The Drive For Five!

Replying To TheUsername:  "I keep hearing about Kerry and this new era, but i think they are trading of a bit of emperors new clothes really. They haven't been at the races in the past two years and i haven't seen much improvement in the since. People talk about the forward line, bar Clifford their return from their forwards has been poor, no matter how good they look on paper.

Sean O Shea frees have papered over many cracks, hes a dangerous player mind. Isolate Clifford and O Shea and they dont have much else or developing in my opinion. Problems in midfield and further back. Also think Peter Keane was a poor appointment, but the locals seem happy with him so what do i know. They look to me to be trading of reputation as opposed to substance so far this year to me. Think it will take a huge improvement from them to make a final, unless im wildly wrong, which is always possible.

I know what you a mean it would be a cracking fixture on paper final. Though i wouldn't mind them in a semi either, semis tend to be far better games then the final and better atmosphere without all the day trippers who happened on a ticket and corporate head that tend to get tickets for the final, remember 2013."
I agree with everything you're saying there man but with regards Kerry, I dont think they're brilliant but I dont get the galway hype either and mayo are dead men walking. Reckon its ours to lose with donegal probably being the biggest threat.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 01/07/2019 21:38:01    2203987

Replying To waynoI:  "I agree with everything you're saying there man but with regards Kerry, I dont think they're brilliant but I dont get the galway hype either and mayo are dead men walking. Reckon its ours to lose with donegal probably being the biggest threat."
Wayne in '16 and '17 we were saying the same thing about Mayo and then they reach the finals and push us all the way , you can never write them off. I'm not saying your wrong but remember how good they were against Kerry in the league final, if they get momentum their hard to stop especially in CP. Maybe injuries will catch up on them but until their out I'll always be weary of them.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/07/2019 21:50:00    2203992

Replying To waynoI:  "I agree with everything you're saying there man but with regards Kerry, I dont think they're brilliant but I dont get the galway hype either and mayo are dead men walking. Reckon its ours to lose with donegal probably being the biggest threat."
I thought Galway would be a tougher test then they proved in the semi last year, they were tough as teak in the league, but unraveled as the year went on, I suppose it shows the difference between league and championship. They won't hold their nerve against us.

Donegal look good and have three maybe four Marquee players, they play very openly, have decent pace skill and athleticism, not unlike us, not sure they could outgun us or hold their composure against us over 70. Dont know if they have improved that much in 12 months, but have players to do damage. Rochford is a big addition, he has experience against us and devised systems that we have struggled to break down in the past. They already pulled of a great tactical ambush on Mickey Harte,

Hard to know with Mayo, if they get a bit momentum they could be anything, they usually cut out the majority of brain farts out against us, but seems the miles on the clock are catching up with them with the amount of injuries they are picking up. I'd have a bit more optimism for them if Rochford was there, he got close tactically, Horan plays far more openly and cant see them out scoring us.

It's Tyrone for me the biggest threat, I know we've beaten them a fair bit when it's mattered over the last few years, but they've been learning and reeling us in, they could be our Offaly who had cuts of Kerry before toppling them. I know they came for blood in the league game this year, but we completely unraveled. Not that we will fear them, but I'm most weary of them then anyone.

Think we have to accept, whoever we get now, will be giving the extra 10% to stop Dublin doing the five, could be career defining, like the way you hear more about the Donegal ambush in 14, then them actually winning it in 12. The closer we get teams will be foaming at the mouth to take us out, bring it on.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 01/07/2019 22:11:38    2204004

Boom!

Two Saturday night games at home in the S8's Vs Cork/Loais on the 13th and Vs Roscommon on the 20th.

Love a Saturday night game.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 02/07/2019 17:35:21    2204430

Replying To TheUsername:  "Boom!

Two Saturday night games at home in the S8's Vs Cork/Loais on the 13th and Vs Roscommon on the 20th.

Love a Saturday night game."
Me too, can't wait.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/07/2019 20:01:02    2205598

Did you all see the new logo on the jerseys. It's a big statement to make & I'm delighted about it. Very forward thinking & bang on trend by AIG.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/07/2019 20:50:26    2205617

Really uncomfortable with 2 home games in super 8s
Looks now like our one away game will be a dead rubber too

Its not right lads
It's not right

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/07/2019 23:01:03    2205693

Replying To Jackeen:  "Did you all see the new logo on the jerseys. It's a big statement to make & I'm delighted about it. Very forward thinking & bang on trend by AIG."
It's a brilliant gesture and message, really proud of it and delighted we are the county to represent this. One thing that really is special to Dublin GAA is the support the men and women give each other's teams, it's really brilliant and inspiring. Both unique and special in their own rights.

Hope it inspires all the generations now, on the way and in the future, we have just the hero and role models to do it.

AIG are really brilliant sponsors not just this but aoibheann's pink tie last year and the work they do to enable grassroots you very rarely hear about, they are a real civilly minded sponsor.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 04/07/2019 23:28:17    2205703

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Really uncomfortable with 2 home games in super 8s
Looks now like our one away game will be a dead rubber too

Its not right lads
It's not right"
We didnt make the rules Liam....they had their chance and blew it. I dont like it either nor do a lot of people in Dublin GAA but contrary to popular & misguided belief, Dublin dont get to decide diddly!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/07/2019 11:04:08    2205806

Replying To Jackeen:  "We didnt make the rules Liam....they had their chance and blew it. I dont like it either nor do a lot of people in Dublin GAA but contrary to popular & misguided belief, Dublin dont get to decide diddly!"
Well aware of that Jackeen. It's not our fault whatsoever

Still not right tho

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/07/2019 11:40:12    2205831

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Well aware of that Jackeen. It's not our fault whatsoever

Still not right tho"
So what are you trying to get at Liam ? We all know it's not right but nothing we can do about it , the county boards of Ireland voted to keep us in CP, no idea why your bringing this up. This team is getting enough kickings without our own turning on them and their biggest sin is their very good at Gaelic Football.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/07/2019 13:02:31    2205887

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Well aware of that Jackeen. It's not our fault whatsoever

Still not right tho"
Dublin played more games in Croke Park compared to our main rivals outside of Leinster across the 00's

Didn't have to travel far, very familiar with the pitch, even got to sleep in their own beds the night before!

