Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "A few points on last Sunday

Like many have stated I think Tipp would have won 15 v 15 by 6 or 7 points. However Tipp this year have left a bit of a sour taste. Gym specimen that is Pauric Maher goes down rolling from a hurl flick from Laois' Aaron Dunphy. A flick that if my 8 year old son received from his 5 year old brother, hurling in the garden, and went down bawling i'd seriously chastise him for. Cathal Barrett may have received some contact, but again the over exaggerated reaction you wouldn't have seen from someone shot in Gallipoli was hard to watch. It's patently clear there's a team policy of going down to try and get players sent off. I don't remember Tipp under Michael Ryan or Eamonn O'Shea behaving like this.

2016 was a great All Ireland win for Tipperary but I don't think much of 2019. A lot of the so called Kilkeeny 'sour grapes' reaction is stemming from Tipp's behaviour. It goes against the traditions of the county in a hurling sense and indeed in a political/rebellious one where they always 'manned up'.

Kilkenny don't have the hurlers of a decade ago, how could they. They don't seem to have a whole lot coming through. But one thing is for certain, everytime Tipp play them for the next 10 years they are going to know all about it.

The only problem is they mightn't get revenge next year, as Tipp more than likely will go out in the round robin."
"Pauric Maher goes down ROLLING"; Cathal Barrett MAY have received SOME contact". If this is your vision of these incidents how can we take the rest of your comments seriously? How can you be so sure of what Tipp's "team policy" was? Like so many Kilkenny legends, it seems to me that the real motivation for all the whingeing is to devalue Tipperary's victory. How many teams have won seven championship matches on their way to winning the McCarthy Cup? If you want to attach a" sour taste" to their success I'm afraid you must be part of a very sad minority.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 539 - 23/08/2019 14:00:04    2228776

Replying To midlands:  ""Pauric Maher goes down ROLLING"; Cathal Barrett MAY have received SOME contact". If this is your vision of these incidents how can we take the rest of your comments seriously? How can you be so sure of what Tipp's "team policy" was? Like so many Kilkenny legends, it seems to me that the real motivation for all the whingeing is to devalue Tipperary's victory. How many teams have won seven championship matches on their way to winning the McCarthy Cup? If you want to attach a" sour taste" to their success I'm afraid you must be part of a very sad minority."
In all fairness Pauric Maher's reaction to the little flick was pathetic for one who goes in to be such a titan. Barrett greatly exaggerated his 'hit'. It looks like team policy to me. This is a public forum for giving your opinion. Just because you're in the minority doesn't make you wrong. There's wholesale begrudgery of Kilkenny because of their success over the past 20 years. many of the 'majority' make comments based on anti Kilkenny feeling and puff up the majority. The 'sad' majority in many cases.

Tommy Walsh bounds up after the dirtiest stroke I ever saw pulled on an inter county pitch in 2009. Richie Hogan does the same when he gets a harder shoulder to the head v Tipp than any contact Barrett got. Tipp 2019, nah, not for me. ROLLING, EXAGGERATING. They are turning hurling into soccer.

Tipp 2010, 2016, 2001, 1991 and any other year I remember manly, principled teams. Not divers.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 23/08/2019 15:16:14    2228796

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "In all fairness Pauric Maher's reaction to the little flick was pathetic for one who goes in to be such a titan. Barrett greatly exaggerated his 'hit'. It looks like team policy to me. This is a public forum for giving your opinion. Just because you're in the minority doesn't make you wrong. There's wholesale begrudgery of Kilkenny because of their success over the past 20 years. many of the 'majority' make comments based on anti Kilkenny feeling and puff up the majority. The 'sad' majority in many cases.

Tommy Walsh bounds up after the dirtiest stroke I ever saw pulled on an inter county pitch in 2009. Richie Hogan does the same when he gets a harder shoulder to the head v Tipp than any contact Barrett got. Tipp 2019, nah, not for me. ROLLING, EXAGGERATING. They are turning hurling into soccer.

