2019 State Aid Free Championship

Brillaint! :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/07/2019 13:24:22    2205895

Replying To legendzxix:  "In the 2019 State Aid Free Championship we are being treated to some good football.

Ulster was described as the new Munster Hurling Championship!

Roscommon shocked Mayo and then Galway.

Limerick claimed Tipperary's scalp against the odds. Clare made a battle of it against Kerry while others were watching the Champions League final! Cork and Kerry was an open and attacking provincial final.

There have been some great games in the qualifiers in recent weeks.

Football in the State Aid Free Championship has been good and entertaining. State Aid Free have to meet State Aid at some stage. This is where things will change.

The Super 8 State Aid Free Group looks like anyone will get out of the group.

The State Aid group should see an interesting game in Dr. Hyde Park."
Well said, you are a bit like don quixote, convinced he slaying dragons which where actually windmills. It is some prejudice you are shouldering.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 05/07/2019 13:27:31    2205898

Replying To Jaden:  "I heard you on the wireless back in eighty-two
Wide-eyed wonder at what Darby did to you
That poor defense just couldn't stop him coming through
Oh, a, oh

They put a stop to your quintuple victory
And prevented you from making history
And now I understand how bitter you must be

Oh, a, oh
I met your minors
Oh a oh
What did you tell them?
Dub-e-lin killed Gaelic football
The Biffos came and broke your heart
Oh, a, a, a, oh

And we may meet yet in the same scenario
Can you stop us, just like Offaly long ago?
Or will you be denied by Cormac Costello?

Oh, a, oh
You had the first try
Oh, a, oh
Spillane will cry
On the Hill and on the pitch,
We'll only win 'cos we're so rich.
Oh, a,…"
Ahh this is one the funniest posts I've read in a long time. Genius.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 05/07/2019 13:49:58    2205907

Cavan v Tyrone and Galway v Mayo should be two good games tomorrow.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 05/07/2019 14:31:19    2205917

Replying To legendzxix:  "Cavan v Tyrone and Galway v Mayo should be two good games tomorrow."
Ye they should be, leg end.

But, leg end, let's not get off topic.

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 05/07/2019 17:04:55    2205972

Clare have been going well in recent years. They've maintained Division 2 status unlike Cork and Tipperary.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 05/07/2019 21:55:49    2206041

Replying To legendzxix:  "Clare have been going well in recent years. They've maintained Division 2 status unlike Cork and Tipperary."
Not against your lot there not .

2016 Kerry 2-23 - 0-17 Clare
2017 Kerry 1-18 - 1-12 Clare
2018 Kerry 0-32 - 0-10 Clare
2019 Kerry 1-15 - 0-12 Clare

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 06/07/2019 07:54:29    2206113

Replying To superbluedub:  "Not against your lot there not .

2016 Kerry 2-23 - 0-17 Clare
2017 Kerry 1-18 - 1-12 Clare
2018 Kerry 0-32 - 0-10 Clare
2019 Kerry 1-15 - 0-12 Clare"
You see, this is a clear difference between my honesty and your waffle.

Kerry and Dublin have always set a high standard in their respective provinces. People often overlook that difficult challenge for their fellow opponents.

What has changed? Kerry are operating as normal. There is a rural depopulation issue but that's outside of football. Dublin received state aid. Is it right? Is it fair? Should being the capital mean an unequal investment of funding?

We've had a good Ulster and Connaught championship this year. There is a good standard of football amongst the best in Ulster, the best in Connaught and Kerry. There is that gap then to the professional setup in the capital. Rural counties boards didn't support Donegal's motion.

I have respect for the efforts being put in by the rural chasing pack against all the odds. I have no admiration for professional English women winning an amateur Six Nations. I have no respect for the Russian boxer who beat Conlan at the Olympics. Success can be bought. That is clear across many sports. Respect however cannot be bought. You can fool some of the people some of the time but you cannot fool all of the people all of the time.

