Sean Cavanagh Kerry Fans Dogs/Animals

To be fair to the lad, Sean has never come across as the most cerebral.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 12/07/2019 13:42:57    2209946

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ye are only the usurpers realdub ;-)

Jays I just started watching Chernobyl on sky last night, scary stuff and I had forgotten a lot of what went on as I was only a young lad at the time ."
Horrific lad

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 12/07/2019 13:49:15    2209948

Replying To offyertrolley:  "Your logic implies that because the supporter is loyal to a smaller, less successful team then that individual's views on the game are invalid. Are you also implying that everyone who follows Barcelona is therefore an expert? It's pretty obvious what you're driving at. Is this the kind of condescending attitude that Mr Cavanagh was alluding to? A strange ideology, but you're a definitely a blue shirt."
Boom, brilliant comment.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 12/07/2019 13:49:19    2209949

Replying To offyertrolley:  "
Replying To blueshirt1:  "[quote=offyertrolley:  "[quote=lilylanger:  "We were the last team to win an all ireland outside of Dublin

Well whoop di do! Fair play."
Haha, well whoop di do indeed!"
If I were you I would be more concerned about the your own counties short comings than preoccupying yourself with mine.
Oh and by the way disdainful comments like yours equate to condescension, ergo pot/kettle and all that.
You're like the lad who is a jack Russell thinking he is a Dobermann, all noise, if you pardon the analogy, ironic given the title of the thread"]Haha, Call me a dog if you wish. Different words, same blue shirt ideology. The criticism of your attitude still stands though It is a deluded bigoted condescension.
Disdainful? Whoop di do! I found the other poster's comment humorous. And I know precisely where my own county stands in the pecking order. I'm not under any illusions about that. Even if it was only promotion from division four for us this year it was a wonderful experience. You're sitting at the top table permanently, yet all you do is whinge and whine. It's quite comical. But your attitude stinks."]Here Here .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 12/07/2019 14:00:57    2209957

Replying To Breezy:  "Anyone else think that all this your fans are the worst / most violent / overzealous / smug arrogant fans thing is getting a bit silly.

Ive seen bad fans from many counties Limerick included and usually young lads who get put in their place by older wiser folk from their own crowd.

To be honest I was one myself at times in my younger days. Never violent but I shouted plenty of offensive stuff I shouldnt have in my youth"
100% agree with your first line!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 12/07/2019 14:10:47    2209959

Replying To AnFear16:  "Sorry Seanie and I don't want to sound biased one bit but Colm Cooper has undoubtedly been the best footballer over the last 20 years. I even remember Colm O' Rourke pulling Joe Brolly on it when he said it was Michael Murphy."
Yeah I had thought about that line carefully as Gooch is certainly a lot of people's choice hence use of word arguably. Bit of bias on my behalf from seeing a lot of cavanagh in the flesh over the years playing against us when he was worth at least 4 or 5 points consistently over a decade in every game against us and his performance levels were consistently high dominating possession in a lot of games. Rarely could be marked out of it. He just comes across as a terrible pundit playing to the gallery with the shock jock views. He will get away with it because of who he is. Tyrone have far better media performers such as enda McGinley Brian mcguigan etc who don't feel the need to slag off other counties supporters. Cavanagh is lining himself up to be a poor man's Joe Brolly.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 12/07/2019 14:15:08    2209961

Been at a fair few matches involving kerry over the last 20 years and never once seen an issue with their fans. Always came across very calm and knowledgeable. Maybe it's different in kerry but every county has it's fair share of loppers who turn up at home matches.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 12/07/2019 14:53:32    2209982

Cavanagh is a shocking pundit. But then again it is currently impossible to give an accurate opinion on Gaelic football at the minute as the standard is so poor. Far better if the Sunday game highlights show just showed highlights of all games and have no pundits at all. They all have the same mantra, talk up a tier 2, don't talk about the Dublin funding imbalance etc

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 13/07/2019 17:58:51    2210296

Was at that game. We were well beaten. I thought the Kerry fans were pretty respectful. Not even a chorus of "cheerio, cheerio" as we were leaving, which I fully expected! And I thought the fans staying around for MH afterwards was just lovely old-fashioned good manners to a bloke who had suffered a terrible personal loss which surely puts football into perspective. The Tyrone board at the time thanked the Kerry fans for their "classy" behaviour; and you could only endorse that. Didn't hear what SC said, but it seems inexplicable and illogical. I've never had any issue with any county's fans, in nearly 50 years of going to matches. There'll always be a few drunk yahoos and a few generally decent folk losing the plot; so what; if you're that sensitive, stick to the bowls.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 13/07/2019 19:08:17    2210321

Replying To Thelonesomegoose:  "Cavanagh is a shocking pundit. But then again it is currently impossible to give an accurate opinion on Gaelic football at the minute as the standard is so poor. Far better if the Sunday game highlights show just showed highlights of all games and have no pundits at all. They all have the same mantra, talk up a tier 2, don't talk about the Dublin funding imbalance etc"
Like the highlights on TG4

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 13/07/2019 19:51:07    2210333

Replying To essmac:  "Was at that game. We were well beaten. I thought the Kerry fans were pretty respectful. Not even a chorus of "cheerio, cheerio" as we were leaving, which I fully expected! And I thought the fans staying around for MH afterwards was just lovely old-fashioned good manners to a bloke who had suffered a terrible personal loss which surely puts football into perspective. The Tyrone board at the time thanked the Kerry fans for their "classy" behaviour; and you could only endorse that. Didn't hear what SC said, but it seems inexplicable and illogical. I've never had any issue with any county's fans, in nearly 50 years of going to matches. There'll always be a few drunk yahoos and a few generally decent folk losing the plot; so what; if you're that sensitive, stick to the bowls."
Well said.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 13/07/2019 20:26:14    2210351

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "He didn't even mention Dublin, as he knows who the real big dogs are, he even called us dogs.

I don't mind being compared to a dog or an animal as you could be compared to a lot worse."
What would that be like some class of a fish is it ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 13/07/2019 21:59:23    2210417

Replying To catch22:  "What would that be like some class of a fish is it ?"
Donegal catch22.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/07/2019 22:08:45    2210435

Hah Sean Cavanagh, what did you think of that!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/07/2019 12:36:30    2211304