Mayo Vs Roscommon

See a tight affair in this one, hard to see where it will go. Will be interesting to see how both teams line out, think Horan will go for a mix of youth and experience; Going for a Mayo win here by a narrow margin.
Mayo +2

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 20/01/2019 16:01:54    2158416

Should be a close one. Roscommon going into the game against Mayo with some momentum after winning the FBD League today. I know some GAA supporters complain about the value of pre season competitions but there's no substitute for winning to give a team a bit of confidence.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 20/01/2019 16:18:33    2158425

Huge crowd will attend I would think. Hopefully a good spectacle for the crowds. I predict a Mayo win.......very tentatively

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 22/01/2019 12:49:22    2158871

Roscommon have not beaten Mayo League or Championship for a long time now, would be a huge boost to them if they could this weekend.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 22/01/2019 12:57:58    2158873

Replying To Rosineri1:  "Roscommon have not beaten Mayo League or Championship for a long time now, would be a huge boost to them if they could this weekend."
From what I have seen in the two FBD Leauge games we have improved defensively but Saturday night will tell us how much we have improved. We have a few injuries to deal with in our full back line but I'm expecting a big performance from roscommon and I'm goin to call a roscommon win by 3.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 22/01/2019 15:08:40    2158908

Going on Mayo league form in the last couple of years along with a few new faces this could be a Roscommon win. This would be more important to them, and that is not meant in a disrespectful manner just a new manager will have them revved up for this.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7900 - 22/01/2019 16:19:50    2158919

Looks like Roscommon will only have 4 of their Connacht final team from last June starting on Saturday night and they have a dreadful record in Castlebar over the last 20 years and the last meeting in MacHale park was 8 point win for Mayo.

The bookies have Mayo 1/3 on to win for a reason.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 22/01/2019 19:03:07    2158962

Can't see Roscommon winning this. The best we can hope for is a draw. Just my opinion and not being negative. Our record in Castlebar is abysmal
Would be delighted to be proven wrong.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 22/01/2019 20:19:23    2158980

Unbelievable turnover we should be 12-1 against a fired up mayo away with horan back looking to get mayo back to winning trophies after 3 years with none.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 22/01/2019 20:22:47    2158983

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Unbelievable turnover we should be 12-1 against a fired up mayo away with horan back looking to get mayo back to winning trophies after 3 years with none."
Not so sure about the fired up. Introduced a lot of new lads in the two FBD games and were extremely lucky to draw both. Haven't seen too many new Lees or Andys out there so it looks like mostly the same old faces for Saturday. Barrett and Cillian out for the forseeable future and haven't seen any sign of Aido, Kev Mc or Paddy Durkan so far. Add in our absymal record in McHale Park and a flying Roscommon, fresh from their hammering of Galway, and it's understandable we are travelling more in hope than in confidence. As for Horan, what's that them insurance lads say about " past performance being no guarantee of future results ". Still I'll go along and wave my little flag, as we're suckers for punishment.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 22/01/2019 21:38:50    2158993

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Not so sure about the fired up. Introduced a lot of new lads in the two FBD games and were extremely lucky to draw both. Haven't seen too many new Lees or Andys out there so it looks like mostly the same old faces for Saturday. Barrett and Cillian out for the forseeable future and haven't seen any sign of Aido, Kev Mc or Paddy Durkan so far. Add in our absymal record in McHale Park and a flying Roscommon, fresh from their hammering of Galway, and it's understandable we are travelling more in hope than in confidence. As for Horan, what's that them insurance lads say about " past performance being no guarantee of future results ". Still I'll go along and wave my little flag, as we're suckers for punishment."
Any small violins? Ye should be winning this by 5points or more.. Let me just say Galway played a full thunder game last weekend and ut wasnt Sunday.. I would pay no heed to that result in Tuam..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 22/01/2019 22:21:06    2159005

Replying To Belclare1:  "Any small violins? Ye should be winning this by 5points or more.. Let me just say Galway played a full thunder game last weekend and ut wasnt Sunday.. I would pay no heed to that result in Tuam.."
Thought I was being overly optimistic if anything. Makes me feel better though, knowing Galway weren't trying at the weekend. Only problem is maybe the Ros weren't trying either!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 22/01/2019 23:05:33    2159014

I will go with Mayo. I haven't seen Roscommon yet and based on players missing along with Horans team eager to make an impression. I've also never seen Roscommon beat us in league or championship in Castlebar....maybe they are due a win against us. Think it will be a close game. A bumper crowd likely to attend.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 23/01/2019 19:55:11    2159160

I'm old to remember the time that MacHale Park was a happy hunting ground for Roscommon but our good run of results in that venue turned for the worst since the crossbar broke in the early 90s.