Now let's get on with enjoying the courage of the rural challenge.

Is mise le meas,

The Legend.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 06/07/2019 09:35:35    2206145

Replying To legendzxix:  "You see, this is a clear difference between my honesty and your waffle.

Kerry and Dublin have always set a high standard in their respective provinces. People often overlook that difficult challenge for their fellow opponents.

What has changed? Kerry are operating as normal. There is a rural depopulation issue but that's outside of football. Dublin received state aid. Is it right? Is it fair? Should being the capital mean an unequal investment of funding?

We've had a good Ulster and Connaught championship this year. There is a good standard of football amongst the best in Ulster, the best in Connaught and Kerry. There is that gap then to the professional setup in the capital. Rural counties boards didn't support Donegal's motion.

I have respect for the efforts being put in by the rural chasing pack against all the odds. I have no admiration for professional English women winning an amateur Six Nations. I have no respect for the Russian boxer who beat Conlan at the Olympics. Success can be bought. That is clear across many sports. Respect however cannot be bought. You can fool some of the people some of the time but you cannot fool all of the people all of the time.

Is mise le meas,

The Legend."
Your talking nonsense,conlon and all other Olympic boxers are or were in an eleite group (high performance something I can't remember) wanted for nothing and were personally sports grant funded so didn't have to work,so could train as professionals. All of the top ranked football and hurling counties receive benifits and the like from employers and sponsors, sure the dogs in the street know this, even at club level managers and coaches get expenses ie payment.face it your just having a hard time of late with your county team .

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 06/07/2019 11:26:43    2206187

Replying To legendzxix:  "You see, this is a clear difference between my honesty and your waffle.

Is mise le meas,

The Legend."
And another thing Conklin and Katie Taylor were beaten because of bad or corrupt judges not by in conlons case which you are referring to by a better athlete who you claim was a pro a poor auld colon an amateur with no arse in his shorts.

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 06/07/2019 17:48:57    2206326

Congrats to Kildare

Current minor & U20 Leinster Champions & All Ireland Champions

Hugely impressive and the work being done in Kildare must be top drawer

Quick.. FFS

Split Dublin!

Thank feck we have an outstanding senior side!

Despite all the "advantages" despite the funding going into underage in schools which these kids would have benefited from... ( which is supposedly responsible for the sky falling down over certain hysterical posters counties)

We can't seem to buy ourselves an underage title...

But.. but.. all the funding... I'm so confused!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/07/2019 21:26:09    2206507

Replying To jimbodub:  "Congrats to Kildare

Current minor & U20 Leinster Champions & All Ireland Champions

Hugely impressive and the work being done in Kildare must be top drawer

Quick.. FFS

Split Dublin!

Thank feck we have an outstanding senior side!

Despite all the "advantages" despite the funding going into underage in schools which these kids would have benefited from... ( which is supposedly responsible for the sky falling down over certain hysterical posters counties)

We can't seem to buy ourselves an underage title...

But.. but.. all the funding... I'm so confused!"
But Jim this is impossible is it not? Our tropical keyboard warrior in South America and all of his disciples have been telling us for months now that population plus money = success? I'm not getting this. Have Kildare just annexed Dublin and inherited 1.6m heads? Have they won the euro millions? Home advantage (tropical keyboard warrior), referees (Eamon Sweeney), financial "doping" (tropical keyboard warrior). I'm not getting this. How come these upstarts from the horsey county are winning championships with the big ball? This is all wrong. It contradicts the winning formula as laid out by our South American correspondent. What county is he from again?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/07/2019 23:24:27    2206648

Do any of the Dubs want to plot the average age of your senior team over the last 4 years?

A games promotion officer working for Dublin GAA from 2008-2011, could see the runaway train hurtling down the tracks. He calls it the industrialisation of GAA football talent development, a phrase that described how France, Germany, Spain, and England have streamlined their structures and mobilised their considerable financial resources to develop young talent in football. It is no surprise that the last three FIFA World Cup winners are contained in that list.

