The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage

I think we are coming at the same point from different angles. If they blow for everything it would also be a problem. They are trying to clean up the game and in doing so seem to be causing more confusion. Hogan's elbow wasn't straight out from his body. His upper arm was raised and it caught Barrett on the side of the head. I think it looked a lot worse than it was really. Barrett's hurley to Hogan's face was probably worse but made look nastier by slow motion replays. I'd have given both as a yellow card offence.

Kilkenny have always played the game on the edge but accepted that too. We played them in 2012 and Richie Power was flattened by Wayne McNamara. There were a few shouts from the Kilkenny lads but they got on with it. I don't agree that managers are looking for nothing called against their team. They are looking for consistency in application of the rules. We have seen posts over the last 24 hours mention how James Owens looked at similar incidents in games this year with different results. Surely that is a problem?

I'm not a fan of Jackie Tyrell but I do think he brings something different to the Sunday Game & is quite right to express his opinion strongly. What I find amusing is pundits who in their day would cut you in two and then condemn Richie Hogan for an incident that was angelic in comparison to their actics!! Duignan & Daly were no strangers to lowering the cutting bar when needed. Donal Og fought half the Clare team before even getting on the pitch in 2007. He was red carded v Galway in 2008. They know what the heat of battle is like yet were quick to condemn Hogan.

Canuck wrote:

This is nothing only an excuse from these people to have their team get away with all kinds of sh-t. How well do you think it would go if the ref was totally consistent and called every single thing ? The same people would be shouting, "its a man's game." "Too much blowing ruining the game" etc. etc.. They are not looking for that. Looking for nothing called against their team.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 19/08/2019 22:37:49    2227714

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Morrisey mentioned Seamus Kennedy Clonmel Commercials 4 or 5 times during the first half. Someone who knows better must have pointed it out to him at HT and it was St Marys all the way in the second half. Bluffer. Its the little things that annoy the most."
I think he plays for both. One is the football club and one is hurling.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 20/08/2019 01:35:13    2227744

Replying To browncows:  "You can quote rules which can be interpreted in many different ways- you can also apply the rulebook to the full but many matches would last for 2 hours with many red cards. Rule 5.16 implemented as written could mean a lot of red cards with the 'attempt to strike', as their is lots of knee contact and lots of contact in tackling with hand."
It means if you try to strike someone or attempt to strike someone. I dunno how you can interpret that lots of ways. Its pretty straight forward. Ive played Gaelic Games for quite a while now, and that rule has always been there. Contact while competing honestly for the ball is called tackling not striking. There is also rule that states that players are allowed to tackle. If you are still confused I can dig out that one for you too. Feel free to ask.

The GAA official guide is great. It covers all these topics. And really there aren't many ways to interpret the rules at all, especially rhe rule on striking. They are pretty straight forward actually. It would be a worthwhile exercise for pundits on the Sunday Game to read it. Shefflin struck me as a man who actually doesn't know the rules as written in the Official Guide all that well. Either that or his Kilkenny bias blinded him to it all. Joanne Cantwell exposed him with her questioning at half time.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 20/08/2019 01:59:14    2227745

Replying To slayer:  "How is he embarrassing himself by expressing an opinion?

I agree with Clooney but have no problem with anyone who says it was a Red. Part of what makes the game great is the discussion & opinion it generates. I actually agree with everything Shefflin & Tyrell said also.

If the powers that be want to make the game safer that is fully understandable but then apply the rules consistently. If that happens then a lot of physicality will be taken out of the game."
Thank you Slayer my last comment on this Kilkenny have been superb for so long now best manager in Hurling ever IMO seems like that no one feels too sorry for them bit of jealousy naturally we would all like to be part of a team like them.

There is a lot of inconsistency in referees that's what drives people mad i think that the GAA should leave the rules alone i woulden't agree with 2 referees and from what i am told the VAR in Soccer is ruining the viewing as well there will be odd mistake but overall Hurling is best game in Town.

