The Drive For Five!

Replying To MesAmis:  "I'll try and pick up a stripey black and amber geansaí tmrw.

I nearly managed to escape to the safety of a high stool up the street but the father and brother in law got wind of the plan and have invited themselves along.

I've sent a WhatsApp plea out for reinforcements."
Are they...................City fans Mes......................!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/07/2019 09:47:17    2210219

Are they...................City fans Mes......................!!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8074 -

They regard soccer with curiosity but also with a deep suspicion.

The talk of staying for the week is ramping up, all sorts of excursions around the fair City being discussed around the breakfast table...

At least that's what I think they're saying, they can be hard to follow when the talk is in full flight. Fascinating in its own way. My eldest seems to follow better than I do, I'll get her to translate as best she can.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 13/07/2019 10:46:10    2210227

Replying To MesAmis:  "Are they...................City fans Mes......................!!

The talk of staying for the week is ramping up, all sorts of excursions around the fair City being discussed around the breakfast table...

At least that's what I think they're saying, they can be hard to follow when the talk is in full flight. Fascinating in its own way. My eldest seems to follow better than I do, I'll get her to translate as best she can."
Ni maith liom na Boh's!!
Ca bfhuil Mes? An mbeidh se ag dul to gti an cluiche?
Ar an Chnoic?
tá súil agam go mbeidh báisteach ann

Something like that Mes ;)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/07/2019 12:39:19    2210254

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "Are they...................City fans Mes......................!!

At least that's what I think they're saying, they can be hard to follow when the talk is in full flight. Fascinating in its own way. My eldest seems to follow better than I do, I'll get her to translate as best she can."
Ni maith liom na Boh's!!
Ca bfhuil Mes? An mbeidh se ag dul to gti an cluiche?
Ar an Chnoic?
tá súil agam go mbeidh báisteach ann

Something like that Mes ;)"
That's pretty good.

No Hill for me because didn't they organise all the tickets. So I'll be in with the Corkies. Very generous of them.........

Tried to get out of the house earlier but I was caught before I could make my escape and habe to bring some of them up to Howth for the afternoon.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 13/07/2019 13:17:40    2210265

My MOTM was Cluxton. Thought he was immense tonight. Made some fine saves. Jack Mc though, could watch him put the after burners on all day. He raises the tempo levels in the crowd like nothing else...well apart from goals of course. Thought Hurley was great for Cork. They'll rattle Ros & Tyrone yet. Up the Dubs!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/07/2019 21:30:00    2210397

Don't know about yous but I really enjoyed that game , Cork like I said would attack non stop and have forward's to trouble us it was brilliant to
Watch , but my god what a team of footballers we have their unbelievable, everyone of them class. Special mention to our keeper wow what a player , MDMA rolled back the years he was everywhere, king Con class,Howard wow that man is a freak , it was a great test for our guys and I was kinda raging their keeper made that mistake cause we didn't deserve a 13 point victory and a tight game would of been great to have going forward. Kilkenny Mannion Small Fenton Philly Scully all great , then Deano off the bench and Jonny Murch and jamsey brilliant al great nights entertainment. Up the Dubs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/07/2019 21:47:32    2210410

Ah here I forgot Jack how could I forget him unbelievable. What a sight it is to see him take off in CP

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/07/2019 22:30:34    2210445

Corkies have gone home (well back to my gaf) deflated after the last 10mins.

Those last few goals might not have seemed important but they were important for me. Had it finished a 4 point game my guests would have been emboldened enough for a night on the town but Scully, Kilkenny and Fenton's goals have earned my a few hours peace in the boozer. Thank you lads, I needed this.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 13/07/2019 22:55:32    2210450

On a serious note, I've been an advocate for Costello over Rock for a long time. Nothing against Dean but just felt that Costello's ceiling from play was higher than Rock's and his frees potentially as good.

However over the last 2 games, while Costello has dipped, Rock has responded like a champion.

Rock to start against Roscommon for me and hopefully Costello to respond like Rock from the bench.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 13/07/2019 22:58:51    2210452

Dont underestimate this 13 point win, Cork were the best team we've played in a while, and they'll learn from that. Superb scores taken today, when it really mattered.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8795 - 13/07/2019 23:19:02    2210462

Very enjoyable game and evening , Cluxton and McCaffery were pure class , Howard Con and Fenton had great games also , thought Dean Rock has played his way back into starting ahead of Costello , A lot of things to work on but all in all a good evenings work . COYBIB !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 14/07/2019 08:11:52    2210524

Still smiling after last night , ok a few things to worry about defensively but who cares after that forward masterclass we gave. Watched it back after I got home, Con was unstoppable he's growing into the player we all knew he would be, I was going to post a few months back that I was not happy with Howard's form ha thank god I didn't these players make you look foolish on here if you question their form, delighted for McCauley last night he'd a great game when he's ball in hand he's very hard to stop, Fenton for me is the best footballer in Ireland right now , Kilkenny everywhere as always mannion flying , scully really good last night Small marked their main man out of it , philly with two great scores Davy and Mick solid enough , Jack Mc our most important player he makes it all happen what a player but chill out on them long sprints save them hammers for semi and hopefully final, unlucky for Cormac a few things went against him but he'll be fine, cian again solid , Cluxton is ridiculous I don't think other counties understand how important he is to us or how good he is, he's 36/37 now but the shape he's in he could easily (if he wanted) play for another 6 or 7 years. Roll on next week beat the rossies and send our D team to Omagh.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/07/2019 10:41:17    2210582