His own philosophy for sports performance is in the benefit of small, incremental steps of improvement, all leading towards long-term, sustainable development. You need stability, a philosophy, an environment, a culture, a plan. And, most of all, you need good people all rowing together in the same direction. Dublin have cracked that.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 07/07/2019 14:43:59    2207009

Replying To legendzxix:  "Do any of the Dubs want to plot the average age of your senior team over the last 4 years?

A games promotion officer working for Dublin GAA from 2008-2011, could see the runaway train hurtling down the tracks. He calls it the industrialisation of GAA football talent development, a phrase that described how France, Germany, Spain, and England have streamlined their structures and mobilised their considerable financial resources to develop young talent in football. It is no surprise that the last three FIFA World Cup winners are contained in that list.

His own philosophy for sports performance is in the benefit of small, incremental steps of improvement, all leading towards long-term, sustainable development. You need stability, a philosophy, an environment, a culture, a plan. And, most of all, you need good people all rowing together in the same direction. Dublin have cracked that."
I just can't believe that you took 15m out of your life to type that tripe. Every thread now is hijacked by a couple of Kerry men endlessly trotting out the same old guff. It's like a Des O'Connor song with the needle stuck in a groove at the chorus, playing repeatedly. No matter how many times you try to drown Des out with a decent tune, he just raises his voice. Change the record pal.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/07/2019 15:34:04    2207041

Replying To Joxer:  "I just can't believe that you took 15m out of your life to type that tripe. Every thread now is hijacked by a couple of Kerry men endlessly trotting out the same old guff. It's like a Des O'Connor song with the needle stuck in a groove at the chorus, playing repeatedly. No matter how many times you try to drown Des out with a decent tune, he just raises his voice. Change the record pal."
You didn't answer the question about the average age of the Dublin team. Why respond at all?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 07/07/2019 16:44:34    2207091

Replying To Joxer:  "I just can't believe that you took 15m out of your life to type that tripe. Every thread now is hijacked by a couple of Kerry men endlessly trotting out the same old guff. It's like a Des O'Connor song with the needle stuck in a groove at the chorus, playing repeatedly. No matter how many times you try to drown Des out with a decent tune, he just raises his voice. Change the record pal."
Joxer do yourself a favor and google the lads posts they show up in many publications. He's here doing copy research.

All you can do is complain to the editor of those publications. Maybe we can get a campaign going. ;)

I've had him clocked this long time.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/07/2019 17:02:55    2207110

I think that the main point of the issue is being missed here.
This isn't 'Nah Nah Nah Nah, my team is better than your team' play ground stuff. This really is about our game & the future of it and the passing on of the rich tradition to future generations.
It is about massive collective pride that supporters feel as they head to Gaelic Grounds around the island to watch their team. It It is about that sense of place & a tradition so uniquely Irish. An amateurism and a raw authenticity that is rarely seen in other sports today.
The issue is about equity, plain and simple. A strategic review is needed now as to how resources are allocated. If Dublin didn't win a game in the past 10 years. how resources are allocated is still wrong.
I hope that Horan does get the numbers analysed, and does so with an independent reviewer - unfortunately I am not confident that this will happen & as we have seen many times, numbers can support any chosen narrative.
We need a different approach or we will lose something incredibly special.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 07/07/2019 17:12:30    2207123

Replying To TheUsername:  "Joxer do yourself a favor and google the lads posts they show up in many publications. He's here doing copy research.

