Dublin Vs Kerry Replay

Replying To Joxer:  "Well lad I call it as I see it. DC is a fantastic player but he was clearly match rusty yesterday. An unbelievable pass to Kilkenny for a point, a fantastic fisted offload to put Scully in on Ryan only for him to blast over and a couple of nice turnovers was probably the sum of his contribution yesterday but we didn't need him in the end, the other lads put on an unbelievable exhibition of scoring. When is the last time a team in an AI final was not awarded a single kickable free in a match. Just is well our forwards were firing."
On this one I certainly agree with you. Connolly is a great player who was ring rusty for sure. I can think of about 32 teams who would be enhanced if he was playing for them. He is also the player people love to hate. The suspension he got was a joke. If he blew on the official it would have caused more effect. In fact a well know manager has pushed an official much stronger. Your other point probably sums up the strength of Dublin. They did not need a free to win the All-Ireland. Whoa! let that sink in.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 16/09/2019 00:20:12    2235885

Replying To Fionn:  "Fair play.
Honest and unbiased post.

You have a great team also and we are sure to meet plenty of times in the future.
Definite All ireland in that Kerry team."
Definite only comes when you win, not what you or I think will happen in the future. On this years form there were a couple of teams who could beat/have beaten Kerry, but none who were close to beating the Dubs in the championship.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 16/09/2019 00:23:39    2235886

Replying To Fionn:  "You should not post about something you know nothing about.
I was close by and it was all started by those Kerry lads. They were are it from the start and on the way out they lost the plot.
Dublin fans went down to stewards and Garda a few times to complain about them and nothing was done. So the next time you want to throw dirt make sure you know what you are talking about please. Not sure my post will get posted but Dubs on the hill know exactly what happened. Why the hell do do think Kerry fans have not gone into overdrive about it......!"
Did I say anything about who was to blame. I'm saying it was disgraceful and it takes two to tango my friend...if this was Tyrone supporters rte would be leading the chorus of executioners but not a word from them because it's Kerry and dublin

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 16/09/2019 01:00:28    2235891

Replying To jimbodub:  "Connolly rusty alright

He was also directly involved in 3pts for Dublin

Turned over a ball when Kerry got it back to a pt, Kerry won Dublins kickout, Kerry had momentum, great challenge from Connolly using his body, turned it over, ball popped up, got it into his hands, looked up for a fabulous long ball into kilkennys chest, turned and over.

All at a crucial time.. no other Dub player could have done it.

He should have passed the ball to Con near the end for a tap in and a 9pt win

He needs more time. Still has a huge amount to offer in 2020 but has shown glimpses of his magic.

As a fan it meant more to have him involved in the 5 and it's made it all the better for me personally"
Overall I think he done well. Like you say contributing to 3 points in a tight game is not to be sniffed at - and one of those passes should've been a goal by Scully. Was a great move.

Big moment for me was when he won back a ball that Kerry had turned over (from a loose Fenton pass I think). DC battled and won it back. Dublin held on to it and an eventual score came, Could have been a Kerry counterattack and score against Dublin. Fine margins.

Yes he gave it away a couple of times but was involved in the key moments we held the ball for long periods. That keep ball play really made it uphill for Kerry and ensured we kept the cushion lead.

Dinosbar&grill (Dublin) - Posts: 23 - 16/09/2019 08:02:31    2235910

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "While the first half was exciting enough last night, the second half descended into a turgid affair...both teams pulling 13 and 14 players behind the ball...and Dublin when in possession going through robotic manoeuvres....absolutely disgraceful scenes in the Hill but am not surprised...if this was a northern county it would be all over rte by now but of course we can't dent our national broadcaster's love in with Kerry and Dublin, can we."
Reality is that if Tyrone had got to the final , then you likely would have seen a real turgid affair. Dublin would have won by 7 and we wouldn't have anything close to the first game thriller or the exhibiton of first half scoring on Saturday. Second half did not go at the same pace but there was a title at stake and legs were tiring. There were still great second half scores, saves, fielding and blocks to be admired. 1-17 Dublin scored from play. Kerry got some super scores as well and gave it a right rattle. If you can't admire this year's AI final, you are unable to appreciate a great game of football becauses teams you don't like are playing it.

