractive spectacle. Congratulations to Kerry and Dublin for providing 2 great games.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 17/09/2019 05:46:43    2236449