Final comment if R Hogan had got justice by having a yellow card issued to Barrett perhaps this incident would never have happened

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 888 - 20/08/2019 09:38:26    2227777

Replying To Canuck:  "This is nothing only an excuse from these people to have their team get away with all kinds of sh-t. How well do you think it would go if the ref was totally consistent and called every single thing ? The same people would be shouting, "its a man's game." "Too much blowing ruining the game" etc. etc.. They are not looking for that. Looking for nothing called against their team.
How many times have Henry hit the ball wide when going for a score as good as he was. However if the ref misses one thing he is lambasted. This was a red card and the best thing Jakie and Henry could do is shut their mouth about it. It just show their bias. Both played on a team who constantly stretched the rules and practiced that. I feel sorry for Richie in his moment of madness."
Have to agree with you there. To listen to the excuses Jackie and shefflin were coming out with tragic.
As I said before I'm no fan of Barrett whatsoever, quite an unsavoury character, but when a Lad is charging at you at speed and catches you with an elbow in the jaw (and that's exactly what it was) or course your going to go down.
Luckily for people at home to have the benefit of replays and the last angle proved the referee correct.
Then how the hell can the two lads in the studio not see it for what it was? Yet every other pundit/guest that night agreed he had to go?
Then Brian Cody uncharacteristically then questioning the ref, that you habe to be sure to give a read card, sure he talked to his lineman and didnt rush the decision?
Not the type of attitude I would ever had associated with Kilkenny teams/players who we've seen so often being gracious in defeat or in winning.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 20/08/2019 10:40:37    2227808

Replying To supermon:  "I think he plays for both. One is the football club and one is hurling."
He does play both. But Morrissey didn't know the difference and had to be told. He's just reading from a script and trying to let on he has a clue about Tipp GAA.
I know its pedantic but it bugs me!

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 20/08/2019 10:55:32    2227813

Replying To Bon:  "Have to agree with you there. To listen to the excuses Jackie and shefflin were coming out with tragic.
As I said before I'm no fan of Barrett whatsoever, quite an unsavoury character, but when a Lad is charging at you at speed and catches you with an elbow in the jaw (and that's exactly what it was) or course your going to go down.
Luckily for people at home to have the benefit of replays and the last angle proved the referee correct.
Then how the hell can the two lads in the studio not see it for what it was? Yet every other pundit/guest that night agreed he had to go?
Then Brian Cody uncharacteristically then questioning the ref, that you habe to be sure to give a read card, sure he talked to his lineman and didnt rush the decision?
Not the type of attitude I would ever had associated with Kilkenny teams/players who we've seen so often being gracious in defeat or in winning."
Maybe all the talk about the red card etc is serving as a means of distraction about the game and the performance? Because that would of course take some critical analysis and possible criticism of the tactics, performance etc, easier to just say red card, red card blah blah blah.

I mean i kid you not i was listening to a podcast on the way to work this morning and Michael Duignan was still on about the weather conditions and actually mentioned sleet and hailstones!!!

The mind boggles it really does

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 20/08/2019 11:31:41    2227826

Replying To tearintom:  "Maybe all the talk about the red card etc is serving as a means of distraction about the game and the performance? Because that would of course take some critical analysis and possible criticism of the tactics, performance etc, easier to just say red card, red card blah blah blah.

I mean i kid you not i was listening to a podcast on the way to work this morning and Michael Duignan was still on about the weather conditions and actually mentioned sleet and hailstones!!!

The mind boggles it really does"
Yeah conditions were the same for both teams. Of course the red card changed the game but Kilkenny couldn't adapt to it like tipp did against wexford.
Look its all over, poor final for an average enough year. Fair play to tipp.
See Barrett wants to have a go at Jackie now, meet him in a pub somewhere, nice familiar backdrop.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 20/08/2019 12:44:04    2227851

Thought it strange that no replay or analysis of the incident where Richie Hogan got his nose busted.
Did the cameras have to cut to him sitting in the stand so many times after being sent off?

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 20/08/2019 12:46:15    2227852

Shefflin the Hurler and Shefflin the pundit couldnt be further apart on a scale of 1 to 10. As for Cody going on about the time it took for the red card, you can be sure if Owens whipped it out straight away Cody would be saying he made a rash decision and should have took his time. Ref cant win .

