David Gough To Referee The Final

Replying To Sean.66:  "Why could the GAA not do the simple thing and appoint a referee from either Ulster or Connaught and therfore avoid all the hassle....have they no brains at all..? This puts undue pressure on David Gough and it's all the fault of the GAA and nobody else... It is gone to the stage of asking can these clowns who make these calls in the GAA get anything right..?"
Dunno, maybe.. but David Gough is on top of his game, best ref for the job and his time is now. Some folk haven't got happy memories of Marty Duffy (Connacht) or Martin Sludden (Ulster).

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 15/08/2019 19:10:52    2226144

Replying To jacktheDub:  "You having a laugh this was pre-meditated move..there is no way Fitzmaurice would have done what he did without the approval of the current setup."
Hi lad yer the ones with the sports phycologists and PR firm not us, fitzmaurice was asked an honest question relating to Brian Gavin's article about gough and Eamon gave his honest views on the matter, what more do you want? If he said he was ok with it you be calling it yerra wouldn't you?

We can't win .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2019 19:35:48    2226148

Replying To Curlew66:  "Dunno, maybe.. but David Gough is on top of his game, best ref for the job and his time is now. Some folk haven't got happy memories of Marty Duffy (Connacht) or Martin Sludden (Ulster)."
Good old MD. I believe he was a favorite with Kerry. Himself and Sludden would be in the same category. Filed under C.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/08/2019 19:39:11    2226150

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "There wasn't any need for uproar or a protest as the GAA removed the man without a seconds thought .

Ye weren't too worried about his reputation or character were ye joxer?

Anyway our chairman has come out and said that neither he nor our management or football team have a problem with the appointment of Dave so time to get back to the drive for five."
Ohhh, Dave now is it.
On first name terms are we ?
Yeah, Dave's a great guy now isn't he just.
Sleeveen, I think is the term.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/08/2019 19:49:53    2226154

I must say , I find this whole furore about David Goughs appointment disturbing. It's a disgrace that a man that has spent a good portion of his life in the GAA and done his apprenticeship is having his day in the sun queried by people who probably have little or no understanding of what it's like to be a referee never mind achieve the highest honor that can be bestowed on one.
Ye should hang yeer heads. This age of being offended by everything and wanting to make a song and dance to attract attention is a truly desperate and is made all the worse by social media. The country was probably always full of them but at least we didn't have to put up with their bellyaching about anything they think they can jump on.
Grow up and stop acting like spoiled brats when you can't have your sweets.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/08/2019 20:02:53    2226156

Replying To catch22:  "I must say , I find this whole furore about David Goughs appointment disturbing. It's a disgrace that a man that has spent a good portion of his life in the GAA and done his apprenticeship is having his day in the sun queried by people who probably have little or no understanding of what it's like to be a referee never mind achieve the highest honor that can be bestowed on one.
Ye should hang yeer heads. This age of being offended by everything and wanting to make a song and dance to attract attention is a truly desperate and is made all the worse by social media. The country was probably always full of them but at least we didn't have to put up with their bellyaching about anything they think they can jump on.
Grow up and stop acting like spoiled brats when you can't have your sweets."
Excellent post.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/08/2019 20:29:23    2226160

Replying To Joxer:  "I hope Gough is above that but yes that was clearly the mission of Eamo and Aido. It's a win win situation for them."
Trust me David is above that. He won't have liked the character assault on him by Fitzgerald (which is one of the lowest things I can ever remember from a ex county manager) the likes of odywer boylan even Gavin when he does go would not do that. But that shows their class.
Anyway David's mission will be not to be mentioned after the game. If anyone fouls he will pull it up. The best ref in country by far.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/08/2019 20:31:50    2226161

Replying To realdub:  "A Meath man helping Dublin out?? Jaysus you Kerry boys are something else."
I can't get my head around that either lol.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/08/2019 20:35:40    2226163

Replying To jacktheDub:  "You having a laugh this was pre-meditated move..there is no way Fitzmaurice would have done what he did without the approval of the current setup."
Eamon Fitzmaurice isn't part of the Kerry setup anymore and if you can remember back to just one year ago Eamon stepped down.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2019 20:43:09    2226165

Replying To jimbodub:  "Fair play to Kerry CB. A good statement after the fact but I guess they can't control lesser sorts.

It was absolutely the right thing to do and distance themselves from such an obvious character assassination on an acting match official.

Although they might have a revolution on their hands.. Hong Kong protests part 2 gathering at Fitzgerald stadium"
Everyone on the Kerry county board will sleep easy tonight knowing jimbo has given us his approval :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2019 20:54:10    2226167

So Gough is being accused that he'll give decisions to kerry cos he'll be scared to give then to Dublin for fear of being called biased. So surely now he'll give them to Dublin to show he's not giving them to Kerry because he's scared of being accused of favouritism to Dublin!
For God's sake just move on will you everyone and let him do the job.

reithi (Kerry) - Posts: 52 - 15/08/2019 20:57:26    2226168

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Ohhh, Dave now is it.
On first name terms are we ?
Yeah, Dave's a great guy now isn't he just.
Sleeveen, I think is the term."
Cute Kerry hoorism is what it is -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 15/08/2019 21:03:07    2226170

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Everyone on the Kerry county board will sleep easy tonight knowing jimbo has given us his approval :-)"
Are you on the Kerry CB?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/08/2019 21:05:58    2226172

Replying To TheUsername:  "Fair play to Tim Murphy and the Kerry County Board to come out today and support the appointment of David Gough. Seems like a difference opinion between some fan and the board still on this, but i suppose not even will agree on everything even within the one county with the same goal.

The Classy thing to do though, well done."
Welcome intervention from official Kerry but a pity this statement couldn't have been issued a few days ago. It might have saved us all a lot of hysterical nonsense.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 541 - 15/08/2019 21:12:52    2226174

Replying To TheUsername:  "Laughing at the lad posting on here and then quoting his replies with his multis. :D

But please dont stop, #KERRYSECRETAGENT. ;)"
For a man likes to portray that he knows it all, I am quite sure that if you poke your nose through previous Kerry v Monaghan threads, it will become obvious Seamie that we are not the same person.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 15/08/2019 21:17:29    2226176

Replying To Joxer:  "Was there a protest in Parnell Park and a public character assassination on social media at the time?"
So because there was 'no protest in Parnell Park and a public character assassination on social media at the time' it was perfectly ok ? I don't get that logic.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 15/08/2019 21:28:56    2226180

As expected, SOB has been cleared to play final.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/08/2019 21:29:13    2226181

Replying To royaldunne:  "I can't get my head around that either lol."
Can ya imagine it RD, lets have a Dubs/Royal love in, on second thoughts, lets not :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 15/08/2019 21:30:31    2226185

The hypocrisy dripping out of Kerry is nauseating and stomach churning. They got every decision going against Tyrone to the point of pure embarrassment. When some Tyrone fans and neutral Gaels pointed this out Kerry and their fans denied it and told Tyrone to stop complaining. Now they don't like this appointment and they are yapping from the high heavens. Do Kerry people do irony?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 15/08/2019 21:31:27    2226186

Replying To TheUsername:  "Fair play to Tim Murphy and the Kerry County Board to come out today and support the appointment of David Gough. Seems like a difference opinion between some fan and the board still on this, but i suppose not even will agree on everything even within the one county with the same goal.

The Classy thing to do though, well done."
They are not "fans", you are affording them way too much respect. They are an embarresment to the GAA as every county have these yahoo's.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 15/08/2019 21:35:03    2226189