The Drive For Five!

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "That's certainly true. I hope the team won't be either but if we are the management needs to play a second string and rest the first 15 for the following weeks qualifiers."
Well I presume you tried that yesterday?

Let's see how it works out

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/06/2019 10:18:26    2199692

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well I presume you tried that yesterday?

Let's see how it works out"
:D

No it was our best 15 from the panel there yesterday. The gap between us is growing and I see now reason why it won't be bigger next time we meet.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/06/2019 13:02:22    2199861

Replying To Jack_Goff:  ":D

No it was our best 15 from the panel there yesterday. The gap between us is growing and I see now reason why it won't be bigger next time we meet."
Hopefully.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/06/2019 14:49:01    2199973

So people who could our away Game be now?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/06/2019 16:57:58    2200059

Replying To clondalkindub:  "So people who could our away Game be now?"
Cavan or a qualifier team that beats them, looks like to me for the away game.

Be Cork or qualifier team that beats them in Croker first game.

Definitely Roscommon in Croker in second game.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 24/06/2019 17:44:38    2200098

Shay Connolly lengend , great piece its all over the country. Up the Ringsend.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/06/2019 23:08:51    2202619

1st game is Roscommon - In Croker

2nd game is Cork or team who beats them In Croker

3rd is Cavan or team that beats them away (Thatll be Cavan, Tyrone or Mayo, guaranteed)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 30/06/2019 14:02:29    2202871

Replying To waynoI:  "1st game is Roscommon - In Croker

3rd is Cavan or team that beats them away (Thatll be Cavan, Tyrone or Mayo, guaranteed)"
Woops, switch game 1 and 2 around.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 30/06/2019 14:29:07    2202886

Replying To waynoI:  "1st game is Roscommon - In Croker

3rd is Cavan or team that beats them away (Thatll be Cavan, Tyrone or Mayo, guaranteed)"
Thought the provincial champions had their first game at home this year no, that's why i had Roscommon down as the second game in Corker.

I wish they make it a bit clearer, even with the Sat or Sun fixtures for the qualifiers and when they will be, not to bad for us playing mostly in Corker, but for others im sure its a pain making arrangements/plans. Im sure the GAA miss out on a few attending because of the uncertainty.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 30/06/2019 14:40:01    2202892

Replying To waynoI:  "Woops, switch game 1 and 2 around."
Ah here pal you have me even more confused. Whose potentially our away game ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/06/2019 17:40:31    2202999

3rd game is away clondalkin.. to cavan or the team who beats them.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 30/06/2019 19:41:40    2203087

Replying To waynoI:  "3rd game is away clondalkin.. to cavan or the team who beats them."
Can we get Mayo in Castlebar? Its the big question ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/06/2019 21:40:18    2203146

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Can we get Mayo in Castlebar? Its the big question ?"
ye. If Mayo get Cavan in the draw tomorrow and Mayo win, our last game of the super 8s would be away in Mayo, which, if we win our first two games will be a meaningless game anyway you'd suspect.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 01/07/2019 00:53:06    2203211

Replying To waynoI:  "ye. If Mayo get Cavan in the draw tomorrow and Mayo win, our last game of the super 8s would be away in Mayo, which, if we win our first two games will be a meaningless game anyway you'd suspect."
Tyrone away again ah I was hoping for somewhere different, it's the last game ? If we're already through a lot of people won't travel.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/07/2019 09:16:25    2203263

Cork/laois in game 1

Roscommon game 2

Tyrone in game 3 ...

Tyrone away when we played them away last year is dire stuff. Dont give cavan a chance against them.

Laois could cause cork problems. Let's get semi final qualification wrapped before going to omagh. I'm sure that will be the plan

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 01/07/2019 09:50:53    2203301

You cant argue with that group, two teams that are hard as nails in Roscommon and Tyrone, wont do us any harm, and knock any cobwebs of us going into a semi.

Part of me is happy to get Tyrone out of the way in the quarters, they are probably the only team i am wary off in the championship given what they did to us in the league and the fact they have had a few cuts of us in the last few years and gotten closer to the mark every time.

Though its a bad buzz having the same away day as last year, would have been nice to head to Galway, Cork or Castlebar.

