Liam you want to have your say but not respond to counter arguments that outlined that we always had HQ advantages but better teams still took care of us with ease as they knew they were better than ya and relished playing and beating Dublin in HQ.
Well you've had your say half a dozen times now. If you don't want to respond to posts back at you then how about you stop repeating yourself, we get it.
Nice one
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/07/2019 12:07:17
Liam you want to have your say but not respond to counter arguments that outlined that we always had HQ advantages but better teams still took care of us with ease as they knew they were better than ya and relished playing and beating Dublin in HQ.
Well you've had your say half a dozen times now. If you don't want to respond to posts back at you then how about you stop repeating yourself, we get it.
Nice one
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/07/2019 12:07:18
and Liam.. there was plenty of Dubs on here last year saying it was daft to play two Super 8 games in HQ. If the Donegal motion was passed you'd have very few complaints.
This isn't your own personal crusade, it was already said several times by prominent Dub supporters on here.
I do take exception to you refusing to respond to counter arguments. It's sort of a kip out, you can say what you want, not respond, and then claim it won't end well for you?
Yes we shouldn't play our 2nd game in HQ. Not our doing.
Did playing more games in HQ across the 00's give us any advantage over our main rivals = No.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/07/2019 12:16:19
I know others have acknowledged it already jimbo but I don't think you can understate the home advantage as part of the Super 8's. I get what you're saying but in terms of the format of 1 home, 1 neutral and 1 away game, Dublin are getting an advantage that other teams don't get. If Dublin were playing Roscommon in Thurles I think you get a tighter game. I think Dublin still win albeit with a closer margin. You could say the same about Donegal last year. But, like you say, Dublin didn't make the rules, they're playing where they're told. Still an advantage all the same.
Just sayin
keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 10/07/2019 12:17:40
Replying To keithlemon: "I know others have acknowledged it already jimbo but I don't think you can understate the home advantage as part of the Super 8's. I get what you're saying but in terms of the format of 1 home, 1 neutral and 1 away game, Dublin are getting an advantage that other teams don't get. If Dublin were playing Roscommon in Thurles I think you get a tighter game. I think Dublin still win albeit with a closer margin. You could say the same about Donegal last year. But, like you say, Dublin didn't make the rules, they're playing where they're told. Still an advantage all the same.
Just sayin" I'm not saying it's not an advantage
I'm saying it's one we always enjoyed
Playing more frequently in HQ compared to our rivals
It didn't count for much when we weren't good enough to beat them
In fact we were dispatched with ease
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/07/2019 12:22:23
Maybe I have been out of Dublin for too long CD, maybe you are right. i mean that sincerely btw, maybe I have. Maybe I don't have the siege mentality anymore. In fact, I think you may be actually be right on that. I think also my frustration is not so much with us, as it is with the game as a whole.
I can't speak for any of the rest of ye, but I get ZERO kick out of beating Meath these days. Mean's little or nothing to me anymore. I hate that it has come to that. I grew up on Dubs Meath, it's now reduced to the equivalence of Celtic V Partick and that really really deflates.
Maybe its the fact we win so easily that is eating away at my once manic obsession. I was more invested in Cork Kerry and Galway Mayo than I was in Dublin Meath or Dublin Kildare.
Now we go into the Super 8's and I know that all we have to do is beat Cork, in Dublin, Roscommon, in Dublin, and we are through, thus rendering the one tough game we will have, away to Tyrone, a dead rubber..... It's not our fault, I know that. I never ever said it was. However, it has sapped enthusiasm away from me that it is this, frankly, easy. I hated losing to Meath in the 80's and 90's, I hated losing to Kerry and Tyrone in the 00's. Broke my bloody heart, but, it all made 2011 one of the greatest days of my life. Still is. Often if I am down, I will search youtube for Clucko's point and watch and watch and watch. I will search youtube for footage of various pubs watching that point go over! I will reminisce on being in Grand Central that day and my cousin breaking my rib in excitement! Perhaps I need to see us be challenged more often again. The games with Mayo in recent years stirred the soul as much as ever. Playing Kerry stirs the soul as much as ever, and by God, if we meet either, especially Kerry in a semi this year, the old Liamo will be back, rest assured, I will.
Jim, you reference that it was "always like this" and yep, to a point, it was. However, the super 8's is a new concept, it was meant to improve the product, but here we are now with the reigning 4 in a row champs being the only team with 2 home games and their big away game looking likely to be a dead rubber in the same place we went last year.... It wasn't always like that....it just wasn't.