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 20/08/2019 13:04:19    2227860

Simple fix- Sunday Game should have no analyst from a participating county for the live matches

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 20/08/2019 13:23:03    2227873

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Simple fix- Sunday Game should have no analyst from a participating county for the live matches"
That's a pretty good idea. How can you not be biased towards your county :-)

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 20/08/2019 13:31:21    2227879

Replying To Curlew66:  "Thought it strange that no replay or analysis of the incident where Richie Hogan got his nose busted.
Did the cameras have to cut to him sitting in the stand so many times after being sent off?"
Very poor taste to keep showing the player on the big screen. He got a red, probably wanted the ground to swallow him up. Strange that they kept showing him, like as though someone had it in for him.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 20/08/2019 13:33:57    2227880

Replying To slayer:  "That's a pretty good idea. How can you not be biased towards your county :-)"
Surely that should be common sense from the Sunday game

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 20/08/2019 13:47:48    2227887

Bring in Brolly to spice up the hurling, Joanne would not be amused no doubt

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 20/08/2019 14:09:28    2227896

Replying To Curlew66:  "Thought it strange that no replay or analysis of the incident where Richie Hogan got his nose busted.
Did the cameras have to cut to him sitting in the stand so many times after being sent off?"
Look players are often cut with the follow through etc. Richie was struck by Barrett fighting for the ball. Yes clumsy and a yellow card. No intent. Richie took a run at Barrett with his elbow up, hit him while not challenging for the ball. Remember what is important in the game !!! The Ball l!! Red Card. Trying to make comparisons between the two incidents is a red heroin. Richie is not a dirty player but had a moment of madness.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 20/08/2019 14:45:43    2227904

Look players are often cut with the follow through etc. Richie was struck by Barrett fighting for the ball. Yes clumsy and a yellow card. No intent. Richie took a run at Barrett with his elbow up, hit him while not challenging for the ball. Remember what is important in the game !!! The Ball l!! Red Card. Trying to make comparisons between the two incidents is a red heroin. Richie is not a dirty player but had a moment of madness.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 20/08/2019 14:51:06    2227907

Replying To Canuck:  "Look players are often cut with the follow through etc. Richie was struck by Barrett fighting for the ball. Yes clumsy and a yellow card. No intent. Richie took a run at Barrett with his elbow up, hit him while not challenging for the ball. Remember what is important in the game !!! The Ball l!! Red Card. Trying to make comparisons between the two incidents is a red heroin. Richie is not a dirty player but had a moment of madness."
Agree with you Canuck that they were two very different incidents. Yellow card wasn't given to Barrett which may have defused situation and calmed Hogan. Think ref may have got a word in his ear from upstairs as it took fourth camera /side view to convince me where you could see elbow being raised towards the face. KK were competitive for first 30 mins when it was 15 v 15 but ref had to act .. he is not obliged to keep it a contest.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 20/08/2019 15:51:27    2227929

Replying To conordee:  "Shefflin the Hurler and Shefflin the pundit couldnt be further apart on a scale of 1 to 10. As for Cody going on about the time it took for the red card, you can be sure if Owens whipped it out straight away Cody would be saying he made a rash decision and should have took his time. Ref cant win ."
The referee was very indecisive on Sunday.
Why did the ref take so long to issue the red card ?
The ref saw the incident and blew his whistle.
Why check with the linesman the verify that what he saw was what he saw.
As a ref you call what you see instantly, reflex action.
Ref ignored the high stick to the helmet of the Kilkenny player.
He also blew the penalty cal which should have been awarded to Tipp. The player was fouled and he let play continue, without raising his arm which meant he considered that no foul had occurred. When the player was then dragged down in the penalty area he brought the puck out to where the original incident had taken place.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 20/08/2019 16:24:58    2227940

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "The referee was very indecisive on Sunday.
Why did the ref take so long to issue the red card ?
The ref saw the incident and blew his whistle.
Why check with the linesman the verify that what he saw was what he saw.
As a ref you call what you see instantly, reflex action.
Ref ignored the high stick to the helmet of the Kilkenny player.
He also blew the penalty cal which should have been awarded to Tipp. The player was fouled and he let play continue, without raising his arm which meant he considered that no foul had occurred. When the player was then dragged down in the penalty area he brought the puck out to where the original incident had taken place."
That isnt indecisiveness. That's good refereeing
He took his time. Consulted with his assistant to see if they had seen anything different or had more to add to what he had seen.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 20/08/2019 16:36:42    2227946