How did that go for Dublin again?

There was no talk of advantages back then. Even though they enjoyed them.
Teams came to Croke Park and regularly best Dublin.

It's because our biggest disadvantage was that Kerry, Armagh, Tyrone, Mayo, Meath, Westmeath and Laois had a better panel of players despite our population, despite our increased sponsorship expenditure, despite the fact we played more games in HQ compared to them all..

We weren't good enough. On the side line and on the pitch.

Should we play more games outside of Croke Park.. yes.

Did it make any difference when we weren't good enough to beat better teams.. no.

Its an excuse to belittle Dublin's achievements.

Before it was an excuse to belittle our efforts

"Hammered you in your own back yard and shit up the Hill"

Remember rival players Turing around to sneer and gesture at us..

No advantage back then! They knew they were there to best and inferior team and they made sure to make it known

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2019 13:57:47    2205909

To be honest lads, we will be waiting a long time for pats on the back and recognition of greatness from anyone the far side of Lucan.

I remember my grandfather explaining to me at one of my first games the story "Culchies hate it when you beat them and what they think is their own game".

As much as we are enjoying the success, on the opposite side the pain is red raw deep for them, we should enjoy it for what it is and not look for or seek and validation or acknowledgement of our greatness, we should own it.

Its only when time passes, will our achievements be held up for the greatness they deserve and every other county held to account by that lofty standard.

Us lucky divils get to live through it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 05/07/2019 14:09:05    2205911

Its more the 2 home games in the super 8's that I just can't justify
I am well aware its not our fault. It has nothing to do with the team, but it is what it is.
The fact now that this years away game in the Super 8's will in all likelihood be a dead rubber makes it worse

I am not having a go at the team CD, u know that............
But I absolutely do believe, unfortunately, that right now, there is not a level playing field, it's not fair and it's not right.

I get that people will be pissed off at me for saying this out loud as one of the Dubs on here for over a generation now, but I honestly feel very uneasy about the whole situation

Sorry brothers and sisters

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/07/2019 15:24:50    2205940

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Its more the 2 home games in the super 8's that I just can't justify
I am well aware its not our fault. It has nothing to do with the team, but it is what it is.
The fact now that this years away game in the Super 8's will in all likelihood be a dead rubber makes it worse

But I absolutely do believe, unfortunately, that right now, there is not a level playing field, it's not fair and it's not right.

I get that people will be pissed off at me for saying this out loud as one of the Dubs on here for over a generation now, but I honestly feel very uneasy about the whole situation

Sorry brothers and sisters"
Stop talking bull. Your listening to waffle. Give over and cop on.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/07/2019 19:31:48    2206007

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Its more the 2 home games in the super 8's that I just can't justify

Nah man

Not pissed. Just don't think it's as big an advantage as people make out.

It certainly wasn't when we weren't good enough to beat teams in the 00's despite regularly playing more games in Croke Park compared to them.

Despite a packed Hill, larger support base, more practiced at playing on the pitch, sponsorship advantages, population advantages etc we lost regularly against better teams in HQ.

As I'm sure you can remember! You'll recall ourselves getting dragged through the much backwards

Difference is now we are good enough in Leinster by plenty but at times in the AI series by the very minimum.

Anyone that wants to win an AI will still have to play Dublin at a semifinal and final stage at HQ so it's not like Croke Park won't be used.

Even if we played 2-3 games less there in the Champ. You'll still have people moaning.

The GAA have acted on bringing Dublin away more in the last few seasons. Still not good enough for some, It's a pity that the powers that be chose against Donegal's motion but so be it. Not our doing.

Although it wouldn't have been an away game anyway. It would have been at a neutral venue.

Let's be honest we got the easier group, would playing at a neutral venue knock us out.. nah! yet Dublin are back up in Omagh again which is arguably the toughest away venue we could have got. I know it might be a dead rubber but Tyrone may well need the pts so Dublin will have to be at their best to win, I don't see Dublin wanting to lose.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2019 19:59:45    2206011

The 2 home games are wrong end off , but as was mentioned already we don't make the rules. this brilliant team wont last forever, enjoy it while it lasts .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 05/07/2019 20:03:48    2206013

Here Liam go support the limerick hurlers cause no real Dublin supporter would come out with that bull. Brainwashed listening to media rubbish.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/07/2019 21:23:43    2206032

Liam is right about the 2 home games but in no way do I feel uneasy about our wonderful teams recent success. A brilliant team, end of. But further down the road if things continue it'll damage the game. All we need is financial transparency and everything is just fine.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8795 - 05/07/2019 21:38:14    2206036

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Here Liam go support the limerick hurlers cause no real Dublin supporter would come out with that bull. Brainwashed listening to media rubbish."
That's very harsh and uncalled for, Liam is one of our long time posters and he aired his honest feelings.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8795 - 05/07/2019 21:54:50    2206040