I have a feeling it may be a repeat Dublin and Tyrone final all said and done again.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 01/07/2019 11:03:02    2203396

Replying To TheUsername:  "You cant argue with that group, two teams that are hard as nails in Roscommon and Tyrone, wont do us any harm, and knock any cobwebs of us going into a semi.

Part of me is happy to get Tyrone out of the way in the quarters, they are probably the only team i am wary off in the championship given what they did to us in the league and the fact they have had a few cuts of us in the last few years and gotten closer to the mark every time.

Though its a bad buzz having the same away day as last year, would have been nice to head to Galway, Cork or Castlebar.

I have a feeling it may be a repeat Dublin and Tyrone final all said and done again."
I want Kerry in the final should we get there

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 01/07/2019 13:22:17    2203529

Replying To waynoI:  "I want Kerry in the final should we get there"
Im not sure id put money on them getting out of a group with Donegal, Mayo/Galway they should have to much for Meath/Clare surely, though Meath could give them a game i think its down there though and that could give them a bit of momentum. But a few ding dongs in there, close to call.

If they did, im not sure id put money on them beating us or Tyrone either in a semi.

Be lovely to get them in a final though admittedly.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 01/07/2019 14:00:13    2203573

Replying To TheUsername:  "Im not sure id put money on them getting out of a group with Donegal, Mayo/Galway they should have to much for Meath/Clare surely, though Meath could give them a game i think its down there though and that could give them a bit of momentum. But a few ding dongs in there, close to call.

If they did, im not sure id put money on them beating us or Tyrone either in a semi.

Be lovely to get them in a final though admittedly."
Ah they'll be there or there abouts. I dont rate mayo or galway. Think Kerry would beat both of them.

I agree it will probably not be kerry should be get there, but got I would really like it to be.

To get a chance to create history against the most successful team in the sport, the aristocrats as they call themselves, the culchies, to wrap up the 5 and for Cluxton et al to go out against the team where the 16 year wait ended against 8 years ago would be poetic.

Kerry would also have the extra motivation of stopping a team beating the 4 in a row all Ireland wins, it would make for probably the most watched sporting event in many a year. If we get to the final, I'd be desperate for them. Failing that, if we get to the final I'll take anyone.

What I would say is, I was looking forward to our season starting in the super 8s, as it is, it looks like we will have another 3 pre season games. Roscommon and cork/laois will struggle against us in croker, I expect us to win both comfortably meaning the Tyrone game is null and void. Pity.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 01/07/2019 14:20:29    2203600

Replying To waynoI:  "Ah they'll be there or there abouts. I dont rate mayo or galway. Think Kerry would beat both of them.

I agree it will probably not be kerry should be get there, but got I would really like it to be.

To get a chance to create history against the most successful team in the sport, the aristocrats as they call themselves, the culchies, to wrap up the 5 and for Cluxton et al to go out against the team where the 16 year wait ended against 8 years ago would be poetic.

Kerry would also have the extra motivation of stopping a team beating the 4 in a row all Ireland wins, it would make for probably the most watched sporting event in many a year. If we get to the final, I'd be desperate for them. Failing that, if we get to the final I'll take anyone.

What I would say is, I was looking forward to our season starting in the super 8s, as it is, it looks like we will have another 3 pre season games. Roscommon and cork/laois will struggle against us in croker, I expect us to win both comfortably meaning the Tyrone game is null and void. Pity."
I keep hearing about Kerry and this new era, but i think they are trading of a bit of emperors new clothes really. They haven't been at the races in the past two years and i haven't seen much improvement in the since. People talk about the forward line, bar Clifford their return from their forwards has been poor, no matter how good they look on paper.

Sean O Shea frees have papered over many cracks, hes a dangerous player mind. Isolate Clifford and O Shea and they dont have much else or developing in my opinion. Problems in midfield and further back. Also think Peter Keane was a poor appointment, but the locals seem happy with him so what do i know. They look to me to be trading of reputation as opposed to substance so far this year to me. Think it will take a huge improvement from them to make a final, unless im wildly wrong, which is always possible.

I know what you a mean it would be a cracking fixture on paper final. Though i wouldn't mind them in a semi either, semis tend to be far better games then the final and better atmosphere without all the day trippers who happened on a ticket and corporate head that tend to get tickets for the final, remember 2013.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 01/07/2019 17:58:48    2203794