All you can do is complain to the editor of those publications. Maybe we can get a campaign going. ;)

I've had him clocked this long time."
Same!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/07/2019 17:51:10    2207152

Replying To greysoil:  "I think that the main point of the issue is being missed here.
This isn't 'Nah Nah Nah Nah, my team is better than your team' play ground stuff. This really is about our game & the future of it and the passing on of the rich tradition to future generations.
It is about massive collective pride that supporters feel as they head to Gaelic Grounds around the island to watch their team. It It is about that sense of place & a tradition so uniquely Irish. An amateurism and a raw authenticity that is rarely seen in other sports today.
The issue is about equity, plain and simple. A strategic review is needed now as to how resources are allocated. If Dublin didn't win a game in the past 10 years. how resources are allocated is still wrong.
I hope that Horan does get the numbers analysed, and does so with an independent reviewer - unfortunately I am not confident that this will happen & as we have seen many times, numbers can support any chosen narrative.
We need a different approach or we will lose something incredibly special."
You better hope not, it could be argued that Monaghan are totally financially doped. If you are making an argument about finance = success, then the relative success of Monaghan under Malachi O Rourke and recent minor success can be attributed to one of the highest GDF to population ratio out there.

Just to be clear I'm not saying it is, simply pointing that by the premise of your argument, we can discount any real authenticity from Monaghans relative achievements, those unique atmospheres you describe experienced by a financial leg up. If Monaghan was to have equity with Dublin there GDF would be halved and likely back in Div 3 were they started.

Breakdown of GDF, per head of population:

Monaghan GDF 124.000, Population of Monaghan 60.483 = 2.05 per head.

Dublin GDF 1.3 mill, population 1.34 mill, ratio = 97 cent per head.

Kerry GDF 197.600 euro, population of Kerry 147.000, ratio = 1.34 euro per head.

Mayo GDF 134.29 euro, population of Mayo, 130.5k, ratio = 1.02 euro per head.

Tyrone GDF 119.000 euro, population 177.9k = 66 cent per head

Galway GDF 184.4k euro, population 258.0k = 71cent per head.

Donegal GDF 130.2k euro, population 159.1k = 81 cent per head.

Kildare GDF 341.3k euro, population 222.5k = 1.53 euro per head

Roscommon GDF, 146k euro, population 66.5k = 2.2 euro per head.

Cork GDF, 249k euro, population 542k = 45 cent per head.

Meath GDF, 367.4k, population 195.0 = 1.88 euro per head."

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/07/2019 17:55:57    2207157

Replying To TheUsername:  "You better hope not, it could be argued that Monaghan are totally financially doped. If you are making an argument about finance = success, then the relative success of Monaghan under Malachi O Rourke and recent minor success can be attributed to one of the highest GDF to population ratio out there.

Just to be clear I'm not saying it is, simply pointing that by the premise of your argument, we can discount any real authenticity from Monaghans relative achievements, those unique atmospheres you describe experienced by a financial leg up. If Monaghan was to have equity with Dublin there GDF would be halved and likely back in Div 3 were they started.

Breakdown of GDF, per head of population:

Monaghan GDF 124.000, Population of Monaghan 60.483 = 2.05 per head.

Dublin GDF 1.3 mill, population 1.34 mill, ratio = 97 cent per head.

Kerry GDF 197.600 euro, population of Kerry 147.000, ratio = 1.34 euro per head.

Mayo GDF 134.29 euro, population of Mayo, 130.5k, ratio = 1.02 euro per head.

Tyrone GDF 119.000 euro, population 177.9k = 66 cent per head

Galway GDF 184.4k euro, population 258.0k = 71cent per head.

Donegal GDF 130.2k euro, population 159.1k = 81 cent per head.

Kildare GDF 341.3k euro, population 222.5k = 1.53 euro per head

Roscommon GDF, 146k euro, population 66.5k = 2.2 euro per head.

Cork GDF, 249k euro, population 542k = 45 cent per head.

Meath GDF, 367.4k, population 195.0 = 1.88 euro per head.""
You definitely in PR - repeating the same message & hoping it sticks. As I said in my post, numbers can support any argument & frankly I am weary of your purposely misleading per head numbers Seamus.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 07/07/2019 18:02:41    2207175