The Drive For Five!

Replying To fingalman:  "In spite of all the media hype and speculation there will be little or no retirements barr maybe one or 2 of the fringe players. This group, management Included have an insatiable appetite for success.
As the song goes 'you ain't seen nothing yet'."
It will certainly dash the hopes of quite a few ex Kerry players and pundits. They seemed to be really hoping we would lose a few players.

We must keep them down for as long as we can or at least until an ABK (anyone but kerry) team come and win Sam. ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4357 - 10/10/2019 22:54:03    2242699

I've been offline the past few weeks lads but wanted to pop in and say a big congratulations on the historical victory. I won't lie, I was cheering for Kerry (I'm a big soft romantic and fall hook line and sinker for all the yerras!) but I am absolutely delighted for the group of fine young men that represent you. I said it after you beat Tyrone last year as well, everything that we are supposed to laud in our sport - skill, speed, athleticism, but good men as well, decent people, community focussed, Gaels - this Dub panel have it in spades.

Comhghairdeas arís, looking forward to being the county to finally end your run, it'll be a nice wee bit of poetry considering we started it all as well ;)

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 11/10/2019 21:11:57    2242908

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I've been offline the past few weeks lads but wanted to pop in and say a big congratulations on the historical victory. I won't lie, I was cheering for Kerry (I'm a big soft romantic and fall hook line and sinker for all the yerras!) but I am absolutely delighted for the group of fine young men that represent you. I said it after you beat Tyrone last year as well, everything that we are supposed to laud in our sport - skill, speed, athleticism, but good men as well, decent people, community focussed, Gaels - this Dub panel have it in spades.

Comhghairdeas arís, looking forward to being the county to finally end your run, it'll be a nice wee bit of poetry considering we started it all as well ;)"
Thanks Joe. Well said and fair play.

When our run does come to an end I would have no problem if it is to Donegal.
As long as it is not to that shower of yerra's...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4357 - 12/10/2019 01:33:21    2242942

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I've been offline the past few weeks lads but wanted to pop in and say a big congratulations on the historical victory. I won't lie, I was cheering for Kerry (I'm a big soft romantic and fall hook line and sinker for all the yerras!) but I am absolutely delighted for the group of fine young men that represent you. I said it after you beat Tyrone last year as well, everything that we are supposed to laud in our sport - skill, speed, athleticism, but good men as well, decent people, community focussed, Gaels - this Dub panel have it in spades.

Comhghairdeas arís, looking forward to being the county to finally end your run, it'll be a nice wee bit of poetry considering we started it all as well ;)"
To be honest joesoap I'm not really bothered now who the run comes to an end against.
Having started and finished the 5 in a row against Kerry was sweet. Mayo and Tyrone in there aswell all of whom are the most prominent teams this decade after Dublin.
Donegal highlighted some shortcomings which were addressed and sorted so ye can say ye had a hand in it I suppose.
Looking forward to next year and whatever it brings these players are absolute legends now.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 12/10/2019 14:19:02    2242990

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "To be honest joesoap I'm not really bothered now who the run comes to an end against.
Having started and finished the 5 in a row against Kerry was sweet. Mayo and Tyrone in there aswell all of whom are the most prominent teams this decade after Dublin.
Donegal highlighted some shortcomings which were addressed and sorted so ye can say ye had a hand in it I suppose.
Looking forward to next year and whatever it brings these players are absolute legends now."
Fully agree.

To start and finish the Five In A Row beating Kerry was very sweet. Add into that beating a hell of a good Mayo team twice also, just adds to the achievement.

The after glow remains as strong as if it was yesterday.

#legends

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4357 - 12/10/2019 23:30:26    2243076

It doesn't get any sweeter

To come through the first game down to 14 and finish the game so bravely is something that I will take an awful lot of satisfaction from

No doubt those minutes and turning over Kerry like that and getting stuck in with such concentration and determination is right up there as my favourite highlight of this decade of success

Couldn't have been prouder leaving that day.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 17/10/2019 16:45:09    2244103