The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Besmirch our language! Lol!! Where?

What level did you box to? You're pretty useless aren't you? When was the last time you did a days manual work? And that doesn't include mowing your little box lawn. I've really gotten under your skin. Why do I trigger you so?

Besmirch our language... Do you think you're Michael D?!"
Your ultimate go- to insult is to accuse people of being somehow English. Now you'll say your were joking or on the wind up but that sort of talk is potentially dangerous and I believe it does a huge disservice to Irish to somehow use it as a way of excluding or marginalising people.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/09/2019 17:18:12    2237243

Replying To Defaulter1831:  "There's a very valid reason people have double accounts on various fora.

If, over the course of years, you divulge bits about yourself, where you're from, age, club, family etc you're basically supplying the internet with a lot of information about you. People can check you out on twitter, facebook and so on who are strangers. Why would you make every bit of info about yourself available to strangers. If on boards.ie you become friendly with certain posters you can PM them and share email details if you want to say who you are. So it can be handy to muddy the waters with an extra alias."
It's defamation. Your line about giving out personal information to people online is rubbish. Most adults have the cop on to know what information to share in a particular situation. But that means you have to be an adult. You're just lying to people claiming to be some who you are not. So off with you to Boards. Plenty of people there who are brave with a keyboard but have little to say about anything. Hoganstand will remain a place where posters give their opinions and respect others opinions even if they disagree about them.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 18/09/2019 18:00:38    2237263

Replying To avonali:  "Your ultimate go- to insult is to accuse people of being somehow English. Now you'll say your were joking or on the wind up but that sort of talk is potentially dangerous and I believe it does a huge disservice to Irish to somehow use it as a way of excluding or marginalising people."
Your attempts at proving your intellect and moral superiority are very feeble.

Yes I have an issue with the former British establishment who tried to enslve us. Is that aimed at any individual of whatever background absolutely not. But people who try to be all things to all men don't stand for anything. You preach tolerance yet call people scumbags. Two posts in a row to one of mine, your desire to dominate is all pervasive.

I never said I was big, just you'd have to look up to me due to your petiness, look up to me literally and metaphorically. You portray yourself as a stout blade, but run to admin for help.

Also you never answered the question of how I 'besmirched' the Irish language? I said nature can beat education as gaeilge,in that Kerry's football traditions will see them rise. How does that besmirch the Irish language? You say my alter ego, defaulter1831 is appropriate. Do you know anything about the 1831 defaulters without googling? I don't think so, because you are not terribly informed or knowledgeable.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 18/09/2019 18:17:03    2237268

Replying To Tom1916:  "By the sounds of you I think you have more in common with the british."
That was the poster's intentions it's quite obvious. It's the usual "You're not really Irish" horsesh*te that Ulster Gaels have faced for decades despite the facts and historical evidence.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 18/09/2019 18:54:15    2237275

Replying To GreenandRed:  "It's defamation. Your line about giving out personal information to people online is rubbish. Most adults have the cop on to know what information to share in a particular situation. But that means you have to be an adult. You're just lying to people claiming to be some who you are not. So off with you to Boards. Plenty of people there who are brave with a keyboard but have little to say about anything. Hoganstand will remain a place where posters give their opinions and respect others opinions even if they disagree about them."
If I could give this a thousand green thumbs it wouldn't be enough. Well said!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/09/2019 19:19:29    2237288

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Your attempts at proving your intellect and moral superiority are very feeble.

Yes I have an issue with the former British establishment who tried to enslve us. Is that aimed at any individual of whatever background absolutely not. But people who try to be all things to all men don't stand for anything. You preach tolerance yet call people scumbags. Two posts in a row to one of mine, your desire to dominate is all pervasive.

I never said I was big, just you'd have to look up to me due to your petiness, look up to me literally and metaphorically. You portray yourself as a stout blade, but run to admin for help.

Also you never answered the question of how I 'besmirched' the Irish language? I said nature can beat education as gaeilge,in that Kerry's football traditions will see them rise. How does that besmirch the Irish language? You say my alter ego, defaulter1831 is appropriate. Do you know anything about the 1831 defaulters without googling? I don't think so, because you are not terribly informed or knowledgeable."
Let's take some of your points, one by one.
"But people who try to be all things to all men don't stand for anything"
I find it hilarious that you should write this when (a) you post here from 3 different accounts and 3 different counties. On top of that you denigrate Dublin and yet claim to love aspects of Dublin's history and culture. It doesn't take a person of great intelligence to see the absolute hypocrisy of that nonsense. Your attempts to ingratiate yourself with certain Dublin posters in a hamfisted attempt to conquer and divide is pathetic. Who cares who your have time for and who you don't have time for.
(b) you haven't the courage to admit your county allegiance and make your point. You're just a ducker and diver and think people should look up to you. BS. That's just cowardly behaviour.
C) You posted several posts in a row to me last night- is that indicative of a desire to dominate?
(c) I don't have time for anyone who takes a persons post, alters certain words to twist its meaning and quotes it. That's just the behaviour of an Ould sleeven.. NO tolerance for people who gratuitously insult my county just because they are small minded little bigots.

Don't you realise that many Dublin folk have parents from outside The Pale as you call it.
I have no time for the likes of you. It's nothing to do with intelligence. It's to do with character. You have no credibility and the likes of you destroy forums like this. You cannot make post without insulting people through your various personae.
I'll not be responding to any more of your Bullsh^t.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/09/2019 19:57:07    2237308

Replying To avonali:  "Let's take some of your points, one by one.
"But people who try to be all things to all men don't stand for anything"
I find it hilarious that you should write this when (a) you post here from 3 different accounts and 3 different counties. On top of that you denigrate Dublin and yet claim to love aspects of Dublin's history and culture. It doesn't take a person of great intelligence to see the absolute hypocrisy of that nonsense. Your attempts to ingratiate yourself with certain Dublin posters in a hamfisted attempt to conquer and divide is pathetic. Who cares who your have time for and who you don't have time for.
(b) you haven't the courage to admit your county allegiance and make your point. You're just a ducker and diver and think people should look up to you. BS. That's just cowardly behaviour.
C) You posted several posts in a row to me last night- is that indicative of a desire to dominate?
(c) I don't have time for anyone who takes a persons post, alters certain words to twist its meaning and quotes it. That's just the behaviour of an Ould sleeven.. NO tolerance for people who gratuitously insult my county just because they are small minded little bigots.

Don't you realise that many Dublin folk have parents from outside The Pale as you call it.
I have no time for the likes of you. It's nothing to do with intelligence. It's to do with character. You have no credibility and the likes of you destroy forums like this. You cannot make post without insulting people through your various personae.
I'll not be responding to any more of your Bullsh^t."
You're the one who posted several times in a row!! Again today.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 18/09/2019 22:48:04    2237380