Is David Clifford The Best Footballer In The Country Right Now?

Michael Murphy and Brian Fenton are a long way ahead of him at the moment.

They can do everything and their overall contribution is ridiculous.

Clifford is an amazing player and I think he will go on to be one of the great forwards- no doubt

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 17/07/2019 12:16:46    2212299

Replying To reithi:  "Yes he seems another brilliant prospect"
He's a serious footballer, has it all like mark o'connor.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/07/2019 12:20:05    2212304

Replying To offyertrolley:  "Is Paul O'Shea the red headed lad from last year's minors?"
No he had black hair, he was last years minor captain and is a cousin of Clifford's.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/07/2019 12:28:15    2212312

No doubting his quality and skill but for me full forwards are only as good as what goes on out the field and for that reason I wouldn't have full forward as the best footballer.

Murphy for me is probably the most influential player out there at the moment for his ability to dictate the game. Add into that the havoc he can cause when he goes in full forward, for my money he is the most complete player in the country and the best footballer.

Antifa (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 17/07/2019 13:15:39    2212331

In the words of Colm O'Rourke, "We will have to wait a little longer for the coronation"

He is a fine young player but there were many better out there today.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/07/2019 18:59:03    2214176

McHugh was brilliant.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/07/2019 19:48:46    2214215

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "In the words of Colm O'Rourke, "We will have to wait a little longer for the coronation"

He is a fine young player but there were many better out there today."
Very harsh comments from o'Rourke, David was double covered a lot and got some very harsh treatment off the ball yet still scored three points. Most forwards would be delighted with that.

I do agree he has things to learn at this level though, his decision making will improve in time. Looking at Michael Murphy today I think he is unquestionably the best around right now, he can do everything.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 21/07/2019 20:32:37    2214253

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "In the words of Colm O'Rourke, "We will have to wait a little longer for the coronation"

Double marked today for large parts muck but he'll learn from that and he still got 3/4 points.

There is no panic.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/07/2019 20:37:29    2214256

I think alot of that can be put down to Stephen McMenamin who was again magnificent today. I watched them go at it closely today and Stephen had some job. The intelligent movement of Clifford really is something else. Donegal were lucky on a couple of occasions when down to a deflected pass or not seeing the pass Clifford could have been in largely made from the space he created for himself.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 21/07/2019 20:51:41    2214268

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Double marked today for large parts muck but he'll learn from that and he still got 3/4 points.

There is no panic."
Exactly, he still got 3 good points from play and only 1 error from what I remember. Not bad for a 20 year old who had a supposed off-day against one of the best teams in the country.

He is still well on track for an All-Star.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 21/07/2019 21:08:07    2214289

The lad is 20.
What were Murphy doing at 20, Did he have threads questioning his greatness.
Without sounding ar arrogant but ill take the word of Mikey Sheehy or Maurice Fitz about this boys potential.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 21/07/2019 21:27:51    2214303

I thought his movement was absolutely fantastic and to think he is on the upward curve. He's not the best in the country right now, but he will be. A real gem of a player to watch.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 21/07/2019 21:28:57    2214307

Clifford is awesome but Michael Murphy is simply a colossus. He beggars belief. Ryan McHugh was exceptional too. The link up play between him and Murphy is different class.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 21/07/2019 22:03:43    2214347

Replying To westkerry:  "The lad is 20.
Without sounding ar arrogant but ill take the word of Mikey Sheehy or Maurice Fitz about this boys potential."
Murphy captained us to Sam Maguire at 23 so yeah, I think he was doing pretty well back then too.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 21/07/2019 22:21:49    2214368

What about Oisin Gallen? Still under 20 next year and got difficult points off both feet in maximum pressure situations esp the one off the left. Plus was also central in the build up to penalty and botched goal immediately after. To think some Donegal posters thought he might not have made much difference for the under twenties against Fermanagh a few weeks ago.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 21/07/2019 23:16:17    2214406

Replying To westkerry:  "The lad is 20.
Without sounding ar arrogant but ill take the word of Mikey Sheehy or Maurice Fitz about this boys potential."
Nobody questioning his ability just the wisdom of crowning a young fella as "the best footballer in Ireland" on the strength of one performance.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/07/2019 23:18:39    2214408

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Murphy captained us to Sam Maguire at 23 so yeah, I think he was doing pretty well back then too."
Yep thats 23 pal not 20.
Im not questioning Murphy he is class, but he is also playing for a ling time.
Clifford is a kid.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 21/07/2019 23:19:07    2214409

I think David Clifford in time has the potential to become one of the greatest, its clear he has significant talent, pace, height, strength etc.

Is he the best in the Country right now? I would say no, that's something a top players will have to establish repeatedly against the top sides in the Country on the biggest stage of them all. But he will be on that platform in future, I think the media should let him breath a little, he is still very young.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 22/07/2019 08:25:44    2214468

Replying To westkerry:  "Yep thats 23 pal not 20.
Im not questioning Murphy he is class, but he is also playing for a ling time.
Clifford is a kid."
To clarify you lads are making comparisons with a lad playing since 2007 and and 20 year old playing his second year.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/07/2019 09:41:28    2214493

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Nobody questioning his ability just the wisdom of crowning a young fella as "the best footballer in Ireland" on the strength of one performance."
Totally agree. Clifford is a wonderful talent and will hopefully continue to develop and improve. But on yesterday's evidence Murphy is the more complete footballer. He has many more years of experience and it showed.

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 22/07/2019 09:46:36    2214496