Look lads, I dunno, 2011 final was one of the greatest days of my life, it was. As it happens, my Limerick born son was born the following Tuesday. I now have 2 kids, in limerick being reared in a GAA school, by Limerick teachers and limerick friends and neighbours. Maybe that too is effecting me, I dunno. Maybe the locals have worn me down as you suggest CD, Perhaps they have unknowns to me
I know this though. I am a Dub. Through and through, Put up with enough shite down the years living down here, the "slagging" which was far more personal than slagging. The throw away remarks that stung, the at times, abuse for having the cheek to be a Dub in a foreign land. Being a Dub in Munster is NOT the same as being a Dub in Athy, Dunshaughlin or Drogheda. That shite only made me MORE of a Dub, and I remain so. Don't tell me I am not as much of a Dub as I was,
I just wish it was how it used to be, but with us still winning :)
Apols for the repetitive, at times nonsensical, rant! I am FAR more confused by my emotions than ye are!!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 10/07/2019 13:11:59
Replying To jimbodub: "I'm not saying it's not an advantage
In fact we were dispatched with ease" True, people rarely bring up the fact that Kerry had an advantage over other teams at Croke Park for the same reason. They played there far more often than most of their opponents they played at the quarter or semi final stages.
I know the regulars on the main board would say "but they didn't play their league games there etc", so what. In terms of experience at knowing what it took to win in a quarter/semi/final at Croke Park, Kerry and Tyrone in the noughties were regulars in Croke Park and rarely lost there.
Its strange the way others are quick to point out Dublins advantages to such a fine point yet ignore so many others
keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 10/07/2019 13:16:25
Replying To jimbodub: "I'm not saying it's not an advantage
In fact we were dispatched with ease" That's definitely not the case for Leinster. Even in the early 00's when you were being regularly beaten the matches were always very close. Who's to say if you were playing away matches then you'd not have been beaten by more? Who's to say you would have won 5 Leinsters in a row from 2005 to 2009 if you were only playing Leinster finals in Croker. Home advantage definitely helps.
Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 11/07/2019 14:29:47
Replying To Jack_Goff: "That's definitely not the case for Leinster. Even in the early 00's when you were being regularly beaten the matches were always very close. Who's to say if you were playing away matches then you'd not have been beaten by more? Who's to say you would have won 5 Leinsters in a row from 2005 to 2009 if you were only playing Leinster finals in Croker. Home advantage definitely helps." Leinster was in the toilet across the 00's and it still would be without Dublin
The standout team (Dublin) couldn't beat anyone outside the province but still hovered up titles in a row against poor Leinster opposition
Leinster finals are always played in HQ
You have to face it Jack. Meath have been brutal for nearly 20 years
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/07/2019 21:29:44
Replying To jimbodub: "Leinster was in the toilet across the 00's and it still would be without Dublin
The standout team (Dublin) couldn't beat anyone outside the province but still hovered up titles in a row against poor Leinster opposition
You have to face it Jack. Meath have been brutal for nearly 20 years" He cant face it Jimbo. Far easier to blame the dubs in fairness to him
ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 12/07/2019 10:34:42
You know lads id be half tempted to throw Rory in at 3 tomorrow.
Some 50/50 decisions in selection for me, with Jamsie out, its Young Gavin or MDM in midfield, then there is Cormac VS Deano.
Id be half tempted to to put Howard in midfield and play Cormac at half forward with Deano in the corner.
But Jim knows best and he will have his eye on a grueling schedule.
Ill be watching our defense sharply tomorrow, Cork look no slouches going forward and have racked up some scores to date, albeit against not so great teams.
TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4518 - 12/07/2019 10:51:58
It will be interesting to see how Gavin plans for Cork's running game. Cork play a game that I think could hurt Dublin, I don't think Cork are there yet in terms of team experience and discipline to apply and execute it yet. But, with Rory Deane and Maguire around the middle of the park, playing straight, direct football into the likes of Hurley, Collins and Connolly they are best suited to hit Dublin's full back line early. Hurley especially is more than capable of winning his own ball. Easier said than done of course, one of Dublins greatest strengths is their pressure on the man on the ball trying to play the pass. They can also mix up the game plan if certain individual battles aren't working out. Other teams are a bit slower in adapting when game plans go against them. I would be surprised if Gavin didn't have a plan for Rory Deane.
