Hoganstand To Go Into Meltdown!

I am just waiting patiently for hoganstand to go into meltdown due to the disgusting and disgraceful scenes in the hill at the end of the all Ireland.

The usual suspects are sure to ride in on their high horse anytime now condemning these two sets of fans and calling for further matches between these two teams to be played behind closed doors.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 16/09/2019 11:06:13    2235991

I'm pretty sure someone from Tyrone started that whole thing!!

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 16/09/2019 11:20:30    2236001

Replying To Wally:  "I am just waiting patiently for hoganstand to go into meltdown due to the disgusting and disgraceful scenes in the hill at the end of the all Ireland.

The usual suspects are sure to ride in on their high horse anytime now condemning these two sets of fans and calling for further matches between these two teams to be played behind closed doors."
I heard this mentioned alright, what exactly happened? Did you see it? No place for any type of carry on at matches.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1895 - 16/09/2019 11:23:26    2236003

20 fans involved in a brawl with punches thrown and in the presence of Gardai.

The incident was dealt with swiftly by members of An Garda Siochana at the time and brought to a peaceful conclusion. No persons were injured and no arrests were made.

No 'Nordies' involved, all fans had IRL stickers on their backsides, nothing to see, please move along...... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 16/09/2019 11:40:08    2236012

Nothing to see, few drunken Kerry kids mouthing off from start to finish and only for the Gardaí they would have got themselves badly hurt. Every county has them. No big deal.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 16/09/2019 11:44:49    2236014

What was really pathetic was middle aged men involved in this.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 16/09/2019 12:01:05    2236025

Replying To realdub:  "Nothing to see, few drunken Kerry kids mouthing off from start to finish and only for the Gardaí they would have got themselves badly hurt. Every county has them. No big deal."
Why is a mass brawl no big deal?

Is it because your own county was involved?

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 16/09/2019 12:01:23    2236026

Replying To Wally:  "Why is a mass brawl no big deal?

Is it because your own county was involved?"
Mass brawl ? A few digs with some drunken mouthy lads, seen far worse on the hill in the old days, hopefully the cops gave them a few slaps.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 16/09/2019 12:10:39    2236031

Replying To Donegalman:  "What was really pathetic was middle aged men involved in this."
They were defending themselves

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 16/09/2019 12:11:20    2236032

A 6pm start to the game probably didn't help matters.

Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake (Leitrim) - Posts: 48 - 16/09/2019 12:13:29    2236034

A few drunken bowsies acting the hard men.

No place for it anywhere.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 16/09/2019 12:16:30    2236036

Drink again of course is the basis of a lot of these problems. A good few youngsters from Kerry looked the worse for the wear and were the main cause of it.
Soccer yob mentality is what it was and these hooligans should be ashamed of themselves. No place for it at all at all.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/09/2019 12:17:35    2236037

Replying To realdub:  "They were defending themselves"
Defending themselves? I wasnt there and can only comment on the video doing the rounds but it was a middle aged Dublin thug who through the first punch. What exactly was he defendingf himself from a few verbals?

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 16/09/2019 12:25:05    2236044

Horrible to see, I'm sure those Kerry young lads were asking for it, but not great seeing grown men from Dublin throwing punches at them.
This stuff has to stop, we've seen a bit of it in recent times in Thurles at hurling games too.
It's going to get to a stage where segregation might be introduced and what a horrible horrible thought that would be.
In saying that I was in the Lower Cusack and there was a bit of a cruffle just at start of second half involving two Dubs, think one must have said something pretty objectionable to the other and a steward quickly threw on of them out.

Like the 6pm thrown in has to be looked at, there was two premiership matches involving Liverpool and Man U playing before, many people were probably in the pubs from noon or after. Lots of lads very under the influence and things like this are probably to be expected.

The GAA should endevour to ensure replays happen at a half 3 or 4pm thrown in in future.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/09/2019 12:30:40    2236046

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Defending themselves? I wasnt there and can only comment on the video doing the rounds but it was a middle aged Dublin thug who through the first punch. What exactly was he defendingf himself from a few verbals?"
I must of seen a different video too. Verbals or not thowing punches at kids is embarrassing to see. I didn't see defending. I saw attacking.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 588 - 16/09/2019 12:34:13    2236050

Replying To Wally:  "Why is a mass brawl no big deal?

Is it because your own county was involved?"
Ah go away out of that with your mass brawl, go find a Palestinian flag to cry into or some other flag of a nation you know little about but think you have a kindred spirit with.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/09/2019 12:41:16    2236052

Mmm its interesting the amount of excuses being posted here.

It was alcohol
It was the late throw in
It was young Kerry lads who dont know any better
It was an old Dublin fella asking for it

I have been watching and attending county football for a long, long time and I have never once seen my own county fans involved in anything like this.

Its seems strange that this incident isn't gathering a lot more discussion and condemnation across the board and from more news outlets.

I doubt my own county brethren would be afforded the same leeway if we had of started a boxing match with rival fans during or after a game of football never mind the All Ireland final.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 16/09/2019 12:45:22    2236055

Down with that sort of thing

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 16/09/2019 13:07:38    2236071

It was disgusting. No place for it. Young Kerry lads & 'mature' Dublin supporters - men & a woman is what the video shows.
Obviously like Whelan & Brolly on September 1st, some don't wish to see what is obvious. Embarrassing stuff.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 16/09/2019 13:09:38    2236073

Replying To Richieq:  "Ah go away out of that with your mass brawl, go find a Palestinian flag to cry into or some other flag of a nation you know little about but think you have a kindred spirit with."
Excuse me. Would you mind elaborating on your comment?

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 16/09/2019 13:34:31    2236080