Tipp 2010, 2016, 2001, 1991 and any other year I remember manly, principled teams. Not divers."
*Hogan v Cork hit this year not Tipp

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 23/08/2019 15:21:34    2228797

Cody thinks it's yellow,
We all know it's red.
No matter how you see it,
It's an elbow to the head.

An enquiry now is what he wants,
To try to clear his name,
But if you strike above the neck,
Then hang your head in shame.

For decades now it's utilized
And for years they got away.
That flailing hurl or helmet nudge,
Will catch you out some day

A player himself he knows too well,
Well he that is no fool.
When tempers up and blood near boil,
Is time to keep the cool.

When whistle blows and all is done,
And Champions get the crown,
Extend the hand to congratulate,
No place for that Cody frown.

So stop you whining pussy cats,
Cause we don't give a f**k,
It's the Premier boys in blue & gold,
That get the McCarthy Cup!

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 23/08/2019 15:33:54    2228799

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "In all fairness Pauric Maher's reaction to the little flick was pathetic for one who goes in to be such a titan. Barrett greatly exaggerated his 'hit'. It looks like team policy to me. This is a public forum for giving your opinion. Just because you're in the minority doesn't make you wrong. There's wholesale begrudgery of Kilkenny because of their success over the past 20 years. many of the 'majority' make comments based on anti Kilkenny feeling and puff up the majority. The 'sad' majority in many cases.

Tipp 2010, 2016, 2001, 1991 and any other year I remember manly, principled teams. Not divers."
I agree wholeheartedly with your posts.

Congratulations to Tipperary on their all-ireland win, it was probably inevitable even if Kilkenny had 15 men. But this is not the Tipperary of yore. They are looking to get players sent off in this years championship. It's a sad trend to see entering our great game. It looks planned and systematic. I never begruddged Tipp an all ireland when they beat us. However i can only luke warmly congratulate Tipperary colleagues and friends over this win. 2010 it was not.

Defaulter1831 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 40 - 23/08/2019 15:34:14    2228800

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Cody thinks it's yellow,
We all know it's red.
No matter how you see it,
It's an elbow to the head.

An enquiry now is what he wants,
To try to clear his name,
But if you strike above the neck,
Then hang your head in shame.

For decades now it's utilized
And for years they got away.
That flailing hurl or helmet nudge,
Will catch you out some day

A player himself he knows too well,
Well he that is no fool.
When tempers up and blood near boil,
Is time to keep the cool.

When whistle blows and all is done,
And Champions get the crown,
Extend the hand to congratulate,
No place for that Cody frown.

So stop you whining pussy cats,
Cause we don't give a f**k,
It's the Premier boys in blue & gold,
That get the McCarthy Cup!"
So stop you whining pussy cats, Cause we don't give a f**k, It's the Premier boys in blue & gold, That get the McCarthy Cup!"

There'll always be an asterix beside 2019 and ye know it.
Like 1989 (John Denton, Tony Keady affair reported by Tipp men and Antrim in the final). That was another one won by taking out opposition men through cute ho*orism!

I was delighted for ye in 2010, 2001, 1991, 2016 when ye WON your all-irelands.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 23/08/2019 15:42:19    2228805

Absolute nonsense to suggest our players are trying to get opposition players sent off.

I was listening to the GAA Hour to see if JJ was whining too and Parkinson made two good points:

1/ he compared the hit Barrett took to that in a boxing fight where it looks innocuous but the guy receiving it is suddenly panned out on the canvass.

2/ it happened on the sideline near the Tipp medical team who were over like a flash and made sure he had to follow proper concussion protocol before going back onto the pitch. That didn't help Hogan's cause but at that stage the welfare of our player was more important than how it looked in front of the refereeing team.

The longer this drags on with Kilkenny fans moaning about the result, the worse they are looking. I have tried to drag conversation back to the actual match and even complimented the performance of some of the Kilkenny players and there is no interest in that. Paul Murphy had a great game and looks like he is back close to his 2014/ 2015 form.

You are trying to devalue our all Ireland and if this thread keeps going on a circular daily basis for the next 20 years you'll neither take the win away from us or devalue it.

