Super 8 General Discussion

the super 8 is not working it will be scraped after next year .

lor12 (Wicklow) - Posts: 238 - 23/07/2019 00:10:00    2215054

Replying To Whammo86:  "This is probably as close to a friendly as you can get. If Donegal and Kerry are through I don't think there's any advantage to finishing top of the group. If Mayo beat Donegal, maybe it is worth winning to avoid Kerry."
So Dublin and Tyrone are going to stroll around the field despite the paying public taking their families to the game. I doubt that and if you think Micky Harte and Jim Galvin are telling their players to go out and take it handy then your mistaken. It will be a competitive and hard game of football. Tyrone fear a spanking, Dublin fear a loss of any kind. Players are also fighting for their places.

If anything Dublin might hold off on the big guns and see whether or not as game progresses if they are all needed.

Both want a win, no doubt. Pride man.

RedHand_Pastyface (Tyrone) - Posts: 16 - 23/07/2019 08:19:31    2215070

Not sure if mentioned already but the Super 8s really suit Dublin with regards to their strength in depth in their panel. Look at what's happening to Donegal and Mayo.

In the pre 2001 days Donegal would have been straight into an all ireland semi after winning Ulster. From 2001-2017 they would have had 2 less games (those added by the BS that is the 'Super' 8s) and into a quarter final. All these games in quick succession are hurting the teams below Dublin. They haven't the quality in numbers 16-40 to replace all their injuries.

Also over the last 2 years, especially this year, Dublin seem to have moved on even further in conditioning, prehab, rehab that they pick up very few injuries. Johnny Cooper, back now. And James McCarthy returned really quickly after his injury. Good luck to James, he's a great player. I'm not wishing injury on anyone.

However in every aspect of the game Dublin are given advantages.. 2 home games in the Super 8s, benefitting from reffing decisions as evidenced by card and foul counts etc, money, a large panel to cope with more games, huge population.

I posted other years that it was up to other counties to come up to Dublin's level. But this year has been a watershed for me, it's just impossible to ignore the facts any longer.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 23/07/2019 13:45:12    2215253

Replying To RedHand_Pastyface:  "So Dublin and Tyrone are going to stroll around the field despite the paying public taking their families to the game. I doubt that and if you think Micky Harte and Jim Galvin are telling their players to go out and take it handy then your mistaken. It will be a competitive and hard game of football. Tyrone fear a spanking, Dublin fear a loss of any kind. Players are also fighting for their places.

If anything Dublin might hold off on the big guns and see whether or not as game progresses if they are all needed.

Both want a win, no doubt. Pride man."
I think both have bigger fish to fry.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4215 - 23/07/2019 16:34:36    2215336

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Not sure if mentioned already but the Super 8s really suit Dublin with regards to their strength in depth in their panel. Look at what's happening to Donegal and Mayo.

In the pre 2001 days Donegal would have been straight into an all ireland semi after winning Ulster. From 2001-2017 they would have had 2 less games (those added by the BS that is the 'Super' 8s) and into a quarter final. All these games in quick succession are hurting the teams below Dublin. They haven't the quality in numbers 16-40 to replace all their injuries.

Also over the last 2 years, especially this year, Dublin seem to have moved on even further in conditioning, prehab, rehab that they pick up very few injuries. Johnny Cooper, back now. And James McCarthy returned really quickly after his injury. Good luck to James, he's a great player. I'm not wishing injury on anyone.

However in every aspect of the game Dublin are given advantages.. 2 home games in the Super 8s, benefitting from reffing decisions as evidenced by card and foul counts etc, money, a large panel to cope with more games, huge population.

I posted other years that it was up to other counties to come up to Dublin's level. But this year has been a watershed for me, it's just impossible to ignore the facts any longer."
ZZZZzzzzz!!!! Honestly the list just grows and grows doesn't it. This is just a small selection of the many advantages whinge points that have been posted during the last few weeks...

Home advantage
Money
Nutrition (Dublin get hot meals)
Cameras (Dublin can afford to have a couple of cameras at U20 game)
Population
Refereeing decisions
Don't get many injuries
Recover quickly from injuries
Couple of their players have cars
Referees favour Dublin
Dubs don't have to travel to training

Honestly it's embarrassing. You'd swear that Dublin don't have to train, don't have to live their lives like monks and be disciplined instead of being out enjoying themselves like other fellas their age. These lads make huge sacrifices. From witnessing this particular group for the past decade, my opinion is that they are incredibly hard working, extremely humble, dedicated to their county and sport, charitable, obliging, inspirational, restrained, role models and it has been a privilege to support such a great bunch of fellas who have to put up with a level of begrudgery and disrespect that I've never witnessed in 40 years or so of following all sports. It's incredible to see some of the absolute muck that is dragged up in sad attempts to besmirch and to belittle their incredible achievements. We're a nation of begrudgers unfortunately.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/07/2019 16:43:59    2215340

Replying To Joxer:  "ZZZZzzzzz!!!! Honestly the list just grows and grows doesn't it. This is just a small selection of the many advantages whinge points that have been posted during the last few weeks...

