Connolly Returns

Replying To cavanman47:  "I'd just leave off at this stage. .

Vague messages from months now being spun to make it look as tho they could read Jim Gavin's mind.

The fact of the matter is that Gavin wasn't in control of the Connolly situation until his visa fell thru and he got his 30day ban. Now he's looking to Dublin for game-time and he may or may not get it. Sin e."
Just on the Boston not getting in thing , was he ever going to Boston ? This is a man whose being going to American since 2015 and all of a sudden he can't get in? It doesn't make any sense.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/07/2019 09:43:42    2212218

Replying To qwerty368:  "An overrated player. He has played poorly more often than he has played well in big matches. I'll
be surprised if he sees more than a few minutes of action."
Are you serious?....just watch the second half of the 2017 Final....or the 2013 semi-final....or the 2016 semi-final....
What have you been watching?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/07/2019 09:46:55    2212221

Replying To jimbodub:  "There's a few (some amongst our own) that have to stop believing that Gavin is some sort of authoritarian cold robot

He spoke honestly to the media on the Connolly issue and was deemed to be playing the politician and spinning things..

Some folk really don't have a clue about the man"
"There's a few (some amongst our own) that have to stop believing that Gavin is some sort of authoritarian cold robot."

I think that Gavin is a superb manager, but I detest being told to toe the party line. If I ask a question and it remains unanswered, the question remains no matter how much BS is thrown at it. I'll ask it again. Is the AI a second choice for one of the greatest footballers ever.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 17/07/2019 10:01:32    2212224

Replying To steve097:  ""There's a few (some amongst our own) that have to stop believing that Gavin is some sort of authoritarian cold robot."

I think that Gavin is a superb manager, but I detest being told to toe the party line. If I ask a question and it remains unanswered, the question remains no matter how much BS is thrown at it. I'll ask it again. Is the AI a second choice for one of the greatest footballers ever."
Unless you are the man himself, there is no answer to this question.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 17/07/2019 10:35:24    2212246

The reality is folks is that anyone outside of Jim and Diarmuid themselves probably haven't a clue what the actual situation was before his return. Anything being bandied around is nothing more than speculation and a lot of it wild speculation at that. For those saying Connolly's first choice was the US for the summer then so what if it was? The lad earned a small fortune over there last summer and was due to earn another fortune this summer. Can't blame him for taking that opportunity in order to sort himself out financially especially given his widely publicised financial obligations post legal cases. If this visa thing is legit then it's a blessing in disguise for Dublin and we should welcome him back with open arms and look forward to seeing him step onto the field sooner rather than later.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 17/07/2019 10:42:57    2212252

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Just on the Boston not getting in thing , was he ever going to Boston ? This is a man whose being going to American since 2015 and all of a sudden he can't get in? It doesn't make any sense."
Theres been a serious clampdown in the last 12 months or so on people getting into the states on holiday visas whilst also earning a few bob whilst there.

If you applied under the visa waiver program or visitor or business visa you cannot earn money during your time in america.

Now when its all over the news literally days and hours before Connolly is due to depart for America that hes going to be earning at least 20k during his time there and he rocks up without a nonimmigrant work (as i would say 99% of lads heading for the states in the summer are doing) visa hes going to get turned back

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1325 - 17/07/2019 11:03:47    2212259

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "The reality is folks is that anyone outside of Jim and Diarmuid themselves probably haven't a clue what the actual situation was before his return. Anything being bandied around is nothing more than speculation and a lot of it wild speculation at that. For those saying Connolly's first choice was the US for the summer then so what if it was? The lad earned a small fortune over there last summer and was due to earn another fortune this summer. Can't blame him for taking that opportunity in order to sort himself out financially especially given his widely publicised financial obligations post legal cases. If this visa thing is legit then it's a blessing in disguise for Dublin and we should welcome him back with open arms and look forward to seeing him step onto the field sooner rather than later."
I don't disagree with any of that. Just making the point that I am doubtful about some of the circumstances surrounding his return. I hate being that mushroom.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 17/07/2019 11:15:58    2212265

Replying To keithlemon:  "Absolutely jimbo, the man just doesn't play the media game. I think that frustrates sports journalists because he doesn't give them any great insight, but he doesn't have to. He keeps his own council. He doesn't seek the limelight, all the success is for the team. Amazing manager
I thought that was a lovely touch where he rang Roy Curtis' mam in the hospice to say that Connolly was back just like he promised he would tell her the last time he was in to see her"
Yeah chief

I've had the good fortune of meeting him a number of times. It doesn't surprise me to hear that story at all. He's a gentleman and a great ambassador for our games.
It doesn't mean you have to like him but I've met him as just a normal bloke outside of being the Dublin manager and he's a nice man. Zero ego.

He doesn't give the media very much and I know first hand how much that annoys journalists. I work in media and these men (for the most part) are all just looking for any sort of angle to bolster their career. Gavin knows well that the media didn't help previous Dublin setups very much, a lot of hype etc there's was too much information out there to be exploited.

He has handled the media side of his position brilliantly and if I'm honest I'm delighted it annoys a number of journalists because a fair few are well above themselves and the reason why they don't like Gavin is that he subtly reminds them of their irrelevance.

They hoover up negativity so don't feed the trolls.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 17/07/2019 11:16:43    2212266

Replying To Jackeen:  "Nothing vague about any of my messages. It was Connollys decision. Which is what I've always said. Not Gavin shutting the door on him as has been suggested. It has always been up to the lad himself. Sin é."
Haha

Fair play Jackeen

"Vague messages"

You spoke the truth clearly on the topic and you were consistent.