If I was a Kilkenny fan i'd be pissed off that Cody and his backroom team didn't come up with any half decent plan to try to stay in the game or get back into it. It must have been a torturous second half for neutrals fans to watch. Other things i'd be dismayed about if I was a Kilkenny would be starting Mullen and Buckley, both were clearly not right. Aylward, Billy Ryan, and Leahy must be annoyed that they were overlooked for players who weren't fully match fit.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 23/08/2019 15:53:07    2228809

Replying To ballydalane:  "I have to laugh when people say Cody, an old age pensioner, "intimidates" opposing managers, most of them several decades his junior!

"Reffing the matches", "berating linesmen", hmm, reminds me of another high profile hurling manager. And at least Cody has never ran onto the field to attack an opposing player, what was that about?!"
No he save that for refs. Then got cute and enlisted the likes of Eddie keher to do it through the media. Crying for the poor families of the players who gets sent off, no player should be sent off he said, think of what it does to their families and friends!!.
Jackie tyrell moaning, he was singing Buckley's praises in the semi, didn't hit more than two balls but hit everything else that moved. Jackie's book is a good read if you want to get an idea of kks approach to the game. Rules...,. What rules!!!!
I hope this is a, turning point in the game where players get sent off for Red card offences and refs get the backing from the organisation or else the game will continue to be lawless and just end up being a battle of attrition.
A friend of mine always gives out to me when I give out about the refs and points out that you get the refs you deserve.

over35hurler (Cork) - Posts: 36 - 23/08/2019 16:06:51    2228812

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Have been writing for over a decade od KK blanket approach to managing not just the players on the field but also manipulating officials and the media. Below is another example of this. Dilute the gravity of the offense {ah sure everybody does it " so as to get another " get out of jail card". Parade out your heroes of yesteryear and pundits of today who have access to a microphone preach the message.
This is great psychology, unfortunately also another case of Murphy's dog who was great o give it but he couldn't take it" .

Here is latest salvo from D on his cousin.J.. he forgot to mention that Richie goes to mass and communion every morning. hehehe and all that.

DJ Carey believes up to five players could have been sent off in last Sunday's All-Ireland SHC final if the rules had been properly applied.
Carey's second cousin Richie Hogan was the only one to see red and his controversial 33rd minute dismissal had a huge bearing on the outcome as Tipperary put Kilkenny's 14 men to the sword in the second half.
Speaking to KCLR Radio, the Kilkenny legend stated: "If the GAA has brought in a directive, my understanding of the directive is that a head-high challenge is a red card so there could have been five guys sent off.
"But are we going down the road now of really ruining the game and forget the Richie Hogan sending off, that's done with, but where does it actually stop?

-----------------------------------
On a personal note I am rapidly losing respect for some of these now retired hurling heroes whom I have greatly admired until now barring "the fast one" who should have been banned from the game a long time ago for unsavory tackles, instead of bei gallowed to pontificate on the Sunday game and twitter."
So now DJ thinks five should have been sent off (one for every step over the allowed four, that he used to take) if the rules were properly applied. Well now DJ in every walk of life people do things that they should not do, but it's only when they are CAUGHT that the sanctions apply. To give a simple example, 40 cars can drive through a 60 kph zone at 75 kph but Joe Blogs drives at 72 kph, he is stopped and given a speeding ticket. Does he decide to take his chance in court with the defence that a whole lot of drivers also broke the limit, that he was no different just that he got caught, all the rest should be fined as well? No I don't think so, Richie Hogan's case and DJ's appeal are exactly the same. No point in trying to drag everybody else down with you.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 23/08/2019 16:08:59    2228814

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "So stop you whining pussy cats, Cause we don't give a f**k, It's the Premier boys in blue & gold, That get the McCarthy Cup!"

There'll always be an asterix beside 2019 and ye know it.
Like 1989 (John Denton, Tony Keady affair reported by Tipp men and Antrim in the final). That was another one won by taking out opposition men through cute ho*orism!

