The Drive For Five!

Up the DUB5!

Legend5 the lot of you5.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 15/09/2019 14:20:47    2235591

Dubs are 5 in a Row Champions... wow... unbelievable achievement by this group of lads.

And to beat kerry to achieve it makes it all the more sweeter.... ;o)

What this group of players and management have achieved is unique and needs to be acknowledged as such.

Now we can truly be called the best team ever to play the game.

We have won 7 All Ireland's this decade - that is some level of effort and consistency not to mention the league titles we won in that same period.
It is much more difficult to win these days with back-doors, qualifiers and Super 8's - no winning Sam after 3 games for this team or winning a Sam through the back-door.....!
Kerry only had to win 15 games to win their 4 in a Row - Dubs had to win 28 games for their 4 in a row....
So yes, we deserve to recognised as the best team now....

We still have the nucleus of a young team there I expect the Dublin v Kerry rivalry to go up a notch in the next few years. The good thing is the average age of our team is actually decreasing so we are not that much older than these so called kerry babies - Murphy 28, Moran 32, O'Brien 28, Geaney 28, Tommy Walsh 31, James O'Donoghue 29..
We have Davy Byrne 25, Jack McCaffrey 25, John Small 26, Brian Fenton 26, Scully 25, Kilkenny 26, Howard 22, Mannion 26, King Con 23, Costello 25, Murchan 23 and Paddy Small 21....

But now we will savour this... it might never happen again and after so many years of not winning an All Ireland - these times are so special and need to be enjoyed.

# Respect
# 5 in a Row
# Immortals

Atha Cliath Abu

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4357 - 15/09/2019 14:32:52    2235601

Ah lads and lassies what a time to be a Dub!

Con, Mannion and Kilkenny were outstanding. Murchan parachuted in and what a run and finish, dream stuff. Mick Fitz was excellent.

Jim got his calls right.

Rock was quiet but still kicked 3! Imagine that, a quiet day in a final and still kicks 2 from play and a late 45.

And what about the greatest man to ever kick a ball in a Dubs Jersey? Cluxton, stood tall when O'Brien came through to effectively win the match.

As an aside, has a team ever won a match without being awarded a single scorable free? Bizarre but makes it all the better.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 15/09/2019 14:35:48    2235607

Replying To MesAmis:  "Ah lads and lassies what a time to be a Dub!

Con, Mannion and Kilkenny were outstanding. Murchan parachuted in and what a run and finish, dream stuff. Mick Fitz was excellent.

Jim got his calls right.

Rock was quiet but still kicked 3! Imagine that, a quiet day in a final and still kicks 2 from play and a late 45.

And what about the greatest man to ever kick a ball in a Dubs Jersey? Cluxton, stood tall when O'Brien came through to effectively win the match.

As an aside, has a team ever won a match without being awarded a single scorable free? Bizarre but makes it all the better."
Spot on about the free count but we wont go into that..... time to celebrate 5 in a Row.... 7 in 9 years....
Unbelievable.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4357 - 15/09/2019 15:01:19    2235629

Tell you what guys - we will Winter well .

kerry posters going on about their minor and junior 5 in a Row now.... If that makes it easier for them to accept yesterday then so be it.... hilarious though.
But history will show that Dublin started and finished our 5 in a Row by Beating kerry...
Nothing sweeter...

Atha Cliath Abu x5

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4357 - 15/09/2019 16:31:29    2235677

I still can't get over Eoin Murchan's goal!

What odds would you have gotten on that?!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 15/09/2019 16:33:25    2235678

Doesn't get any better boys and girls

They did it!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/09/2019 17:00:14    2235692

Here we go, FIVE in a row!

Jesus Christ lads. F***ING five.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 15/09/2019 18:12:59    2235720

Hopefully we are In The Mix for Six.. ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4357 - 15/09/2019 18:28:32    2235729

Buzzin for half a dozen !
Wha!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/09/2019 19:26:18    2235748

Congratulations fine team showed class on & off great to watch the movement Kerry played there part but were not good enough this year.

Goal after half time put daylight between them Eoin looks like he is about to do his junior cert but great talent

ENJOY every one will want to take ye down next year

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 993 - 16/09/2019 11:19:42    2236000

Lads....only landed home just there. What. A. Weekend. Loved every minute of it! These are special days. And breath :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/09/2019 14:46:48    2236126

Incredible achievement and won in convincing fashion too.

p.s. Where has waynoI disappeared to?

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 186 - 16/09/2019 15:34:25    2236159

Brilliant, absolutely brilliant. What relief at the final whistle and it was nice to beat Kerry to do the 5 having started with them.
Everyone of the lads were better than the first day and Fitzsimmons , Kilkenny and Con were match winners for me.
Cluxton was excellent as usual and just delighted for the whole group that they got to make history.
Some will still maintain they are one of the best teams ever but for me it's undisputed best.
Great days indeed.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 16/09/2019 19:03:50    2236294

Replying To dubdec99:  "Incredible achievement and won in convincing fashion too.

p.s. Where has waynoI disappeared to?"
He's losing interest. Full time Liverpool fan now.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 16/09/2019 21:40:17    2236368

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "He's losing interest. Full time Liverpool fan now."
You are on Dublin pages nicely nicely Jack off, but on the main page slagging us off all the time.
What is that about .????

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4357 - 17/09/2019 00:29:35    2236431

Replying To Fionn:  "You are on Dublin pages nicely nicely Jack off, but on the main page slagging us off all the time.
What is that about .????"
Windy all day long that lad.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 17/09/2019 08:09:56    2236466

Lads not only did we do it, we started and finished it against Kerry. We did it with a Kerry team forced out of options, playing the long ball with 14 men behind the ball playing the blanket, hanging on for dear life twice.

We did it with every thing from play and that is amazing, I don't think it's been done before, we got one 45 the entire game.

Apparently no Kerry defender fouled one Dublin player the entire game, which is utter horse manure as we know. We did it by forcing Kerry to be a spoiling team, we made them chase our shadows and we did it all from play leaving goals and points behind.

We did it with every conceivable road block, injuries, sendings off, two ropey refs and up against puke football tactics.

Earned the hard way and a real All Ireland.

Incredible, incredible team, immortal legends and now guardians of this beautiful game played in the right way.

Dublin and football was the winner.

And five in a row,
Crying Cockles and Mussels,
And five in a 4ow.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 17/09/2019 09:15:38    2236490

Replying To dubdec99:  "Incredible achievement and won in convincing fashion too.

p.s. Where has waynoI disappeared to?"
I'm still here dont worry!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 17/09/2019 11:53:30    2236554

Replying To waynoI:  "I'm still here dont worry!!"
He's back - welcome back.....

Time to let rip on the begrudgers now Wayno lol

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4357 - 17/09/2019 12:18:19    2236563