Home advantage
Money
Population
Refereeing decisions
Don't get many injuries
Referees favour Dublin

Honestly it's embarrassing. You'd swear that Dublin don't have to train, don't have to live their lives like monks and be disciplined instead of being out enjoying themselves like other fellas their age. These lads make huge sacrifices. From witnessing this particular group for the past decade, my opinion is that they are incredibly hard working, extremely humble, dedicated to their county and sport, charitable, obliging, inspirational, restrained, role models and it has been a privilege to support such a great bunch of fellas who have to put up with a level of begrudgery and disrespect that I've never witnessed in 40 years or so of following all sports. It's incredible to see some of the absolute muck that is dragged up in sad attempts to besmirch and to belittle their incredible achievements. We're a nation of begrudgers unfortunately."
You can 'ZZZZzzzzz!!!!' all you like but those are the facts. The dice is loaded from the start each year. And all the Dubs on here know it.

And it's not begrudgery to question your advantages. We're to sit back like stooges and say fair play..when it's not fair play. Kilkenny's 2006-2009 team deserve the mantle of greatness because it wasn't bought.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 23/07/2019 17:26:18    2215361

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "You can 'ZZZZzzzzz!!!!' all you like but those are the facts. The dice is loaded from the start each year. And all the Dubs on here know it.

And it's not begrudgery to question your advantages. We're to sit back like stooges and say fair play..when it's not fair play. Kilkenny's 2006-2009 team deserve the mantle of greatness because it wasn't bought."
List each advantage, bear in mind relativity in terms of population, grant sizes etc, state why it's an advantage, state your proposal to neutralise it and then, only then, might a lazy charge receive some credence. Referee decisions. Laughable.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/07/2019 17:33:44    2215364

Replying To Joxer:  "ZZZZzzzzz!!!! Honestly the list just grows and grows doesn't it. This is just a small selection of the many advantages whinge points that have been posted during the last few weeks...

Home advantage
Money
Population
Refereeing decisions
Don't get many injuries
Referees favour Dublin

Honestly it's embarrassing. You'd swear that Dublin don't have to train, don't have to live their lives like monks and be disciplined instead of being out enjoying themselves like other fellas their age. These lads make huge sacrifices. From witnessing this particular group for the past decade, my opinion is that they are incredibly hard working, extremely humble, dedicated to their county and sport, charitable, obliging, inspirational, restrained, role models and it has been a privilege to support such a great bunch of fellas who have to put up with a level of begrudgery and disrespect that I've never witnessed in 40 years or so of following all sports. It's incredible to see some of the absolute muck that is dragged up in sad attempts to besmirch and to belittle their incredible achievements. We're a nation of begrudgers unfortunately."
Alot of dubs like yourself seem to be getting very agitated as the majority of people outside Dublin can see the situation for what it really is. I think you can see from all the attention the favouritism the dubs have been getting has increased significantly over the last while and its understandle Dublin fans are getting upset. It must be tough to defend facts that oppose your blinkered view on the reality of the situation.

I think alot of Dublin fans would feel alot better if they accepted that the situation is heavily balanced in Dublins favour while at the same time they do have a good team which has taken advantage of these conditions. Then we can all move on.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 23/07/2019 17:56:24    2215376

It's the lack of respect that drives us dubs on ,all Ireland day is a dubs day out now ,live with it

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/07/2019 18:17:19    2215385

Dublin have one massive advantage. They have far too many good players. Croke Park need to take at least 10 and give them to other counties!!

It is getting boring at this stage. There is a Dublin in every county in Ireland at club level. It's not their fault they have a large population and have now organised their club and county coaching to produce top players. With the large population and businesses located in Dublin they will ofcourse get better sponsorship and fair play to them.

There is advantages they have that other countries don't but again not their fault and these are mostly logistical. They can have collective training easier than the rural counties. It could take over 2 hours for some lads in Donegal to get to training at times. When we get to the business end of the championship the games are in Croke Park. Again this is a logistical advantage as the Dublin players can stay in their own homes and eat their usual meals etc. Visiting teams stay in hotels and may have to deal with reduced quality of meals, travelling, difficulty sleeping etc..

I admire this Dublin team and what they have achieved and if we don't win the AI I certainly wouldn't begrudge then the 5b in a row.

If the GAA want some balance then they could take the neutral Super 8 game's out of CP and put caps and minimum funding levels based on playing populations of each county.