I was delighted for ye in 2010, 2001, 1991, 2016 when ye WON your all-irelands."
Asterix beside an All Ireland winning team. Say that aloud a couple of times and see how that sounds.

I note you didn't add 2009 into the asterix years...

Anyway getting back to the game. The key change Tipp made was putting Padraic Maher on Walter Walsh. O'Meara goal came from Maher winning the next Kilkenny puck out. Also Maher got a clear block in at Walter's shot at goal in the second half. That switch was worth six points on those two moments.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 23/08/2019 16:16:42    2228816

Replying To Defaulter1831:  "I agree wholeheartedly with your posts.

Congratulations to Tipperary on their all-ireland win, it was probably inevitable even if Kilkenny had 15 men. But this is not the Tipperary of yore. They are looking to get players sent off in this years championship. It's a sad trend to see entering our great game. It looks planned and systematic. I never begruddged Tipp an all ireland when they beat us. However i can only luke warmly congratulate Tipperary colleagues and friends over this win. 2010 it was not."
I'll tell you whats sad to see in the game. Lads that cant take their punishment. When you elbow someone in the head now God's name do you expect to get off. And it's crazy the delusion from some ex players and some of the stuff said in the media.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 23/08/2019 16:25:56    2228818

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Absolute nonsense to suggest our players are trying to get opposition players sent off.

I was listening to the GAA Hour to see if JJ was whining too and Parkinson made two good points:

1/ he compared the hit Barrett took to that in a boxing fight where it looks innocuous but the guy receiving it is suddenly panned out on the canvass.

2/ it happened on the sideline near the Tipp medical team who were over like a flash and made sure he had to follow proper concussion protocol before going back onto the pitch. That didn't help Hogan's cause but at that stage the welfare of our player was more important than how it looked in front of the refereeing team.

The longer this drags on with Kilkenny fans moaning about the result, the worse they are looking. I have tried to drag conversation back to the actual match and even complimented the performance of some of the Kilkenny players and there is no interest in that. Paul Murphy had a great game and looks like he is back close to his 2014/ 2015 form.

You are trying to devalue our all Ireland and if this thread keeps going on a circular daily basis for the next 20 years you'll neither take the win away from us or devalue it.

If I was a Kilkenny fan i'd be pissed off that Cody and his backroom team didn't come up with any half decent plan to try to stay in the game or get back into it. It must have been a torturous second half for neutrals fans to watch. Other things i'd be dismayed about if I was a Kilkenny would be starting Mullen and Buckley, both were clearly not right. Aylward, Billy Ryan, and Leahy must be annoyed that they were overlooked for players who weren't fully match fit."
Whatever about planning it, you would have to admit against Laois it was embarrassing. Laois player flicks back the hurl and he goes down like he's shot. The same man ended Michael Rices carrier with a wild pull shattering his finger in seven places and he didn't even go down like that. For a man that is bursting out of his jersey you'd expect more.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 23/08/2019 16:32:28    2228821

Replying To sourmilk93:  "I'll tell you whats sad to see in the game. Lads that cant take their punishment. When you elbow someone in the head now God's name do you expect to get off. And it's crazy the delusion from some ex players and some of the stuff said in the media."
I tell you what's sad, there is a high profile controversial incident that has rightly or wrongly been discussed for five days now and you still haven't the wherewithal to realise that no one was elbowed in the head.

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 23/08/2019 17:27:29    2228828

It is so sad that this conversation (sending off) dominates the hurling years topics. I suspect it would not have got so much oxygen but for the stance taken by the ex-great Kilkenny players and Cody. If you polled the country outside of Kilkenny 99% would support the referee's action. The same percentage or close would have the opinion that Kilkenny do not support or like rules that are applied to them.
On up for the game the great Fan Larkin. Those wonderful battle between him and Ray cummins will always be remembered. However he scoffed at the use of two referees and technology. Further proof of the ingrained Kilkenny resistance to anything that would ever help a referee, adjudicate on scores and control illegal play in the game. The reality is Fan as great as he was would need a bicycle to keep up with the players in todays game.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2653 - 23/08/2019 18:11:33    2228838

Replying To Faithfull:  "Whatever about planning it, you would have to admit against Laois it was embarrassing. Laois player flicks back the hurl and he goes down like he's shot. The same man ended Michael Rices carrier with a wild pull shattering his finger in seven places and he didn't even go down like that. For a man that is bursting out of his jersey you'd expect more."
I'll be honest with you, i'm trying to recall the Laois sending off. From what I remember of it Maher did make a meal of it.

