Replying To realdub: "Slightly off topic, but Mayo are the hardest team in history to make out. I mean, look at Roscommon both tonight and last year, utterly awful, and they're beating the like of Mayo, and Galway on the way to winning Connacht championships. Lets see if there's a kick left in the old Dog, its becoming more unlikely as time goes by.
Con O'Callaghan well on the way to becoming a great, has it all now!" Mayo are one weird team alright very hard to figure out, but tbf to them once they get to Croker their a different animal very athletic fast team CP really suits them , now cause their coming in with a hammering from the last day they might be their for the taking today cause their low on confidence but personally I want to see them gone cause the minute they see us in sight they play the greatest games of their lives. Everyone keeps writing them off but a fully fit Mayo squad is going to be hard to beat in CP. O Conor Ruane and Durkan are massive players for Mayo if their back and Mayo are still in this championship then Watch out, remember the league final they destroyed Kerry easily.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/07/2019 09:03:04
Yes impossible to rule them out
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8795 - 22/07/2019 03:07:13
Donegal fan in peace.
I'd be just interested to know what Dublin fans think. Of the remaining teams in contention to stop the 5 in a row, which one would Dublin fans be most wary of? I wouldn't use the word fear, but, maybe uneasy is a better word?
Obviously you have Tyrone and most likely Kerry for definite in contention. Then it'll either be ourselves or Mayo depending on how next weekend goes. The weird thing about Mayo is I'd be more worried about facing them in Croke Park than in Castlebar. There are injury concerns on both panels, but even still, I just think we're on a bit more of an upward curve whereas Mayo appear to be on the wane. Now I know that is very dangerous talk - it wouldn't surprise me one bit if Horan had targeted this scenario all along. That he'd have most of his injured players back for this time of year for an almighty fortnight of matches between ourselves and yourselves.
Might the very flat Mayo performances against Kerry and Meath in recent weeks have been a smoke screen to disguise their true credentials as THE viable team to topple the Dubs?
All of the above said I'm giving us the nod to get the business done next weekend. I think we have more legs available to us when the game is going down the home stretch.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9846 - 26/07/2019 10:43:48
Replying To Lockjaw: "Donegal fan in peace.
I'd be just interested to know what Dublin fans think. Of the remaining teams in contention to stop the 5 in a row, which one would Dublin fans be most wary of? I wouldn't use the word fear, but, maybe uneasy is a better word?
Obviously you have Tyrone and most likely Kerry for definite in contention. Then it'll either be ourselves or Mayo depending on how next weekend goes. The weird thing about Mayo is I'd be more worried about facing them in Croke Park than in Castlebar. There are injury concerns on both panels, but even still, I just think we're on a bit more of an upward curve whereas Mayo appear to be on the wane. Now I know that is very dangerous talk - it wouldn't surprise me one bit if Horan had targeted this scenario all along. That he'd have most of his injured players back for this time of year for an almighty fortnight of matches between ourselves and yourselves.
Might the very flat Mayo performances against Kerry and Meath in recent weeks have been a smoke screen to disguise their true credentials as THE viable team to topple the Dubs?
All of the above said I'm giving us the nod to get the business done next weekend. I think we have more legs available to us when the game is going down the home stretch." 1. Donegal 2. Kerry 3. Tyrone
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 26/07/2019 12:10:41
Donegal.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/07/2019 12:11:10
Replying To Lockjaw: "Donegal fan in peace.
All of the above said I'm giving us the nod to get the business done next weekend. I think we have more legs available to us when the game is going down the home stretch." Kerry. Even though I would argue that donegal are a slightly better team and would fancy donegal if the two sides were to meet again.
But i will always be ''uneasy'', to use your word, about Kerry more than any other side.
ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 27/07/2019 13:20:39
Replying To clondalkindub: "Mayo are one weird team alright very hard to figure out, but tbf to them once they get to Croker their a different animal very athletic fast team CP really suits them , now cause their coming in with a hammering from the last day they might be their for the taking today cause their low on confidence but personally I want to see them gone cause the minute they see us in sight they play the greatest games of their lives. Everyone keeps writing them off but a fully fit Mayo squad is going to be hard to beat in CP. O Conor Ruane and Durkan are massive players for Mayo if their back and Mayo are still in this championship then Watch out, remember the league final they destroyed Kerry easily." This is looking eerily prophetic. This Mayo team are a conundrum. I'm sure there's a thesis on Sports psychology in there somewhere.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1997 - 07/08/2019 09:21:21
Replying To avonali: "This is looking eerily prophetic. This Mayo team are a conundrum. I'm sure there's a thesis on Sports psychology in there somewhere." Stop will ya :(
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8795 - 07/08/2019 20:30:12
What a team guys unbelievable, best second half performance ever, everyone of them outstanding. Can't believe these days unreal , I told ya's mannion would be our greatest forward and now Con is on his back for the same title class. Up the dubs
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/08/2019 20:06:33
Replying To clondalkindub: "What a team guys unbelievable, best second half performance ever, everyone of them outstanding. Can't believe these days unreal , I told ya's mannion would be our greatest forward and now Con is on his back for the same title class. Up the dubs" What else would you expect for 23 million euros. Jaysus we would all be brilliant . Hope ye win 10 in a row Gaelic football is dead anyway destroyed by headquarters and AIG sponsorship. Attendances in HQ confirmed that this year.
ruff1106 (Kildare) - Posts: 175 - 10/08/2019 20:50:48
And breath.......:)))))
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 10/08/2019 20:56:45
Con O'Callaghan is magic. Ran amok out there today.
A joy to watch.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 10/08/2019 21:12:19
Replying To ruff1106: "What else would you expect for 23 million euros. Jaysus we would all be brilliant . Hope ye win 10 in a row Gaelic football is dead anyway destroyed by headquarters and AIG sponsorship. Attendances in HQ confirmed that this year." Suck it up
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/08/2019 21:17:16
I have sucked it up. Don't spend any more money to support the man city of Gaelic. Enjoy the many more years of dominance. Have started watching golf.
ruff1106 (Kildare) - Posts: 175 - 10/08/2019 22:12:38
Replying To ruff1106: "What else would you expect for 23 million euros. Jaysus we would all be brilliant . Hope ye win 10 in a row Gaelic football is dead anyway destroyed by headquarters and AIG sponsorship. Attendances in HQ confirmed that this year." what made u so bitter? the fact kildare are not able compeat maybe? do a donnie trump, blame everyone else for your shortcomings
Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3000 - 10/08/2019 22:57:04
Replying To ruff1106: "What else would you expect for 23 million euros. Jaysus we would all be brilliant . Hope ye win 10 in a row Gaelic football is dead anyway destroyed by headquarters and AIG sponsorship. Attendances in HQ confirmed that this year." Instead of paying Micko and Mc Geeney huge sums of money you ciould have spent it on developing young players in Kildare...huge amounts of money wated in kildare not so long ago ye gave up a home game for 60K?
jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 10/08/2019 22:57:49
Not a word from the dubs 1st half. The only started singing when they went 5 pts up. Typical soccer mentality. Win all ye want cause no body likes ye. Its all about the $$$$$$$$$.
sandyBeach (Louth) - Posts: 269 - 11/08/2019 00:05:36
I'm loving all the screaming and crying, the accusations, recriminations and palpitations. The glorious sound of desperation and malice from begrudgers and whingers is musicality itself. I anticipate even greater joys if we win Sam.
steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 11/08/2019 08:31:46
23,000,000 v 60,000. Sounds fair. Can't argue with that .
ruff1106 (Kildare) - Posts: 175 - 11/08/2019 08:38:58
Replying To sandyBeach: "Not a word from the dubs 1st half. The only started singing when they went 5 pts up. Typical soccer mentality. Win all ye want cause no body likes ye. Its all about the $$$$$$$$$." Lose all we want and nobody likes us.
Plus ca change.
A Louth man giving the Dubs grief about being soccer fans. Hilarious, Mon the Town!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 11/08/2019 09:43:08