Do not blame the steward for playing his role correctly. Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 573 - 01/04/2019 14:47:53 2176997 Link 4 |
It definitely has happened. Back in the mid 00's when the Dubs had the mega hype behind them you would often see a shower of bottles fly down from the hill in different situations. And sometimes for no reason at all. I remember a Meath match I think vs Westmeath. Not sure but we were losing by a lot at half time and the ref was atrocious towards meath. As he was leaving the pitch on the cusack side I'd say about 20 bottles were fired at him from Meath fans. That would have been the early 00's. In 2010 a steward was badly hurt when a louth fan fired a bottle from the upper tier and caught a steward on the head. I presume he was aiming for the ref. I'm sure this has happened hundreds of other times that I didn't witness so it definitely does happen. Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/04/2019 15:16:55 2177009 Link 7 |
Some Kerry fans throwing stuff at the referee as he left the pitch at the end of the semi final in 2016.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 01/04/2019 15:30:36 2177014 Link 4 |
Yeah just goes to show there is good reason for it. They shouldn't sell Fanta or coke bottles in the stadium. Instead they should be poured into plastic or paper cups like you'd get in supermacs or McDonald's.
Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/04/2019 16:22:48 2177029 Link 5 |
The professional stewards are there to do a professional job and maintain safety standards in Croke Park. Thankfully there aren't many but still a few ambulance chasers around who'd be only happy to make a claim after being 'injured' during a pitch invasion. Insurance costs not getting lower and I think Croke Park has a very good safety record. Throw a few thousand people with a few thousand x number of pints in them and that brings more trouble. You can't be lax on safety. Whether the steward knows Tom or he doesn't is irrelevant. The boring answer is 'he was doing his job'. A pity Tom couldn't join the team on the pitch, that a Croke Park official didn't act, talk to a security manager and clear it for Tom. But if the steward had allowed his discretion to let Tom on the pitch he'd have been fired and Croke Park might be looking for a new security firm. GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7991 - 01/04/2019 16:46:59 2177037 Link 4 |
Yeah it's unfortunate that grown adults, in the main part, can't behave themselves but such is life. Like you mentioned I've seen it on the Hill a number of times, but not just Dubs games either, a couple of hurling semi finals of late spring to mind too. MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 01/04/2019 17:08:44 2177041 Link 4 |
Maybe I'm wrong in this, but should Mayo management not have thought about Tom in advance of game and have had a plan in place for him to join his team mates on pitch, in event of a victory? GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 01/04/2019 17:19:08 2177042 Link 5 |
GreenandRed (Mayo) -It depends what your meaning of professional is-sure they get paid! but a little bit of good manners would do most of them no harm and some of them behave as they would need to be managed. browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/04/2019 17:56:14 2177052 Link 5 |
Dont start firing Sambos lads, or ill be left starving by inner city looking women. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 01/04/2019 18:38:33 2177061 Link 4 |
Agreed.
Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 01/04/2019 19:16:11 2177066 Link 0 |
Maybe explain, what's an "INNER CITY LOOKING WOMAN" or maybe better to withdraw such a remark loaded with prejudicial innuendo.
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 893 - 01/04/2019 19:22:56 2177070 Link 0 |
Arra shtop, he's having the craic.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7991 - 01/04/2019 21:18:03 2177101 Link 4 |
Not sure if he answered u but I'm my day she was selling 3 bars for a pound...... presume it's a fiver now and her range has expanded to include poncho's.
Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1921 - 01/04/2019 23:45:54 2177154 Link 1 |
Professional stewards, so you can confirm they have training, Garda vetting & PSA licence ?? Then you mention volunteer stewards, perhaps you can let us know what the breakdown is ??
Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 02/04/2019 13:00:37 2177251 Link 0 |
No I can't. I knew a Wexford man in '99 worked for a firm part time doing that job, minimum wage. I don't suppose they get paid a fortune for a simar job 20 years later. Professional meaning they don't do it voluntarily. Search the name them of the current security and ring them if you want to find out about Garda vetting and PSA licence. GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7991 - 03/04/2019 00:51:53 2177421 Link 4 |
Does anyone know if Tom Parsons got in in the end? The cameras showed the steward stopping him initially but the shot moved away. Perhaps when the Mayo players explained the situation he was let in?? kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 03/04/2019 10:34:57 2177451 Link 0 |
I heard he did but not sure. Hopefully he'll be back for us soon and he'll provide more competition for that midfield..
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7991 - 03/04/2019 10:43:57 2177454 Link 4 |
" The professional stewards are there to do a professional job and maintain safety standards in Croke Park. Thankfully there aren't many but still a few ambulance chasers around who'd be only happy to make a claim after being 'injured' during a pitch invasion. " So you couldn't answer the question but you put up a post as in above quotes. Maybe you could tell us how many Personal injury claims there are now as well, as you say in your post "Thankfully there aren't many" or is that another thing I should ring Croke Park about. Replying to people here and stating things when you don't actually know the facts. Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 03/04/2019 13:23:34 2177482 Link 0 |
I didn't say they are facts. They're my opinion. Would you say people getting paid to do a job are volunteers? I didn't say that all of them were doing their job in a friendly or courteous manner either nor were they being unfriendly to supporters. I haven't heard of many personal injury claims being brought against Croke Park. Again that is my opinion. You seem to think there could be plenty of claims against heavy handed stewards in Croke Park. Perhaps you can inform us of the facts.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7991 - 03/04/2019 13:46:36 2177490 Link 4 |
"Thankfully there aren't many" that statement alone indicates you have some knowledge of the number, when in fact you haven't, regardless of whether its your opinion or not. It indicates that your statement is a statement of fact when in fact your spoofing. "Would you say people getting paid to do a job are volunteers ? ", not even sure where or how this is relevant, but a volunteer usually performs voluntary work which means no pay. Re claims of heavy handed stewards in Croke Park, I witnessed some of the worst behaviour at the 1983 All Ireland final & in 2015 my family were subjected to a torrent of abuse from a steward, when they were in their correct seats, as for complaining to Croke Park, you might as well be pissing into the wind. In 2006 Peter Mc Kenna of Croke Park described some of the behaviour of stewards as loutish & that there would be bans. In 2008 Fr. Liam Kelleher of Cork was manhandled off the field in an appalling manner & the Cork girls were treated badly. there have been loads of incidents stated on here, are they all wrong ? Last year in PUC two elderly men from Clare were very roughly removed from the pitch. If stewards are going to physically manhandle people, the law is that they need the required training & security licence, if they don't have that, then they shouldn't be doing that role & the GAA would be subject to litigation.
Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 03/04/2019 15:21:04 2177513 Link 0 |