The Drive For Five!

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Well folks, just wanted to pop in and wish ye well for the wknd before I sign off, I'm heading for the big smoke tomorrow bright and early. We are looking for a very different result obviously but first and foremost may we all enjoy the weekend, before the gloves come off again Monday :)"
Sound man Gerry

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8795 - 31/08/2019 22:36:15    2231087

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Well folks, just wanted to pop in and wish ye well for the wknd before I sign off, I'm heading for the big smoke tomorrow bright and early. We are looking for a very different result obviously but first and foremost may we all enjoy the weekend, before the gloves come off again Monday :)"
Fair play Gerry, safe journey, enjoy the occasion!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 31/08/2019 22:37:31    2231088

Congrats lads

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/09/2019 11:12:11    2231129

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Congrats lads"
Thanks.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1997 - 01/09/2019 11:23:44    2231133

up the dubs! Great feeling for today

Liffeyswimmer (Dublin) - Posts: 4 - 01/09/2019 15:11:52    2231189

Persistant fouling by Dublin. Could be down by 3 men in 2nd half. Cute hoar fouling not working today lads.

sandyBeach (Louth) - Posts: 269 - 01/09/2019 16:07:29    2231216

We're still alive!

Mainly thanks to Jack Mc, Howard, Cluxton and Rock.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 01/09/2019 19:30:28    2231447

Connolly- can't understand the decision by Jim. Surely some noses are out of joint because of this? Has it got the potential to disrupt the camp?

As for the replay- I'd still be very confident for you- Kerry missed a huge chance today.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 366 - 01/09/2019 19:35:12    2231454

Terrible decision to send off Dublin defender. Barry of Kerry should have been yellow carded in first half. Tom O Sullivan should have been red carded in second half. No worries. Conor Lane will get the reply. Gough wont be there to give his handbag decisions. Dublin will get the five.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 01/09/2019 19:44:15    2231464

Great game and we know where we need to improve, very proud of that effort by us today with the 14 men against an excellent Kerry side. I'm very optimistic for the replay.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8795 - 01/09/2019 20:28:43    2231496

Replying To realdub:  "Great game and we know where we need to improve, very proud of that effort by us today with the 14 men against an excellent Kerry side. I'm very optimistic for the replay."
Great character shown to survive that game.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 01/09/2019 21:33:59    2231548

We've survived when not clicking before and have always won the replay, I fancy us more now than I did before today's game and we needed that game to get up to speed.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8795 - 01/09/2019 23:22:22    2231617

Replying To realdub:  "We've survived when not clicking before and have always won the replay, I fancy us more now than I did before today's game and we needed that game to get up to speed."
Some things have to be put right though. The FB line matchups were wrong. Fitzy on Clifford for replay. MDM struggled in the middle. So did Fenton. We were cleaned out and only for Howard would have coughed up a lot more. Perhaps James in there with Cian in at CHB. We have no scoring bite up front when Mannion and Con are starved, or in Paul's case hitting row Z. Should Scully be sacrificed for a scoring forward? Loads to think about. We were in complete control of that game until Davey misfielded that ball but it was right in front of me and he did very well to get his hands on it so not his fault. That completely turned the game. I thought our backs were too stand-off'ish. We need a bit more aggression and contact. Kerry fellas were in the Dublin forwards faces all day. Our lads are too nice some times.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4747 - 02/09/2019 08:58:08    2231701

Replying To Brinsley Swartz:  "Terrible decision to send off Dublin defender. Barry of Kerry should have been yellow carded in first half. Tom O Sullivan should have been red carded in second half. No worries. Conor Lane will get the reply. Gough wont be there to give his handbag decisions. Dublin will get the five."
I would agree that Tom O Sullivan should have got second yellow but though he was correct in Johnnie Cooper situation
Jim Gavin should have switched or taken off Cooper after 1st yellow too much at stake now.
IMO referee was excellent totally professional far better that any of the hurling referees that i have seen .