As for Michael Rice's injury nobody wants to see a player's career effectively end after a challenge like that (he tried hard to get back). No right minded Tipp fan or player would take any pleasure from it. Michael Rice was a great player for Kilkenny and seems like a top bloke too. Padraic Maher was wound up because Tipp were being thrashed, TJ and other Kilkenny players were hanging out of him and cynically fouling him. He shouldn't have reacted to it, I don't condone his wild challenge on Rice, I assume he didn't mean to injure him, and I am not defending him either.

Going back to the point about Tipp adopting a tactic of getting opposition players sent off/ booked is insulting to Liam Sheedy and the whole panel (players and management).

All I am seeing here all week is reasons to discredit Tipp's All Ireland win. Limerick were the first team to win under this new structure and were rightfully lauded for it. We won 7 out of 8 games, this was a hard won title.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 23/08/2019 18:23:14    2228841

Replying To Faithfull:  "Whatever about planning it, you would have to admit against Laois it was embarrassing. Laois player flicks back the hurl and he goes down like he's shot. The same man ended Michael Rices carrier with a wild pull shattering his finger in seven places and he didn't even go down like that. For a man that is bursting out of his jersey you'd expect more."
Get your facts right Faithfull. Maher didn't end Michael Rice's career (nor even his carrier). In fact Rice played in the league final the following spring (2013), but suffered a cruciate ligament injury in 2014 year which effectively ended his inter-county career, although he did go on to win an Intermediate All-Ireland with his club Carrickshock in 2117.

Then again, it's hard to take seriously someone who selected Joey Holden on their team of the year, ahead of such players as Liam Ryan, Cathal Barrett, Paul Murphy and Richie English, among others.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 539 - 23/08/2019 18:24:10    2228842

Now you're taking Faithfull. The big show boater can give it but can't take it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zzAIbUnhWw

A major consensus from many boys to paint KIlkenny as dirty. Kilkenny didn't end too many careers. Tipp did, Michael Rice, Tommy Walsh 1967. Hells Kitchen they romantically call the hatchetmen Doyle, Carey and Maher.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 23/08/2019 18:43:13    2228845

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "I tell you what's sad, there is a high profile controversial incident that has rightly or wrongly been discussed for five days now and you still haven't the wherewithal to realise that no one was elbowed in the head."
Seriously??? What is really embarrassing though is the likes of Offaly men coming on here as 'cheerleaders' for KK, have they no self pride....any wonder they are now a Christy Ring county......

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 23/08/2019 19:19:06    2228853

Replying To over35hurler:  "No he save that for refs. Then got cute and enlisted the likes of Eddie keher to do it through the media. Crying for the poor families of the players who gets sent off, no player should be sent off he said, think of what it does to their families and friends!!.
Jackie tyrell moaning, he was singing Buckley's praises in the semi, didn't hit more than two balls but hit everything else that moved. Jackie's book is a good read if you want to get an idea of kks approach to the game. Rules...,. What rules!!!!
I hope this is a, turning point in the game where players get sent off for Red card offences and refs get the backing from the organisation or else the game will continue to be lawless and just end up being a battle of attrition.
A friend of mine always gives out to me when I give out about the refs and points out that you get the refs you deserve."
Did you think Bill Cooper's shoulder charge to the head of Richie Hogan in the QF should have been a red card offence?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 23/08/2019 19:26:22    2228856

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Seriously??? What is really embarrassing though is the likes of Offaly men coming on here as 'cheerleaders' for KK, have they no self pride....any wonder they are now a Christy Ring county......"
They're as entitled to support Kilkenny as you are to support Tipp.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 23/08/2019 19:32:44    2228858