Dinosbar&grill (Dublin) - Posts: 23 - 16/09/2019 09:18:48    2235932

Dublin best fans ever ???
https://twitter.com/Ireunderworld/status/1172990728601047042?s=19

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 16/09/2019 11:57:09    2236023

Replying To mayo_123:  "Dublin best fans ever ???
https://twitter.com/Ireunderworld/status/1172990728601047042?s=19"
Get your facts right lad the Dublin fans were acting in self-defense

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 16/09/2019 12:08:48    2236030

Congratulations to Dubs on a great achievement and being such great ambassadors for the GAA and their clubs and families.
5 teams had managed the 4 in a row previously but couldn't do the 5th. A piece of history created and surely now they have cemented their place as the greatest. Enjoy yer celebrating.
Kerry can come back again of course and improve having learned harsh lessons in two final losses this year.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/09/2019 12:24:12    2236043

Replying To realdub:  "Get your facts right lad the Dublin fans were acting in self-defense"
they were young lads they didn't throw first punch

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 16/09/2019 13:53:05    2236092

Replying To mayo_123:  "they were young lads they didn't throw first punch"
No just glass bottles and coins!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/09/2019 14:42:55    2236122

Well now as Twilight produced a red sky and the smell of autum on the wind history found a new home and nestles sweetly in the land of those raised on songs and stories. In 2011, 15 unfancied Dublin men took to the felid against Kerry and changed Gaelic football forever. Men who fear not the shadow of tradition but embrace it legends become, so again 15 men from Dublin took to filed against a Kerry and became immortals.

What's left to be said really, pace, power, strength, skill, athletics, in game vision, intelligence, bravery all masters of their art. The best players ever produced the management team ever assembled. A beauty to behold across the county, with thousands of youngsters out around the fields of Dublin playing Gaelic games, the real legacy and boon of these years will be felt in the future. While Dublin has become the home of the five in a row.

What a way to do it, was there for the startled ear wigs in 2009, if you told me that day that Kerry wouldn't be a Dublin in the championship for the next 11 years, I would have have laughed out loud. But so it was, beginning and ending with convincing wins against Kerry, the unicorn that is the five in a row,. Not only beating them but reducing them to playing the blacket to keep us at bay, as we knocked the ball around in front of them asking them to chase our shadows. But so it was and 2009 seems like an alien land considering. We've seen down 3 generations of Kerry teams at this stage. I honestly don't belehave be Kerry have had bad teams, I just think we have been that good, they are as consistent as ever.

Kerry were great and will be a force in football once again, players will kick on and they need to find a few new ones in key areas as Father Time waits for no man and their are a few key lads getting on. But they will be confident in the kingdom and got a good run for their money in league and championship, O Shea, Clifford and O Sullivan are stars and I'd start there with progressing lads around them. Peter Keane and the startedially assembled back room team had a good year, some bizarre calls in the final with the long ball and a few starters and match ups, but you wouldn't complain if you were from the south west. It's going to be some fraud in the S8's, next year, presumably Dublin's and Kerry in the same group with Connacht and Ulster runners ups, but there is some serious celebrating to be done befor that.

One of the incredible things I thought about the final, is Dean Rock gotkne 45 and no other storable free, apparently Kerry defenders didn't fouls once the whole game, utter madness and we still one leaving points behind us. Absolutely everything from play.

What about Munchkin, the day the boy became a man, I'm going to Croke park a long time and that goal is one of the best I have ever seen never kind in a final, the size of Moran Vs Munchkin and still he produces. I said the last day he cut through Kerry offensively the last day, so delighted he started and did the business.

I could go on but everyone was terrific, stars every one and nit for the first time. In the year we lost Anton, I'm so delighted we did it with him in our minds, it's what makes Dublin GAA unique, it's our way. It's also for the players who give us joy.

I flew out after the game, but I'll be back for the homecoming where we will have a brilliant night, together one, one county, one people. It's our way.

And so the fat of the land beckons for us this winter, we will winter well , embrace immortality and become acquainted with history, Dublin is now the home of the five in a row and we lift our legends high.

But as is our way we will look to our own, we have an U 20 finalist team that I would be confident in blooding a good few from when the smell of spring is in the air and we go again into a new decade with hope and humility.

So the sun sets on the Decade of the Dubs, as legends become acquainted with history and greatness abounds our halls.

Up The Dubs.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/09/2019 15:44:10    2236165

A shout out of congratulations and enjoy the victory to DamotheDub.

Haven't seen him post in a while. A really decent poster I've a lot of time for as do many on here.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/09/2019 17:03:08    2236221

some pacey run by eoin murchan on the goal

however he was lucky not to be blown twice for over-carrying, when he first collects the ball from the sheenhan knock down he takes 8 steps, and after his last hop until shooting he takes another 8 or so. Not that id like to see it being called for, especially when sheehan has a little tug at him, but he was certainly fortunate on the first carry as nobody laid a paw on him.

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 16/09/2019 17:13:33    2236229

The steps thing is a problem. It's so hard for defenders to defend in football. 'Soloing rules' really need to be more rigorously applied, if defensive players are going to have any joy at all. Letting a player run 12 steps, without soloing the ball, before goaling in an all-ireland final, says it all about the sorry state of this aspect of the game.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3418 - 16/09/2019 18:09:55    2236264

Replying To TheUsername:  "Well now as Twilight produced a red sky and the smell of autum on the wind history found a new home and nestles sweetly in the land of those raised on songs and stories. In 2011, 15 unfancied Dublin men took to the felid against Kerry and changed Gaelic football forever. Men who fear not the shadow of tradition but embrace it legends become, so again 15 men from Dublin took to filed against a Kerry and became immortals.