I think it was Oisin McConville that said application and conviction have been Corks greatest weaknesses over the past 7 years or so. They've always had a strong nucleus of talent. I don't think this will be as straight forward a result for Dublin as some predict. If Cork keep it tight for the first half and don't give away anything stupid I think they'll give Dublin a tough test. But the bones of a strong Cork team are there, I think they could return to being a force sooner rather than later
keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 12/07/2019 11:52:01
I'm a little bit nervous about tomorrow , I think Cork can really cause damage up front , no Jonny or James huge losses to our team.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/07/2019 14:24:50
Replying To jimbodub: "Leinster was in the toilet across the 00's and it still would be without Dublin
You have to face it Jack. Meath have been brutal for nearly 20 years" Brutal? We're in the top 8 for the championship and next year for the league. Meath have been on average a top 12 team for the last 20 years. That's not brutal. It's like saying your hurlers are brutal because they're ranked about 7 currently. And your hurlers are not brutal. In fact quite decent.
If Dublin had the number of clubs we had, the population, the numbers playing, the funding and Meath had your situation we'd be beating you lot to a pulp annually instead. It wouldn't be fun and I'd not be going to the matches.
There is nothing to celebrate given your situation and in reality no leinster team should ever beat Dublin again in championship. It just shouldn't be possible.
In the league we'll have a chance if we get you early because the Dublin squad will be just back from their rest and pre season holiday. That's it though. I've accepted meath won't beat Dublin again, I don't expect it to so won't be disappointed when I'm proved right.
Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 12/07/2019 16:10:27
It has begun.
Doing a few jobs around town today so was out and about on the bike. Turned back into my street and that's when I saw it. The little sticker on the back window of a 'C' registered car that read "Corcaigh Abú". My heart sank.
It hit me as soon as I opened the door, the accent, that high pitched sqeeeeeel like!
I walked in the kitchen and there's five of them. My wife, who's accent has softened over the years of civilised life on the North Strand, sounds like she never left West Cork.
My kids are there laughing and joking away but they haven't realised what I've realised.....
We're outnumbered in our own home. 6 v 4. For the whole weekend.
So here I am, outnumbered, feeling like an outsider as they don't even speak in English! Gaeilge amháin don deireadh seachtaine!
It's going to be a long weekend.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 12/07/2019 17:12:25
Replying To MesAmis: "It has begun.
Doing a few jobs around town today so was out and about on the bike. Turned back into my street and that's when I saw it. The little sticker on the back window of a 'C' registered car that read "Corcaigh Abú". My heart sank.
It hit me as soon as I opened the door, the accent, that high pitched sqeeeeeel like!
I walked in the kitchen and there's five of them. My wife, who's accent has softened over the years of civilised life on the North Strand, sounds like she never left West Cork.
My kids are there laughing and joking away but they haven't realised what I've realised.....
We're outnumbered in our own home. 6 v 4. For the whole weekend.
So here I am, outnumbered, feeling like an outsider as they don't even speak in English! Gaeilge amháin don deireadh seachtaine!
It's going to be a long weekend." Haha haha , I'm sure their thinking the same "will we get out of here alive stuck in the heart of Dublin's north inner city for 3 days" , god love them.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/07/2019 18:34:22
Replying To clondalkindub: "Haha haha , I'm sure their thinking the same "will we get out of here alive stuck in the heart of Dublin's north inner city for 3 days" , god love them." They're everywhere man. The kitchen, the sitting room, there's even one in the garden.
The problem will be getting them to leave at the appointed date of Monday. The last time they came up for a weekend they didn't leave until the next Friday.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 12/07/2019 20:10:10
Hahaha brilliant, you can only take so much of that accent before you go crazy. Best of luck with the weekend I take it your big time up for Kilkenny Sunday ha.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/07/2019 21:55:44
Replying To clondalkindub: "Hahaha brilliant, you can only take so much of that accent before you go crazy. Best of luck with the weekend I take it your big time up for Kilkenny Sunday ha." I'll try and pick up a stripey black and amber geansaí tmrw.
I nearly managed to escape to the safety of a high stool up the street but the father and brother in law got wind of the plan and have invited themselves along.
I've sent a WhatsApp plea out for reinforcements.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 12/07/2019 22:12:46
It's already been mentioned. With the Cork footballers due back in HQ next weekend....
"sure lookit, we might as well stay up for the week like..."
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 13/07/2019 09:26:44