Dublin should win replay

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 993 - 02/09/2019 10:08:40    2231734

Overall, draw was fair result. Anyone that thought Kerry would rock up on all-ireland final day and roll over, obviously has no idea about football. They have the tradition, DNA and pure football ability and will always feel like they have a god given right to win big games in croke park. After Kerry missed the penalty and goal opportunity that was cleared off line , we completely dominated until sending off. IMO referee called it correctly but then let himself down with inconsistency in second half. We should mighty resolve to stay in game with 14 men as Kerry eventually got the upper-hand until last 10 minutes. Dublin were the ones who had the opportunities to win the game in injury time. Obviously huge amount of talking points for both teams when a final ends in a draw but replay could take on a whole different life of its own. I can't see wholesale changes in personnel but some big call for Jim and Co. Cluxton, Howard, McCaffrey and Rock were top class yesterday and mention to Mick Fitz as well who put in a trojan shift. Will there be changes on the bench? This team has showed over last 5 years that they can find the answers and hopefully they will do so Saturday week but if they don't so be it as they have been a credit to themselves, their families and county every time they have put on the jersey. Let's not forget there are players in this squad who have nearly ten years of playing at the highest level and someday their dominance will end and in all probability it will be Kerry that take over.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 02/09/2019 12:05:01    2231803

Some amount of character shown by your squad there yesterday lads. The hunger and tackling in those last few minutes to win the turnovers was something else, but some uncharacteristic wrong options were taken. But what a player Dean Rock is for the big situation, his equaliser was sensational.

What more can you say about McCaffrey and Cluxton. As a former wing-back McCaffrey is just incredible, the pace he showed for the goal, my god.

Will there be many changes? I wonder will Gavin regret the bench he picked? I thought it was crying out for Bernard Brogan, an older, cooler head and someone you know will take a score.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 02/09/2019 12:48:25    2231849

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Some amount of character shown by your squad there yesterday lads. The hunger and tackling in those last few minutes to win the turnovers was something else, but some uncharacteristic wrong options were taken. But what a player Dean Rock is for the big situation, his equaliser was sensational.

What more can you say about McCaffrey and Cluxton. As a former wing-back McCaffrey is just incredible, the pace he showed for the goal, my god.

Will there be many changes? I wonder will Gavin regret the bench he picked? I thought it was crying out for Bernard Brogan, an older, cooler head and someone you know will take a score."
Well JoeSoap I think with 15 on the field we still have a good chance to get the job done.
The 14 men hung in there and I think while they will not be pleased overall with the performance there were some really good individuals and none more so than Jack.
A goal and 2 from wing back speaks for itself. With the replay in two weeks it gives time to regroup and I think even with the extra man Kerry were hanging on at the end.
Really looking forward to it and great to be still there after what wasn't our best day out.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 02/09/2019 13:20:22    2231866

Didn't get a ticket. Watched it in The Bridge in Summerhill. Not much point having a big Dubs mural on the walls if you show Everton Wolves until 3.25 and then when match is on, no volume. .......unbelievable

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/09/2019 15:25:30    2231933

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Well JoeSoap I think with 15 on the field we still have a good chance to get the job done.
The 14 men hung in there and I think while they will not be pleased overall with the performance there were some really good individuals and none more so than Jack.
A goal and 2 from wing back speaks for itself. With the replay in two weeks it gives time to regroup and I think even with the extra man Kerry were hanging on at the end.
Really looking forward to it and great to be still there after what wasn't our best day out."
He got 1-3 Dubh_linn! Unbelievable performance, the one off his left especially I thought was an amazing point.

I agree I think Kerry were hanging on a bit at the end but I'm not sure if that was their legs or inexperience/being a bit too hesitant. Credit to yourselves for how you tackled and won the ball back but I think if Kerry had been in more finals in recent years they would have seen the game out somehow.

All set up to be a great one in a couple weeks.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 02/09/2019 15:33:08    2231939

Replying To Joxer:  "Some things have to be put right though. The FB line matchups were wrong. Fitzy on Clifford for replay. MDM struggled in the middle. So did Fenton. We were cleaned out and only for Howard would have coughed up a lot more. Perhaps James in there with Cian in at CHB. We have no scoring bite up front when Mannion and Con are starved, or in Paul's case hitting row Z. Should Scully be sacrificed for a scoring forward? Loads to think about. We were in complete control of that game until Davey misfielded that ball but it was right in front of me and he did very well to get his hands on it so not his fault. That completely turned the game. I thought our backs were too stand-off'ish. We need a bit more aggression and contact. Kerry fellas were in the Dublin forwards faces all day. Our lads are too nice some times."
Wise words , do you think Fenton might have been ill ...seemed to have no energy ? Would you consider James MC at fullback and C O Sullivan at 6, Most forwards had an off day maybe the tight tough marking for nearly 80 minutes will sharpen them for next time , Do you think Dean might have got a better strike on the last free from his hands / maybe he knew not to float it in case Kerry got quick ball away ? Cheers,

Heffo (Dublin) - Posts: 76 - 02/09/2019 15:55:08    2231944