2019 State Aid Free Championship

Replying To legendzxix:  "They will look back and ask why was a province participating in the inter-county championship?"
Will they really like ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/07/2019 16:55:08    2205530

Replying To superbluedub:  "Will they really like ?"
No. No they won't.

The hysterical mutterings won't be either but they'll know themselves how much they overreacted and if they had any sort of drive for self improvement, they might even learn something from it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/07/2019 17:06:45    2205534

Replying To jimbodub:  "No. No they won't.

The hysterical mutterings won't be either but they'll know themselves how much they overreacted and if they had any sort of drive for self improvement, they might even learn something from it"
LOL.....

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/07/2019 17:11:06    2205537

Replying To superbluedub:  "LOL....."
It truly is funny.

Dubs will soon lose some of the greatest players to ever wear the jersey and we've only been 2-3 players better across this decade so for all the embarrassing hysterical efforts it'll soon all become clear and they'll slip away back into the ether once their own are winning again.

That's until they lose.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/07/2019 17:17:12    2205541

Replying To jimbodub:  "It truly is funny.

Dubs will soon lose some of the greatest players to ever wear the jersey and we've only been 2-3 players better across this decade so for all the embarrassing hysterical efforts it'll soon all become clear and they'll slip away back into the ether once their own are winning again.

That's until they lose."
Oh it's truly historically funny jim,

Gaelic football is dead and Dublin killed it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/07/2019 18:54:29    2205574

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Oh it's truly historically funny jim,

Gaelic football is dead and Dublin killed it."
In fairness I don't think Dublin killed Gaelic football - the GAA greed & short sighted leadership have done this, they have made Gaelic football the Red-crested Bustard of modern day sport.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 04/07/2019 20:45:57    2205610

Like video killed the radio star. Tragic.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 04/07/2019 20:47:14    2205611

You put that line the Buggles tune "Video Killed the Radio Star"- "Dub-e-lin killed Gaelic football...."

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 04/07/2019 20:57:21    2205624

Sensationalist hysteria

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/07/2019 21:01:48    2205627

Replying To jimbodub:  "Sensationalist hysteria"
Jesus, they must be in a total panic down in the Kingdom at this stage. The Kerry lads are really going for it.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 04/07/2019 21:14:33    2205633

37 All Irelands , 81 Munsters , and Kid Gaelic football is dead and Kerry killed it -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/07/2019 21:17:14    2205635

Replying To avonali:  "Jesus, they must be in a total panic down in the Kingdom at this stage. The Kerry lads are really going for it."
Making idiots out of themselves is what they are doing -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/07/2019 21:19:38    2205637

How many minors in a row is it now? If you think the game is dead then yous have played your part and on an other note if all the minor success comes through will you have such misgivings? Wouldn't think so.

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 04/07/2019 21:51:05    2205650

Replying To avonali:  "Jesus, they must be in a total panic down in the Kingdom at this stage. The Kerry lads are really going for it."
What is there to admire about professional English Women's Rugby winning an amateur Six Nations?

We haven't been at the races. We've taken our medicine and gotten on with it. It's our rural state aid free brethren that I feel sorry for. Like Conlan losing out to a Russian boxer in the Olympics, there are injustices in sport.

Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone, Galway and Mayo are not shying away from the challenge. They have a professional code to crack. The odds are against them like Conlan v the Russian boxer, but they are in there fighting.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 04/07/2019 22:04:29    2205658

Replying To legendzxix:  "What is there to admire about professional English Women's Rugby winning an amateur Six Nations?

We haven't been at the races. We've taken our medicine and gotten on with it. It's our rural state aid free brethren that I feel sorry for. Like Conlan losing out to a Russian boxer in the Olympics, there are injustices in sport.

Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone, Galway and Mayo are not shying away from the challenge. They have a professional code to crack. The odds are against them like Conlan v the Russian boxer, but they are in there fighting."
Yea right 37 ALL Irelands . 81 Munsters , pull the other one

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/07/2019 22:11:54    2205660

Replying To jimbodub:  "As it currently stands

NFL Dub 1 2019 Champs - Mayo
NHL Champs 2019 - Limerick
All Ireland Senior Hurling Champs - Limerick
All Ireland Senior Football Champs - Dublin
All Ireland U20 Football Champs - Kildare
All Ireland U21 Hurling Champs - Tipperary
All Ireland Minor Football Champs - Kerry
All Ireland Minor Hurling Champs - Galway

Good healthy spread of titles to 7 counties with Limerick being the standout success.

Munster own 4 of the available National titles and are the standout province.

That's a very healthy spread of All Ireland's isn't it.

The best players can be found across that spread.

The day will soon come when Dublin won't be in the list above, just like the other counties will chop and change as other counties with better players win the same titles.

The level of hysteria about one specific form of the game will soon become very embarrassing for plenty of people."
Very healthy spread and clearly no one county dominating across those competitions, money or no money. Who is the most dominant county among those listed there in those competitions? I think it's Kerry minor footballers isn't it, they've won 5 in a row? Looks like the minor football championship is dead.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/07/2019 22:29:42    2205675

Replying To Joxer:  "Very healthy spread and clearly no one county dominating across those competitions, money or no money. Who is the most dominant county among those listed there in those competitions? I think it's Kerry minor footballers isn't it, they've won 5 in a row? Looks like the minor football championship is dead."
Yes it is very healthy

Mayo winning a National title

Limerick being All Ireland champs

And good news for Leinster with Kildare winning the U20 championship

They all had one thing in common. They had the superior panel of players to win

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/07/2019 23:08:11    2205696

I hope this statement was written in haste... because if not...God help us all !

The Dubs gave been phenomenal both on and off the field. They have in the main shown us all how the game should be played. Football is not dead. The Dubs are superb at the moment. But other teams will come along too. The Dubs should be enjoyed for what they have brought to the table... Not mocked and ridiculed. Fair play to Jim Gavin and his team !

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 05/07/2019 01:00:49    2205716

Historically funny?

Is that when something from the past is funny?

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 05/07/2019 06:10:41    2205725

Replying To avonali:  "You put that line the Buggles tune "Video Killed the Radio Star"- "Dub-e-lin killed Gaelic football....""
I heard you on the wireless back in eighty-two
Wide-eyed wonder at what Darby did to you
That poor defense just couldn't stop him coming through
Oh, a, oh

They put a stop to your quintuple victory
And prevented you from making history
And now I understand how bitter you must be

Oh, a, oh
I met your minors
Oh a oh
What did you tell them?
Dub-e-lin killed Gaelic football
The Biffos came and broke your heart
Oh, a, a, a, oh

And we may meet yet in the same scenario
Can you stop us, just like Offaly long ago?
Or will you be denied by Cormac Costello?

Oh, a, oh
You had the first try
Oh, a, oh
Spillane will cry
On the Hill and on the pitch,
We'll only win 'cos we're so rich.
Oh, a,…

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 05/07/2019 12:58:33    2205884