Don't mind those that are sick to see him back.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 17/07/2019 11:21:24    2212267

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah chief

I've had the good fortune of meeting him a number of times. It doesn't surprise me to hear that story at all. He's a gentleman and a great ambassador for our games.
It doesn't mean you have to like him but I've met him as just a normal bloke outside of being the Dublin manager and he's a nice man. Zero ego.

He doesn't give the media very much and I know first hand how much that annoys journalists. I work in media and these men (for the most part) are all just looking for any sort of angle to bolster their career. Gavin knows well that the media didn't help previous Dublin setups very much, a lot of hype etc there's was too much information out there to be exploited.

He has handled the media side of his position brilliantly and if I'm honest I'm delighted it annoys a number of journalists because a fair few are well above themselves and the reason why they don't like Gavin is that he subtly reminds them of their irrelevance.

They hoover up negativity so don't feed the trolls."
Just a little snippet on this.

Jim recently visited a friends Mum in the hospice, she asked "any chance of Diarmuid Connolly returning", his response was "if it he does you will be the first to know".

Jim visited her in the hospice before he did the interview on Dubs Tv confirming the news, to tell her first he was back.

Class act.

The broader media must be seething, they all sat through is post match interview and conference and he didn't give them a dicky bird, giving the news to our own internal Dub TV.

Love it, keep all the makey upy articles on finance and advantages coming lads, your getting nothing from us ! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/07/2019 11:31:13    2212275

If anyone still thinks Dubs are not cynical.
He was wanted for the team and someone ratted him up to USA immigration, Now he is available

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 17/07/2019 12:24:42    2212307

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just a little snippet on this.

Jim recently visited a friends Mum in the hospice, she asked "any chance of Diarmuid Connolly returning", his response was "if it he does you will be the first to know".

Jim visited her in the hospice before he did the interview on Dubs Tv confirming the news, to tell her first he was back.

Class act.

The broader media must be seething, they all sat through is post match interview and conference and he didn't give them a dicky bird, giving the news to our own internal Dub TV.

Love it, keep all the makey upy articles on finance and advantages coming lads, your getting nothing from us ! ;)"
Thanks Seamie

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 17/07/2019 16:31:13    2212414

Replying To Dubsfan28:  ""Gavin is some sort of authoritarian cold robot"

Don't forget there are a couple here who think if you're not bouncing around on the sideline like a looper screaming your head off then you're a soulless bore or robotic or whatever."
Absolutely chief

I remember Gavin playing for Dublin as if it was only a few years ago, he wasn't afraid to let his emotions go on display. He's in charge now and leads by example. He wants his players to remain calm under pressure and he sets the tone.

The chap has flown in lightning storms under very difficult conditions where a wrong move could take his life or the life of his crew which he ultimately had the ultimate responsibility to protect.

That sort of mind set doesn't lend itself to acting the mick on a side line.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 17/07/2019 18:07:11    2212467

Replying To Jackeen:  "Nothing vague about any of my messages. It was Connollys decision. Which is what I've always said. Not Gavin shutting the door on him as has been suggested. It has always been up to the lad himself. Sin é."
Not doubting you jackeen, but since when has it ever been up to a player to decide whether & when they will join the Dublin county panel not to mention strolling in after your first choice doesn't work out?

A great player & it's great to see him back but something about this just isn't adding up.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/07/2019 19:06:19    2212490

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Not doubting you jackeen, but since when has it ever been up to a player to decide whether & when they will join the Dublin county panel not to mention strolling in after your first choice doesn't work out?

A great player & it's great to see him back but something about this just isn't adding up."
Always Muck. Gavin takes an almost holistic approach with the lads. If it's not the right time for a player for whatever reason be it due to work, college, health or personal reasons he is very accommodating. As I've said many times here, Connollys reasons were of a personal nature and Gavin respected that. I don't think many of us saw him playing this year and we may not see him play at all tbh. I dont know how it all came about with regards to him training again i.e who approached who (whom?) But give me a few days and I'm sure I'll hear. As for your other post on the Donegal thread....arent we the same age? ;)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/07/2019 19:33:40    2212501

Replying To Jackeen:  "Always Muck. Gavin takes an almost holistic approach with the lads. If it's not the right time for a player for whatever reason be it due to work, college, health or personal reasons he is very accommodating. As I've said many times here, Connollys reasons were of a personal nature and Gavin respected that. I don't think many of us saw him playing this year and we may not see him play at all tbh. I dont know how it all came about with regards to him training again i.e who approached who (whom?) But give me a few days and I'm sure I'll hear. As for your other post on the Donegal thread....arent we the same age? ;)"
Am I in with a chance so?

I can read you poetry in my Donegal accent!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/07/2019 21:00:39    2212534

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Am I in with a chance so?

I can read you poetry in my Donegal accent!!!"
Jaysus me nerves :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/07/2019 21:15:50    2212543

Seriously guys. Gavin is (an occasional) pilot - a regular job tbh, and I know. Stop making him out like he is some messiah. Individuals perform their jobs as are expected - flying in storms, landing and taking off in fog, visiting friends in hospital. An ordinary man who would be mortified reading this rubbish

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 17/07/2019 22:43:31    2212577

Nobody on this forum knows what has been going on in the Dublin camp, is going on now and what will go on in the future.

This thread is as useful as piddling into the wind

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 18/07/2019 09:07:16    2212630

Replying To greysoil:  "Seriously guys. Gavin is (an occasional) pilot - a regular job tbh, and I know. Stop making him out like he is some messiah. Individuals perform their jobs as are expected - flying in storms, landing and taking off in fog, visiting friends in hospital. An ordinary man who would be mortified reading this rubbish"
Top manager but I'd be inclined to agree

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 18/07/2019 09:16:25    2212635