Huge news guys the King has returned.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/07/2019 12:15:26    2210627

Its a bit rich criticising the performance after a 13 point win (albeit the final margin was very harsh on Cork) but there were a couple of items of slight worry for me during the game:
- Was it me or did we lose the majority of breaking ball from kick outs? Cork appeared to be much faster to the breakdown (and the ball seemed to be broken quite a bit on Saturday evening) or better at anticipating the break. This provided a good platform for several of their attacks
- I'm a big fan of COS but I thought his positioning was a bit suspect / ineffectual against Cork. He wasn't marking a man, per se (no issue with this - that's his role), but he appeared to be standing 10-15 yards too far forward, in general, so he wasn't adequately protecting the full back line from the mid-long ball (i.e. the Cork full forward line had a gap to run into to collect such passes). I felt a bit sorry for the full back line as they were one-on-one a few times with their men and the best you could expect in such situations is a hold up of the forward until reinforcements arrived, which they largely did (can't expect to keep quality players like Hurley out 100% of the time when they run at you)

I guess there's never any harm to identify a few areas to work on, irrespective of the nature of the performance / winning margin.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 15/07/2019 09:43:35    2211179

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Still smiling after last night , ok a few things to worry about defensively but who cares after that forward masterclass we gave. Watched it back after I got home, Con was unstoppable he's growing into the player we all knew he would be, I was going to post a few months back that I was not happy with Howard's form ha thank god I didn't these players make you look foolish on here if you question their form, delighted for McCauley last night he'd a great game when he's ball in hand he's very hard to stop, Fenton for me is the best footballer in Ireland right now , Kilkenny everywhere as always mannion flying , scully really good last night Small marked their main man out of it , philly with two great scores Davy and Mick solid enough , Jack Mc our most important player he makes it all happen what a player but chill out on them long sprints save them hammers for semi and hopefully final, unlucky for Cormac a few things went against him but he'll be fine, cian again solid , Cluxton is ridiculous I don't think other counties understand how important he is to us or how good he is, he's 36/37 now but the shape he's in he could easily (if he wanted) play for another 6 or 7 years. Roll on next week beat the rossies and send our D team to Omagh."
Absolutely. I would have had questions about Michael Dara and his fitness as well but he was like a man possessed on Sat. Delighted he got the goal as well. Howard was fantastic also, a good shift from Scully too. Jack was electric. I thought the full back line struggled a bit and Cian was getting dragged out the field so no real sweeper. A few loose ends to tie up there no doubt. Clucko though. He never ceases to amaze. A couple of sharp reflex stops, a couple of high balls to contend with but those William Tell like kick-outs. Outrageous. It takes some skill to hit a wing back, on the run, from 50 yards out and place the ball into his chest. I want to see Clucko doing the bottle top challenge. Place it on the 45 and Clucko will unscrew that from distance. The Kingdom are coming though so the lads have to keep improving. Some squad there to be keeping Berno off the bench as well.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4747 - 15/07/2019 11:18:01    2211251

Replying To Joxer:  "Absolutely. I would have had questions about Michael Dara and his fitness as well but he was like a man possessed on Sat. Delighted he got the goal as well. Howard was fantastic also, a good shift from Scully too. Jack was electric. I thought the full back line struggled a bit and Cian was getting dragged out the field so no real sweeper. A few loose ends to tie up there no doubt. Clucko though. He never ceases to amaze. A couple of sharp reflex stops, a couple of high balls to contend with but those William Tell like kick-outs. Outrageous. It takes some skill to hit a wing back, on the run, from 50 yards out and place the ball into his chest. I want to see Clucko doing the bottle top challenge. Place it on the 45 and Clucko will unscrew that from distance. The Kingdom are coming though so the lads have to keep improving. Some squad there to be keeping Berno off the bench as well."
In Jim we trust.

But I'll say this

2 pts down in an AI semi/final

Who would you prefer coming in with 10 minutes to go?

BB or Paddy Small?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/07/2019 21:51:30    2212950

Replying To jimbodub:  "In Jim we trust.

But I'll say this

2 pts down in an AI semi/final

Who would you prefer coming in with 10 minutes to go?

BB or Paddy Small?"
Kevin McManamon

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 19/07/2019 13:57:15    2213167

Felt bad for Bernard today. What's up with that. Why have him in squad atall

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2019 23:40:58    2213795

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Felt bad for Bernard today. What's up with that. Why have him in squad atall"
Reckon he was coming on until MDMA black card.

dawals (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 21/07/2019 00:10:07    2213802

Slightly off topic, but Mayo are the hardest team in history to make out. I mean, look at Roscommon both tonight and last year, utterly awful, and they're beating the like of Mayo, and Galway on the way to winning Connacht championships.
Lets see if there's a kick left in the old Dog, its becoming more unlikely as time goes by.

Con O'Callaghan well on the way to becoming a great, has it all now!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8795 - 21/07/2019 00:39:48    2213810