As been said on here already due to player turn over and injuries we will likely only have 4 of our Connacht final starting team this Saturday, namely the Smith brothers,O Rourke and Kilroy. To pull off an upset we'll need a huge performance our best league performance since beating Donegal away 3 years ago. Mayo as ever against us will be looking to seize control of the middle 8 and put our kick outs under huge pressure so Cunningham and co have a lot of work on their hands to prevent that. I'd expect Horan to pick a seasoned and experienced side. For us the aim is to be competitive v Mayo and see then where it takes us as on our last few visits to Castlebar we haven't been competitive at all.

Monaghan (H),Galway (A),Cavan (A),Kerry (H) are the games we'll need to target for points. Dublin a certain loss and would be a bonus if we pick up a point or 2 v Tyrone or Mayo this weekend.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 23/01/2019 20:43:20    2159167

Mayo team named:

1. Robert Hennelly - Breaffy
2. Eoin O'Donoghue - Belmullet
3. Brendan Harrison - Aghamore
4. Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
5. Lee Keegan - Westport
6. Colm Boyle - Davitts
7. Paddy Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels(C)
8. Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber
9. Donal Vaughan - Castlebar Mitchels
10. Fergal Boland - Aghamore
11. Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy
12. Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
13. Evan Regan - Ballina Stephenites
14. Brian Reape - Bohola Moy Davitts
15. Conor Diskin - Claremorris

Nice blend of youth and experience there. League debut for Reape and Diskin.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 23/01/2019 21:46:43    2159183

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo team named:

5. Lee Keegan - Westport
6. Colm Boyle - Davitts

Nice blend of youth and experience there. League debut for Reape and Diskin."
Interesting to see Aidan starting considering according to his social media he seems to have been travelling a lot in the last month..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 23/01/2019 22:14:16    2159187

5. Lee Keegan - Westport
6. Colm Boyle - Davitts

Im probably being a bit harsh but Hennelly isnt good enough, I dont trust him and he always will have a mistake in him.
Defence is good, solid..Paddy Durcan captain fair play too him, hopefully this year he will be back to attacking and not having to man mark oppositions best forward.
Dont trust Vaughan either. That midfield isnt a pairing that will be dominating any other midfield.
Hopefully Reape and Diskin get a good run of games, even if there not great Sat evening leave them in it.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 23/01/2019 23:19:51    2159195

5. Lee Keegan - Westport
6. Colm Boyle - Davitts

I would have left Micheal Plunkett at 6 and also included Fionn McDonagh. We need to blood players and a home game against Roscommon is the right time to do it. After having trials where 120 plus players participated I'm a little bit disappointed that we've largely gone with the same bunch of players who went down to Kildare last summer. I feel we should have kept Aiden o'Shea, Higgins, keegan, boyler in reserve for this one. People will argue that we need our experienced players playing the league and I agree to a certain extent but we also need to establish new players and I'm a bit disappointed that during the FBD competition more debutants weren't tested but that's water under the bridge now.

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 24/01/2019 07:47:53    2159212

Replying To mayomanic:  "I would have left Micheal Plunkett at 6 and also included Fionn McDonagh. We need to blood players and a home game against Roscommon is the right time to do it. After having trials where 120 plus players participated I'm a little bit disappointed that we've largely gone with the same bunch of players who went down to Kildare last summer. I feel we should have kept Aiden o'Shea, Higgins, keegan, boyler in reserve for this one. People will argue that we need our experienced players playing the league and I agree to a certain extent but we also need to establish new players and I'm a bit disappointed that during the FBD competition more debutants weren't tested but that's water under the bridge now."
Agree on Plunkett and McDonnagh. McCormack is another one I would have included. Hopefully they will see sufficent game time over the league.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 24/01/2019 14:27:32    2159298

I should add Ryan O Donoghue from Belmullet is another promising forward but is currently out injured.

People need to be patient though. Roscommon posters what sort of team will ye have out? Big turnover I'm hearing but first game out and bad weather...this game could be a battle.

Pressure on Mayo to win and improve our dreadful home record of late.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 24/01/2019 14:41:10    2159300