The Drive For Five!

Right folks all the best , let's do this.

COYBIB

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/09/2019 10:18:30    2235158

They're making fools of us lads, Small is playing now apparently. Anyway, see you all later, here we go!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8795 - 14/09/2019 12:24:16    2235178

Hope all Dubs have something great to celebrate tonight. This is epic. Enjoy it folks. It may never happen again in our lifetime that a Dublin team is attempting to achieve what was once deemed unachievable.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1997 - 14/09/2019 12:48:15    2235184

Holy F--k my nerves are in tatters , we can do this COYBIB. Lets make history .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 14/09/2019 13:23:47    2235192

Good luck lads. I expect ye to make history today!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 14/09/2019 13:36:21    2235193

We did it!!!!!!!!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/09/2019 20:44:27    2235308

Well done dublin, no excuses ye were the better team , we're a mile off ye and and we're a good bit ahead of the rest, depressing stuff for the rest of the country . 6 7 And 8 to follow without a doubt.

Enjoy the night.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/09/2019 20:52:43    2235314

Theres nothing I can say that would express the enormous pride and pleasure I feel tonight.
Living legends we hold on our hands. Congratulations to each and everyone of us and of course the main men themselves.
Kingdomboy1 your team are excellent and we won't be winning 6,7,8 in a row,Kerry have arrived and are here to stay for the foreseeable.
I look forward to doing battle with ye in the years to come. There will be a bit of a clear out and possibly even Gavin so the tide will turn, but for now, we are the greatest team of all time, up the Dubs!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8795 - 14/09/2019 21:01:50    2235318

great success for dublin it is really some success . this is the best team ever in my view and i would like to congratulate dublin on their great win well done on 5

lor12 (Wicklow) - Posts: 251 - 14/09/2019 21:35:06    2235328

Replying To realdub:  "Theres nothing I can say that would express the enormous pride and pleasure I feel tonight.
Living legends we hold on our hands. Congratulations to each and everyone of us and of course the main men themselves.
Kingdomboy1 your team are excellent and we won't be winning 6,7,8 in a row,Kerry have arrived and are here to stay for the foreseeable.
I look forward to doing battle with ye in the years to come. There will be a bit of a clear out and possibly even Gavin so the tide will turn, but for now, we are the greatest team of all time, up the Dubs!!!"
Talking down the six already? You'll win it again next year and won't need a replay.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 14/09/2019 22:10:30    2235354

From a neutral pt of view i am delighted Dublin did the 5 in a row. There have been a machine over the last number of years and great credit due to players and management today and all along for making history today and becoming the first gaelic football team to do 5 in a row. Remarkable achievement.

luimneachboy (Limerick) - Posts: 242 - 15/09/2019 00:18:48    2235412

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Talking down the six already? You'll win it again next year and won't need a replay."
Please God.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 15/09/2019 00:34:33    2235424

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well done dublin, no excuses ye were the better team , we're a mile off ye and and we're a good bit ahead of the rest, depressing stuff for the rest of the country . 6 7 And 8 to follow without a doubt.

Enjoy the night."
Go away you chancer.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 15/09/2019 00:35:50    2235425

I never thought I'd live to see the day......5 in a row! I grew up on Heffo's Heroes in the 1970s. Went through the usual winning one All-Ireland every decade in the 1980s and 1990s, and like us all endured the barren yrs. But then the new Dubs emerged. My God, these lads are something else. Still on a high today...….COYBIB!!!!!

PatdeVerse (Dublin) - Posts: 107 - 15/09/2019 07:17:12    2235449

Well done to an outstanding Dublin team on doing the 5 in a Row. All of those players really deserve it. Congrats. I am truly delighted for them all and for the loyal supporters too.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 15/09/2019 09:58:28    2235476

Yesss55555

Cant believe it.... wow... what an achievement by lads..

So proud to be a Dub..

Congrats to Jim, the players - full squad, and management team - wonderful feat.

Best team ever is now without question....

We really have to saviour these days as we will never see the likes again...

At last we are now getting some respect and acknowledgement from others.
Playing football the right way and great ambassadors for the GAA.

Nice messages from true GAA people - much appreciated. Thank you.

We all know this run will come to an end sooner rather than later - but at least we can now be hailed as the best ever and 5-in-a-Row champions.

To all the Dubs on here - ENJOY....

To the well wishers - thanks so much...

And lastly to the begrudgers - we couldn't give a **** what you think... you cant take this away from us now... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4357 - 15/09/2019 11:08:18    2235504

Hearty congratulations lads from a very disappointed Kerry fan. Enjoy the celebrations and please god we will meet in the 2020 final again to do battle.

GreenAndGold74 (Kerry) - Posts: 194 - 15/09/2019 11:46:04    2235525

Replying To GreenAndGold74:  "Hearty congratulations lads from a very disappointed Kerry fan. Enjoy the celebrations and please god we will meet in the 2020 final again to do battle."
Fair play to you.

I predict many a battle between these old foes in the years ahead.

There is definitely more than 1 sam in that kerry team in the years to come...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4357 - 15/09/2019 12:13:00    2235539

Lads this is a genuine question from a neutral. Can anyone tell me what jobs the various players? Not having a dig in any way.just curious. I know Kilkenny and Cluxton are teachers, McCaffrey is a doc. What about the rest?

manager5 (Galway) - Posts: 724 - 15/09/2019 12:18:54    2235545

There was a lot of talk after the 1st game by a lot of pundits, ex players and fans about the pressure on Dublin to complete the 5 in a Row and who would learn most from the drawn game.
Well maybe there was pressure on us the last day but Jim and the lads hit the reset button and were much better in the 2nd game - tactics, match up's, forward unit etc. Fully deserved victory yesterday.
But you cannot under estimate the fact that we played for 45mins the last day with just 14 men and finished the stronger.
No doubt in my mind that we would have won at the first time of asking if we had had the full compliment of players for the duration.
On a side note - loved watching the kerry pundit last night on the highlights programme. To say he was sick is an under statement... priceless lol

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4357 - 15/09/2019 12:43:01    2235557