Anyway back to the Super 8's. If we can get our injuries cleared up then we can beat Mayo and it really doesn't matter who we play after that as Tyrone will be much better than our last meeting, I honestly don't think they cared that evening. Dublin will be the acid test if we get a crack at them and hopefully if we do we'll play like last weekend as it's our best hope of winning. Our defence isn't great so better going man for man and leaving our forwards advanced as they are our strength.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 23/07/2019 18:18:41    2215387

Replying To Joxer:  "List each advantage, bear in mind relativity in terms of population, grant sizes etc, state why it's an advantage, state your proposal to neutralise it and then, only then, might a lazy charge receive some credence. Referee decisions. Laughable."
This article does a pretty good job at that.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/0614/1055359-dublin-funding/

"Dublin received approximately 14% of the overall fund. In 2018 this figure rose to 22%. By comparison, second on the list was Meath, who received 6% of the pot.

Tyrone, who lost to Dublin in last year's All-Ireland final, received 2% (€119,000)"

Between 2007 and 2018, Dublin received almost €18m in coaching/game development grants directly from Croke Park. Cork are second with €1.4m, with Derry (€1.3m), Meath (€1.1m), Kildare, Laois, Antrim, Wicklow, Wexford and Offaly taking in just over €1m in that time period.

So dublin have a population of 1.3 million vs cork population of 550k. So to keep it fair Dublin should have 3 times the funding of cork as thre population is just under 3 times higher than corks. In reality dublin have 13 times the funding than cork.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 23/07/2019 18:20:00    2215388

Replying To Joxer:  "List each advantage, bear in mind relativity in terms of population, grant sizes etc, state why it's an advantage, state your proposal to neutralise it and then, only then, might a lazy charge receive some credence. Referee decisions. Laughable."
Referee decisions always go in favour of the Dubs. They are given soft frees to pad out their lead in the early stages of most games. An exception was Gough's reffing Dublin v Cork.

Did you watch the U20 Leinster final or attend it? Just about sums up reffing and the Dubs.

There's no point expanding on what's been well discussed on about 20 threads. The financial doping being the worst of all.

The begrudgrey argument is a strawman. I applauded Kilkenny's 4 in a row. Was happy for the Dubs to break their 7 year Leinster famine in football in 2002, happy for Shane Lowry etc. But this is a different animal and has led to firstly, anger among GAA people across the country, followed by apathy.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 23/07/2019 18:49:44    2215395

Replying To kevin03:  "This article does a pretty good job at that.

"Dublin received approximately 14% of the overall fund. In 2018 this figure rose to 22%. By comparison, second on the list was Meath, who received 6% of the pot.

Tyrone, who lost to Dublin in last year's All-Ireland final, received 2% (€119,000)"

Between 2007 and 2018, Dublin received almost €18m in coaching/game development grants directly from Croke Park. Cork are second with €1.4m, with Derry (€1.3m), Meath (€1.1m), Kildare, Laois, Antrim, Wicklow, Wexford and Offaly taking in just over €1m in that time period.

So dublin have a population of 1.3 million vs cork population of 550k. So to keep it fair Dublin should have 3 times the funding of cork as thre population is just under 3 times higher than corks. In reality dublin have 13 times the funding than cork."
Also in 10 years since funding began(2007) dublin have won 6 all ireland.

A 10 year period before the funding began 1996-2006 Dublin won 0 all Irelands. It really doesn't take a genius to work out dublin money =success

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 23/07/2019 19:04:02    2215398

Replying To kevin03:  "This article does a pretty good job at that.

So dublin have a population of 1.3 million vs cork population of 550k. So to keep it fair Dublin should have 3 times the funding of cork as thre population is just under 3 times higher than corks. In reality dublin have 13 times the funding than cork."
The dubs will tell you that money doesn't matter and hasn't contributed to their success :-) but they won't say no to the money at the same time.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/07/2019 19:14:20    2215399

Replying To hipster:  "It's the lack of respect that drives us dubs on ,all Ireland day is a dubs day out now ,live with it"
And there was Horan thinking it was all down to volunteers - shows how little he knows.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 23/07/2019 19:23:53    2215404

Replying To hipster:  "It's the lack of respect that drives us dubs on ,all Ireland day is a dubs day out now ,live with it"
Sums it up a lot of Dublin fans. A day out. Event junkies. Probably can't name the clubs players come from.Lucky it doesn't clash with the Picnic.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 23/07/2019 19:29:04    2215407

Dublin's sports science is another key component. Moderated posts do not allow further comment on this. People have to research for themselves.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7838 - 23/07/2019 19:39:28    2215413

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The dubs will tell you that money doesn't matter and hasn't contributed to their success :-) but they won't say no to the money at the same time."
No we learned that from the good folks of Kerry

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/07/2019 20:01:46    2215420

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The dubs will tell you that money doesn't matter and hasn't contributed to their success :-) but they won't say no to the money at the same time."
We learned a lot from Micko and his 'good deals'. He was the man who challenged the amateur ethos of the GAA by introducing the whole idea of commercial support for teams. You cannot 'whitewash that fact. There has always been plenty of financial support for Kerry PLC.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/07/2019 20:27:25    2215430

Replying To hipster:  "No we learned that from the good folks of Kerry"
Hi we had to work for our money and success and we still do and we won all our allirelands away from home.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/07/2019 20:31:21    2215433