What's left to be said really, pace, power, strength, skill, athletics, in game vision, intelligence, bravery all masters of their art. The best players ever produced the management team ever assembled. A beauty to behold across the county, with thousands of youngsters out around the fields of Dublin playing Gaelic games, the real legacy and boon of these years will be felt in the future. While Dublin has become the home of the five in a row.

What a way to do it, was there for the startled ear wigs in 2009, if you told me that day that Kerry wouldn't be a Dublin in the championship for the next 11 years, I would have have laughed out loud. But so it was, beginning and ending with convincing wins against Kerry, the unicorn that is the five in a row,. Not only beating them but reducing them to playing the blacket to keep us at bay, as we knocked the ball around in front of them asking them to chase our shadows. But so it was and 2009 seems like an alien land considering. We've seen down 3 generations of Kerry teams at this stage. I honestly don't belehave be Kerry have had bad teams, I just think we have been that good, they are as consistent as ever.

Kerry were great and will be a force in football once again, players will kick on and they need to find a few new ones in key areas as Father Time waits for no man and their are a few key lads getting on. But they will be confident in the kingdom and got a good run for their money in league and championship, O Shea, Clifford and O Sullivan are stars and I'd start there with progressing lads around them. Peter Keane and the startedially assembled back room team had a good year, some bizarre calls in the final with the long ball and a few starters and match ups, but you wouldn't complain if you were from the south west. It's going to be some fraud in the S8's, next year, presumably Dublin's and Kerry in the same group with Connacht and Ulster runners ups, but there is some serious celebrating to be done befor that.

One of the incredible things I thought about the final, is Dean Rock gotkne 45 and no other storable free, apparently Kerry defenders didn't fouls once the whole game, utter madness and we still one leaving points behind us. Absolutely everything from play.

What about Munchkin, the day the boy became a man, I'm going to Croke park a long time and that goal is one of the best I have ever seen never kind in a final, the size of Moran Vs Munchkin and still he produces. I said the last day he cut through Kerry offensively the last day, so delighted he started and did the business.

I could go on but everyone was terrific, stars every one and nit for the first time. In the year we lost Anton, I'm so delighted we did it with him in our minds, it's what makes Dublin GAA unique, it's our way. It's also for the players who give us joy.

I flew out after the game, but I'll be back for the homecoming where we will have a brilliant night, together one, one county, one people. It's our way.

And so the fat of the land beckons for us this winter, we will winter well , embrace immortality and become acquainted with history, Dublin is now the home of the five in a row and we lift our legends high.

But as is our way we will look to our own, we have an U 20 finalist team that I would be confident in blooding a good few from when the smell of spring is in the air and we go again into a new decade with hope and humility.

So the sun sets on the Decade of the Dubs, as legends become acquainted with history and greatness abounds our halls.

Up The Dubs."
Brilliant post.

5 in a Row
7 All Ireland's in 9 years
5 League titles in that period also.
Some level of consistency from a once in a lifetime team/squad.

We will definitely Winter well with a smile on our faces ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 16/09/2019 18:23:14    2236270

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "The steps thing is a problem. It's so hard for defenders to defend in football. 'Soloing rules' really need to be more rigorously applied, if defensive players are going to have any joy at all. Letting a player run 12 steps, without soloing the ball, before goaling in an all-ireland final, says it all about the sorry state of this aspect of the game."
It's difficult to marshal especially if a player is being fouled or is shaking off a defender as Spillane did when he took eight steps in the drawn game. At the speed these young lads are moving at these days it must be difficult for a ref to track steps when the ball carrier is drawing contact as well.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/09/2019 20:25:40    2236331

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "All kickouts should have to go beyond the 45 meter line and kick outs taken from the small square as well.

Once you go past the opposing 65 the attacking team can't take the ball back outside it.

Then again the reffs can't even count 4 steps these days so how would those rules be enforced ."
What happens when you have a gale force wind in February or March in the league and the ball doesn't make it past the 45 despite the goalkeepers best efforts??

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 16/09/2019 20:25:52    2236332

Replying To The_Fonz:  "What happens when you have a gale force wind in February or March in the league and the ball doesn't make it past the 45 despite the goalkeepers best efforts??"
Jays fonz that wouldn't happen too often but in that situation maybe the ref could move the kickouts to the 13 or 21 meter line.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/09/2019 20:54:29    2236340

Replying To mayo_123:  "Dublin best fans ever ???
https://twitter.com/Ireunderworld/status/1172990728601047042?s=19"
Ahh no, Mayo's Mick the Bull is the best ever.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/09/2019 21:15:49    2236349

Replying To realdub:  "Get your facts right lad the Dublin fans were acting in self-defense"
Aye it took two to tango there mayo 123. The self defence argument prob not helped by the Dublin lad throwing the first punch. The Kerry boys barrister will prob turn that against the dubs!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 17/09/2019 00:02:01    2236424